Sign in with
Sign up | Sign in

Comparative Component Charts

Comparative Component Charts
By

Yea, I admit it, the new design for our Graphics, CPU and Disk Drive charts leaves something to be desired. Trust me, we’re working on a bunch of fixes. However, I want to encourage you to play with the charts. The information is pretty much intact and has not lost any of its utility, and we’ve added some new data to some of the charts.

gpu charts

All Graphics Card Charts










Desktop VGA Charts

Updates: From the Nvidia camp we’ve benchmarked the new DirectX 10 Geforce 8800 GT in both single card and SLI configuration, as well as the midrange Geforce 8600 GTS and low-end Geforce 8400 GS turbocache edition. On the ATI side, we’ve added the new DirectX 10.1 Radeons 3870 and 3850, and augmented the Radeon 2900 XT results with a crossfire configuration. We’ve also included the Radeon 2600 PRO and 2600 XT, both in single and Crossfire configurations as well. Finally, as the counterpoint for the 8400 GS turbocache, we’ve added the Radeon 2400 Pro hypermemory edition.

Dual and Quad VGA Cards

In these charts we test the best configurations of AMD’s CrossFire and Nvidia’s SLI. We wanted to take all the guesswork out of who is best in what game. This is the ultimate graphics resource tool for hardcore gamers and power users. Each configuration is run them through a battery of eight intensive tests including 7 real world gaming applications and one synthetic benchmark. * Battlefield 2142 * Dark Messiah of Might and Magic * Doom 3 * Microsoft Flight Simulator X * Elder Scrolls IV: Oblivion * Prey * Warhammer: Mark of Chaos * 3DMark06.

Workstation Graphics Cards

If you are like most professionals, you might not have the time to see what graphics product will improve efficiency as well as maintain your bottom line. That is why we have dedicated a chart for workstation graphics cards. We provide a definitive tool that cuts out the research to help you make wise purchasing decisions. We take a look at performance in 3D Studio Max, Maya, and Solidworks in 19 separate benchmarks.

cpu

All CPU Charts








CPU Charts

Features around 91 AMD and Intel desktop processors, which we tested across 35 individual benchmarks under Windows Vista. The benchmarks include industry standard software as well as popular workloads across multiple application categories, allowing you to find the CPU that meets your requirements. We include three different processor generations, starting with AMD’s Socket 939 Athlons and Semprons, and including all Pentium 4 and Pentium D processors that were released for Socket 775.

Mobile CPU Charts

Tom’s Interactive Mobile CPU Charts focus on popular mobile processors that are used in laptops and notebooks because of their increased energy efficiency.

disk drive hdd

All Hard Drive Charts








2.5" Hard Drive Charts

Here you will find 2.5" UltraATA and Serial ATA hard drives manufactured by Fujitsu, Hitachi, Samsung, Seagate, Toshiba and Western Digital. The charts include all popular capacities starting at 40 GB as well as listing hard drives running at 4,200, 5,400 or 7,200 RPM. 15 benchmarks help to determine application perforrmance and low-level performance, giving you all the throughput, access time, interface and I/O performance results. The 2.5" HDD Charts also include the Cost per Gigabyte calculation and our Price/Performance Index, which helps you to find the best bang for the buck. In addition, we measured power consumption of most the notebook hard drives, so you can see which models are energy efficient and which ones aren’t.

3.5" Hard Drive Charts

The charts include all popular 3.5" desktop drive manufacturers such as Hitachi, Samsung, Seagate and Western Digital. They list UltraATA and Serial ATA interfaces, 7,200 and 10,000 RPM drives, and capacities between 36 GB and 1000 GB. 15 individual benchmark categories analyze read and write throughput, interface performance, average access time, Windows startup performance and several I/O access patterns that are imperative for server and workstation scenarios.

External Hard Drive Charts

This is resource for all who are looking for a desktop hard drive - whether it is for home or for business use. Our service allows for interactive performance comparison, real-time price/performance and costs per Gigabyte analysis.

Display 27 Comments.
This thread is closed for comments
  • 3 Hide
    satanpro , June 3, 2008 12:56 AM
    Where are the newest cards??
  • 0 Hide
    apaige , June 3, 2008 1:22 AM
    Still no update on the erroneous Sandra memory bandwidth benchmarks.
    http://www.legitreviews.com/article/617/1/
  • 0 Hide
    razor512 , June 3, 2008 2:54 AM
    please put the charts back on the main page like how they used to be.
  • 1 Hide
    teh_boxzor , June 3, 2008 2:55 AM
    wow those cards have been out for awhile.
  • 1 Hide
    razor512 , June 3, 2008 2:56 AM
    forgot to add, please add a clear button for the charts, it is annoying removing the clutter 1 by 1 so i can only have the 3 cards i am interested in on the list


    also please sort the list of videocards. they seem to be randomly placed and that makes then annoying to find the card I want
  • 1 Hide
    romulus47plus1 , June 3, 2008 4:20 AM
    Where are the 9 series?
  • 0 Hide
    razor512 , June 3, 2008 5:34 AM
    it takes time to do the reviews. they have to do multiple tests, that also have to make sure the specs of the computers are the same so the videocard is the only thing changing


    so they could end up redoing the full range of test with every videocard in that list. it will take a while
  • 1 Hide
    randomizer , June 3, 2008 7:36 AM
    Guys make the nvidia bars green and the ATI bars red. Blue nvidia just doesn't work :lol: 
  • 1 Hide
    NateDawg80126 , June 3, 2008 9:41 AM
    I see a few of the newer ATI cards but whats the deal with none of the 9800 cards?!??? You have benched them so why are they not on the chart?
  • 1 Hide
    satanpro , June 3, 2008 10:29 AM
    Old cards benched on old games like Prey and Oblivion... this chart is completely irrelevant to current customers. In addition, you can't even sort the results by performance, and it's hard to select the cards in the poorly designed pulldown menu. Best not to even spend more time on it. You've made the old outdated charts even worse than they were.
  • -1 Hide
    SgtBilko , June 3, 2008 10:32 AM
    Well quite frankly I can't see any `new design`that you're talking about.
    All I can see is a rehash of the old UK charts design. Which to my amazment you have managed to make wosre by having SLI and CF results included in the ´Desktop VGA Charts` so why bother having a ´Dual and Quad VGA Charts`at all? Oh...I should'nt have said that! Just keep the singles charts for the single cards.
    To make matters even worse in the intro you talk about ´the new DirectX 10 Gforce 8800 GT`. That card is over...over 6 months old and there are many newer and better cards out there but they're not on your charts.
    You also mention your benchmarks, Battlefield 2142 to name but one.
    Have you never heard of COD4, Company of Heroes or MOH-Airborne to name three more recent and more relevant games to use as benchmarks in todays marketplace. Finally if yo think ´Trust me, we're working on a bunch of fixes`cuts it, then you're in the wrong job M8............
  • 2 Hide
    randomizer , June 3, 2008 11:21 AM
    Oblivion is still relatively taxing on lower-midrange cards at high resolutions (and the charts are not just for 1337 rich kids), but it's getting out-dated now I agree. BF2142 is not particularly taxing on anything but the oldest or lowest-end cards.
  • 1 Hide
    mindfields , June 3, 2008 12:49 PM
    missing CPUs:
    Phenom 9850BE
    Intel Q9xxx, E7xxx

    lot of newer GPUs have been tested by them yet they didnt bother to update these charts

  • 0 Hide
    frodbonzi , June 3, 2008 3:30 PM
    You guys have a lot of nerve calling this chart updated... Scrap it... you still don't even have ANY 9 series nVidia cards... and the 10 series comes out in a couple weeks!!

    You also don't have any of the 45nm CPUs... let me guess, you intend to put them in by the time Nehalem comes out??

    Shame on Toms for this lackluster effort!
  • 1 Hide
    razor512 , June 3, 2008 5:50 PM
    SgtBilkoWell quite frankly I can't see any `new design`that you're talking about.All I can see is a rehash of the old UK charts design. Which to my amazment you have managed to make wosre by having SLI and CF results included in the ´Desktop VGA Charts` so why bother having a ´Dual and Quad VGA Charts`at all? Oh...I should'nt have said that! Just keep the singles charts for the single cards.To make matters even worse in the intro you talk about ´the new DirectX 10 Gforce 8800 GT`. That card is over...over 6 months old and there are many newer and better cards out there but they're not on your charts.You also mention your benchmarks, Battlefield 2142 to name but one.Have you never heard of COD4, Company of Heroes or MOH-Airborne to name three more recent and more relevant games to use as benchmarks in todays marketplace. Finally if yo think ´Trust me, we're working on a bunch of fixes`cuts it, then you're in the wrong job M8............


    Adding a new game is not that easy. the benchmarks take time and they are run multiple times for each card and the fastest is added into the charts.

    The test have to be done with every single card in the list

    It is a lot of work, and they have to pick games that every card can run , if not, you wine up with some of the other benchmarks where they show 6800 getting 30 FPS and the 6200 getting 0

    the 6800 is not 30 times faster

    You need benchmarks that are both demanding and able to be run on every card in the list. COD4 will not do this, neither will crysis or many other games

    bf2142 is similar to battlefield 2 jut with a little harder to run.

    Every other game you showed aren't even supported by half of the cards.

    But I do agree, the sli has to go. the chart should only have single cards, theres a separate chart for dual and quad

    while it is good to add new benchmarks into the mix, we also have to make sure that that all of the cards in the list can run the game or we will defeat the purpose of the overall score, anyone who has dealt with grades in school knows that you can kiss your GPA goodbye if you get a 0 averaged into your grade
  • 0 Hide
    randomizer , June 3, 2008 11:52 PM
    It takes me about an hour to do a couple of cysis runs on a single card at different resolutions (both DX9 and DX10) and only one IQ level. That means 4 hours for all four IQ levels, maybe 6 hours if I do a wider range of resolutions. Then I have to do it for... I don't want to count them all... number of cards. Then I have to do it all again for another 15 or so other benchmarks, especially the newly added ones. Time consuming, yes. Should it have taken this long for people who get paid for this? Probably not.

    Seriously though, stop complaining, you don't pay for this "service" so IMO Tom's can take as long as they want. It's their loss or their gain. If you want all this done so badly then send Barry an email and get yourself signed up for the job and put in the hours.
  • 1 Hide
    razor512 , June 4, 2008 6:55 AM
    benchmarking every card multiple times is a extremely boring task, it can easily drive you mad.

  • -1 Hide
    SgtBilko , June 4, 2008 10:34 AM
    razor512 I think you're missing the point of the charts.
    Like any chart there always come new models and the older models are removed to make room. It's called updating.
    The same with benchmarks, there is no point in benchmarking a brand new top of the range graphic card on a game that a middle range 3 yr old card could run on. It gives no meaning, you might as well argue that onboard graphics should also be included.
    The charts are primarily used to guage your present card against the rest.
    ie. Do I need to upgrade.
    These charts are used by gamers, and as a fellow gamer I need something relivant to todays games and graphic cards.
    I want to know if it's worth my while upgrading GPU or CPU for that matter.
    After 6 months I still can't see what my Nvidia 8800 GTS 512MB card is capable of if I look at these charts but I can see what a 7300 GS is not capable of with a dismal overall games fps of only 271.
    Just my humble opinion.
  • 0 Hide
    razor512 , June 4, 2008 4:59 PM
    yep but it is still good to keep the older cards so users will be able to gage the performance increase from model to model. it is like how the weather has a chart that extends back over 200 years


    also, there still people with those cards and they will complain if there card it removed :) 

    and they don't set deadlines for finishing the charts.

    the workers at tomshardware won't be too useful to us if they all decide to go postal at the same time due to all the benchmarking :)  jk

    and it seems that they only have cards in the list that are still being sold by some stores either because there popular or because there trying to get rid of the left over cards and the toms hardware charts is a good place for people to see that that extremely discounted card was discounted for a reason

  • 0 Hide
    pitbulltko , June 4, 2008 5:58 PM
    Hi it was better how it used to be
Display more comments