Sign in with
Sign up | Sign in

Conclusion: EVGA GTX460 For The Win!

On The Bench: EVGA GeForce GTX 460 FTW
By

If nothing else, EVGA’s GTX460 FTW shows us what the GF104 GPU is capable of. It’s crystal clear why the GeForce GTX 460 was given a relatively conservative reference core and shader clock relative to its limits, along with a single disabled Shader Multiprocessor. After all, it can go toe-to-toe with the GeForce GTX 470 when everything is dialed up. It'd be nice if Nvidia released a card sporting GF104 GPU and all eight streaming multiprocessors enabled, just to see what it can do.

Despite the excellent factory overclock, value always comes down to a balance between price and performance. It’s been a couple of months since the Radeon HD 6800 launch, so let’s have a look at the current market, as represented on Newegg. At the time of writing, most of the Radeon HD 6850s hover around the $190 range. The GeForce GTX 460 1 GB can be found for $180-250. EVGA’s overclocked GTX460 FTW sells for $230, a $50 premium over the cheapest GeForce GTX 460 1 GB available. The Radeon HD 6870 is readily available around $240. Finally, the GeForce GTX 470 sells for around $250.

Here’s where the decision gets dicey: do you want an EVGA GTX460 FTW, a Radeon HD 6870, or a GeForce GTX 470? With a $10 spread between these options, it’s very hard to call a clear winner here. Frankly, any one of these cards is going to provide excellent service. A typical user is never going to regret having chosen one of these options over the other, as performance is practically identical and they all have their own strengths and weaknesses once you move past the average frame rates. The GeForce cards have CUDA and 3D Vision, while the Radeon boards have Eyefinity. Pick the value-adders that're important to you.

The bottom line is that EVGA’s GTX460 FTW offers something that I’ve never before seen in a card with an extreme factory overclock: excellent performance relative to its price. With GeForce GTX 470-class gaming ability combined with lower power usage, noise, and heat, EVGA’s option truly lives up to it's name and surpasses other GeForce GTX 460 cards for the win.

Ask a Category Expert

Create a new thread in the Reviews comments forum about this subject

Example: Notebook, Android, SSD hard drive

Display all 82 comments.
This thread is closed for comments
  • 1 Hide
    fstrthnu , December 23, 2010 4:09 AM
    Heh, "FTW". Still, EVGA's done a pretty impressive job here. Still a standby till the Geforce GTX 560 comes, but this is pretty darn good heading into winter
  • 2 Hide
    macer1 , December 23, 2010 4:12 AM
    Why not use the 10.12 beta drivers from AMD ?

    The current test used a 10.10 Beta driver which was more problematic then the 10.9 AMD drivers. Makes no sense to me.
  • 2 Hide
    touchdowntexas13 , December 23, 2010 4:15 AM
    Typically I think factory overclocked cards are a waste of cash, but this seems like a pretty good value. I am very happy with my GTX 470, but if I could do it over I would of snatched up that GTX 460! The 470 is just so loud and hot. But it's whatever. The 460 didn't come out until 3 months after I bought the 470.
  • -4 Hide
    dEAne , December 23, 2010 4:31 AM
    If I to choose I will recommend the EVGA’s GTX460 FTW.
  • 0 Hide
    Tamz_msc , December 23, 2010 4:38 AM
    Quote:
    It'd be nice if Nvidia released a card sporting GF104 GPU and all eight streaming multiprocessors enabled, just to see what it can do.

    Bombard the the HD 6950? Maybe at a lesser price? Keeping my fingers crossed for the GTX 560 :D 
  • -2 Hide
    duk3 , December 23, 2010 4:59 AM
    GTX550= GTX460maxcore @ 850mhz :o 
  • 1 Hide
    IzzyCraft , December 23, 2010 5:03 AM
    macer1Why not use the 10.12 beta drivers from AMD ? The current test used a 10.10 Beta driver which was more problematic then the 10.9 AMD drivers. Makes no sense to me.

    Because articles take time to write esp when you need to benchmark things.
  • -2 Hide
    rohitbaran , December 23, 2010 5:13 AM
    Well, this doesn't sound too good for AMD. A fully enable GTX 460, which will probably launch as GX560 will probably come close enough, if not equal to the Radeon 6950.
  • 2 Hide
    Randomacts , December 23, 2010 5:16 AM
    Really?? A bumper sticker??? hahah... wow..
  • 2 Hide
    IzzyCraft , December 23, 2010 5:21 AM
    RandomactsReally?? A bumper sticker??? hahah... wow..

    They didn't have enough fun tricking me into putting lame stickers on my expensive case when i was young so now they want me to put lame stickers on my car.
  • 3 Hide
    joytech22 , December 23, 2010 5:34 AM
    I own 2 GTX470's and if i had seen this GTX460 FTW edition available i would have snatched them up in a heartbeat!

    My 470's are a force to be reckoned with but they're also incredibly loud on hot days (Which i can do Nothing about, even with Air conditioning) and according to these power figures suck up so much more power on average.

    I still think i made the right choice though, it isn't like i notice the sound when i'm playing games anyway.

    And WHY don't ratings work?! Seriously someone has to know..
  • 0 Hide
    fstrthnu , December 23, 2010 6:08 AM
    joytech22I own 2 GTX470's and if i had seen this GTX460 FTW edition available i would have snatched them up in a heartbeat!My 470's are a force to be reckoned with but they're also incredibly loud on hot days (Which i can do Nothing about, even with Air conditioning) and according to these power figures suck up so much more power on average.I still think i made the right choice though, it isn't like i notice the sound when i'm playing games anyway.And WHY don't ratings work?! Seriously someone has to know..

    Lolz your post almost exactly replicated touchdowntexas13's post right above.
    But anyways, that's always the punishment for early adoption. Of course, these cards here are already close to the end of their lifecycle (when the Geforce 500 series is fully unveiled)
  • -1 Hide
    iamtheking123 , December 23, 2010 6:22 AM
    Does anyone really have so much trouble saying "hmmm look at the stock card overclocked benchmarks and that's what the 460 FTW looks like" that it justifies 10 pages just for this?
  • 4 Hide
    cangelini , December 23, 2010 6:23 AM
    joytech22I own 2 GTX470's and if i had seen this GTX460 FTW edition available i would have snatched them up in a heartbeat!My 470's are a force to be reckoned with but they're also incredibly loud on hot days (Which i can do Nothing about, even with Air conditioning) and according to these power figures suck up so much more power on average.I still think i made the right choice though, it isn't like i notice the sound when i'm playing games anyway.And WHY don't ratings work?! Seriously someone has to know..


    Someone in development broke the ratings system. A bug report has been filed, and we're all eagerly awaiting the fix so that, once again, you guys can vote them up or down!
  • 2 Hide
    Anonymous , December 23, 2010 6:29 AM
    Thanks for the review, but why weren't the graps sorted from highest to lowest and highlight the card being reviewed?
  • 1 Hide
    joytech22 , December 23, 2010 6:52 AM
    cangeliniSomeone in development broke the ratings system.


    Haha! oh well stuff happens, thanks for the explanation.
  • 0 Hide
    nevertell , December 23, 2010 7:41 AM
    There is no point in buying these, you can overclock and overvolt pretty much any videocard, and you can get a better performing cooler for a lot less.
  • 0 Hide
    bullcat , December 23, 2010 7:47 AM
    You should have mentioned that almost all of the advantage over the Radeons came from the Civ 5 map benchmark.
  • 0 Hide
    cphorn15 , December 23, 2010 8:59 AM
    BullCatYou should have mentioned that almost all of the advantage over the Radeons came from the Civ 5 map benchmark.


    But the fps are so high that the difference is negligible. Most users playing the game run moniters at 60Hz. The real kicker would be to throw in Eyefinity and 3D Vision/Surround and see the impact of that. Still most users don't use those technologies either.
  • 2 Hide
    hardcore_gamer , December 23, 2010 8:59 AM
    6870 draws only half the power of a GTX470 ! :o 
Display more comments