Sign in with
Sign up | Sign in

Test Setup And Drive Comparison

Plextor M5 Pro 256 GB Review: 19 nm NAND And Marvell's Latest
By

Samsung 830
256 GB
(MZ-7PC256N)
Crucial M4
256 GB
 (CT256M4SSD2)
Vertex 4
256 GB
Plextor M5S
256 GB
(PX-256M5S)
Plextor M5P
256 GB
(PX-256M5P)
 Current Price
$248$210
$210
$230
Awaiting MSRP
Processor
Samsung S4LJ204X01-Y040Marvell
88SS9174-BLD2
Marvell
88SS9187-BLD2
Marvell
88SS9174-BLD2
Marvell
88SS9187-BLD2
 DDR RAM Buffer Size (MB)
256 (128 x 2)

128 (128 x 1)

1,024 (2 x 512)

512 (2 x 256)

512 (2 x 256)
NAND
2x-nm MLC Toggle-mode DDR
Micron 25 nm Synchronous MLC
Intel 25 nm Synchronous MLC
Micron 25 nm Synchronous MLC
Toshiba 19 nm MLC Toggle-mode DDR
Firmware
CXM03B1Q
000F
1.5
1.0
1.0
Formatted Capacity
238 GiB
238 GiB238 GiB238 GiB238 GiB
Interface
SATA 6Gb/s
SATA 6Gb/s SATA 6Gb/s SATA 6Gb/s SATA 6Gb/s
Form Factor
2.5" 7 mm
2.5" 9.5 mm
2.5" 9.3 mm2.5" 9 mm
2.5" 7 mm
    Warranty     Three Years
Three YearsFive Years
Three Years
Five Years
Sequential
Read (MB/s)
520500560520540
Sequential
Write (MB/s)
400260510390450
4 KB Random
Read (IOPS)
80 00045 00090 00073 00094 000
4 KB Random
Write (IOPS)
30 00050 00085 00070 00086 000

Test System and Software Setup
CPU
Intel Core i7-2700 (Sandy Bridge), 3.5 GHz, 8 MB Shared L3 Cache, Hyper-Threading enabled, Power-saving features disabled
Motherboard
Asus P8Z68-V, Z68 Chipset, LGA 1155, BIOS 3402
Memory
Corsair Vengeance 4 x 4 GB DDR3-1600
Graphics
AMD Radeon HD 6970 2 GB
Storage
Plextor PX-256M5P, SATA 6Gb/s, Firmware 1.0
Operating System
Windows 7 (64 Bit) SP1  
Intel Chipset Drivers
10.8.0.1003
AMD Graphics Driver
Catalyst 12.6
Benchmarks
Anvil's Storage Utility
RC3
hIOmon
Client Version 7.0.229.0
HD Tune Pro
5
Iometer
2006.07.27
Ask a Category Expert

Create a new thread in the Reviews comments forum about this subject

Example: Notebook, Android, SSD hard drive

Display all 23 comments.
This thread is closed for comments
Top Comments
  • 15 Hide
    grantwar , September 28, 2012 10:35 AM
    I'd love to see how this drive fares against the samsung 840 Pro.
  • 13 Hide
    SpadeM , September 28, 2012 10:56 AM
    grantwarI'd love to see how this drive fares against the samsung 840 Pro.


    Here you go:
    http://www.anandtech.com/bench/Product/665?vs=646
Other Comments
  • 0 Hide
    Anonymous , September 28, 2012 4:43 AM
    You have the wrong Marvell controller listed for the crucial M4 and the Plextor M5S. This controller is new.
    The old one was the 88SS9174-BKK2.
    http://www.tomshardware.com/reviews/plextor-m3-crucial-m4-octane-performance-pro,3178.html
  • 9 Hide
    mayankleoboy1 , September 28, 2012 5:17 AM
    can we have a benchmark of the time it takes to install a fresh copy of Win7+SP1 on a SSD ? Because thats the first thing a user will do after buying a new drive.
  • 4 Hide
    echondo , September 28, 2012 5:54 AM
    mayankleoboy1can we have a benchmark of the time it takes to install a fresh copy of Win7+SP1 on a SSD ? Because thats the first thing a user will do after buying a new drive.


    I believe we can all assume it will take around 10-15 minutes. My old SATA2 Vertex drive can have Windows installed with all the Windows updates I want in around 20 minutes, it would be less time but I have to install all my drivers first for my motherboard :p 
  • 0 Hide
    fat-chunk , September 28, 2012 10:24 AM
    Long live SSDs!
  • 15 Hide
    grantwar , September 28, 2012 10:35 AM
    I'd love to see how this drive fares against the samsung 840 Pro.
  • 13 Hide
    SpadeM , September 28, 2012 10:56 AM
    grantwarI'd love to see how this drive fares against the samsung 840 Pro.


    Here you go:
    http://www.anandtech.com/bench/Product/665?vs=646
  • 6 Hide
    JeanLuc , September 28, 2012 12:30 PM
    I was on Youtube the other day on the Corsair channel and they were showing the advantages of 'Ram cache' which was lights years faster then SSD's in therms of throughput. Could Toms consider doing an article into Ram cache as I think it would be of interest to people who have 16-32Gb systems (since DDR3 is cheap at the moment) can spare the extra system ram to cache files and software.
  • 6 Hide
    merikafyeah , September 28, 2012 12:35 PM
    SpadeMHere you go: http://www.anandtech.com/bench/Product/665?vs=646

    Wow. The 840 Pro beat the M5 Pro in virtually everything according to that data. The 840 Pro does cost significantly more though.
  • 4 Hide
    merikafyeah , September 28, 2012 12:41 PM
    JeanLucI was on Youtube the other day on the Corsair channel and they were showing the advantages of 'Ram cache' which was lights years faster then SSD's in therms of throughput. Could Toms consider doing an article into Ram cache as I think it would be of interest to people who have 16-32Gb systems (since DDR3 is cheap at the moment) can spare the extra system ram to cache files and software.

    TheSSDReview did something similar:
    http://thessdreview.com/our-reviews/romex-fancycache-review-ssd-performance-at-13gbs-and-765000-iops-in-60-seconds-flat/

    No point in even comparing RAM to SSDs, as even "slow" RAM is faster than even the best SSDs by about the same amount as the best SSDs are faster than floppy disks.
  • 0 Hide
    aicom , September 28, 2012 5:09 PM
    This review would have been impressive if it was published 2 weeks ago. With the 840 Pro out, it simply blows the M5P out of the water. Too bad it wasn't included in the benchmark charts here.
  • 0 Hide
    richard hart , September 28, 2012 5:27 PM
    @ rafale. Thanks for spotting that mistake. Its now been corrected.
  • 0 Hide
    bobdylan11 , September 28, 2012 9:42 PM
    woot, installing mine at this moment
    450 for 512gb
    good luck beating that "stat", samsung
  • 0 Hide
    KenZen2B , September 29, 2012 4:37 AM
    merikafyeah 09/28/2012 2:41 PM Insert quote.
    Report
    -1+ .
    JeanLuc :

    I was on Youtube the other day on the Corsair channel and they were showing the advantages of 'Ram cache' which was lights years faster then SSD's in therms of throughput. Could Toms consider doing an article into Ram cache as I think it would be of interest to people who have 16-32Gb systems (since DDR3 is cheap at the moment) can spare the extra system ram to cache files and software.



    TheSSDReview did something similar:
    http://thessdreview.com/our-review [...] onds-flat/

    No point in even comparing RAM to SSDs, as even "slow" RAM is faster than even the best SSDs by about the same amount as the best SSDs are faster than floppy disks.

    I have read the article and have these thoughts on the subject.
    1) Why have mobo manufactures not placed an extra four memory slots on their mobo to handle this concept ?
    2) Why have RAM manufactures not teamed up with mobo manufactures to supply them with 256 GB memory sticks ?
    3) Has the industry, video and others, (movies, ads, special effects, cartoons, simulations, etc.) moved to this type of strategy to increase their productivity ?
  • 1 Hide
    luciferano , September 29, 2012 6:14 AM
    KenZen2Bmerikafyeah 09/28/2012 2:41 PM Insert quote. Report -1+ .JeanLuc :I was on Youtube the other day on the Corsair channel and they were showing the advantages of 'Ram cache' which was lights years faster then SSD's in therms of throughput. Could Toms consider doing an article into Ram cache as I think it would be of interest to people who have 16-32Gb systems (since DDR3 is cheap at the moment) can spare the extra system ram to cache files and software. TheSSDReview did something similar:http://thessdreview.com/our-review [...] onds-flat/No point in even comparing RAM to SSDs, as even "slow" RAM is faster than even the best SSDs by about the same amount as the best SSDs are faster than floppy disks.I have read the article and have these thoughts on the subject.1) Why have mobo manufactures not placed an extra four memory slots on their mobo to handle this concept ?2) Why have RAM manufactures not teamed up with mobo manufactures to supply them with 256 GB memory sticks ?3) Has the industry, video and others, (movies, ads, special effects, cartoons, simulations, etc.) moved to this type of strategy to increase their productivity ?


    1) mobo manufacturers would have nothing to connect these RAM slots too. They need DDR3 controllers and they'd need more of them, so where are those going to come from? The only thing that I can think of is some sort of integrated PCIe device and it would make the motherboard quite expensive.

    2) 256GB memory sticks would cost thousands of dollars. Even 16GB memory sticks and especially 32GB memory sticks can already be extremely expensive and difficult to make. We can't just make chips that have more memory capacity in a given size than current memory procces nodes can work with, so any such memory module with 256GB of RAM would be huge, to say the least.

    3) It's too expensive.

    Basically, cost is the main inhibitor for all three of your questions.
  • 0 Hide
    merikafyeah , September 29, 2012 12:11 PM
    Maybe it's for the best that they don't release the Limited Edition Shuriken model worldwide.
    Some people might be tempted to throw their SSDs like tech ninjas.
  • 0 Hide
    hrath , September 29, 2012 3:22 PM
    wow that looks epic :) 
  • 0 Hide
    g00b , September 30, 2012 7:52 PM
    I think the first page meant Flash instead of DDR.

    "... reviewed previously uses 25 nm synchronous NAND from Micron and Marvell's 88SS9174-BLD2 controller, while the M5 Pro employs 19 nm Toggle-mode --DDR-- from Toshiba and a more modern Marvell 88SS9187-BLD2 processor."
  • 2 Hide
    g00b , September 30, 2012 7:54 PM
    Ok. I'm partly an idiot :) .

    Toggle-Mode Double Data Rate NAND Flash
  • 0 Hide
    Anonymous , October 2, 2012 3:30 PM
    But how does the M5Pro compare with the Corsair Neutron GTX ?
  • 2 Hide
    Onihikage , October 2, 2012 7:19 PM
    Quote:
    I have read the article and have these thoughts on the subject.
    1) Why have mobo manufactures not placed an extra four memory slots on their mobo to handle this concept ?
    2) Why have RAM manufactures not teamed up with mobo manufactures to supply them with 256 GB memory sticks ?
    3) Has the industry, video and others, (movies, ads, special effects, cartoons, simulations, etc.) moved to this type of strategy to increase their productivity ?


    Luciferano has already commented, but I thought I'd make input on the first point. There are mobos with an extra four slots, enabling up to 64GB of RAM (such as the ASUS P9X79 PRO) but these are uncommon and expensive. Higher RAM capacities under today's technology will almost always require you to be using server hardware; the PC form factor just won't cut it.
Display more comments