Sign in with
Sign up | Sign in

Overclocking

GeForce GTX 650 Ti Review: Nvidia's Last Graphics Card For 2012
By , Igor Wallossek

We pushed Gigabyte's GeForce GTX 650 as far as it'd go and achieved a maximum core overclock of 1125 MHz, with the GDDR5 memory operating at 1600. All it took was a 1.15 V GPU voltage.

In addition, we're including benchmark results for Zotac's factory-overclocked GeForce GTX 650 Ti AMP! Edition and Gigabyte's GV-N65TOC-2GI at their stock settings.

Pushed to its highest overclock, the GeForce GTX 650 Ti edges out AMD's Radeon HD 6870 and Nvidia's GeForce GTX 560 in all but two of our eight high-detail benchmarks. Zotac's AMP! card isn't far behind, making a case for its $180 price tag compared to the GeForce GTX 560.

The biggest problem we see with an overclocked GeForce GTX 650 Ti is AMD's Radeon HD 7850 1 GB, which manages to stay ahead of it in all of our benchmarks.

Ask a Category Expert

Create a new thread in the Reviews comments forum about this subject

Example: Notebook, Android, SSD hard drive

Display all 150 comments.
This thread is closed for comments
Top Comments
  • 41 Hide
    jimbaladin , October 9, 2012 1:25 PM
    40% slower than the 7850 while costing 10-20% less, and 10% faster than the 7770 while costing 25% more.

    That looks like a fail to me, and don't even get me started on how late this is.
  • 30 Hide
    cknobman , October 9, 2012 2:29 PM
    AnandTech has already released an article covering AMD officially dropping the price of the 1GB 7850 to $169 for the fall season

    This means we will easily see $150 or less after rebates and officially makes this Nvidia 650ti product a total fail. I see no reason to purchase this.
  • 28 Hide
    outlw6669 , October 9, 2012 1:34 PM
    nVidia, you really need to stop gimping your bandwidth!
    Seriously, such a waste of silicon that could perform quite a bit better if you just gave it a little more breathing room....
Other Comments
  • 5 Hide
    yialanliu , October 9, 2012 1:24 PM
    Awesome, finally something that mainstream budget users can afford from Nvidia, been waiting for ages!
  • 41 Hide
    jimbaladin , October 9, 2012 1:25 PM
    40% slower than the 7850 while costing 10-20% less, and 10% faster than the 7770 while costing 25% more.

    That looks like a fail to me, and don't even get me started on how late this is.
  • 11 Hide
    unionoob , October 9, 2012 1:26 PM
    Would be awesome if you would include HD 5770 in benchmarks vs this one too, sure its old card but would love to see how powerfull is that one compered to this one.
  • 28 Hide
    outlw6669 , October 9, 2012 1:34 PM
    nVidia, you really need to stop gimping your bandwidth!
    Seriously, such a waste of silicon that could perform quite a bit better if you just gave it a little more breathing room....
  • 20 Hide
    tomfreak , October 9, 2012 1:37 PM
    I assume the place where it cripple the 650TI is the 16ROP as well as the 128bit bus. But the 16ROP is probably the biggest bottleneck of the card, this is the only place where u cant be fix by any OCing at all.

    With 128bit bus, they could have just leave the memory speed @ 6GHz. 5400 is pretty much ruin the thing.

    Edit: btw, this is probably one of the most useful review I see for a while. 6870/6850/560/460/7770 are all there, with benchmark of AA on and off. thumbs up for u author!
  • 18 Hide
    Wisecracker , October 9, 2012 1:45 PM

    jimbaladin40% slower than the 7850 while costing 10-20% less, and 10% faster than the 7770 while costing 25% more.That looks like a fail to me, and don't even get me started on how late this is.


    The HD7850 and GTX 650ti are essentially the same price on New Egg.





  • 19 Hide
    proffet , October 9, 2012 1:49 PM
    another PhysX card I suppose..
    slightly too weak for a dedicated in my book.
    I said my book as in my opinion.
  • 19 Hide
    Iastfan112 , October 9, 2012 1:54 PM
    Mike-THWhy would you not include the GTX 660 Ti in the tests? After all, the 650 Ti and 660 Ti should be the options of the day for upgrades - why not compare them?


    Because comparing cards in the ~150 dollar range to a card thats +280 dollars is asinine?
  • 30 Hide
    cknobman , October 9, 2012 2:29 PM
    AnandTech has already released an article covering AMD officially dropping the price of the 1GB 7850 to $169 for the fall season

    This means we will easily see $150 or less after rebates and officially makes this Nvidia 650ti product a total fail. I see no reason to purchase this.
  • 5 Hide
    digiex , October 9, 2012 2:37 PM
    Can the power plane of the of the diminutive 5.75" x 4" PCB can support the 100W of power? Could it result in PCB delamination over time?
  • -4 Hide
    Mike-TH , October 9, 2012 2:37 PM
    Quote:
    Iastfan112Because comparing cards in the ~150 dollar range to a card thats +280 dollars is asinine?



    Not if you seriously would like to know what the performance difference was. Look at the current Video Card ratings - they cover from very low to extreme high - because people would like to know.

    So - Right now, I'm looking at buying a $300 660 Ti, but if the 650 Ti can come within 20% of the performance, I might not drop the extra cash on it. But without trying to find a common benchmark between the two, there's no way to tell. Looks like I get to go benchmark hunting.
  • 5 Hide
    tomfreak , October 9, 2012 2:46 PM
    further read on several reviews said that most if not all of 650ti use 6GHz hynix RAM. So why are they clocking it @ 5400? 128bit + 6Ghz is not going to hurt 660.

    Nvidia are doing stupid thing here :/ 
  • 1 Hide
    UltimateDeep , October 9, 2012 2:50 PM
    How about EVGA's Super Superclocked Impersonation of the 650Ti? I really want Tom's Hardware to take a look at that one.
  • -2 Hide
    Mike-TH , October 9, 2012 2:50 PM
    Found a comparative benchmark between 650ti and 660ti - in the GPGPU benchmarks. The games tests all have different settings between the 650ti and 660ti reviews, so they aren't a true comparison.

    I used this as the 660ti review to compare benchmarks against for the games : http://www.tomshardware.com/reviews/geforce-gtx-660-ti-benchmark-review,3279.html
  • 5 Hide
    luciferano , October 9, 2012 2:54 PM
    Mike-THNot if you seriously would like to know what the performance difference was. Look at the current Video Card ratings - they cover from very low to extreme high - because people would like to know.So - Right now, I'm looking at buying a $300 660 Ti, but if the 650 Ti can come within 20% of the performance, I might not drop the extra cash on it. But without trying to find a common benchmark between the two, there's no way to tell. Looks like I get to go benchmark hunting.


    Mike-THFound a comparative benchmark between 650ti and 660ti - in the GPGPU benchmarks. The games tests all have different settings between the 650ti and 660ti reviews, so they aren't a true comparison. I used this as the 660ti review to compare benchmarks against for the games : http://www.tomshardware.com/review [...] ,3279.html


    The 660 non-Ti has a roughly 50% lead on average over the 650 Ti. This 650 Ti obviously doesn't come anywhere near the 660 Ti. You shouldn't need the 660 Ti in this to know that.
  • 1 Hide
    jabliese , October 9, 2012 3:05 PM
    Why is the Max TDP on this 110W? Makes no sense, with power use being identical to a 650. Might these be made w/o an extra power connector?
  • -2 Hide
    greghome , October 9, 2012 3:06 PM
    Hopefully, the GT700s will be based off more than 2 GPUs....... :/ 
    so they won't be as late as this gen because they had to collect enough bad chips
  • 0 Hide
    luciferano , October 9, 2012 3:12 PM
    jablieseWhy is the Max TDP on this 110W? Makes no sense, with power use being identical to a 650. Might these be made w/o an extra power connector?


    Outside of gaming, such as some stress tests, they might be able to reach their TDP.
  • 1 Hide
    luciferano , October 9, 2012 3:14 PM
    BigMack70This. Nailed it. Nothing more needs to be said.


    Some of the highly factory overclocked 7770s would be considerably faster than this 650 Ti while still being cheaper ;) 
Display more comments