Sign in with
Sign up | Sign in

Results: Media Encoding

The Core i7-4770K Review: Haswell Is Faster; Desktop Enthusiasts Yawn
By

Once we get into the media-oriented apps, any relative weakness the six-core -3930K showed against newer quad-core CPUs should evaporate.

Indeed, the Sandy Bridge-E-based processor is the fastest in our TotalCode Studio benchmark, while the quad-core chips pile up on top of each other. Core i7-4770K is only marginally quicker than -3770K.

The Core i7-4770K comes close to catching the two generation-old Core i7-3930K, but falls just short. AMD’s FX-8350 manages to outperform the Core i7-2700K, approaching the -3770K’s performance level. In sharp contrast, the A10 trails way behind, serving as an example of what you don’t want from a media-oriented machine.

Great single-threaded performance makes it easy for the Haswell architecture to walk away with the win in iTunes. Not surprisingly, Ivy Bridge and Sandy Bridge trail in second and third position. Sandy Bridge-E, which sacrifices peak Turbo Boost clock rates in favor of a more complex six-core configuration, follows close behind.

Similar to iTunes, LAME is single-threaded, and partial to the processor with the fastest clock rate and highest IPC rate. No surprise—Haswell takes an easy first-place finish, trailed by Ivy Bridge and variations of Sandy Bridge.

Ask a Category Expert

Create a new thread in the Reviews comments forum about this subject

Example: Notebook, Android, SSD hard drive

Display all 410 comments.
This thread is closed for comments
Top Comments
  • 54 Hide
    016ive , June 1, 2013 7:41 AM
    Intel made the Sandy bridge because of the phenom X6, without competition from AMD Intel will make small improvements every generation to make more money :( 
  • 49 Hide
    thiemo56 , June 1, 2013 7:14 AM
    Dissapointing, not worth it to upgrade over sandy or ivy bridge.
  • 44 Hide
    thiemo56 , June 1, 2013 7:14 AM
    And they overclock so low.
Other Comments
  • 49 Hide
    thiemo56 , June 1, 2013 7:14 AM
    Dissapointing, not worth it to upgrade over sandy or ivy bridge.
  • 44 Hide
    thiemo56 , June 1, 2013 7:14 AM
    And they overclock so low.
  • 3 Hide
    Danny N , June 1, 2013 7:16 AM
    Biggest question is if its worth upgrading my cpu i5 750 4.0ghz to Haswell or my gfx card ati 5870 to nvidia 7xx, my main pc use is for Maya, After FX and some fps gaming. Any input would be appriciated cause I'm leaning towards a cpu upgrade atm.
  • 15 Hide
    bergami , June 1, 2013 7:29 AM
    I want to know more about Iris
  • 20 Hide
    envy14tpe , June 1, 2013 7:34 AM
    Seriously. What did people expect? Of course it's better but nothing out of the ordinary for Intel.
  • 5 Hide
    enewmen , June 1, 2013 7:35 AM
    For me it's not about the 10% gain over SB. It's more like a huge gain over a C2Q, floating point performance over SB (should matter later), and lower watts. I hope THG can expand the Power Consumption and Media Encoding later - check the Watts idle more and fast quick-sync media encoding quality loss. My 2 cents..

    EDIT:
    other sites have reported much lower watts idle, so a lot doesn't make sense or the 4770k has a very slow throttle.
    http://hexus.net/tech/reviews/cpu/56005-intel-core-i7-4770k-22nm-haswell/?page=15
    http://www.techspot.com/review/679-intel-haswell-core-i7-4770k/page13.html
  • 29 Hide
    envy14tpe , June 1, 2013 7:35 AM
    thiemo56Dissapointing, not worth it to upgrade over sandy or ivy bridge.

    Of course not. No one should upgrade from Sandy or Ivy to this, unless you are the 1%.
  • 54 Hide
    016ive , June 1, 2013 7:41 AM
    Intel made the Sandy bridge because of the phenom X6, without competition from AMD Intel will make small improvements every generation to make more money :( 
  • 12 Hide
    sl6 , June 1, 2013 7:46 AM
    I was looking to make a new system based around this. Looks like Ivy-E will be more promising for the FPS.
  • -4 Hide
    tomfreak , June 1, 2013 7:50 AM
    Still dont get it, can we still OC the lock CPU via BCLK?
  • 26 Hide
    anort3 , June 1, 2013 7:51 AM
    Well crap. And early overclocking looked so good.
  • 3 Hide
    mayankleoboy1 , June 1, 2013 7:53 AM
    1.4770K sucks harder than the preview showed it to be.

    2. Another thing i noticed, the FX8350 was a big total energy hog. That is one point AMD fanbois dont talk.

    3. Chris , no specialized AVX2 softwares ? No AVX enabled Handbrake in tests ?
    4. Would have liked to see some -/AVX2 compiled software in here. Maybe left for another "compiler tuning on Haswell piece" ?
  • 16 Hide
    DAsianFatass , June 1, 2013 7:54 AM
    016iveIntel made the Sandy bridge because of the phenome X6, without competition from AMD Intel will make small improvements every generations to make more money

    Yeah, I agree with ya. Without competition there is no innovation. As for intel, "I am disappoint"
  • 14 Hide
    unknown9122 , June 1, 2013 7:56 AM
    I still don't get why intel went with a new socket if they consider the desktop to be "dying"... I think this is AMDs chance to shine
  • 6 Hide
    thasan1 , June 1, 2013 7:56 AM
    is it me or the most exiting news in this review powerPC thing and im not even from US.......
  • 8 Hide
    Icecweam7 , June 1, 2013 8:04 AM
    Is Intel changing its ways to now slownevate the industry? What is Intel's R&D doing? Are they too busy counting their bonuses, stocks, cigars, wine, tee time golf, and vacation trips? *Looks skyward with palm to the face and many yawns
Display more comments