Sign in with
Sign up | Sign in

Dell UltraSharp 24 Ultra HD Monitor: The $1300 UP2414Q

Dell UltraSharp 24 Ultra HD Monitor: The $1300 UP2414Q
By

Dell now offers three Ultra HD monitors for your consideration. We tested the 32-inch UP3214Q last month. Today, we’re looking at the 24-inch UP2414Q. Despite its smaller size, this is still a $1000+ display. Can Dell make the trade-off worthwhile?

If CES was any indication, 2014 is the year of Ultra HD. Dell’s UP2414Q is now the third 4K screen we’ve had the opportunity to test in as many months. And our experience thus far suggests that monitors with 3840x2160 resolutions are still ahead of the rest of the supporting ecosystem.

Gamers anticipating their favorite titles in the lush detail offered by 4K still need to consider the cost of at least one ultra high-end video card. And they need the right display outputs if they hope to achieve a 60 Hz refresh rate. Anything faster necessitates settling for 1920x1080 (or a modded QHD monitor). Plus, enthusiasts seeking out the fastest screen response and lowest input lag have to turn to TN-based panels. The AH-IPS technology we find in Dell's UP2414Q is still slower.

The company knows this, of course. So, for its first-generation Ultra HD products, the focus is on graphics professionals and photographers. Rather than trying to emphasize speed, the main purpose of this 24-inch (like its 32-inch big brother) is rendering accurate color in both sRGB and Adobe RGB gamuts, while providing a sharp image with no visible pixel structure.

When we first started testing wide-gamut monitors, we lamented the fact that you couldn't choose between gamuts. If a panel can natively do Adobe RGB, then it is theoretically capable of rendering any other gamut within that triangle. Asus delivered the functionality we were looking for in its PA279Q (Asus ProArt PQ279Q Monitor Review: 27-Inch, Wide-Gamut, QHD). And Dell includes it in the Ultra HD UP3214Q.

Brand
Dell
Model
UP2141Q
MSRP
$1300
Panel Type
AH-IPS
Backlight
GB-r-LED
Screen Size
23.8 in
Max Resolution
3840x2160
Max Refresh Rate
60 Hz
Aspect Ratio
16:9
Color Depth
8-bit
Native Gamut
Adobe RGB
Response Time (GTG)
8 ms
Brightness (cd/m2)
350
Speakers
-
VGA
-
DVI
-
DisplayPort v1.2
1 standard, 1 mini
HDMI v1.4a
1
Audio In
-
Headphone
-
USB 3.0
1 up, 4 down
Media Card Reader
1 SD
Panel Dimensions
W x H x D w/base
22.4 x 14.6-19.8 x 7.6 in
569 x 371-501 x 192 mm
Panel Thickness
2.2 in / 56 mm
Weight
15 lbs / 6.8 kg
Warranty
Three years

At first glance, it's tempting to think of the UP2414Q as a UP3214Q that was zapped with a shrink ray. As you’ll see in the coming pages, that is largely true. The OSD is identical, and so are the chassis and trim.

But the similarities end there. Whereas the 32-inch screen employs a white-LED IGZO panel from Sharp, the 24-inch monitor is built around a GB-r-LED part from LG. This is one of only two 23.8-inch Ultra HD pieces currently made by LG, and the only one that offers the wider Adobe RGB color gamut. We tested one other GB-r-LED-based display recently, the above-linked Asus' PA279Q. Here’s a quick technology refresher, though:

Rather than the white LEDs found in most LCD monitors, a GB-r-LED backlight consists of green and blue diodes coated with a red phosphor. The net effect is that the three primary colors' spectral peaks are pretty much even. With white-LED, blue's spectral peak is much higher, so software and the panel's color filters must intervene to achieve the correct balance. A GB-r-LED panel is more accurate natively, rendering software and the color filter layer less critical. You get the added benefit of the wider Adobe RGB gamut, too. It's  more expensive to manufacture than W-LED, but less so than the rarely-seen RGB-LED.

Dell includes factory calibration with its UP2414Q, guaranteeing color and grayscale errors of less than two Delta E and screen brightness uniformity of no more than two percent deviation. Each monitor comes with a data sheet showing the results for that specific sample. The UP3214Q exceeded its factory measurement data in our tests. Where does that land it relative to the competition? Read on!

Display all 22 comments.
  • -8 Hide
    dweezled , April 17, 2014 11:52 PM
    This is a joke right? Dell making yet another mockery of the monitor market.

    Why oh why when you can get the latest 10-bit AH-IPS technology in the 2560 x 1600 30" Crossover Black Tune 30x for $700?

  • 4 Hide
    s3anister , April 18, 2014 1:14 AM
    Quote:
    This is a joke right? Dell making yet another mockery of the monitor market.

    Why oh why when you can get the latest 10-bit AH-IPS technology in the 2560 x 1600 30" Crossover Black Tune 30x for $700?



    You obviously miss the point of this monitor. The whole point of a 24" 4K monitor is the pixel density. The fact that it's 8-bit and not 10-bit probably isn't going to bother a whole ton of people and if 4K and 10-bit is what you need than you'd be looking at the Dell Ultrasharp UP3214Q anyway. http://www.tomshardware.com/reviews/ultrasharp-32-up3214q-review,3744-7.html
  • -8 Hide
    voltagetoe , April 18, 2014 4:07 AM
    Tom's should review Samsung's cheap 4k monitor instead of stuff like this.
  • -5 Hide
    Treynolds416 , April 18, 2014 6:35 AM
    I love the super indepth articles you guys do, but it would be nice if you also did more reviews about less expensive things, like cases. I mean, it's interesting to read about a $1k monitor but it would be more helpful to more people if you did a case roundup or a higher volume of reviews about them. You don't have to stop making monitor reviews or anything because it's certainly not hurting anyone, but it seems like there are more articles about expensive monitors that most people can't buy/don't have a use for in lieu of articles about more fundamental pieces of computer hardware.
    Just my two cents
  • -3 Hide
    gadgety , April 18, 2014 7:03 AM
    $1300 for a simple panel is a joke, specially when "From our experience so far, these 4K monitors work well, but still have some maturing to do." Thank you for the straightforward, no nonsense review. I'll wait.
  • 0 Hide
    dstarr3 , April 18, 2014 8:05 AM
    Ahh, 24" 4k monitors are a reality now. Antialiasing in games is soon to be a thing of the past. Which is relieving, because that makes the task on graphics cards a lot more manageable.
  • -3 Hide
    xenol , April 18, 2014 9:08 AM
    (quote thing isn't working for me)
    "Ahh, 24" 4k monitors are a reality now. Antialiasing in games is soon to be a thing of the past. Which is relieving, because that makes the task on graphics cards a lot more manageable. "

    It actually makes it worse if not does nothing. 4K is the equivalent, almost, of 1080p using SSAAx4. MSAA is a lot cheaper and most games are resorting to FXAA or MLAA because it's incredibly cheap, works with any rendering method (Deferred rendering doesn't play nice with MSAA), and the quality is almost as good.
  • 1 Hide
    dstarr3 , April 18, 2014 3:09 PM
    Quote:
    4K is the equivalent, almost, of 1080p using SSAAx4.


    And modern graphics cards can handle that kind of workload. So, since they're basically equivalent, it isn't a lot more to ask of cards to do 4k without any AA.
  • 1 Hide
    soldier44 , April 18, 2014 3:25 PM
    LOL 24" yeh right for that price, make it 30 inches at 4K for that price and i'll bite.
  • -1 Hide
    dark_lord69 , April 18, 2014 3:57 PM
    DOES IT SUCK YO' D***?
    ...
    I didn't think so... Not worth the money...
  • -1 Hide
    dweezled , April 18, 2014 9:27 PM
    To S3amister: First of all I didn't miss the point of this article. I get monitor resolutions. The point is that 4k is the next gimmick made up by the big TV and monitor manufacturers as the "next big thing" to try to get suckers like you to buy into resolutions that the human eye can't even distinguish. You're going to tell me that you can tell a difference between WQHD and 4K? Nonsense. Maybe if you have a 60" screen but with a 24" screen? No way. Get real pal.
  • 1 Hide
    alaskana , April 18, 2014 11:42 PM
    I lust for a 4k monitor in 24 inch, but it must be a 16:10. I currently use the Dell U2412M in vertical mode for word processing, searching eBay, a LOT of searching eBay, etc. I love its 16:10. I previously had a 16:9 and used it in vertical viewing, but it was too narrow. The first 4k 24 inch in 16:10, which pivots to vertical, I will buy in a heartbeat.
  • 0 Hide
    hytecgowthaman , April 19, 2014 12:52 AM
    http://www.benq.com/product/LCD/GL2023A very very cheap 20" led monitor 5ms response time ( not 8ms like this dell 24" ).i am buy 2 units for gaming . no lag or any problem. 7770 graphics card .
  • 1 Hide
    BranFlake5 , April 19, 2014 10:31 AM
    I'm tired of the 4k Hype! I want mainstream affordable 1440p monitors!
  • -3 Hide
    soldier44 , April 20, 2014 5:50 AM
    Quote:
    I'm tired of the 4k Hype! I want mainstream affordable 1440p monitors!


    Why limit yourself to that poor mans 2560 x 1600 res? After using a 30 inch for over 3 years im ready to jump to 4K and quarter of an inch sized icons on my display..More real estate.
  • -3 Hide
    soldier44 , April 20, 2014 5:51 AM
    Quote:
    I'm tired of the 4k Hype! I want mainstream affordable 1440p monitors!


    Why limit yourself to that poor mans 2560 x 1600 res? After using a 30 inch for over 3 years im ready to jump to 4K and quarter of an inch sized icons on my display..More real estate.
  • -1 Hide
    Ahmadjon , April 20, 2014 12:37 PM
    It probably will look like Iphones "Retina" display, I just like clear and crisp image on the monitors :) 
  • 2 Hide
    JamesSneed , April 21, 2014 11:23 AM
    I don't know what all the moaning is about reviewing a monitor that is $1K plus. For those that want cheaper monitors reviewed did you ever stop to think that a review like this will persuade people with the funds to buy one which in turn will make them cheaper. I for one would love to own a 4k monitor however I wont pay 1K for one so keep the reviews coming so we can get mass production up on these over the next year or two.
  • 0 Hide
    youssef 2010 , April 24, 2014 5:30 AM
    The future will be full of details
  • 0 Hide
    SuckRaven , April 25, 2014 9:35 PM
    I understand that the whole point of this review is for 4k monitors. But since it was equally pointed out in the beginning of the review that this is squarely aimed at photographers and other imaging professionals, why not do a shootout with these Dells against some non 4k competition from NEC or Eizo for that matter. Now there is a review I would love to see.
Display more comments
React To This Article