Sign in with
Sign up | Sign in

Keyboard, Touchpad, And Touchscreen

Lenovo IdeaPad Yoga 13 Review: One Flexible Ultrabook
By

Keyboard

The Yoga 13 is equipped with Lenovo’s AccuType keyboard. While this may disappoint those hoping for the ThinkPad Precision keyboard, don’t be too critical of the move just yet. The AccuType is actually only a lighter-weight version of the ThinkPad’s keyboard, and arguably one of the best standard laptop keyboards currently available. The tactile feedback and travel depth of the individual keys is quite nice. The most notable difference between the Yoga 13's AccuType and the one found on the professional-grade ThinkPad models is the AccuType's smaller-sized backspace and right-shift keys. Additionally, the Yoga 13’s AccuType keyboard does not offer a back-lit option.

One keyboard issue that we just can’t look past is the excessive amount of flex in the keyboard substrate. This occurs even while typing in a normal manner. We measured downward flexing in excess of 3 mm towards the mid-center of the keyboard. During our teardown, we found that this issue can be mostly resolved with the application of additional double-sided 3M tape on the rear base of the keyboard assembly. Some Yoga 13 owners are also reporting this flex, while others deny it. In the end, this points to a possible quality control issue at the factory, which doesn't necessarily affect every Yoga 13 that ships.

Touchpad

The Yoga 13’s luxuriously sized, matte glass touchpad offers a ton of real-estate to work with. While the Synaptics touchpad lacks traditional mouse buttons, it fully supports Windows 8 gestures. The tactile input is quite good the majority of the time while using the stock driver provided by Lenovo (v16.2.21.3 – 11/12). However, occasional touchpad sensitivity issues can hinder scrolling. Lenovo is reportedly working with Synaptics to update the driver and address this minor issue.

Touchscreen

The Yoga 13’s multi-touch screen looks great and functions equally well. The second-generation Gorilla Glass outer layer protects the sub-display while allowing for reactive tactile sensitivity and smooth swiping. Although our testing did not exceed five-finger gestures, all attempts to confuse the screen only left us wondering why anyone would use more than two or three figures to do anything on a touchscreen. In this regard, the Yoga 13 offers stellar performance. The only reservation some may have is the higher level of reflective glare the glass-based screen produces outside, or in an office with overhead lighting. However, this is the case with virtually all similar display types, and not a fault we find with the Yoga 13 or Lenovo in particular.

Although everyone is different, for most, the Yoga 13 should prove very comfortable to hold in one hand. In fact, the weight of this system is excellent considering its size and the high-end materials that Lenovo uses in manufacturing it.

Other Thoughts

The biggest comfort issue we have is the physical orientation of the keyboard and touchpad when the Yoga 13 is in Tablet or Stand Mode. As mentioned, even though the keyboard and touchpad are automatically disabled when the system is in anything other than Laptop Mode, gripping onto the unit and feeling keys mash down behind it takes some getting used to (Ed.: Having also used a Yoga 13 for a couple of months, this isn't something I was ever able to accept). Likewise, just knowing that the keyboard and touchpad are face down in Stand Mode is a little disconcerting. 

Considering the premium nature of the Yoga 13, one could reasonably expect that some form of keyboard and touchpad protection should be offered as standard equipment.

The optional “Slot-In-Case” (Model #: 0C48344) could effectively function as a keyboard/palmrest cover in addition to protecting the system base. Perhaps Lenovo could consider including it in the Yoga 13's purchase price?

Display all 20 comments.
This thread is closed for comments
  • 0 Hide
    danaistina , June 12, 2013 11:26 PM
    I bought a yoga 13 a few months ago. Author of the article obviously has some special version of this ultrabook, which no one else, including me and the people of the Lenovo forums has heard that there is no following problems: touchpad does not support all Windovs 8 gestures, wirerless card has very weak signal, runs very hot and noise from the vents is loud. And finally: windows 8 has not yet up to use touch screen like a android or ios devices.
  • 0 Hide
    kartu , June 12, 2013 11:57 PM
    Would be nice to see the same thing with AMD's Jaguar based APU.
  • 2 Hide
    danaistina , June 12, 2013 11:57 PM
    I bought a yoga 13 a few months ago. Author of the article obviously has some special version of this ultrabook, which no one else, including me and the people of the Lenovo forums has heard that there is no following problems: touchpad does not support all Windovs 8 gestures, wirerless card has very weak signal, runs very hot and noise from the vents is loud. And finally: windows 8 has not yet up to use touch screen like a android or ios devices.
  • 1 Hide
    sgadadish , June 13, 2013 3:29 AM
    Tent (Joke) Mode : simply serving as a digital picture frame placed tastefully on a shelf or desk . , Sure...
  • 0 Hide
    hothfox , June 13, 2013 7:45 AM
    I contemplated this and the Thinkpad Twist, and wound up getting the Twist, largely because when you flip it around to it's tablet mode, the keyboard and touchpad are covered by the screen, instead of exposed.
  • 0 Hide
    Amdlova , June 13, 2013 8:07 AM
    9hr battery... idle and screen of... 5 hr real condition... when we get something can do 12 hrs.
  • 0 Hide
    whyso , June 13, 2013 8:16 AM
    How is the yoga gettng better bandwidth numbers that it is in theory capable of? 21GB/sec for cached read when theoretically it maxes out at 12.8 GB/sec
  • 0 Hide
    ojas , June 14, 2013 10:40 AM
    Are those external body temperature is degrees Celsius or Fahrenheit?
  • 0 Hide
    Kattie Anderson , June 14, 2013 4:27 PM
    Get a premium support for yoga at http://ytechsupport.com/lenovo-laptop-support-.html
  • 0 Hide
    Kattie Anderson , June 14, 2013 4:31 PM
    http://ytechsupport.com/lenovo-laptop-support-.html
  • 0 Hide
    AMKANMBA , June 15, 2013 12:00 PM
    I think the xps and lenovo convertible laptops are the same. No two processors are alike(I am a fan of dell though, happy to see it win).
  • 0 Hide
    Fernando Lopez Martinez , June 15, 2013 5:14 PM
    Quote:
    I bought a yoga 13 a few months ago. Author of the article obviously has some special version of this ultrabook, which no one else, including me and the people of the Lenovo forums has heard that there is no following problems: touchpad does not support all Windovs 8 gestures, wirerless card has very weak signal, runs very hot and noise from the vents is loud. And finally: windows 8 has not yet up to use touch screen like a android or ios devices.

    I agree with you. I also bought a yoga 13 and the Wifi is really bad. For that money, is incredible that the wifi is only N150. I also have lot of problems connecting to some places. I can confirm that those problems are true.

  • 0 Hide
    flowingbass , June 16, 2013 9:43 AM
    Stand mode is just stupid. might as well use laptop mode instead, it takes the same amount of space when in laptop mode but no touchpad and keyboard support and your keyboard is at risk of being dirtied up by the surface you put the device on. Tent mode could be somewhat useful, like if you lack the space to put the device on while requiring to still be able to see the screen.

    the only useful modes i can see is laptop and tablet mode.
  • 0 Hide
    sanilmahambre , June 17, 2013 6:28 AM
    AMD's APU should easily raise the Win 8 graphics rating and decrease the overall amount
  • 0 Hide
    clriis , June 17, 2013 9:27 PM
    Quote: Stand mode is just stupid. might as well use laptop mode instead, it takes the same amount of space when in laptop mode but no touchpad and keyboard support and your keyboard is at risk of being dirtied up by the surface you put the device on. Tent mode could be somewhat useful, like if you lack the space to put the device on while requiring to still be able to see the screen.
    .....

    I find the stand mode to be really ideal when travelling on bus/train/flight and also in general when just sitting in a chair. Place it in your lap and you got a tablet with a 'stand' which you can adjust to an ergonomically correct position and got both hands free
  • 0 Hide
    clriis , June 17, 2013 11:29 PM
    I have been a Yoga owner for the past 3 months and in general I really like this hybrid though it takes some time finding out new ways of utilising and working with, especially when you are also new to the modern/metro interface but I don't find the learning curve steep and for me it's definitely an enjoyable and amusing process. Overall I have no regrets given that it is also a fantastic traditional laptop. As opposed to others I don't find any problems using Windows 8 in traditional desktop mode with mouse and all and no, I don't miss the Start button.

    BUT... as a couple of contributors here have already commented, THE WI-FI / BLUETOOTH MODULE ON THE YOGA IS SERIOUSLY FLAWED. To prove that point just try to Google 'wi fi issues' and see what comes out on top!

    In an otherwise interesting review I'm surprised to see that the WI-Fi section deals with only signal strength and not data transfer rates which is supposedly of more interest to the end user. Here the Yoga is challenged especially if you also use one or more Bluetooth devices (like a mouse and streaming audio). Sitting in a space with -61 to -67 dB signal and with no competing or overlapping channels you at times get transfer rates as low as 6 Mbit/s (turning off BT devices increase the speed to around 25 Mbit).

    The Yoga apparently is also very choosy in which wireless router it's connected to. I have personally tried 5 different ones at home (TP-Link WDR4300, Thomson, TP-Link WR741 with Gargoyle, D-Link DIR645 and Netgear R6300), and with the Netgear R6300 I, in some cases, get the above nearly tolerable speeds, but not anything that can match my other wireless devices. I'm now contemplating purchasing the Netgear A6300 USB adapter in order to obtain reasonable and stable transfer rates although this step also contains a number of cons.

    Despite subsequent driver updates Lenovo/Realtek has not managed to solve these problems. The latest update even includes some kind of USB trigger, installing itself as a running service with log file and all. For all we know it makes the mousepointer flicker every two seconds....hilarious!!!

    I (and I'm sure, many others) would be really interested if Scott could elaborate more on the possibilities of utilising the empty slot for adding/changing the WiFi/BT adapter to a PCIe thingi. What would be the real options given the BIOS whitelist and all???
  • 0 Hide
    timeandspace , June 21, 2013 2:37 AM
    The Lenovo Yoga 13 is big but the 11 is not powerful or fast enough. The yoga 13 is great for anyone who wants the speed and visuals. The other comparable Yoga 11s is great (small and speedy) but expensive.

    I've created a comparison chart at: http://angelinaward.hubpages.com/hub/Lenovo-IdeaPad-Yoga-13-Price-and-Review-Dream-Deal-or-Dead-Loss

    that compares the Yoga 13 vs Yoga 11 vs Yoga 11s vs Macbook Pro. Based on this chart you'll see that the Yoga 13 still remains the best of the bunch and the launch of the Yoga 11s will do everyone a favour prompting sellers to reduce the Yoga 13 price even more.
  • 0 Hide
    timeandspace , June 22, 2013 4:51 AM
    I find the stand mode to be really great when travelling on flight/bus/train and also when just sitting in a chair. Place it in your lap and to get a tablet with a 'stand' which you can adjust to an ergonomically comfortable position and got both hands free.
    The Yoga 13 is great for when I'm in a hurry or I need to show someone something on the fly and my smartphone screen doesn't cut it, I whip this bad boy out. I manage more than twenty websites and online services for friends/customers and this baby does everything. Not to mention I manage to get in some good Command & Conquer when I'm stuck in-line at the doctors.
    The newest one Yoga 11s (small and speedy) sounds great but it’s expensive.

    I've created a comparison chart <a href=" http://angelinaward.hubpages.com/hub/Lenovo-IdeaPad-Yoga-13-Price-and-Review-Dream-Deal-or-Dead-Loss”>Here</a>
    that compares the Yoga 13 vs Yoga 11 vs Yoga 11s vs Macbook Pro.
  • 0 Hide
    timeandspace , June 22, 2013 4:51 AM
    I find the stand mode to be really great when travelling on flight/bus/train and also when just sitting in a chair. Place it in your lap and to get a tablet with a 'stand' which you can adjust to an ergonomically comfortable position and got both hands free.
    The Yoga 13 is great for when I'm in a hurry or I need to show someone something on the fly and my smartphone screen doesn't cut it, I whip this bad boy out. I manage more than twenty websites and online services for friends/customers and this baby does everything. Not to mention I manage to get in some good Command & Conquer when I'm stuck in-line at the doctors.
    The newest one Yoga 11s (small and speedy) sounds great but it’s expensive.

    I've created a comparison chart <a href=" http://angelinaward.hubpages.com/hub/Lenovo-IdeaPad-Yoga-13-Price-and-Review-Dream-Deal-or-Dead-Loss”>Here</a>
    that compares the Yoga 13 vs Yoga 11 vs Yoga 11s vs Macbook Pro.
  • 0 Hide
    timeandspace , June 22, 2013 4:54 AM
    Sorry - the link to the comparison chart didn't come out very well, here it is again, it compares the Yoga 13 with 11, 11s and Macbook pro.
    http://angelinaward.hubpages.com/hub/Lenovo-IdeaPad-Yoga-13-Price-and-Review-Dream-Deal-or-Dead-Loss