Sign in with
Sign up | Sign in

The 3.5” Drives: FreeAgent GoFlex Desk (1 TB)

Seagate's FreeAgent GoFlex: Modular External Storage
By

The GoFlex Desk is the base drive. It centers on a 3.5” hard drive available in 1 TB, 2 TB, and even 3 TB capacities. Pricing is currently $129 (1 TB), $189 (2 TB), and $229 (3 TB). Compared to other external 3.5” drive solutions, these aren’t exactly bargains. Unlike the 128-bit AES-enabled FreeAgent Go and FreeAgent Desk drives, these GoFlex models use 192-bit triple-DES encryption, which seems like a half-step backward, although Seagate makes some amends by including Memeo Instant Backup.

The base drive comes with a USB 2.0 desktop adapter that also functions as a stand, although you can opt to orient the drive horizontally. The interface sits on one side of the desktop adapter; five LEDs can be found on the other side. Four of them work as a capacity gauge, while the fifth shows drive activity.

The GoFlex Desk USB 2.0 delivers roughly 30 MB/s and performs exactly as expected. By itself, the GoFlex Desk 1 TB is a slightly overpriced external storage solution. However, the story starts to make a little more sense if you anticipate a USB 3.0 upgrade, for example.

Ask a Category Expert

Create a new thread in the Reviews comments forum about this subject

Example: Notebook, Android, SSD hard drive

Display all 17 comments.
This thread is closed for comments
  • 2 Hide
    super_tycoon , November 5, 2010 6:26 AM
    Good article, but I think next time you should use some kind of abbreviation or acronym system. There was barely enough room for the bars!
  • 1 Hide
    compton , November 5, 2010 7:12 AM
    I think this is an overall pretty good review. My problem is that now I have a bunch of external storage "solutions" and its getting out of control. I have several 2.5" drives, eSata 3.5", and a WD World Book 1TB network drive. Quite a bit of data exists on more than one drive, but its starting to get annoying. I need one kind of drive that can do everything. I need storage for storage.
  • 0 Hide
    jasperjones , November 5, 2010 10:18 AM
    good review but there are many pretty obvious mistakes in the graphs (particularly, in the section on read/write throughput)
  • -2 Hide
    warezme , November 5, 2010 1:24 PM
    ugh, you couldn't give me a Seagate product
  • 0 Hide
    huron , November 5, 2010 1:26 PM
    It's a very interesting proposition by Seagate to allow us to change adapters and have a great deal of uses for a drive, but it feels like you'd be investing quite a bit in a set of drives that could be outdated quickly, as capacity vs price is continuing to get cheaper.

    I'll second the thought that I feel like I have a lot of external drives already, so it'd be a tough sell to someone like myself who already has drives with USB and eSATA, or a NAS.
  • 0 Hide
    Anonymous , November 5, 2010 3:05 PM
    I would be more impressed with hi speed interface that allows expansion or daisy chaining. Then some software to allow migration/backup/cloning and well as redundancy or duplication elimination.
  • 0 Hide
    Traciatim , November 5, 2010 3:45 PM
    "The TV HD Media Player is a complementary product in the GoFlex line that requires a hard drive to operate."

    Are you sure it requires a hard drive? I use mine with a USB memory stick, and it runs fine without anything plugged in to it if you are streaming media as far as I was aware (I haven't run my cable yet to be sure). It works like any small media player device, but also has the option to stick a hard drive in the front. Since it's generally the same price as most other media players this added feature was enough to get my purchase over others with built in space or pre-installed drives that are not easily removable.

  • 0 Hide
    nullifi , November 5, 2010 3:49 PM
    Desk 1TB USB3
    Desk 1TB Firewire 800
    Desk 1TB USB2
    Ultra-portable 500GB USB3
    .. etc. There, you can have room for the graph now.
  • 0 Hide
    scione , November 5, 2010 5:57 PM
    whats the point of having usb 2.0 at all on these drives? isn't usb 3.0 backwards compatible?
  • 0 Hide
    abswindows7 , November 5, 2010 6:08 PM
    Why would someone buy a Seagate Hard Drive ?
    To lose it's data after a few months :) 
  • 0 Hide
    dEAne , November 6, 2010 5:21 AM
    Seagate should concentrate more on their hardware reliability not the looks, I have lots of problems with their drives.
  • 0 Hide
    Phoenixlight , November 6, 2010 10:57 AM
    super_tycoonGood article, but I think next time you should use some kind of abbreviation or acronym system. There was barely enough room for the bars!


    Yeah or just write out the product over 2 lines.
  • 0 Hide
    BlackPearl , November 6, 2010 3:06 PM
    Any idea what could be slowing down writes on eSATA drives?
  • 0 Hide
    runswindows95 , November 7, 2010 3:27 AM
    scionewhats the point of having usb 2.0 at all on these drives? isn't usb 3.0 backwards compatible?


    USB 3.0 isn't mainstream as of yet. Dell, HP, and Gateway, the big three OEM's in major retail stores, do not have a system with USB 3.0 ports. That's why all of them are defaulted to USB 2.0.
  • 0 Hide
    Zenthar , November 7, 2010 12:56 PM
    runswindows95USB 3.0 isn't mainstream as of yet. Dell, HP, and Gateway, the big three OEM's in major retail stores, do not have a system with USB 3.0 ports. That's why all of them are defaulted to USB 2.0.
    What Scione meant is that a USB3.0 device is supposed to work on a USB2.0 port so yes, USB2.0 is probably a waste.

    Moreover I think it would have been nice to sell only the base unit because people interested in just Firewire 800, USB 3.0, eSATA or the "Net" thing, are actually paying for the USB 2.0 base station even if they don't want it at all.
  • 0 Hide
    thekitty , November 7, 2010 2:31 PM
    Two words: Light Peak

    Coming after the new year.
  • 0 Hide
    iborco , November 18, 2010 3:59 PM
    The SATA connector is guaranteed for 50 insertions and GoFlex uses it directly. Doesn't this make GoFlex useless?