Sign in with
Sign up | Sign in

Sneak Peek At SLI

Nvidia GeForce GTX 460: The Fermi We Were Waiting For
By

We already have a comprehensive look at GeForce GTX 460 SLI performance planned for a future article. After all, we feel that there’s more to a pair of these cards than a handful of benchmark charts could convey. We gave AMD’s Radeon HD 4770s in CrossFire a similar treatment back in 2009, along with the GeForce GTX 275 in SLI a few days later.

For now, we’ll give you a sneak peek at performance using Nvidia’s reference GeForce GTX 460 and Zotac’s board, sporting the same clock rates.

There are some clear and present performance gains associated with SLI. This isn’t new, though. This is the same story we told back when I revisited the GeForce GTX 480 in single-, dual-, and triple-card configurations. What do those numbers work out to with regard to scaling?

That’s not quite a doubling of performance, but in many cases, we’re damn close. The only exception is DiRT 2, which we have seen scale better in the past. Perhaps, in this example, we’re suffering from the application of anti-aliasing (likely).

Again, this is just a teaser. We’ll be following up with a full exploration of these cards in SLI, comparing them to a GeForce GTX 480. If it turns out that a pair of 460s outperform the 480, then you’re looking at $450 worth of hardware serving up more speed than a $500 card.

Display all 151 comments.
This thread is closed for comments
Top Comments
  • 35 Hide
    sabot00 , July 12, 2010 4:28 AM
    Finally, the price wars from the 4000/GTX 200 ages are back!
  • 22 Hide
    thedreadfather , July 12, 2010 4:36 AM
    Tamz_mscAt last, Nvidia has impressed me(to a certain extent).But where's power consumption in SLI?

    Did you even read the whole article?
    Page 5 "Sneak Peek at SLI"
    "Again, this is just a teaser. We’ll be following up with a full exploration of these cards in SLI, comparing them to a GeForce GTX 480."

    Great review as always, Chris.
  • 16 Hide
    gkay09 , July 12, 2010 4:55 AM
    Very nice SLI scaling IMO...That is one department where Nvidia wins always...
    Hope to see ATI improve their scaling performance...And a very good article there Chris...
Other Comments
  • 35 Hide
    sabot00 , July 12, 2010 4:28 AM
    Finally, the price wars from the 4000/GTX 200 ages are back!
  • 22 Hide
    thedreadfather , July 12, 2010 4:36 AM
    Tamz_mscAt last, Nvidia has impressed me(to a certain extent).But where's power consumption in SLI?

    Did you even read the whole article?
    Page 5 "Sneak Peek at SLI"
    "Again, this is just a teaser. We’ll be following up with a full exploration of these cards in SLI, comparing them to a GeForce GTX 480."

    Great review as always, Chris.
  • 5 Hide
    cangelini , July 12, 2010 4:38 AM
    thedreadfatherDid you even read the whole article? Page 5 "Sneak Peek at SLI" "Again, this is just a teaser. We’ll be following up with a full exploration of these cards in SLI, comparing them to a GeForce GTX 480."Great review as always, Chris.


    Much thanks, sir!
  • 4 Hide
    thejerk , July 12, 2010 4:39 AM
    Nice review, Chris. Best I've read here in a while.
  • 10 Hide
    cangelini , July 12, 2010 4:43 AM
    guid_aaa000001I have never waited for this... It's not "we", it must be "some people".Note: That is if you consider "me" in that "we".


    We, as in Tom's Hardware ;-)
  • 7 Hide
    lashton , July 12, 2010 4:43 AM
    the 5830 i think is a better card, hell you can get a 5770 super-clock it and thats the same speed as a GTX460 for a fraction of the price!
  • 1 Hide
    Tamz_msc , July 12, 2010 4:45 AM
    thedreadfatherDid you even read the whole article? Page 5 "Sneak Peek at SLI" "Again, this is just a teaser. We’ll be following up with a full exploration of these cards in SLI, comparing them to a GeForce GTX 480."Great review as always, Chris.

    Might have overlooked that line, but I'm wondering how the 460 would perform when overclocked.
  • 0 Hide
    Tamz_msc , July 12, 2010 4:54 AM
    Comparing it with your test on the 480 , two GTX 460 1gb s in SLI does seem to outperform a single 480, although very slightly
  • 16 Hide
    gkay09 , July 12, 2010 4:55 AM
    Very nice SLI scaling IMO...That is one department where Nvidia wins always...
    Hope to see ATI improve their scaling performance...And a very good article there Chris...
  • 10 Hide
    dertechie , July 12, 2010 4:57 AM
    Took them long enough. Bring on the price wars.
  • 3 Hide
    worst 3 , July 12, 2010 5:05 AM
    I hope they this will make the price war trickle up to the higher ati and nvidia cars. have had my eye on a 5850, hope the 5830 get real cheap fast and the 5850 to follow down to the $250 price range.

    i wonder if they will make a new gtx465 with the a full or near full gf104 core.
  • -6 Hide
    scook9 , July 12, 2010 5:09 AM
    This is the same GPU as the laptop GTX 480m isn't it? Same GF104?
  • 5 Hide
    ares1214 , July 12, 2010 5:26 AM
    actually, i like ati and all, but id take the 460 1 gig version over the 5770 anyday, way more bang for buck
  • 3 Hide
    Tamz_msc , July 12, 2010 5:28 AM
    Just checked with Guru3D, these cards easily overclock to 800+ MHz core without voltage tweaks.An absolutely great overclocker!
  • 7 Hide
    ares1214 , July 12, 2010 5:30 AM
    yeah, same here, i saw this thing get past 850 on default speed stock cooling.
Display more comments