Sign in with
Sign up | Sign in

Measurement And Calibration Methodology

GeChic On-Lap 2501M 15.6" Battery-Powered Monitor, Tested
By

To measure and calibrate monitors, we use an i1Pro spectrophotometer and the latest version of SpectraCal CalMAN software (v5.0.3).

For patterns, we employ an AccuPel DVG-5000 video signal generator. This approach removes video cards and drivers from the signal chain, allowing the display to receive true reference patterns. Connections are made via HDMI.

The AccuPel DVG-5000 is capable of generating all types of video signals at any resolution and refresh rate up to 1920x1080 at 60 Hz. It can also display motion patterns to evaluate a monitor's video processing capabilities, with 3D patterns available in every format. This allows us to measure color and grayscale performance, crosstalk, and ghosting in 3D content via the 3D glasses.

We realize that the On-Lap 2501M will not be calibrated by its typical user. This is, after all, a convenience product, not a performance-oriented one. Still, we feel it’s relevant to run any display through our battery of tests so that you know what image quality to expect. Except for gamma control, the On-Lap has the same calibration adjustments available on a desktop monitor. There are no picture modes, so you can’t toggle between different settings combos. The table below holds the settings that we used in our tests.

Contrast
50
Brightness
100
Red
55
Green
53
Blue
52
Color Temp
User
Ask a Category Expert

Create a new thread in the Reviews comments forum about this subject

Example: Notebook, Android, SSD hard drive

Display all 16 comments.
This thread is closed for comments
  • 0 Hide
    mayankleoboy1 , March 27, 2013 10:18 PM
    So even though the hardware itself is excellent, the final product is too niche-y to sell ?
  • 4 Hide
    slomo4sho , March 28, 2013 12:13 AM
    A portable monitor at the conveniently low price of an entry level tablet or chromebook... I see real utility here.
  • 1 Hide
    Fulgurant , March 28, 2013 12:56 AM
    I might be interested in something like this at some point. Nice review.
  • 0 Hide
    Senor Kalyan , March 28, 2013 3:30 AM
    http://us.aoc.com/monitor_displays/e2251fwu
  • 1 Hide
    warezme , March 28, 2013 7:10 AM
    It is an industry artificial block in my opinion. All they would have to do is include a little extra circuitry to the existing pads for an HDMI input and viola, you could use your pad as a monitor to another device. Most pads have at least that resolution on some even better. I would never buy this item unless it was under $150 or less. It is a one trick pony with a low resolution screen.
  • 4 Hide
    groundhogdaze , March 28, 2013 7:57 AM
    I'd love to have one of these portable monitors. I've go a bunch of headless PC's that I need to check every once in a while and don't want to lug a regular monitor around nor hunt for a power socket for the test monitor. If only the price were a little lower...
  • 1 Hide
    Fulgurant , March 28, 2013 8:56 AM
    warezmeIt is an industry artificial block in my opinion. All they would have to do is include a little extra circuitry to the existing pads for an HDMI input and viola, you could use your pad as a monitor to another device. Most pads have at least that resolution on some even better. I would never buy this item unless it was under $150 or less. It is a one trick pony with a low resolution screen.

    I don't disagree that tablets could easily include an input, but to be fair, this product is far bigger than a tablet. It may only have a niche use, but it is clearly better suited for that niche use than a tablet screen would be.
  • 1 Hide
    Fulgurant , March 28, 2013 9:59 AM
    FulgurantI don't disagree that tablets could easily include an input, but to be fair, this product is far bigger than a tablet. It may only have a niche use, but it is clearly better suited for that niche use than a tablet screen would be.

    Come to think of it, laptops should include inputs too -- but to my knowledge, they never have.
  • 0 Hide
    g00fysmiley , March 28, 2013 11:57 AM
    interesting concept but would be nice if bluetooth connectivity wee there unless i am missing somethign it s hdmi only. touchscereen i know is pricier but again would add to utility. interesting product just as it is looks very limited
  • 1 Hide
    RedJaron , March 28, 2013 3:55 PM
    Senor Kalyanhttp://us.aoc.com/monitor_displays/e2251fwu

    Nice product, except it doesn't have its own power supply and can only take a USB signal over a DisplayLink driver. Makes for a nice quasi-mobile secondary monitor for computers, but it won't connect to most types of mobile devices like the GeChic will.
  • 0 Hide
    shadowfamicom , March 29, 2013 7:50 AM
    Their USB powered HDMI monitor is really well made. I have one I use for when I want to grab one of my booksized PC's or my Mac Mini and take it on the road. It is also really great for testing hardware or with consoles. And adding a separate battery pack that has two USB ports lets me use it with a Raspberry Pi on the go. It is meant to be used to add dual monitor support to your notebook (even comes with metal brackets).

  • 1 Hide
    shadowfamicom , March 29, 2013 7:52 AM
    shadowfamicomTheir USB powered HDMI monitor is really well made. I have one I use for when I want to grab one of my booksized PC's or my Mac Mini and take it on the road. It is also really great for testing hardware or with consoles. And adding a separate battery pack that has two USB ports lets me use it with a Raspberry Pi on the go. It is meant to be used to add dual monitor support to your notebook (even comes with metal brackets).


    Forgot the link to the one I was talking about which is 13.3 inches

    http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=9SIA0V108S5365
  • 1 Hide
    ashburner , March 29, 2013 9:01 PM
    I use a 1.99 app called iDisplay. Only works over wifi though with my 3rd gen iPad. It works well.
  • 2 Hide
    occupant , April 3, 2013 6:29 AM
    Reminds me of the Lenovo LT1423, a $350-$400 touchscreen introduced in January at CES2013, which would actually be useful for me since it matches my laptop's 1600x900 resolution. I don't need wireless connectivity or BlueTooth or a ton of features, or even a touchscreen. Somebody package a 1600x900 17 inch laptop screen in a nice aluminum enclosure with a kickstand, and make it thin enough to accompany my laptop in its backpack, and I'd happily pay $300 for it. Dual displays are pretty much required for the work I do, and the typical 27-32 inch TV in many hotel rooms isn't exactly an ideal second display. Toting around a 2 inch thick $69 refurbished 20 inch Acer V203H has been my solution and it doesn't exactly fit in my laptop bag, even if I remove the stand and carry it separately or in my other bags. At least it is 1600x900.
  • 0 Hide
    Some_guy_said , April 10, 2013 1:58 PM
    mayankleoboy1So even though the hardware itself is excellent, the final product is too niche-y to sell ?


    Absolutely.

    You can get a 9 inch IPS TOUCH screen at 1900x1200 resolution, speakers, Weighs only 1.2 pounds and lasts for 8 hours on a charge.

    For $20 more...$270.
    http://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B008GFRE5A/ref=asc_df_B008GFRE5A?tag=hyprod-20&hvpos=1o2&hvexid=&hvnetw=g&hvrand=1878467891549516394&hvpone=

    And it comes with a tablet included at no extra charge.
  • 0 Hide
    Hadit , April 19, 2013 8:39 AM
    Sorry for a possibly dumb question, but I assume the HDMI connection is only important for videos. I just want a good display for static camera shots that I can paint from. Need good color and resolution.