Sign in with
Sign up | Sign in

DirectX 11 Gaming: 1920x1080

AMD FirePro W8100 Review: The Professional Radeon R9 290
By

DirectX11: Gaming at 1920x1080

We’re using data from our 2014 VGA Charts for the normalized performance comparisons. This gives us the best possible overview of whichever benchmarks we want to include. If you would rather look at individual and more detailed results, you'll find them in the charts database. That online comparison tool also lets you pick the boards you'd like to pit against each other in a generated table.

First, let's take a look at 1920x1080 at the highest possible detail settings. Compensating for clock rate differences, the FirePro W8100 would end up at about the same performance level as AMD's Radeon R9 290 in quiet mode. Additional GDDR5 memory doesn't help the workstation card at such a low resolution. That means the FirePro's 17% deficit compared to the desktop board is imposed by the 15% difference between their GPU frequencies.

Display all 15 comments.
  • -1 Hide
    Memnarchon , July 30, 2014 1:43 AM
    "The video shows that the AMD FirePro W8100 is bearable when it comes to maximum noise under load. This also demonstrates that a thermal solution originally designed for the Radeon HD 5800 (which hasn't changed much since) deals with the W8100’s nearly 190 W a lot better than the W9100's 250 W."
    Wait a minute. If this kind of cooling is better than the ones that used on R9 290 and they had this kind of technology from HD5800 series, then why in the hell they didn't use it on R9 290 series instead of using this crap cooler they used?
  • 4 Hide
    FormatC , July 30, 2014 2:17 AM
    It is the same cooler, but the power consumption of the W8100 is a lot lower. This cooler type can handle up to 190 watts more or less ok, but the R9 290(X) produces more heat due a more expensive power consumption
  • 7 Hide
    Cryio , July 30, 2014 3:24 AM
    "Nvidia's Quadro K5000 is quite a bit cheaper, but comes with half the memory, less 4K connectivity, and is generally slower."

    That's almost an understatement. The K5000 is almost constantly 50% slower than the W8100, with a few 25% cases difference. For 700 $ more, the W8100 looks like a great buy.
  • 0 Hide
    Memnarchon , July 30, 2014 3:29 AM
    Quote:
    It is the same cooler, but the power consumption of the W8100 is a lot lower. This cooler type can handle up to 190 watts more or less ok, but the R9 290(X) produces more heat due a more expensive power consumption

    Well this doesn't approve that the cooler they used is superior. It might be higher TDP rated but that doesn't mean that its better than a lower TDP rated. We know how this rated works, the number is not by any means absolute. And we have seen in the past (especially at CPU coolers) higher TDP rated coolers to loose against lower TDP coolers for a lot of reasons (better quality, better tech, better materials, heatpipe placement etc etc).
    I think the real reason might come from your review.
    I don't believe in coincidence, but they decided to use it on a more expensive professional GPU with great success.
    How do we know that the cooler used in W8100 wasn't approved for R9 290(X) cause of its higher cost perhaps?
    ps: Am I asking too much if I ask from any reviewer on Tom's to test this cooler on a R9 290? (if its compatible ofc...)
  • 0 Hide
    bambiboom , July 30, 2014 7:54 AM
    Gentlemen?,

    The focus on the Firepro W8100 and Quadro K5000 being competitors as something to directly compare is a bit misleading and distracts attention from the impressive features of the Firepro W8100.

    The W8100 does outperform the Quadro K5000 is some important ways, but to be in marketing competition, the performance should be to be in the same general league. The W8100 is 56% more expensive- the price difference of $900 is more than enough to buy a K4000 (About $750).

    On a marketing-basis a $60,000 car that is 50% faster is not a direct competitor to a $38,000 one. The use and expectations of performance and quality are different. The logic is to say, "If you're thinking of buying a Quadro K5000, you should know that for 56% more you can have 25-50% higher performance in several important but not all categories." These purchases are most often budget driven- how many have unlimited funds- and the buyer of a $1,600 card will be a different person from someone with a $2,500 budget. The buyer's quest is more often based on how much performance is expected combined with how much is possible within the budget.

    These cards may have the same applications, but for the W8100 to be better value than a K5000, it should have a consistent 56% performance advantage. A better comparison would be to consider for example, the W7000 and Quadro K4000. Both about $750, but the W7000 is 256-bit, has 4GB. a 154GB/s bandwidth. and 1280 stream processors against the K4000's 192-bit 3GB, 134GB/s and 768 CUDA cores. On Passmark Performance Test, a W7000 3D score near but not the top is about 4300 and 2D at about 1000 while the K4000 scores near the top at about 3000 3D and 1100 2D. The news for AMD is even better when considering that a $1,600 Quadro K5000- double the W7000 cost but also 4GB and 256-bit- near the top 3D scores are about 4300 and in 2D about 900. For me, a better marketing strategy would be to compare the K5000 to the W7000 and the W8100 to a mythological "K5500" that would cost $2,800 (midway between 4 and 12GB and $1600 and $5000).


    This means that the person looking for the best performance for $750 -and uses the applications the W-series is good at- has an easy choice in the W7000.

    Still, the features- especially the 512-bit and 8GB plus overall performance make the W8100 one to consider in the upper end of workstation cards. This should be a very good animation /film editing card. The comments about AMD being more forward looking than NVIDIA may be correct though the comments about the quality of Quadro drivers also seems true. This furthers the trend of GPUs tending to concentrate in certain functions-( the W8100 in OpenCL for example), having to consider GPU's one by one according to the applications used. More and more, with complex 3D modeling and animation software, specific software drives graphics card choices and except for the very top of the lines, the cards seem to less all-rounders than before- not good at everything.

    BambiBoom
  • -3 Hide
    nebun , July 30, 2014 12:03 PM
    call me stupid but how is a $2600 gpu a fair competition to a $1600 gpu....am i missing something?....also the amd gpu has more cores....this is not a fair comparison....take an envidia card with the same about of cores and we see who comes on top....AMD HAS THE WORST DRIVERS
  • 1 Hide
    falchard , July 30, 2014 12:51 PM
    I would like to see these matched against their desktop counterparts in productivity tasks as well. Over the years we have seen a shift in architecture where the desktop part is pretty much the same as the workstation part using different drivers. Some of us need to compare the benefits of workstation cards over desktop cards. A few years ago in CAD based programs we would see a 400% or more increase in performance compared to desktop chips, and knowing this is still the case is very important.
  • 0 Hide
    mapesdhs , July 30, 2014 2:07 PM

    Typo: "... our processor runs at a base close rate ... "

    I assume that should be, 'clock rate'.


    Btw, how come the test suite has changed so that there is no longer any
    app being used such as AE for which NVIDIA cards can be strong because
    of CUDA support?

    Ian.

  • 1 Hide
    mapesdhs , July 31, 2014 1:35 AM

    A down-vote eh? I guess the proverbial NVIDIA-haters still lurk, unwilling to
    present any rationale as usual. :D 

    And falchard is right, Viewperf tests showed enormous differences between
    pro & gamer cards in previous years, but it seems vendors are deliberately
    blurring the tech now, optimising for consumer APIs (ie. not OGL), which
    means pro tests often run well on gamer cards. In which case where is their
    rationale for the cost difference? Apart from support and supposedly better
    drivers, basic performance used to be a major factor of choosing a pro card
    and a sensible justification for the extra cost, but this appears to be not the
    case anymore; check Viewperf11 scores for any gamer vs. pro card, the only
    test where a gamer card isn't massively slower is ENSIGHT-04. For MAYA-03,
    a Quadro 4000 is 3X faster than a GTX 580; for PROE-05, a Q4K is 10X faster;
    for TCVIS-02, a Q4K is 30X faster.

    Today though, with Viewperf12, a 580 is faster than a K5000 for MAYA-04,
    about the same for CREO-01, about the same for SHOWCASE-01 and
    not that much slower for SW-03. Only for CATIA-04 and SNX-02 does the
    expected difference persist.

    Meanwhile we get OpenCL touted everywhere, even though there are plenty
    of apps which can exploit CUDA, but little attempt to properly compare the
    two when the option to use the latter is also available, eg. 3DS Max, Maya,
    Cinema4D, AE, LW, SI, etc.

    Ian.

    PS. nebun, the core structure on these cards is completely different. The number
    of cores is a totally useless measure, it tells one nothing. One can't even compare
    between different cards from the same vendor, eg. a GTX 770 has way more cores
    than a GTX 580, but a 580 hammers the 780 for CUDA. Indeed, a 580 beats all
    the 600 series cards for CUDA despite having far few cores (it's because the newer
    cards use a much lower core clock, less bandwidth per core, etc.)

  • 0 Hide
    ddpruitt , July 31, 2014 9:12 AM
    Doesn't Tom's do copy editing? What's up with the chart with blanks at the bottom of page 13.

    It's nice to see that AMD is starting to close the gap on it's products. They seriously need to consider updating their cooling solutions and improving power. I would be interested to see if these workstation cards throttle down as often as their desktop counterparts. In my experience most of the current Hawaii chips are running higher voltages than needed and they could save both power and heat by running them down a bit. It should allow the boards to stay stable and compete better in many workloads.
  • 0 Hide
    eodeo , August 2, 2014 6:29 AM
    I liked the review, but the "detailed" power consumption part left me wanting more.

    It is known that AMD cards use more than double power compared to nvidia while idling in multi monitor scenarios. Seeing how this is a professional GPU, chances are that it will be used in a multi and not in a single monitor environment. I'd like to know if the workstation class cards address this problem better than their gaming cousins.
  • 0 Hide
    somebodyspecial , August 2, 2014 10:39 PM
    As mapesdhs alluded, why is CUDA not being pitted against OpenCL here? Premiere and AE both use Cuda.

    https://blogs.adobe.com/premierepro/2011/02/cuda-mercury-playback-engine-and-adobe-premiere-pro.html
    Cuda has been in both for years, NV made MPE with Adobe. This hasn't changed. OpenCL has been added, but Cuda is still there.

    http://www.dslrfilmnoob.com/2014/04/26/opencl-vs-cuda-adobe-premiere-cc-rendering-test/
    April 26th 2014 test, Cuda vs. OpenCL, GTX 670 vs. 290x. ~Tie. So pretty sure a 780TI would smoke the 290x, but it does show as he said they've been improving opencl. However, a 670 would be handily trounce by Nv's 780ti here, so it applies to the 290x too.
    http://www.anandtech.com/show/5818/nvidia-geforce-gtx-670-review-feat-evga
    GTX 670 specs-1344 cuda cores, 3.5B transistors, 256b wide, 6ghz mem etc)
    http://www.anandtech.com/show/7492/the-geforce-gtx-780-ti-review
    2880 cuda cores, 7.1B, 384bit bus width, 7ghz mem etc...Not even in the same league for cuda testing.

    Is this why tomshardware avoids doing the Cuda vs. OpenCL and acts as if it doesn't exist here even though you toss out a comment saying cuda is good for this stuff IN this very article (then why not show it?)?

    https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=XTIqzzTNag0&html5=1
    Not my native language, but at 1:45 into the vid you can see him making the selection of CUDA or OpenCL or SOFTWARE. How difficult is it for you guys to click a circle? I could dig further to get a english vid, but you get the point and that took 15 seconds to find..LOL.

    Fake articles need to stop just like that qcom S805 preview crap with no K1, when we already know it is TROUNCED by K1, per anandtech, slashgear, Hexus, Pcper (both xiaomi mipad and shield tablet reviews, and the mipad was july 21st), etc who all show the same numbers easily compared etc with all the usual suspect benchmarks.
  • 0 Hide
    folem , August 7, 2014 8:56 PM
    Quote:
    "The video shows that the AMD FirePro W8100 is bearable when it comes to maximum noise under load. This also demonstrates that a thermal solution originally designed for the Radeon HD 5800 (which hasn't changed much since) deals with the W8100’s nearly 190 W a lot better than the W9100's 250 W."
    Wait a minute. If this kind of cooling is better than the ones that used on R9 290 and they had this kind of technology from HD5800 series, then why in the hell they didn't use it on R9 290 series instead of using this crap cooler they used?


    There are two possible reasons for using a different cooler on the Radeons. The most obvious is cost, the Hawaii GPU costs a lot to manufacture compared to previous generations, almost as much as a GK110 in the Titan. Less obvious may be that it was meant as a show of confidence in card manufacturers.
  • 0 Hide
    folem , August 7, 2014 8:59 PM
    Quick correction on page 1; 3840x2160 is UHD, not 4K. 4K is 4096x2160, the aspect ratio difference is important and the general use of 4K to refer to UHD displays and content as well is harmful for the uninformed person.
  • 0 Hide
    folem , August 8, 2014 1:39 PM
    It seems to me that AMD and NVIDIA have both realized that the K4000/W7000 area is the most profitable. Engineering and DCC companies will put one of those in 500 employees' workstations, whereas a much smaller group of companies will put w8100s or K5000s in just a handful of machines for big data processing. Then there are just a handful of companies like Pixar that will put K6000s in just one or two machines.
React To This Article