Sign in with
Sign up | Sign in

Overclocking And SLI Benchmarks

The Nvidia GeForce GTX 560 Review: Take Off Your Ti
By

These next charts demonstrate the effectiveness of factory overclocking on Asus' GTX 560 DirectCU II TOP and Zotac's GeForce GTX 560 AMP! Edition. Two reference-clocked GeForce GTX 560s in SLI are also included.

In addition, we overclocked one of our GeForce GTX 560s past the factory setting to the highest overclock we could achieve stably. While doing this we made an interesting discovery. Mainly, the Asus GTX 560 DirectCU II TOP is able to increase GPU voltage through the SmartDoctor utility. This card's stock setting is 1.012 V, but this can be increased to 1.112 V using Asus' software.

While we criticized Zotac's GeForce GTX 560 AMP! Edition for its lack of GPU voltage control, we were surprised to see GPU-Z report a stock voltage of 1.142 V. This is higher than the Asus card allows through SmartDoctor. Because of this, we expect comparatively higher GPU temperatures and power usage.

In any case, 1000 MHz was the highest frequency we were able to squeeze out of GF114 at this voltage. With a slight memory overclock to 1125 MHz, we proceed with the benchmarks:

Both of the factory overclocked cards match stock GeForce GTX 560 Ti performance. Then again, with a $220 MSRP, they also end up priced pretty close to some of the least-expensive Ti boards (selling for about $235 at the time of writing).

Note that the highest overclock we achieved manually barely made any difference compared to the factory-overclocked models. From what we’ve seen, the GF114 GPU doesn’t make it past 1 GHz easily. So, the 925+ MHz factory overclocks come so close to the card’s perceived ceiling. We probably wouldn't bother overclocking a GeForce GTX 560 unless we bought it at Nvidia's reference clocks (which do seem to leave room for higher clocks).

Ask a Category Expert

Create a new thread in the Reviews comments forum about this subject

Example: Notebook, Android, SSD hard drive

Display all 80 comments.
This thread is closed for comments
  • 8 Hide
    rolli59 , May 17, 2011 1:24 PM
    I am just surprised they did not call it SE!
  • 6 Hide
    daygall , May 17, 2011 1:26 PM
    All these naming schemes are giving me a freakin head ache stupid derp companies, why cant both of them just stick with 1 naming scheme for a while

    if its not amd mucking with my mind and HD6870
  • 0 Hide
    daygall , May 17, 2011 1:28 PM
    srry for the dbl post... but half my comment disapeared ....

    EDIT* if its not amd mucking with my mind and HD6870 < HD5870 = HD6970

    its Nvidia and GTX460 < GTX560Ti >
  • 1 Hide
    kcorp2003 , May 17, 2011 1:53 PM
    so that disable part can be flash to re-enable it?
  • 4 Hide
    NuclearShadow , May 17, 2011 2:04 PM
    The naming is certainly for marketing purposes. People are not attracted to lower numbers even when they are more fitting when it comes to new products.
    Yes companies exploit this but on the other hand would their product sell if they didn't? At-least now as well as it would otherwise.

    Take the Xbox 360 as a example. Its predecessor was simply "Xbox"
    It's not the 3rd console of the series and certainly isn't the 360th.
    The 360 is completely meaningless in the name when it comes to the product.
    They didn't want to name it Xbox 2 for the simple reason that loss of sales may occur because of the PS3's 3. They felt that some consumers may feel that because of the higher number the PS3 is superior and should buy that instead. As silly as this may sound to everyone they very likely are correct. Hence why the Xbox 360 was named such. But can you really blame them?

    Final note: I personally find the 360's name funny as it would mean the Xbox 360 by name would be right at where the Xbox is and not of any change.
  • -5 Hide
    geekapproved , May 17, 2011 2:05 PM
    Stupid strategy. MOst people are buying 560ti's and 6950 1GB's. Not 6870's and surely not 560's.
  • 1 Hide
    bobdozer , May 17, 2011 2:30 PM
    Anybody else notice that there is always an nvidia card at the top of toms video reviews?

    Why stop at the 560 TI? You can't use price as an excuse this time around because it costs about the same as the 6950.
  • 6 Hide
    bobdozer , May 17, 2011 2:36 PM
    The conclusion is pretty bad.

    Newegg has a bunch of 6870's costing less than $200 (one is $173 with rebate + free Shogun total war).

    So it's slightly faster, has much better minimum framerates, consumes much less power and is cheaper. I don't see any compelling reason to buy this 560.
  • 1 Hide
    hangfirew8 , May 17, 2011 3:02 PM
    Where did you get those puny memory bandwidth values from? HS has the 560TI at 128.3GB/s. You have 4GB/S. Has Nvidia started selling the Fx5200 again?
  • 1 Hide
    elbert , May 17, 2011 3:21 PM
    The 560GTX SLI had no crossfire setup to compare. Was this due to the 560GTX SLI only compares to a 6850CF? The 560ti SLI v/s 6870 CF is a very good compare. In the link the 560ti SLI has 2 wins, 2 losses, and one near tie with 6870 CF.
    http://www.tomshardware.com/reviews/nvidia-geforce-gtx-560-ti-gf114,2845-13.html
  • 5 Hide
    Anonymous , May 17, 2011 3:55 PM
    I don't think that Crysis 2 should be included in these benchmarks until they have dx11. That's assumming they actually do something with DX11. If they don't, you should never include them again. I mean what's the point of showing this stuff for something that a 5 year old console can play.
  • 3 Hide
    ojas , May 17, 2011 4:09 PM
    hangfirew8Where did you get those puny memory bandwidth values from? HS has the 560TI at 128.3GB/s. You have 4GB/S. Has Nvidia started selling the Fx5200 again?


    hahahaha yeah my 9600GT has more mem bandwidth than what they've listed here!! :p 

    HS is not wrong, the memory bandwidth for the 560 is 128 GB/s according to nvidia's site as well.

    lol pls correct that Don! it's a bit funny... :p 
  • 3 Hide
    dragonsqrrl , May 17, 2011 4:14 PM
    GeekApprovedStupid strategy. MOst people are buying 560ti's and 6950 1GB's. Not 6870's and surely not 560's.

    So your saying most people wouldn't possibly consider anything below ~$230? Why's that? There's a huge market for mid-range and low-end graphics cards.
  • 0 Hide
    sweatlaserxp , May 17, 2011 4:23 PM
    $200 I can understand as a base price, but in this case, they have a disabled stream processor, so they jack up the clockspeeds so that it can perform closer to the 560 Ti, and then raise the price to nearly the same as the... 560 Ti.
  • 2 Hide
    cangelini , May 17, 2011 4:41 PM
    hangfirew8Where did you get those puny memory bandwidth values from? HS has the 560TI at 128.3GB/s. You have 4GB/S. Has Nvidia started selling the Fx5200 again?


    Clearly a typo from the author; I've fixed.
  • 1 Hide
    cangelini , May 17, 2011 4:42 PM
    bobdozerAnybody else notice that there is always an nvidia card at the top of toms video reviews?Why stop at the 560 TI? You can't use price as an excuse this time around because it costs about the same as the 6950.


    Video reviews? Link please! =)
  • 2 Hide
    verbalizer , May 17, 2011 4:57 PM
    Quote:
    I am just surprised they did not call it SE!

    ^+1
  • 2 Hide
    Mousemonkey , May 17, 2011 5:18 PM
    It should have been left as a GTX460 IMHO, perhaps calling it a version 2.0 or something. All that's going to happen now is people are going to wonder why one of these GTX560's won't SLi with a Ti version.
  • 6 Hide
    cronos177 , May 17, 2011 5:30 PM
    Between the GTX 560 and HD6870 decision would mostly be based on AMD vs NVIDIA. Though, HD6870 is cheaper, consume less energy, and escalates better on CF
  • 5 Hide
    therandomuser , May 17, 2011 5:57 PM
    rolli59I am just surprised they did not call it SE!

    Maybe it can be related to the fact that I sometimes call them the Stupid Edition cards.

    Honestly, nVidia has been slipping up with their launch prices in the lower mid-range. AMD will dominate for now in the lower prices, but when will nVidia smarten up and get something to compete down there?
Display more comments