Sign in with
Sign up | Sign in

EVGA GeForce GTX 670 Superclocked

GeForce GTX 670 2 GB Review: Is It Already Time To Forget GTX 680?
By

Although Nvidia is making its GTX 670 reference design available to add-in board partners, it expects to see a number of custom implementations right out of the gate as well. 

EVGA sent us its GeForce GTX 670 Superclocked, which actually employs the same reference dual-slot form factor, but features elevated core (967 MHz), GPU Boost (1046 MHz), and memory (6210 MT/s) frequencies.

At its stock clocks, EVGA’s board offers a nice little performance bump. You can expect to pay $420 for that boosted model—a $20 premium. Many enthusiast won’t be willing to spend the extra money, since the Superclocked card’s overclock is probably well within the reach of manual tweaking. However, the security of EVGA’s three-year warranty on a factory-overclocked component will undoubtedly satisfy risk-adverse gamers who don’t want to bother tweaking on their own.

Interestingly, though, EVGA has a couple of other SKUs planned: a $470 GeForce GTX 670 4 GB and a $490 GeForce GTX 670 4 GB Superclocked.

We know a number of other vendors also have 4 GB models in the works, and the picture of the back of the GeForce GTX 670 PCB on the previous page makes it clear that there are pads on Nvidia's design just waiting for more memory.

Notice that the PCI Express bus is still running at second-gen transfer rates. The same X79-based issue that kept Nvidia from enabling PCIe 3.0 on the GeForce GTX 680 affects the 670, too. For a more thorough explanation (or at least, a more direct hint, I should say), check out page three of GeForce GTX 690 Review: Testing Nvidia's Sexiest Graphics Card.

Overclocking

Of course, enthusiasts who are willing to get their hands dirty can take the GeForce GTX 670 Superclocked and apply EVGA’s superb Precision X utility to it. The recently-updated software facilitates manipulation of Nvidia’s power target, GPU and memory clock offsets, the card’s voltage, and fan speeds. Built-in monitoring makes it easy to keep tabs on power as a percent of rated TDP, clock rate (affected by GPU Boost), and several other variables.

We were able to take the already-overclocked EVGA even higher with a +75 MHz GPU offset and a +50 MHz memory offset, aided by a +22% power target, taking the board power up to about 173 W. At those frequencies, Precision X was reporting core clocks up to 1228 MHz and memory data rates of up to 6302 MT/s.

In most applications, the overclocked EVGA card is able to edge out a stock GeForce GTX 680. In just a couple, the 670 lands in between EVGA's stock clocks and the pricier single-GPU flagship.

All GeForce GTX 670 results in the following pages were generated using a card supplied by Nvidia operating at stock clock rates (915/1502 MHz). EVGA's GeForce GTX 670 Superclocked was only used for the benchmarks on this page. Our SLI results were generated by down-clocking the EVGA board to match Nvidia's.

Display all 195 comments.
This thread is closed for comments
Top Comments
  • 28 Hide
    borden5 , May 10, 2012 1:23 PM
    amd price reduce 2.0 xD
  • 27 Hide
    iceman1992 , May 10, 2012 1:42 PM
    $400 is still too high for me... Waiting for something around $225
  • 27 Hide
    godfather666 , May 10, 2012 1:48 PM
    The list of games is very unfair to AMD cards. Techpowerup's review, which featured a much longer list of games, had the Radeon HD 7970 faster than the GTX 670 at all resolutions 1080p and higher.

    Nvidia has had a big lead in Dirt 3 and WoW for a very long time. This skews the results.

    The GTX 670 is a fantastic card, don't get me wrong. Just pointing out that it's being slightly overrated here.
Other Comments
  • 0 Hide
    Anonymous , May 10, 2012 1:21 PM
    Running to buy it!
  • -4 Hide
    tecmo34 , May 10, 2012 1:23 PM
    Great Review Chris!!

    Though there isn't really a performance hit but it would be great to have seen the GTX 670 running at PCIe 3.0.
  • 28 Hide
    borden5 , May 10, 2012 1:23 PM
    amd price reduce 2.0 xD
  • -6 Hide
    master9716 , May 10, 2012 1:28 PM
    OMFG no 5760x1080 benchmarks again?!! ima have to go to hardware.info or something wow!
  • 3 Hide
    TheBigTroll , May 10, 2012 1:31 PM
    YAHHHHHHH!!! time to get one
  • 27 Hide
    iceman1992 , May 10, 2012 1:42 PM
    $400 is still too high for me... Waiting for something around $225
  • 26 Hide
    sayantan , May 10, 2012 1:45 PM
    Nice move nV , forcing AMD to drop their prices for entire lineup. A 7970 at $400 would be really awesome...
  • 27 Hide
    godfather666 , May 10, 2012 1:48 PM
    The list of games is very unfair to AMD cards. Techpowerup's review, which featured a much longer list of games, had the Radeon HD 7970 faster than the GTX 670 at all resolutions 1080p and higher.

    Nvidia has had a big lead in Dirt 3 and WoW for a very long time. This skews the results.

    The GTX 670 is a fantastic card, don't get me wrong. Just pointing out that it's being slightly overrated here.
  • 6 Hide
    Pezcore27 , May 10, 2012 1:53 PM
    Excellent review. I was waiting for this card to hit. Only a 4.5% difference between a 680 for almost 100 less? Yes please!

    I am not trying to sound bad, but AMD might have a real problem on their hands with this card as it is priced very competitively for what you get. Especially since it competes with AMD's flagship that's more expensive.
  • 6 Hide
    Maziar , May 10, 2012 1:54 PM
    Awesome review like always Chris,Well done :) 
  • 3 Hide
    spookyman , May 10, 2012 1:54 PM
    The question is will it be in stock or will it be a rarity like their other Kepler cards?
  • 12 Hide
    jabliese , May 10, 2012 1:58 PM
    @godfather666 Unless you happen to play WoW or Dirt 3.

    This is the price war you were looking for.
  • 12 Hide
    Reynod , May 10, 2012 2:10 PM
    Wait ... will we see any stock this year ... or are these going to be as rare as the 680 / 690 / 6xx ??

    The 6 series NVidia cards ... the ghost cards.

    All hype ... no stock.

    Nvidia are pumping out the reviews and advertorials ... mostly the latter I see across the web.

    This rollut must be costing them a fortune.

    I hope it's getting them sales in the old stock ... thats the point ... isn't it??
  • 4 Hide
    trumpeter1994 , May 10, 2012 2:12 PM
    Wasn't this card supposed to compete with the 7870 and 7950 lol? It's ripping both of them to shreds and manaing to hold its own against the 7970 in most cases....... AMD has got a serious problem on their hands now, because this thing looks like the next 8800gt or gtx 460
  • 0 Hide
    stingstang , May 10, 2012 2:12 PM
    Anyone else hear AMD's sphincter pucker up just now?
  • 8 Hide
    qwertymac93 , May 10, 2012 2:24 PM
    Wow, never thought I'd see a "Baby Got Back" reference on a GPU review.
Display more comments