Sign in with
Sign up | Sign in

GeForce GTX 650 Ti Review: Nvidia's Last Graphics Card For 2012

GeForce GTX 650 Ti Review: Nvidia's Last Graphics Card For 2012
By , Igor Wallossek

Nvidia's new GeForce GTX 650 Ti is designed to fill the gap between its GeForce GTX 650 and 660. Is the GK106-based board fast enough to outmaneuver classics like the GeForce GTX 460 and Radeon HD 6850? Or, should you be looking to a 1 GB Radeon HD 7850?

We've seen Nvidia launch three graphics cards in the last two months, all based on its Kepler architecture. Today, we bring you the fourth, and the last desktop-oriented introduction, Nvidia says, for 2012. Say hello to the GeForce GTX 650 Ti.

There's a fairly substantial price gap between the new $120 GeForce GTX 650 and $230 GeForce GTX 660, so this board's arrival is really not a surprise. After all, Nvidia needs something to do battle with AMD's Radeon HD 7770 and 7850, along with replacing its own GeForce GTX 560. The Radeon HD 6850 and 6870 are still floating around, too, and those cards remain attractive options in the same price range. The GeForce GTX 650 faces a formidable battle if it wants to prove its worth at $150.

Nvidia arms its new value-oriented contender with the same GK106 GPU we saw in Nvidia GeForce GTX 650 And 660 Review: Kepler At $110 And $230. Only, this time around, parts of the chip are disabled in order to create a performance profile that fits between the GeForce GTX 650 and 660.

GK106's third (and curiously asymmetric) GPC is disabled, as is one of the chip's ROP partitions and one of its 64-bit memory interfaces. The resulting configuration yields four streaming multiprocessors totaling 768 CUDA cores and 64 texture units. The remaining two ROP clusters can output 16 full-color raster operations per clock, and the aggregate memory interface is 128-bits wide.


GeForce GTX 650GeForce GTX 650 Ti
GeForce GTX 660GeForce GTX 560GeForce GTX 460
Shader Cores
384
768960
336336
Texture Units
32
64
80
5656
Color ROPs
16
1624
3232
Fabrication process
28 nm
28 nm28 nm40 nm40 nm
Core/Boost Clock
1058 MHz
925 MHz980/1033 MHz
810 MHz675 MHz
Memory Clock
1250 MHz GDDR5
1350 MHz GDDR51502 MHz GDDR5
1002 MHz GDDR5900 MHz GDDR5
Memory Bus
128-bit
128-bit192-bit
256-bit256-bit
Memory Bandwidth
80 GB/s
86.4 GB/s144.2 GB/s128.2 GB/s
115.2 GB/s
Graphics RAM
1 or 2 GB GDDR5
 1 or 2 GB GDDR5
2 GB GDDR5
2 GB GDDR51 GB GDDR5
Power Connectors
1 x 6-pin1 x 6-pin
1 x 6-pin2 x 6-pin2 x 6-pin
Maximum TDP
64 W
110 W
140 W
160 W
160 W
Price
$117 - $150 (Newegg)
~$150 (MSRP)$230 - $250 (Newegg)
$167 - $200 (Newegg)
End Of Life


Most of the GeForce GTX 650 Ti's specifications end up somewhere between the recently-introduced GeForce GTX 650 and GTX 660, except for the memory subsystem. A similar 128-bit interface and 16 raster ops per clock are virtually identical to the GeForce GTX 650. A small bump in data rate accounts for the tiny bandwidth increase from 80 GB/s to 86.4 GB/s. Unfortunately, that's a long way off from last generation's GeForce GTX 460 with the 256-bit bus. Even AMD's older Radeon HD 6850 and 6870 cards offer 128 and 134 GB/s of throughput.

If Nvidia's new budget-oriented board has one weakness for folks looking to game at higher resolutions with anti-aliasing applied, based on what we know about the GeForce GTX 650 and 660, memory bandwidth is going to be it. This is an area where overclocking stands to really help the reference configuration's performance. 

Nvidia's GeForce GTX 650 Ti

The GeForce GTX 650 Ti's diminutive 5.75" x 4" PCB reminds us of the low-end GeForce GT 430. It's a surprisingly fast card, however, despite its compact dimensions.

Nvidia's reference design is equipped with 1 GB of GDDR5 memory. The back side of the PCB is bare, though you'll find memory modules there on more expensive 2 GB versions of the card. By default, memory operates at 1350 MHz, yielding an effective 5400 MT/s data rate. The GK106 GPU itself runs at 925 MHz, and there is no GPU Boost functionality available, similar to what we already saw from the GeForce GTX 660.

The sample we received only has one mini-HDMI and two dual-link DVI outputs, though we know the Kepler-based GPUs we've reviewed so far actually support up to four screens at a time. Add-in board vendors have the option to expose additional display connectivity if they choose, and we'll be checking out a couple of partner boards on the following pages.

A 110 W TDP requires a single six-pin auxiliary power connector, since a PCI Express x16 slot is only able to supply 75 W.

There is no SLI connector on the GeForce GTX 650 Ti. Although some lower-end boards support multi-card configurations over the PCI Express, Nvidia deliberately handicaps this model by preventing cost-conscious gamers from buying one card today and adding a second one down the road. AMD, in comparison, allows for CrossFire operation on its Radeon HD 7770 and 7750 boards.

The reference cooling solution employs one 75 mm axial fan, and, according to our measurements, it does a satisfactory job of keeping Nvidia's 28 nm cool without generating much noise.

Display 150 Comments.
This thread is closed for comments
Top Comments
  • 41 Hide
    jimbaladin , October 9, 2012 1:25 PM
    40% slower than the 7850 while costing 10-20% less, and 10% faster than the 7770 while costing 25% more.

    That looks like a fail to me, and don't even get me started on how late this is.
  • 30 Hide
    cknobman , October 9, 2012 2:29 PM
    AnandTech has already released an article covering AMD officially dropping the price of the 1GB 7850 to $169 for the fall season

    This means we will easily see $150 or less after rebates and officially makes this Nvidia 650ti product a total fail. I see no reason to purchase this.
  • 28 Hide
    outlw6669 , October 9, 2012 1:34 PM
    nVidia, you really need to stop gimping your bandwidth!
    Seriously, such a waste of silicon that could perform quite a bit better if you just gave it a little more breathing room....
Other Comments
  • 5 Hide
    yialanliu , October 9, 2012 1:24 PM
    Awesome, finally something that mainstream budget users can afford from Nvidia, been waiting for ages!
  • 41 Hide
    jimbaladin , October 9, 2012 1:25 PM
    40% slower than the 7850 while costing 10-20% less, and 10% faster than the 7770 while costing 25% more.

    That looks like a fail to me, and don't even get me started on how late this is.
  • 11 Hide
    unionoob , October 9, 2012 1:26 PM
    Would be awesome if you would include HD 5770 in benchmarks vs this one too, sure its old card but would love to see how powerfull is that one compered to this one.
  • 28 Hide
    outlw6669 , October 9, 2012 1:34 PM
    nVidia, you really need to stop gimping your bandwidth!
    Seriously, such a waste of silicon that could perform quite a bit better if you just gave it a little more breathing room....
  • 20 Hide
    tomfreak , October 9, 2012 1:37 PM
    I assume the place where it cripple the 650TI is the 16ROP as well as the 128bit bus. But the 16ROP is probably the biggest bottleneck of the card, this is the only place where u cant be fix by any OCing at all.

    With 128bit bus, they could have just leave the memory speed @ 6GHz. 5400 is pretty much ruin the thing.

    Edit: btw, this is probably one of the most useful review I see for a while. 6870/6850/560/460/7770 are all there, with benchmark of AA on and off. thumbs up for u author!
  • 18 Hide
    Wisecracker , October 9, 2012 1:45 PM

    jimbaladin40% slower than the 7850 while costing 10-20% less, and 10% faster than the 7770 while costing 25% more.That looks like a fail to me, and don't even get me started on how late this is.


    The HD7850 and GTX 650ti are essentially the same price on New Egg.





  • 19 Hide
    proffet , October 9, 2012 1:49 PM
    another PhysX card I suppose..
    slightly too weak for a dedicated in my book.
    I said my book as in my opinion.
  • 19 Hide
    Iastfan112 , October 9, 2012 1:54 PM
    Mike-THWhy would you not include the GTX 660 Ti in the tests? After all, the 650 Ti and 660 Ti should be the options of the day for upgrades - why not compare them?


    Because comparing cards in the ~150 dollar range to a card thats +280 dollars is asinine?
  • 30 Hide
    cknobman , October 9, 2012 2:29 PM
    AnandTech has already released an article covering AMD officially dropping the price of the 1GB 7850 to $169 for the fall season

    This means we will easily see $150 or less after rebates and officially makes this Nvidia 650ti product a total fail. I see no reason to purchase this.
  • 5 Hide
    digiex , October 9, 2012 2:37 PM
    Can the power plane of the of the diminutive 5.75" x 4" PCB can support the 100W of power? Could it result in PCB delamination over time?
  • -4 Hide
    Mike-TH , October 9, 2012 2:37 PM
    Quote:
    Iastfan112Because comparing cards in the ~150 dollar range to a card thats +280 dollars is asinine?



    Not if you seriously would like to know what the performance difference was. Look at the current Video Card ratings - they cover from very low to extreme high - because people would like to know.

    So - Right now, I'm looking at buying a $300 660 Ti, but if the 650 Ti can come within 20% of the performance, I might not drop the extra cash on it. But without trying to find a common benchmark between the two, there's no way to tell. Looks like I get to go benchmark hunting.
  • 5 Hide
    tomfreak , October 9, 2012 2:46 PM
    further read on several reviews said that most if not all of 650ti use 6GHz hynix RAM. So why are they clocking it @ 5400? 128bit + 6Ghz is not going to hurt 660.

    Nvidia are doing stupid thing here :/ 
  • 1 Hide
    UltimateDeep , October 9, 2012 2:50 PM
    How about EVGA's Super Superclocked Impersonation of the 650Ti? I really want Tom's Hardware to take a look at that one.
  • -2 Hide
    Mike-TH , October 9, 2012 2:50 PM
    Found a comparative benchmark between 650ti and 660ti - in the GPGPU benchmarks. The games tests all have different settings between the 650ti and 660ti reviews, so they aren't a true comparison.

    I used this as the 660ti review to compare benchmarks against for the games : http://www.tomshardware.com/reviews/geforce-gtx-660-ti-benchmark-review,3279.html
  • 5 Hide
    luciferano , October 9, 2012 2:54 PM
    Mike-THNot if you seriously would like to know what the performance difference was. Look at the current Video Card ratings - they cover from very low to extreme high - because people would like to know.So - Right now, I'm looking at buying a $300 660 Ti, but if the 650 Ti can come within 20% of the performance, I might not drop the extra cash on it. But without trying to find a common benchmark between the two, there's no way to tell. Looks like I get to go benchmark hunting.


    Mike-THFound a comparative benchmark between 650ti and 660ti - in the GPGPU benchmarks. The games tests all have different settings between the 650ti and 660ti reviews, so they aren't a true comparison. I used this as the 660ti review to compare benchmarks against for the games : http://www.tomshardware.com/review [...] ,3279.html


    The 660 non-Ti has a roughly 50% lead on average over the 650 Ti. This 650 Ti obviously doesn't come anywhere near the 660 Ti. You shouldn't need the 660 Ti in this to know that.
  • 1 Hide
    jabliese , October 9, 2012 3:05 PM
    Why is the Max TDP on this 110W? Makes no sense, with power use being identical to a 650. Might these be made w/o an extra power connector?
  • -2 Hide
    greghome , October 9, 2012 3:06 PM
    Hopefully, the GT700s will be based off more than 2 GPUs....... :/ 
    so they won't be as late as this gen because they had to collect enough bad chips
  • 0 Hide
    luciferano , October 9, 2012 3:12 PM
    jablieseWhy is the Max TDP on this 110W? Makes no sense, with power use being identical to a 650. Might these be made w/o an extra power connector?


    Outside of gaming, such as some stress tests, they might be able to reach their TDP.
  • 1 Hide
    luciferano , October 9, 2012 3:14 PM
    BigMack70This. Nailed it. Nothing more needs to be said.


    Some of the highly factory overclocked 7770s would be considerably faster than this 650 Ti while still being cheaper ;) 
Display more comments