Sign in with
Sign up | Sign in

Case And System Cooling

System Builder Marathon, May '09: $2,500 Performance PC
By

The process for selecting compact PC hardware is almost backwards compared to what one goes through for larger systems, since the smaller case has so large an effect on the fit of other components. Thus, we started with our chassis and worked from there.

Case: Silverstone SG03

Cube cases are often chosen for portability, but “super sizing” the cube design to fit Micro-ATX motherboards results in a very wide product. While our $625 PC SBM builder Paul Henningsen stuck with the concept by choosing a cube-shaped case measuring 10.4” wide, the plan for our $2,500 system called for something much narrower. Its smaller 7.9” x 12.3” footprint also allows for more space on a desk, although it’s nearly twice as tall as a typical Shuttle system.

Height isn’t as big of an issue as width when carrying a case by its handle, so our easy choice was the Silverstone SG04B-H. Unfortunately, it was one of two products that was out of stock when it came time to order. Using the same under-structure, we then chose the SG03-B as a functionally-identical replacement.

Read Customer Reviews of Silverstone's SG03


Newegg’s own photo of this case doesn't do it justice, as reflections of the inner panels that don’t show up in the finished system create a false impression. A little adjustment to the lighting angles of our photo shows the SG03 for the great-looking chassis that it is.

Laid on its side, the SG03 looks nearly identical to Silverstone’s cube cases except for the additional space at the ends, which become the top and bottom in this tower design. That extra space is the key to how this case supports our full configuration while most cubes cases will not. Moving the optical drive to the top prevented it from interfering with the use of an extra-long power supply, while moving the hard drives to the bottom prevented any drive cage interference with the use of two over-sized graphics cards.

Hinged winglet-sized doors surround the intake fan grille, shown with the two replacement fans described below already installed. The left cover hides front panel ports, while the right covers the reset button and activity LEDs.

Intake Fans: Two Scythe S-Flex SFF21F

Read Customer Reviews of Scythe's S-Flex SFF21F


Two Scythe S-Flex model SFF21F fans were chosen to replace the single fan supplied by Silverstone, since these are each capable of 63.7 cubic feet per minute (CFM) at 28.0 decibels (max speed). Sony Fluid Dynamic Bearing technology helps to achieve that low noise rating while providing an impressive 150,000 hours of mean time between failures (MTBF).

Exhaust Fan: Silverstone FX121

Read Customer Reviews of Silverstone's FX121


With no space for a full-sized exhaust fan, Silverstone’s FX121 Cross Flow blower was added to assist voltage regulator module (VRM) cooling and pull heat away from the CPU socket. Its 14 CFM rating at 26 decibels is extremely unimpressive, but there simply isn’t room for a better solution.

Ask a Category Expert

Create a new thread in the Reviews comments forum about this subject

Example: Notebook, Android, SSD hard drive

Display all 92 comments.
This thread is closed for comments
Top Comments
  • 10 Hide
    cangelini , May 25, 2009 7:18 AM
    I'm sure the rest of the readers will be happy to learn you guys won't be interested in winning it :) 
Other Comments
  • 0 Hide
    IzzyCraft , May 25, 2009 6:24 AM
    What's with the efficiency adage at the end i mean i get why but I'm sure most of us noticed that overclocking gave us more performance but at the price of a higher electric bill, but we'll do it anyways. :) 

    Case is nice but i mean with such a high end system seems like a waste so cluttered yet it all fits which makes it pretty cool esp if you put it right on top next to your monitor makes a nice look factor but it's not my style though. ;) 
  • 10 Hide
    cangelini , May 25, 2009 7:18 AM
    I'm sure the rest of the readers will be happy to learn you guys won't be interested in winning it :) 
  • 3 Hide
    doomtomb , May 25, 2009 7:25 AM
    Asus Rampage Gene > DFI Lanparty
  • 6 Hide
    doomtomb , May 25, 2009 7:28 AM
    Antec Mini P180 would have had better airflow as well. It can fit even a 120mm fan and heatsink for the CPU, you don't have a PSU blocking it and adding heat to the air around the CPU.
  • 1 Hide
    scook9 , May 25, 2009 8:09 AM
    Very interesting as I have a pretty powerful core i7 matx build as well, however, here is what I would have changed if I were you:
    Case: Antec Mini p180 - much more room, especially if you remove bottom hard drive cage, can take ANY graphics then, much better cooling, and allows for REAL cpu cooler.
    Motherboard: Asus Rampage II Gene - I used the DFI model then got the ASUS, its nicer, much nicer. Unless you need a couple specific overclocking things in BIOS, id recommend Asus board hands down, AND it has 2 firewire, one header, and one rear.

    For those that care (probably not many but why not), here is my system:
    Antec Mini p180
    Corsair TX750 PSU (wish I had the $$ for the 1000 watt model used here)
    LG GGC-H20L Combo Blu Ray Drive (same used)
    WD 640GB Caviar Blue - placed in top optical drive slot - working on VR 300GB
    6GB Corsair Dominator DDR3-1600 (saving for the Dominator GT DDR3-2000)
    Dominator AirFlow Fan (triple channel model)
    Intel Core i7 920
    Lapped TRUE
    5x Scythe S-Flex G fans (2 on TRUE, 1 exhaust, 2 intake in place of hard drive cages)
    Thermaltake Extreme Spirit II Northbridge Cooler
    2x EVGA GTX275 SLI (the SC models, even though I purchased stock clocks :) )

    This system hauls some serious ass, well staying reasonably cooled - although I will say that the S-Flex G fans have a noticeable hum to them. This system has run for days at 4GHz (50% overclock) with no issues.I "only" game on a 24" screen so the 2x GTX275 suffice for me. Thought about 295's in SLI but did not want to worry about the heat those can make (and the much higher cost).
  • 0 Hide
    scook9 , May 25, 2009 8:10 AM
    of course, I will still try my luck at winning theirs too......
  • 0 Hide
    curnel_D , May 25, 2009 8:13 AM
    Lol, I love the firewire solution. :p  I do that kind of thing all the time.

    I'm actually really impressed with this machine for it's size. I've used that silverstone exaust fan in quite a few machines, and despite it's totally uninspiring performance, it can really be a life-saver.

    Though if I won this machine, I'd totally throw it in a HAF, and ebay that case away. :p :D 
  • 2 Hide
    Proximon , May 25, 2009 8:18 AM
    I really appreciate the unusual board choice and would really like to hear some further impressions, as in an actual review ;) 
    The case looks very nice, but then Silverstone always does.
    A bit surprised at the PSU selection given the cards, but impressed that it survived so well.
    Couldn't a higher RPM low profile heatsink have been found? Scythe Shuriken for instance?


  • 2 Hide
    Sihastru , May 25, 2009 8:25 AM
    While I'm not loving the case design, I am loving it's layout. Too bad you had to use the box cooler... Perhaps a Lian Li PC-A05B would have been a better choice? It needs the optional PCI cooler assembly to keep the slots area cool, but it will do the job, while not limiting you to a mini-ATX board. It will also allow almost any aftermarket CPU Cooler (including some WC setups).

    Another small gripe... wouldn't the 640GB Blacks be just a little faster then the 500GB RE3's? They might not get the full 5 yrs warranty, and the 24/7 validation seems more like a marketing term.
  • 1 Hide
    Sihastru , May 25, 2009 8:29 AM
    Don't get me wrong, I do get the vibe... don't use big-ass cases for gaming rigs anymore. It is true that bigger isn't always what you need, and it shouldn't be what you'd want.

    Overall nice setup.
  • 2 Hide
    IronRyan21 , May 25, 2009 8:33 AM
    vorlessThats an ugly ass case, and for 2,500 u better get D0 stepping instead.


    I dont care if this things ugly, it will beat my pc anyday, I would love to win this bad boy.
  • 0 Hide
    powerbaselx , May 25, 2009 9:25 AM
    Forgive me if i'm wrong, but since this is supposed to be a portable PC, shouldn't the disks be configured as RAID1 - Mirror - for better protection and some Read performance improvement?
    Since the RAID controllers aren't very trusty, i think it's a risk to go to a LAN party or a competition with RAID0...
    Another thing: instead of 2x disks 7200-rpm wasn't it better to install a WD Raptor 10k-rpm with better performance? I'm pretty sure this option would offer better stability instead of the RAID0 set...
  • 1 Hide
    avatar_raq , May 25, 2009 10:29 AM
    It's nice to squeeze all this H/W into such a small enclosure, but I must say I don't like it that way..If I win this small beast I'm gonna spread its guts to a larger case and O/C it to the extreme! I guess this CPU will have no problem reaching 4 Ghz, it's "lucky"!
    Few points:
    1.I agree that ASUS rampage gene is better than the DFI they used here. It came into mind once I read the opening paragraph, hoping it'll be the one used.
    2. The fans of PSU and CPU cooler blow air in opposite directions and they're fairly close to each other. I think it helped increasing CPU temps bigtime.
    3. I don't know if they fit or not, but there are decent low profile CPU coolers built for HTPC cases. I guess they'd perform better.
    All in all, it's a nice build. Well done.
  • 6 Hide
    justjc , May 25, 2009 10:59 AM
    Here's hoping for a Phenom II system in one or more of the builds.
  • 1 Hide
    randomizer , May 25, 2009 11:10 AM
    Is it a safe bet that the contest is North America only?
  • 1 Hide
    p0werhorse , May 25, 2009 12:54 PM
    I too would like to know if non US citizens can enter the competition?
  • 0 Hide
    Anonymous , May 25, 2009 1:06 PM
    no $$ for a good SSD in the budget?
  • 1 Hide
    SpadeM , May 25, 2009 1:28 PM
    p0werhorseI too would like to know if non US citizens can enter the competition?

    Answer: No... given the fact that all the TH competitions were for US only

    Other then that, an unusual system builder marathon this month. Hope that tomorrow an even more weird system comes up at the $1300 price point

  • 1 Hide
    sublifer , May 25, 2009 1:47 PM
    I'd have rather seen an SSD with a spare TB drive than the RAID'ed 500's.
    Two of the 295's is overkill but it still looks like a great build. I wouldn't mind winning it ;) 
  • -6 Hide
    Anonymous , May 25, 2009 2:12 PM
    I would suggest a Power Supply of 1.250W.

    I already tested a system close to this (Core i7 920 + 2x GTX 295), and when you put the CPU and GPU at max stress (Prime95 or OCCT + Furmark), the 1.000W psu does not hold the system (it will shut off).

    Off course, when gaming (Crysis for instance), the system will run fine (since the game cannot put that much stress on the CPU + GPU).
Display more comments