Sign in with
Sign up | Sign in

Benchmark Results: I/O Performance

OCZ’s RevoDrive X2: When A Fast PCIe SSD Isn’t Fast Enough
By

In talking to OCZ about its target for the RevoDrive X2, the company is adamant that a PCI Express-based SSD is appropriate anywhere I/O performance is taxed. And it’s easy to see why that recommendation makes sense.

Although average IOPS don’t scale linearly, there’s a clear progression from one SandForce controller to two and then to four. And while the RevoDrive X2 and IBIS are configured similarly, the native PCI Express-based board delivers slightly better performance in the database and file server benchmark patterns.  

The same holds true in our Web server test in Iometer. Here, though, Intel’s X25-M 160 GB edges out OCZ’s Vertex 2 120 GB.

A workstation-oriented workload completes the RevoDrive X2’s chart-topping showing here. In each test case, the PCIe board outmaneuvers the HSDL-attached IBIS, demonstrates a significant advantage over the two-controller RevoDrive, and an even more commanding lead over a standard SF-1200-based 2.5” SSD.

Display all 47 comments.
This thread is closed for comments
  • 0 Hide
    joelmartinez , January 12, 2011 3:19 AM
    Too much money :(  will get the vertex 3 though :)  or intel
  • 5 Hide
    alikum , January 12, 2011 3:38 AM
    If only they could make SSDs cheaper ... Mechanical drives are still the way to go
  • 0 Hide
    eklipz330 , January 12, 2011 3:50 AM
    although i think sandforce's new controller won't be as fast as they claim, i really think it's gonna change the face of the ssd race by the end of the year

    and probably a new iteration of the revodrive as well... can't wait!! =D =D i need me a 160gb for less than $1/gb... that's how much i bought my raptor for like 4 years ago!!
  • 2 Hide
    dauthus , January 12, 2011 4:00 AM
    In related news, OCZ stock is up to $6.80 a share, rising 19%+ today.
  • 0 Hide
    Anonymous , January 12, 2011 4:10 AM
    How does this compare to the new Z-drive R3?
  • 0 Hide
    cmi86 , January 12, 2011 4:32 AM
    Yeah its really cool and i wish i had 1...or 2 lol but it just costs waay too much money, isnt really practical for enthusiast use until the prices drop
  • 2 Hide
    dirtmountain , January 12, 2011 5:12 AM
    You routinely use $500 graphic cards (GTX580) and $1,200 displays (2560x1600)in reviews. The price for this upgrade ($650)isn't any harder to stomach then those.
  • 1 Hide
    cangelini , January 12, 2011 5:26 AM
    dirtmountainYou routinely use $500 graphic cards (GTX580) and $1,200 displays (2560x1600)in reviews. The price for this upgrade ($650)isn't any harder to stomach then those.


    Aye, but it's a little less tangible than exotic graphics configurations, too.
  • 4 Hide
    razor512 , January 12, 2011 5:38 AM
    a pci-e ssd seems good, I want one, MS word will run sooo much better
  • 4 Hide
    alidan , January 12, 2011 6:14 AM
    i realy wish they would put a 7200 10000 and 15000 drive in there, all top of their respective class, just so we can get some prospective of how much an improvement these are over traditional hdds.
  • 1 Hide
    palladin9479 , January 12, 2011 7:04 AM
    Something like that is beyond anything any mechanical drive can hope to compete with, its even faster then a multi-channel directly connected SAN array. It looks to be one step away from a RAM Drive, if anyone can remember what those were.
  • 0 Hide
    utengineer , January 12, 2011 11:03 AM
    I am waiting to see if Intel's LightPeak tech will be used in the the storage arena(i.e. boot drives, etc). Seems like the SSD tech is evolving so quickly.
  • 1 Hide
    christop , January 12, 2011 11:14 AM
    I want one but will have to wait for the price to come way down.
  • 0 Hide
    moogleslam , January 12, 2011 12:18 PM
    Do SSD's or the RevoDrive improve gaming performance at all?
  • 0 Hide
    krisboro , January 12, 2011 12:36 PM
    Just load times...
  • -1 Hide
    syrob , January 12, 2011 1:27 PM

    There is no way to use REVO, Modern Video card AND INTEL RAID ICH10R RAID 10 AT THE SAME TIME, the option rom spoace is used all up.

    DO not buy unless you do not ever want RAID through Intel ICHR10 !!!

    See link below

    http://www.ocztechnologyforum.com/forum/showthread.php?80739-revodrive-X2-and-intel-ICH10-controller

    REVO is not worth it!
  • 0 Hide
    studioman22 , January 12, 2011 2:16 PM
    Hmm, a little off topic, but what is that Cooler Master UCP-1000W used for the test rig? It's in a strange spot on the CM website, and not in their regular lineup. I guess it's either brand new and not for sale yet? Or is that a legacy product?
  • 0 Hide
    K2N hater , January 12, 2011 2:16 PM
    SYROBThere is no way to use REVO, Modern Video card AND INTEL RAID ICH10R RAID 10 AT THE SAME TIME, the option rom spoace is used all up.DO not buy unless you do not ever want RAID through Intel ICHR10 !!!See link belowhttp://www.ocztechnologyforum.com/ [...] controllerREVO is not worth it!

    I've read the thread. If you boot from the Revo it's 100% safe to disable ICH RAID. The RAID support present on ICH can be replaced to Windows RAID. As discussed in that thread disabling PXE can also help.
  • 0 Hide
    68vistacruiser , January 12, 2011 2:19 PM
    Why would anyone spend hundreds of dollars just to boot up 30 seconds faster, when they spend hours a day on the same computer?
  • 0 Hide
    willy_ , January 12, 2011 2:20 PM
    What I miss in the review: Is the RAID on the card "invisible" to the OS, as in, the OS sees it as a single drive. Or does the OS need to load a driver for the controller? If that's the case many Linux distri's will not be able to use it as a single drive.
Display more comments