Sign in with
Sign up | Sign in

Thirty Days With The MSI GX60

MSI GX60 Review: Radeon HD 7970M In A $1,200 Notebook!
By

After all the cost cutting, MSI's GX60 offers almost as much gaming performance as the company's similar GT60 0NE, and for $700 less! A majority of the savings comes from swapping Intel's Core i7-3630QM for an AMD A10-4600M, and Nvidia's GeForce GTX 680M for an AMD Radeon HD 7970M. Most features, with the notable exception of keyboard backlighting, are still present. The build quality and cooling efficiency are still there. And although you do lose gaming performance in titles that rely on processor horsepower, the GX60 is nevertheless able to play any game we throw at it. In essence, MSI took a gamble here. It paired a very fast GPU with a very modest APU, counting on the Radeon's ability to play games at the display's native resolution. As you drop to less demanding settings, the fact that the Pitcairn-based module is severely processor-bound becomes very obvious. But because it's fast enough to game at 1920x1080, the bottleneck isn't as painful. What you do notice is how affordable the combination of hardware is.

The main choice you have to make is whether the GX60's focus is too narrow for your needs. This system has everything that a mobile gamer could want. It even makes a solid primary system for a college student. While it may not have enough processing power for an engineering major, anything optimized for OpenCL is going to run particularly well. If cost is a big consideration, you'll have a tough time extracting more value from a pricier notebook.

During one month of use, the GX60 also proved to be tough and reliable. We worried that the beveled ridge in the middle of the lid would scratch, yet it shows no signs of wear. The finish does collect fingerprints, but they wipe off easily. We never experienced a single lock-up or blue screen. The GX60 simply worked, whether it was gaming, streaming entire seasons of TV shows online, or simply browsing the Web. 

Part of my review process involves dropping laptops off in a computer support center staffed with 20 or so college-aged workers. I leave the machine open and running with a notepad and pen beside it. My goal is to get feedback from as many students as possible, who may see things differently. Here are some of the responses that I received:

  • “This thing boots and loads games incredibly fast”
  • “The palm rest stays cool when gaming”
  • “The sound quality is amazing; the speakers sound like wearing headphones”
  • “This machine is so responsive, tabbing in and out of games is almost instantaneous”
  • “The webcam is really good”
  • “Man, this thing is quiet”
  • “Wow, plays everything with graphics up all the way”.


It seems that our experiences with the GX60 are echoed by others. It is an absolutely solid 15” gaming machine, and at $1,200, MSI's GX60 is an excellent bargain. In our view, MSI accomplished what it set out to do: build a high-end gaming laptop with a very low price tag. We highly recommended this machine to mobile gamers on a budget, and therefore, we’re giving the MSI GX60 our 2013 Smart Buy award.

Ask a Category Expert

Create a new thread in the Reviews comments forum about this subject

Example: Notebook, Android, SSD hard drive

Display all 67 comments.
This thread is closed for comments
Top Comments
  • 10 Hide
    ASHISH65 , April 29, 2013 10:07 PM
    Looks good and helpfull review for laptop gamers!
Other Comments
  • 9 Hide
    patrick47018 , April 29, 2013 9:09 PM
    Looks promising
  • 5 Hide
    yobobjm , April 29, 2013 9:11 PM
    I own an MSI (with some weird number classification that I can't remember) but it has proved to be a dedicated and powerful gaming laptop. It also has had really no problems other than the glossy finish getting scratched (which doesn't even exist on this laptop) so I would recommend MSI products :D 
  • 1 Hide
    JOSHSKORN , April 29, 2013 9:50 PM
    But does it fit a CableCard?
  • 10 Hide
    ASHISH65 , April 29, 2013 10:07 PM
    Looks good and helpfull review for laptop gamers!
  • 8 Hide
    acktionhank , April 29, 2013 10:24 PM
    Hey Tom's run a few gaming tests again with PScheck forcing the CPU to run at a 2.5-2.7ghz so that it won't throttle itself so much.

    I'd like to see exactly what speeds we'd need to get an A10-4600 running at to reduce these severe bottlenecks.
  • 5 Hide
    Chewie , April 29, 2013 10:52 PM
    Give this a 4 module APU, and keyboard backlighting, and it would really kick butt!
  • 3 Hide
    Chairman Ray , April 30, 2013 12:20 AM
    Great build from Msi!
  • -3 Hide
    silverblue , April 30, 2013 12:27 AM
    Very nice machine. It's a shame that AMD stopped with the A10-4600M and didn't look to produce a higher model as that'd help, however until the HSA initiative really kicks in, the Bulldozer architecture's FPU implementation is always going to be found wanting, and that's without even talking about the sharing issues which Steamroller looks to fix.
  • 0 Hide
    Cataclysm_ZA , April 30, 2013 1:16 AM
    No frame latency graphs from FRAPS? Its not difficult to keep a log of them and produce the graphs for those who are interested. I'd like to see the minimum frame dips for a machine like this one.
  • -5 Hide
    ryude , April 30, 2013 1:22 AM
    The A10-4600M can be overclocked relatively easily, up to 3.6Ghz+. That won't fix the fact that's it's an APU, but it will help a little.
  • 2 Hide
    Tee-Kheang Ng , April 30, 2013 2:19 AM
    There's is a GX60 with a10-5750m richland APU...
    Which the improvement is modestly 10-15% CPU powers, it should alleviate some of the CPU bottleneck...
  • 0 Hide
    DjEaZy , April 30, 2013 2:51 AM
    patrick47018Looks promising

    ... not just that... loooook... there is a windows 7 logo... it looks exscelent...
  • 3 Hide
    Cryio , April 30, 2013 3:39 AM
    This notebook is a ridiculous concept to me. Its greatest achievements are its price and its performance where it matters: maxed-out directX11 games in 1080p, working as good or BETTER in most of the cases than its Nvidia sibling. Its greatest disadvantage being its gaming ability is limited in anything under 1080p (still talking only about games here).

    One hell of a laptop for me, if I could afford when, when I'll go to college this Octomber.
  • 0 Hide
    Cryio , April 30, 2013 3:40 AM
    afford one *
  • -3 Hide
    TheBigTroll , April 30, 2013 3:48 AM
    the apu is the bottleneck. when you compare this to a i7 ivy bridge mobile chip with the same GPU and everything, it performs 50% faster
  • 2 Hide
    sanilmahambre , April 30, 2013 4:50 AM
    Now that's what i call a Budget gaming Laptop

    and again a beautiful in depth review
  • 2 Hide
    mynith , April 30, 2013 5:33 AM
    Interesting heatsink design. Shame really that APUs don't come with L3-cache. If they did, they would show performance not unlike the FX-series. In my mind.
  • -1 Hide
    ojas , April 30, 2013 5:37 AM
    With respect to handbrake: It's getting QuickSync support too in the coming months (i believe it's in the same beta version you're talking about) so I'm not sure if the OpenCL advantage will last for AMD.
Display more comments