Sign in with
Sign up | Sign in

Test System And Settings

Dead Space: Performance Analyzed
By

Note that we used two test systems: a Core i7 920-based system for the majority of the benchmarks and a Core 2 Quad Q6600-based system to demonstrate what slower CPU architecture, lower clock speeds, and fewer logical CPU cores will offer in the way of performance (since i7 sports Hyper-Threading).

Once again, we chose a range of graphics cards to test, most of them from our "Best Cards for the Money" monthly recommendations. This gives us a nice, broad spectrum of cards to scrutinize from various budgets.


Graphic Test SystemCPU Test System
CPU

Intel Core i7-920 (Bloomfield),
2.67 GHz, QPI-2400, 8 MB Cache

Intel Core 2 Quad Q6600 (Kentsfield),
2.7 GHz, FSB-1200, 8 MB Cache

Motherboard

ASRock X58 Supercomputer
Intel X58, BIOS P1.90

MSI P7N SLI Platinum
Nvidia nForce 750i, BIOS A2

Networking
Onboard Realtek Gigabit LAN controller

Onboard nForce 750i Gigabit Ethernet

Memory

Mushkin PC3-10700
3x 2,048 MB, DDR3-1066, CL 8-8-8-19 at 1.8 V

A-Data Extreme DDR2 800+
2x 2,048 MB, DDR2-800, CL 5-5-5-18 at 1.8 V

Graphics

Sapphire HD4650 512 MB DDR2 PCIe
Gigabyte GV-N96TSL-1GI 1 GB DDR3 PCIe
Diamond Radeon HD 4770 512 MB DDR5 PCIe
Powercolor AX4830 512 MB DDR3 PCIe
Gigabyte GV-NX88T512HPV1 512 MB DDR3 PCIe
Asus ENGTS250 DK 1 GB DDR3 PCIe
Asus EAH4850 MT 512 MB DDR3 PCIe
ASUS ENGTX260 796 MB DDR3 PCIe
ATI Radeon HD 4870 reference

ASUS ENGTX260 796 MB DDR3 PCIe

Hard Drive

Western Digital Caviar WD50 00AAJS-00YFA,
500 GB, 7200 RPM, 8 MB cache, SATA 3.0 GB/s

Western Digital Caviar WD50 00AAJS-00YFA,
500 GB, 7200 RPM, 8 MB cache, SATA 3.0 GB/s

Power

Thermaltake Toughpower 1200W
1200 W, ATX 12V 2.2, EPS 12v 2.91

Ultra HE1000X
ATX 2.2, 1000W

Software and Drivers
Operating System
Microsoft Windows Vista Ultimate 64-bit 6.0.6001, SP1
DirectX versionDirectX 10
Graphics Drivers

Nvidia GeForce 185.85, Catalyst 9.5

Ask a Category Expert

Create a new thread in the Reviews comments forum about this subject

Example: Notebook, Android, SSD hard drive

Display all 44 comments.
This thread is closed for comments
  • 0 Hide
    anamaniac , June 8, 2009 6:52 AM
    "Mushkin PC3-10700
    3x 2,048 MB, DDR3-1066, CL 8-8-8-19
    at 1.8 V"

    This is a mistake, right?
  • 0 Hide
    anamaniac , June 8, 2009 7:07 AM
    Interesting article.

    Deadspace does seem like a decent game, but it was too much for me.
    Tried sitting down to play it a few times, but I just couldn't take it.

    And yeah, the game can play on some junk hardware.
    800x600 res, minimum settings.


    First time I saw one of those creatures, I just wasted ammo. WTF WAS THAT!?!?!
    Pentium D 2.8GHz, 1GB DDR2 533, Nvidia 7500LE 256MB.
    It played. Average framerate was bad, but the minimums were kinda bad, yet still possible.

    Nice to see what I may be able to crank it up to now with my 4670, though a couple gigs of ddr2 800 will be a nice bonus if I find the will to spend my rent money...
  • 0 Hide
    Andraxxus , June 8, 2009 8:09 AM
    It can play fairly well even on a E6300@1.86Ghz with 1GB DDR2 667 and Nvidia 7600GT but I never finished it.
  • 2 Hide
    tacoslave , June 8, 2009 8:20 AM
    im ashamed to say this but i jumped when one of those things came at me out of nowhere...
  • 3 Hide
    axilon , June 8, 2009 8:27 AM
    One of the few games that sucked me in. I do NOT recommend playing it at 3am, the dreams I had....
  • 1 Hide
    microdots , June 8, 2009 9:01 AM
    9600gt plays this game great
    awesome game regardless tho. everything is very well done, its easy to tell that the developers took great time in perfecting every portion in the levels and environment. as from what i remember it defiantly lived up to its hype. i still haven't beaten it either along with being super cool its also pretty difficult but totally worth the money; a true gaming experience.
  • 0 Hide
    Ciuy , June 8, 2009 9:51 AM
    so in the end AO = bad. Unless u got to much fps .
  • 3 Hide
    Kill@dor , June 8, 2009 12:55 PM
    I don't blame you for being scared to try this game out...its really something else ^_^ Very well made game in my opinion
  • 0 Hide
    rags_20 , June 8, 2009 1:27 PM
    I was thinking of trying it. Is it really that scary? I mean, if you turn down the volume, it shouldn't be as scary.
  • 1 Hide
    Roffey123 , June 8, 2009 1:36 PM
    It was the soundscape in the game that got me, I'm used to the monsters and such, but the ambience really got to me - so I never really got far. Perhaps I should summon the courage up for it again.
  • 0 Hide
    cinergy , June 8, 2009 1:38 PM
    So you have your nvidia optimized game reviewed now (and of course not showing ATI driver version used, which is probably old). Fine. Next time you could put directx 10.1 exclusive game and show how badly nvidia performs there. And no old drivers trick this time!
  • -1 Hide
    roorunner , June 8, 2009 1:41 PM
    Thank you for the article. Reading it and following your links, I found my favorite game of all time supports this! And I am glad I have Nvidia graphic cards! Tonight - updating the drivers and taking the game for a testdrive! Thanks!!!!
  • 3 Hide
    Lans , June 8, 2009 2:09 PM
    cinergy, I don't disagree with you on the Nvidia bias or DX10.1 . :) 

    Being an AMD/ATI fan myself, you are inherently favor one vendor (Nvidia) over another (ATI) when you have exclusives on features that not all vendors support. Still, it was informative to me and it is not the reviewer's fault that not all vendor support said feature.

    As far as I know, this site is not among the few that had an in-depth look at Assassin's Creed and DX10.1 mess. Now with DX11 looming, maybe we'll finally see a DX10.1 review in form DX11 preview? :) 

    I guess you can call the selection of which features to cover and which not to cover clear favoring Nvidia at the moment...
  • 0 Hide
    avatar_raq , June 8, 2009 2:15 PM
    It's nice to do performance analysis for games, but it'll be nicer if its done soon after their release, I finished this game twice (one @1280x1024 and the other @1920x1080) before this article!
    Nevertheless, keep up the good work.
  • 0 Hide
    daft , June 8, 2009 2:29 PM
    considering that the game was released back in october.....
  • 0 Hide
    nerdherd , June 8, 2009 2:55 PM
    I think this is a great article. I would LOVE to see an article done like this for more major game releases closer to their actual release date! Maybe even a few days before the game gets officially released? That would be awesome.
  • 0 Hide
    megamanx00 , June 8, 2009 3:27 PM
    Poor little 4650. I played this game on high with one 3850 at 1680x1050. Anyway this article is a little late, but better late than never. Dead space is an awesome game. It seems like NVIDIAs new AO option doesn't really do much for it.
  • 3 Hide
    cleeve , June 8, 2009 3:55 PM
    daftconsidering that the game was released back in october.....


    Aha, but in October Nvidia's new AO feature wasn't here, now was it? Read the first page of the article.

    As far as thwe next game, I'm gunning for Red Faction: Guerilla
  • 2 Hide
    cleeve , June 8, 2009 4:04 PM
    Lanscinergy, I don't disagree with you on the Nvidia bias or DX10.1 . Being an AMD/ATI fan myself, you are inherently favor one vendor (Nvidia) over another (ATI) when you have exclusives on features that not all vendors support.


    See, I *do* disagree with you guys. There is no Nvidia BIAS here, I simply wanted to see what their new feature can do. And if it turned out to be good, it's exposure and reviews like this that can spurn AMD to looking at including such a feature themselves.

    Also guys - if there was a bias, wouldn't I have been screaming from the rooftops that it was the best thing sincle sliced bread? I'm pretty sure I let folks know the feature was best left off unless you happened to have a graphics card that could handle it easily.

    DirectX 10.1... now, that's a great feature, but I'm waiting for a new, killer title to exploit it. Tom Clancy's HAWX shows a great improvement with Dx10.1, the visuals are awesome. The problem is that the game sucks, so I'm not going to waste time on an in-depth analysis of something I wouldn't recommend. Assasin's Creed, well, I missed the boat on that one because this series is relatively new, but I'm hoping Assasin's Creed II will give give us another chance.

    Similarly, Nvidia is trying to tell everyone how great PhysX is, and I keep reminding everyone it's a useless feature in 99% of the games it's been included in. Mirror's Edge would be the closest thing to a must-have title for that feature, but with PhysX looking to be included in future DirectX APIs when physis becomes more mainstream, I'm not sure Nvidia will have any lasting advantage there. Too far ahead of the curve.

    As for CUDA... mreh. Still haven't seen anything that makes me say "wow".
  • -2 Hide
    jwl3 , June 8, 2009 4:10 PM
    How appropriate. I just downloaded the game last week and started playing. Despite all the positive reviews, the game doesn't draw me in for the following reasons:

    1) the controls suck. I cannot even assign my usual arrow key buttons to movement what the f?

    2)It takes me two button presses to get my weapon out. Why? Why? Why? Why can't I just use my left mouse button to fire? Why must I bring up the rig and then fire? And forget about changing weapons. You literally have to put your weapon down, change weapons, click ok, bring new weapon up, and fire. Are you effing kidding me???

    3) the third person perspective is awful. Not only is it nauseating, the fun of FPS's is that you feel like you're the person in the game.

    4) The zero-gravity sites are annoying. I'm relieved when those parts of the game are over - they're tedious as all heck.

    5) Again with the controls, you'd think using a health pack was easy, Nope. Open inventory, select health pack, select use, close inventory. Wow.

    I can't count the number of times I've had to reload the level cause I couldn't switch to the appropriate weapon in time. Get a freaking clue EA. I used to be a huge fan of EA, buying 10 of their games each year. Until they screwed PC users by canceling all the EA sports games for the PC. I swore from that point on that I wouldn't buy another EA game (produced or distributed or whatever). I'm glad I didn't buy this POS game.
Display more comments