Sign in with
Sign up | Sign in

Packaging, Physical Layout, And Accessories

Dell UltraSharp 24 Ultra HD Monitor: The $1300 UP2414Q
By

Dell’s recent packaging eliminates most of the Styrofoam blocks typically encountered in monitor cartons. Replacing them are carefully-shaped parts made of corrugated cardboard. The new system seems to have enough strength to withstand the rigors of shipping, and is easier to recycle. Our sample arrived without a scratch.

Again, the UP2414Q includes a calibration data sheet specific to each monitor that shows results for grayscale tracking, color, gamma, and screen uniformity. Our test results support Dell’s claims of errors below two Delta E for both the sRGB and Adobe RGB color gamuts, and gamma is spot-on. Grayscale tracking turns out to be a tad over two Delta E, but still lower than I could see with my eyes. We were also able to duplicate Dell’s results in the screen uniformity test when we turned the compensation on.

Also included in the box are cables for USB 3.0, DisplayPort, and an IEC power cord. Drivers and manuals are provided on a CD-ROM.

Product 360

The base and upright are made from a satin-finished aluminum that looks very high-end. Dell uses the same material in the bezel surround, which is visible from the side. The screen’s frame is slightly narrower than average at 20 millimeters. Height adjustment spans a substantial 5.2 inches, and you can tilt the screen up to 15 degrees and swivel it 45 degrees in either direction. Rotation to portrait mode is supported, and an option in the OSD flips the image automatically. All the movements are very precise, offering just the right level of resistance.

Not surprisingly, the anti-glare layer is just as good as the one we saw on Dell's UP3214Q. It rejects light extremely well and still looks super-sharp. Just imagine how small text and other Windows objects look on a 24-inch Ultra HD screen. Even though OS-level DPI scaling is pretty much mandatory, this monitor completely earns its UltraSharp designation.

Controls on the UP2414Q work exactly like Dell's other displays. In the lower-right corner is a tactile power toggle followed upwards by five back-lit buttons. Touching any of them brings up an OSD that sits right next to the screen’s edge. We really like Dell’s user interface. Once you get the hang of it (which takes very little time), you can maneuver through the extensive menus with ease and efficiency.

The UP2414Q is just over two inches thick, so it won’t win any awards for compact dimensions. But there are no extraneous bulges to get in the way of wall mounting. The left side (not shown) sports an SD card slot, which is activated through the input panel's USB connection. In the image above, you can see the aluminum strip that surrounds the bezel very clearly.

The back is an all-plastic piece that tapers smoothly from side to side and bottom to top. Ventilation is handled by narrow grills at the top and bottom. The upright comes off without tools to reveal a 100 mm VESA mount. You can just make out the input panel on the bottom, which is hidden by a removable plastic cover. And a small hole in the upright takes care of cable management.

We’re seeing more and more monitors without VGA or DVI inputs. The UP2414Q includes only HDMI 1.4a and two DisplayPort connectors. One of them is the mini version, supported by the bundled mini-to-full-size cable. Dell claims compatibility with DisplayPort 1.2, which is sufficient for 3840x2160 at 60 Hz through multi-stream compatibility. We have yet to see a computer monitor with an HDMI 2.0 interface, but that's all the same given a lack of similarly-equipped graphics cards. Then again, we just reviewed a Toshiba 4K HDTV with HDMI 2.0 support, so it's only a matter of time.

The UP2414Q doesn't have built-in speakers, but the same soundbar Dell offers with its UP3214Q is also available for this screen.

Display all 22 comments.
  • -8 Hide
    dweezled , April 17, 2014 11:52 PM
    This is a joke right? Dell making yet another mockery of the monitor market.

    Why oh why when you can get the latest 10-bit AH-IPS technology in the 2560 x 1600 30" Crossover Black Tune 30x for $700?

  • 4 Hide
    s3anister , April 18, 2014 1:14 AM
    Quote:
    This is a joke right? Dell making yet another mockery of the monitor market.

    Why oh why when you can get the latest 10-bit AH-IPS technology in the 2560 x 1600 30" Crossover Black Tune 30x for $700?



    You obviously miss the point of this monitor. The whole point of a 24" 4K monitor is the pixel density. The fact that it's 8-bit and not 10-bit probably isn't going to bother a whole ton of people and if 4K and 10-bit is what you need than you'd be looking at the Dell Ultrasharp UP3214Q anyway. http://www.tomshardware.com/reviews/ultrasharp-32-up3214q-review,3744-7.html
  • -8 Hide
    voltagetoe , April 18, 2014 4:07 AM
    Tom's should review Samsung's cheap 4k monitor instead of stuff like this.
  • -5 Hide
    Treynolds416 , April 18, 2014 6:35 AM
    I love the super indepth articles you guys do, but it would be nice if you also did more reviews about less expensive things, like cases. I mean, it's interesting to read about a $1k monitor but it would be more helpful to more people if you did a case roundup or a higher volume of reviews about them. You don't have to stop making monitor reviews or anything because it's certainly not hurting anyone, but it seems like there are more articles about expensive monitors that most people can't buy/don't have a use for in lieu of articles about more fundamental pieces of computer hardware.
    Just my two cents
  • -3 Hide
    gadgety , April 18, 2014 7:03 AM
    $1300 for a simple panel is a joke, specially when "From our experience so far, these 4K monitors work well, but still have some maturing to do." Thank you for the straightforward, no nonsense review. I'll wait.
  • 0 Hide
    dstarr3 , April 18, 2014 8:05 AM
    Ahh, 24" 4k monitors are a reality now. Antialiasing in games is soon to be a thing of the past. Which is relieving, because that makes the task on graphics cards a lot more manageable.
  • -3 Hide
    xenol , April 18, 2014 9:08 AM
    (quote thing isn't working for me)
    "Ahh, 24" 4k monitors are a reality now. Antialiasing in games is soon to be a thing of the past. Which is relieving, because that makes the task on graphics cards a lot more manageable. "

    It actually makes it worse if not does nothing. 4K is the equivalent, almost, of 1080p using SSAAx4. MSAA is a lot cheaper and most games are resorting to FXAA or MLAA because it's incredibly cheap, works with any rendering method (Deferred rendering doesn't play nice with MSAA), and the quality is almost as good.
  • 1 Hide
    dstarr3 , April 18, 2014 3:09 PM
    Quote:
    4K is the equivalent, almost, of 1080p using SSAAx4.


    And modern graphics cards can handle that kind of workload. So, since they're basically equivalent, it isn't a lot more to ask of cards to do 4k without any AA.
  • 1 Hide
    soldier44 , April 18, 2014 3:25 PM
    LOL 24" yeh right for that price, make it 30 inches at 4K for that price and i'll bite.
  • -1 Hide
    dark_lord69 , April 18, 2014 3:57 PM
    DOES IT SUCK YO' D***?
    ...
    I didn't think so... Not worth the money...
  • -1 Hide
    dweezled , April 18, 2014 9:27 PM
    To S3amister: First of all I didn't miss the point of this article. I get monitor resolutions. The point is that 4k is the next gimmick made up by the big TV and monitor manufacturers as the "next big thing" to try to get suckers like you to buy into resolutions that the human eye can't even distinguish. You're going to tell me that you can tell a difference between WQHD and 4K? Nonsense. Maybe if you have a 60" screen but with a 24" screen? No way. Get real pal.
  • 1 Hide
    alaskana , April 18, 2014 11:42 PM
    I lust for a 4k monitor in 24 inch, but it must be a 16:10. I currently use the Dell U2412M in vertical mode for word processing, searching eBay, a LOT of searching eBay, etc. I love its 16:10. I previously had a 16:9 and used it in vertical viewing, but it was too narrow. The first 4k 24 inch in 16:10, which pivots to vertical, I will buy in a heartbeat.
  • 0 Hide
    hytecgowthaman , April 19, 2014 12:52 AM
    http://www.benq.com/product/LCD/GL2023A very very cheap 20" led monitor 5ms response time ( not 8ms like this dell 24" ).i am buy 2 units for gaming . no lag or any problem. 7770 graphics card .
  • 1 Hide
    BranFlake5 , April 19, 2014 10:31 AM
    I'm tired of the 4k Hype! I want mainstream affordable 1440p monitors!
  • -3 Hide
    soldier44 , April 20, 2014 5:50 AM
    Quote:
    I'm tired of the 4k Hype! I want mainstream affordable 1440p monitors!


    Why limit yourself to that poor mans 2560 x 1600 res? After using a 30 inch for over 3 years im ready to jump to 4K and quarter of an inch sized icons on my display..More real estate.
  • -3 Hide
    soldier44 , April 20, 2014 5:51 AM
    Quote:
    I'm tired of the 4k Hype! I want mainstream affordable 1440p monitors!


    Why limit yourself to that poor mans 2560 x 1600 res? After using a 30 inch for over 3 years im ready to jump to 4K and quarter of an inch sized icons on my display..More real estate.
  • -1 Hide
    Ahmadjon , April 20, 2014 12:37 PM
    It probably will look like Iphones "Retina" display, I just like clear and crisp image on the monitors :) 
  • 2 Hide
    JamesSneed , April 21, 2014 11:23 AM
    I don't know what all the moaning is about reviewing a monitor that is $1K plus. For those that want cheaper monitors reviewed did you ever stop to think that a review like this will persuade people with the funds to buy one which in turn will make them cheaper. I for one would love to own a 4k monitor however I wont pay 1K for one so keep the reviews coming so we can get mass production up on these over the next year or two.
  • 0 Hide
    youssef 2010 , April 24, 2014 5:30 AM
    The future will be full of details
  • 0 Hide
    SuckRaven , April 25, 2014 9:35 PM
    I understand that the whole point of this review is for 4k monitors. But since it was equally pointed out in the beginning of the review that this is squarely aimed at photographers and other imaging professionals, why not do a shootout with these Dells against some non 4k competition from NEC or Eizo for that matter. Now there is a review I would love to see.
Display more comments
React To This Article