Sign in with
Sign up | Sign in

Test Setup And Benchmarks

GeForce GTX 670 2 GB Review: Is It Already Time To Forget GTX 680?
By
Test Hardware
Processors
Intel Core i7-3960X (Sandy Bridge-E) 3.3 GHz at 4.2 GHz (42 * 100 MHz), LGA 2011, 15 MB Shared L3, Hyper-Threading enabled, Power-savings enabled
Motherboard
Gigabyte X79-UD5 (LGA 2011) X79 Express Chipset, BIOS F10
Memory
G.Skill 16 GB (4 x 4 GB) DDR3-1600, F3-12800CL9Q2-32GBZL @ 9-9-9-24 and 1.5 V
Hard Drive
Intel SSDSC2MH250A2 250 GB SATA 6Gb/s
Graphics
Nvidia GeForce GTX 670 2 GB (@ 915/1502 MHz)

Nvidia GeForce GTX 690 4 GB

Nvidia GeForce GTX 680 2 GB

AMD Radeon HD 7970 3 GB

AMD Radeon HD 7950 3 GB

AMD Radeon HD 6990 4 GB

Nvidia GeForce GTX 590 3 GB

Nvidia GeForce GTX 580 1.5 GB
Power Supply
Cooler Master UCP-1000 W
System Software And Drivers
Operating System
Windows 7 Ultimate 64-bit
DirectX
DirectX 11
Graphics DriverNvidia GeForce Release 301.33 (For GTX 670, GTX 680, GTX 690)

Nvidia GeForce Release 296.10 (For GTX 580 and 590)

AMD Catalyst 12.4 (For HD 7970, HD 7950)

AMD Catalyst 12.2 (For HD 6990)


We had a couple of extra days to get the GeForce GTX 670 review wrapped up, so we re-ran the GeForce GTX 680 using Nvidia's newer 301.33 driver. We also re-ran the Radeon HD 7970 and 7950 using Catalyst 12.4. The CrossFire numbers come from GeForce GTX 690 Review: Testing Nvidia's Sexiest Graphics Card, where we also used the Catalyst 12.4 driver package.

Games
Battlefield 3
Ultra Quality Settings, No AA / 16x AF, 4x MSAA / 16x AF, v-sync off, 1680x1050 / 1920x1080 / 2560x1600, DirectX 11, Going Hunting, 90-second playback, Fraps
Crysis 2
DirectX 9 / DirectX 11, Ultra System Spec, v-sync off, 1680x1050 / 1920x1080 / 2560x1600, No AA / No AF, Central Park, High-Resolution Textures: On
Metro 2033
High Quality Settings, AAA / 4x AF, 4x MSAA / 16x AF, 1680x1050 / 1920x1080 / 2560x1600, Built-in Benchmark, Depth of Field filter Disabled, Steam version
DiRT 3
Ultra High Settings, No AA / No AF, 8x AA / No AF, 1680x1050 / 1920x1080 / 2560x1600, Steam version, Built-In Benchmark Sequence, DX 11
The Elder Scrolls V: Skyrim
High Quality (8x AA / 8x AF) / Ultra Quality (8x AA, 16x AF) Settings, FXAA enabled, v-sync off, 1680x1050 / 1920x1080 / 2560x1600, 25-second playback, Fraps
3DMark 11
Version 1.03, Extreme Preset
HAWX 2
Highest Quality Settings, 8x AA, 1920x1200, Retail Version, Built-in Benchmark, Tessellation on/off
World of Warcraft: Cataclysm
Ultra Quality Settings, No AA / 16x AF, 8x AA / 16x AF, From Crushblow to The Krazzworks, 1680x1050 / 1920x1080 / 2560x1600, Fraps, DirectX 11 Rendering, x64 Client
SiSoftware Sandra 2012
Sandra Tech Support (Engineer) 2012.SP4, GP Processing and GP Bandwidth Modules
CyberLink MediaEspresso 6.5
449 MB MPEG-2 1080i Video Sample to Apple iPad 2 Profile (1024x768), 189 MB H.264 1080i Video Sample to Apple iPad 2 Profile (1024x768)
LuxMark 2.0
64-bit Binary, Version 1.0, Classroom Scene
Display all 195 comments.
This thread is closed for comments
Top Comments
  • 28 Hide
    borden5 , May 10, 2012 1:23 PM
    amd price reduce 2.0 xD
  • 27 Hide
    godfather666 , May 10, 2012 1:48 PM
    The list of games is very unfair to AMD cards. Techpowerup's review, which featured a much longer list of games, had the Radeon HD 7970 faster than the GTX 670 at all resolutions 1080p and higher.

    Nvidia has had a big lead in Dirt 3 and WoW for a very long time. This skews the results.

    The GTX 670 is a fantastic card, don't get me wrong. Just pointing out that it's being slightly overrated here.
  • 27 Hide
    iceman1992 , May 10, 2012 1:42 PM
    $400 is still too high for me... Waiting for something around $225
Other Comments
  • 0 Hide
    Anonymous , May 10, 2012 1:21 PM
    Running to buy it!
  • -4 Hide
    tecmo34 , May 10, 2012 1:23 PM
    Great Review Chris!!

    Though there isn't really a performance hit but it would be great to have seen the GTX 670 running at PCIe 3.0.
  • 28 Hide
    borden5 , May 10, 2012 1:23 PM
    amd price reduce 2.0 xD
  • -6 Hide
    master9716 , May 10, 2012 1:28 PM
    OMFG no 5760x1080 benchmarks again?!! ima have to go to hardware.info or something wow!
  • 3 Hide
    TheBigTroll , May 10, 2012 1:31 PM
    YAHHHHHHH!!! time to get one
  • 27 Hide
    iceman1992 , May 10, 2012 1:42 PM
    $400 is still too high for me... Waiting for something around $225
  • 26 Hide
    sayantan , May 10, 2012 1:45 PM
    Nice move nV , forcing AMD to drop their prices for entire lineup. A 7970 at $400 would be really awesome...
  • 27 Hide
    godfather666 , May 10, 2012 1:48 PM
    The list of games is very unfair to AMD cards. Techpowerup's review, which featured a much longer list of games, had the Radeon HD 7970 faster than the GTX 670 at all resolutions 1080p and higher.

    Nvidia has had a big lead in Dirt 3 and WoW for a very long time. This skews the results.

    The GTX 670 is a fantastic card, don't get me wrong. Just pointing out that it's being slightly overrated here.
  • 6 Hide
    Pezcore27 , May 10, 2012 1:53 PM
    Excellent review. I was waiting for this card to hit. Only a 4.5% difference between a 680 for almost 100 less? Yes please!

    I am not trying to sound bad, but AMD might have a real problem on their hands with this card as it is priced very competitively for what you get. Especially since it competes with AMD's flagship that's more expensive.
  • 6 Hide
    Maziar , May 10, 2012 1:54 PM
    Awesome review like always Chris,Well done :) 
  • 3 Hide
    spookyman , May 10, 2012 1:54 PM
    The question is will it be in stock or will it be a rarity like their other Kepler cards?
  • 12 Hide
    jabliese , May 10, 2012 1:58 PM
    @godfather666 Unless you happen to play WoW or Dirt 3.

    This is the price war you were looking for.
  • 12 Hide
    Reynod , May 10, 2012 2:10 PM
    Wait ... will we see any stock this year ... or are these going to be as rare as the 680 / 690 / 6xx ??

    The 6 series NVidia cards ... the ghost cards.

    All hype ... no stock.

    Nvidia are pumping out the reviews and advertorials ... mostly the latter I see across the web.

    This rollut must be costing them a fortune.

    I hope it's getting them sales in the old stock ... thats the point ... isn't it??
  • 4 Hide
    trumpeter1994 , May 10, 2012 2:12 PM
    Wasn't this card supposed to compete with the 7870 and 7950 lol? It's ripping both of them to shreds and manaing to hold its own against the 7970 in most cases....... AMD has got a serious problem on their hands now, because this thing looks like the next 8800gt or gtx 460
  • 0 Hide
    stingstang , May 10, 2012 2:12 PM
    Anyone else hear AMD's sphincter pucker up just now?
  • 8 Hide
    qwertymac93 , May 10, 2012 2:24 PM
    Wow, never thought I'd see a "Baby Got Back" reference on a GPU review.
Display more comments