Sign in with
Sign up | Sign in

Performance: Web Browsing Tests

Samsung ATIV Tab Review: A Tablet To Hold Your Breath For?
By

Microsoft set the standard for Windows RT-based hardware, but is there still room for partners to sell compelling alternatives? We take our first Qualcomm-powered Windows RT tablet for a spin to determine if Samsung's ATIV Tab is worth waiting for.

As the tablet space becomes increasingly crowded, we're more interested than ever in comparing the performance of iOS-, Android-, Windows RT-, and Windows 8-based platforms. That's not easy, since both Microsoft and Apple are pretty restrictive about the software that runs under their respective mobile operating systems.

In fact, there aren't any cross-platform benchmarks available for Windows RT. Browser-based tests are the only way we're able to compare Samsung's ATIV Tab to other devices. Of course, these metrics aren't the last word on performance. Browser support varies by operating system, and we already know that, even on a consistent platform, each rendering engine's performance is different.

So, when you consider the many different tablets we're comparing, along with the permutations of software available for them, these numbers are affected by several variables. Fortunately, Windows 8 lets us test IE10, Chrome, and Safari, creating approximate parallels to other hardware with those same browsers.

Just as we did in the Web Browser Grand Prix, we're retiring the JavaScript-focused SunSpider, Octane, and V8 benchmarks in favor of Futuremark's Peacekeeper and Rightware's BrowserMark 2.0.

Both tests indicate that the Intel Atom SoC under Windows 8 (in Samsung's ATIV Smart PC 500T) is ~30% faster than Nvidia's Tegra 3 with Windows RT, both running on IE10.

The APQ8060A and Windows RT combination in Samsung's ATIV Tab is slower than the Surface's Tegra 3. We saw the opposite in Snapdragon S4 Pro: Krait And Adreno 320, Benchmarked, though that could be a result of Qualcomm's development platform employing a quad-core SoC running at 1.7 GHz.

Peacekeeper and BrowserMark are useful tools in their own right. At their core, though, they're designed to measure JavaScript performance. They don't necessarily reflect how quickly a webpage renders in a real-world setting. That's why we like BrowsingBench. It evaluates the total performance of a browser: page loading, processing, rendering, compositing, and so on. This more accurately demonstrates the performance difference between two devices in a way you'd actually see.

Samsung's ATIV Smart PC 500T continues illustrating why an open ecosystem is a good thing for developers and users alike, as Chrome on Windows 8 finishes in first place. 

The ATIV Tab fares better this time around, edging out Microsoft's Surface and landing just behind the Atom Z2760-powered ATIV Smart PC 500T running Firefox. If you want a better experience from the 500T, though, install Chrome.

Display all 20 comments.
This thread is closed for comments
  • 0 Hide
    tanjo , January 21, 2013 4:01 AM
    Power consumption graphs says this tablet has Z2760.
  • 0 Hide
    kyuuketsuki , January 21, 2013 4:39 AM
    Quote:
    While we were at CES, however, we met up with Lazslo Kishonti, CEO of Kishonti Informatics and the developer of GLBenchmark. He pointed out that Atom-based tablets running Windows RT are more likely to deliver different levels of performance.

    Er, you mean Atom-based tablets running Windows 8? (Page 6, Paragraph 11)
    Quote:
    Power consumption graphs says this tablet has Z2760.Our setup is pretty basic: we set BrowsingBench to run in battery life mode, which prevents the browser from caching data. Instead of

    Where's the rest of this paragraph? (Page 6, Paragraph 13)
  • 2 Hide
    kyuuketsuki , January 21, 2013 4:43 AM
    Also, I'm not sure what's up with the Futuremark Peacekeeper and Rightware Browsermark results, but we know damn well the Krait S4 in this tab is a better performer in every way to the Tegra 3. Not sure why go with the S4 Play with the dual-core Krait and Adreno 225 instead of an S4 Pro with quad-core Krait and Adreno 320, though, especially in a tablet form-factor.
  • -4 Hide
    mayankleoboy1 , January 21, 2013 6:35 AM
    KyuuketsukiNot sure why go with the S4 Play with the dual-core Krait and Adreno 225 instead of an S4 Pro with quad-core Krait and Adreno 320, though, especially in a tablet form-factor.

    Because Win8 is already a battery hog compared to Android, and adding power hungry cores will make that worse.
    I dont see any issues with S4 pro and Android.
  • 0 Hide
    cangelini , January 21, 2013 9:39 AM
    KyuuketsukiEr, you mean Atom-based tablets running Windows 8? (Page 6, Paragraph 11)Where's the rest of this paragraph? (Page 6, Paragraph 13)

    Fixed!
  • -1 Hide
    dokterprio , January 21, 2013 11:01 AM
    Why there is difference in power usage between ativ tab and ativ smartpc 500t. I think they are the same, except the screen size.
  • 0 Hide
    adamovera , January 21, 2013 11:08 AM
    tanjoPower consumption graphs says this tablet has Z2760.

    Apologies, fixed now.
  • 1 Hide
    adamovera , January 21, 2013 11:13 AM
    dokterprioWhy there is difference in power usage between ativ tab and ativ smartpc 500t. I think they are the same, except the screen size.

    Sorry, we had the charts labelled the same. The ATIV Smart PC 500T has an Atom and runs Windows 8, while the ATIV Tab has an ARM-based chip from Qualcomm and runs Windows RT - they are actually very different devices.
  • 0 Hide
    ojas , January 21, 2013 11:24 AM
    BrowsingBench scores: are the ipads in correct order?
  • 1 Hide
    adamovera , January 21, 2013 11:45 AM
    ojasBrowsingBench scores: are the ipads in correct order?

    Seems to be, I haven't used this benchmark yet myself, and I'd have to check with the author to be sure, but I'd guess that these results are inversely reflecting the resolution of the different iPads.
  • 2 Hide
    Psycomo , January 21, 2013 12:02 PM
    "Can we say we blame Samsung? Hardly. Just imagine answering this one all day long: "So wait, it's Windows, but I can't install Chrome on it? I'm limited to that weak list of apps in the Windows Store? I wish I knew that before I bought this thing!""

    What a load of shite. If you can sell it abroad you can sell it in the US. If that is what they are thinking then they wouldnt be able to release it anywhere.
  • 0 Hide
    damianrobertjones , January 21, 2013 6:06 PM
    So... in 'reality' what resolution is the Rertina iPad running at when compared to screen space and productivity... yep, you can't compare them. Heck, a 1080p screen, for work, on a tablet blows the Retina away. Trouble is... you'll go blind so you might as well increase the DPI.
  • 0 Hide
    back_by_demand , January 21, 2013 9:58 PM
    PsycomoWhat a load of shite. If you can sell it abroad you can sell it in the US. If that is what they are thinking then they wouldnt be able to release it anywhere.

    I think they are passing judgement on typical Joe America here, not the fizzed up techy types (minority) but the dumbass hillbillies (vast majority) that have access to a local Best Buy but are as technically clued up as Amish folk.
  • 0 Hide
    ojas , January 22, 2013 11:24 AM
    adamoveraSeems to be, I haven't used this benchmark yet myself, and I'd have to check with the author to be sure, but I'd guess that these results are inversely reflecting the resolution of the different iPads.

    Ah, that way. But does that mean there was no standard resolution used for testing? But then i guess that wouldn't reflect the "out of the box" experience...
  • 0 Hide
    Anonymous , January 23, 2013 5:24 AM
    It's nice to have Office, but there's just so much else missing.


  • 0 Hide
    halcyon , January 24, 2013 1:32 PM
    Quote:
    Also, you won't be able to buy it in the U.S. for the time being (we're only finding it for sale in the U.K. and Australia).

    I stopped reading right there.
  • 0 Hide
    upgrade_1977 , January 24, 2013 3:19 PM
    No RT for me..
  • 0 Hide
    valuednotoutsourced , January 24, 2013 5:11 PM
    I don't know what Samsung model was reviewed, I was hoping they were reviewing the Samsung ATIV SmartPC model XE700T1C that is available in Canada. The specs for the Canadian model address most of the shortcomings revealed in the review.
    Samsung ATIV SmartPC model XE700T1C
    Chips - Intel® Core™ i5 Processor 3317U (1.70 GHz, 3 MB L3 Cache), Intel HM76, Intel® HD Graphics 4000, 4 GB DDR3 System Memory at 1600 MHz
    11.6" FHD LED Display (1920 x 1080), LCD-Touch Screen, S Pen (with Watcom 1024 Level Pressure Sensitivity Digitizer)
    Ports - Micro HDMI, Micro SD, USB3.0, Headphone out /Mic-in Combo, Dock Port, DC-in
    Bluetooth V4.0, Intel® Centrino® Advanced-N 6235, 2 x 2 802.11b/g/n (up to 300 Mbps), Widi Support
    - Multimedia - HD Audio, SoundAlive™, 1.6 W Stereo Speaker (0.8 W x 2), 2 MP + 5 MP Dual Cam
    - Physical Specification, 304.0 x 189.4 x 11.9 mm (11.97" x 7.46" x 0.47"), 0.88 kg (1.94 lbs)
    - Power - 40 Watt, 4 Cell (49Wh)

    Please review this model
  • 0 Hide
    mas , February 2, 2013 7:25 PM
    So is the goal to simply reproduce a laptop in the form factor of a tablet?
    In that case I already possess a full featured laptop that renders the tablet superfluous.

    On the other hand, if they incorporated full phone capabilities aka the Note2, (especially how about a phone function that includes ALL of the major phone & data carrier bands, making it a true international device?????????

    Also, include multiple user exchangeable micro SDHD (64-128GB) memory cards!

    And also implement a robust secure tightly integrated OS level RDP functionality that worked reliably everytime (esp if they could add the ability to securely remotely boot a computer),

    THEN I would have NO NEED for complete Windows functionality, nor would I risk the same degree of data exposure as carrying about a laptop!

    In other words, a truly converged device with both phone, user exchangeable memory, and remote secure policy driven robust reliable RDP would produce a compelling device offering me all the functionality I need.



  • 0 Hide
    halcyon , February 7, 2013 10:31 AM
    masSo is the goal to simply reproduce a laptop in the form factor of a tablet?

    For many, yes, as they've told themselves that that is more portable (I don't see it but to each their own).