Sign in with
Sign up | Sign in

Results: Stock Brightness And Contrast

GeChic On-Lap 2501M 15.6" Battery-Powered Monitor, Tested
By

Since the On-Lap 2501M is a twisted-nematic (TN) panel, we’re using some comparison data from past reviews of 23- and 24-inch TN-based panels. We're also including data from the last four screens we tested, all of which are 27-inch IPS monitors.

With its brightness control set to maximum, the On-Lap comes up a tick shy of the 200 nit mark. For a monitor that will likely be used in bright environments, we would like to see a little more light output.

The max black level falls just below the middle of our pack. However, 0.4625 cd/m2 isn’t a bad result. In fact, in a high-ambient light environment, this will serve to keep shadow detail visible.

Contrast ratio is the most important factor concerning the perceived depth and dimensionality of the image. The greater the ratio, or dynamic range, the more three-dimensional the picture will appear.

The max contrast ratio is toward the bottom of the pack; a little more light output would help improve this number.

Turning down the brightness control all the way generates some very low numbers for both maximum white and minimum black.

At just over 17 cd/m2, the image is far too dim to be of any use, even in a blacked-out environment. We recommend setting the brightness to no lower than 25. At that level, the white luminance increases to around 45 cd/m2.

On the plus side, bottoming out the brightness slider produces a very impressive black level. Thanks to the On-Lap’s excellent gamma tracking, shadow detail is maintained even at this low reading.

Again, minimizing the brightness produces an image that is not practical for normal use. With the brightness control on 25, the black level is still less than 0.1 cd/m2, which puts it in fourth place.

The minimum stock contrast ratio is pretty much unaffected by the position of the brightness slider. No matter where it’s set, the ratio lands between 420: and 430:1.

Contrast performance is not a strong suit of any LCD panel, regardless of the technology it employs. While this metric has improved over the last few years, it’s still behind other display technologies, such as plasma. And alas, the tremendous dynamic range of our dearly departed CRT monitors may not be equaled until OLED panels become more viable.

Ask a Category Expert

Create a new thread in the Reviews comments forum about this subject

Example: Notebook, Android, SSD hard drive

Display all 16 comments.
This thread is closed for comments
  • 0 Hide
    mayankleoboy1 , March 27, 2013 10:18 PM
    So even though the hardware itself is excellent, the final product is too niche-y to sell ?
  • 4 Hide
    slomo4sho , March 28, 2013 12:13 AM
    A portable monitor at the conveniently low price of an entry level tablet or chromebook... I see real utility here.
  • 1 Hide
    Fulgurant , March 28, 2013 12:56 AM
    I might be interested in something like this at some point. Nice review.
  • 0 Hide
    Senor Kalyan , March 28, 2013 3:30 AM
    http://us.aoc.com/monitor_displays/e2251fwu
  • 1 Hide
    warezme , March 28, 2013 7:10 AM
    It is an industry artificial block in my opinion. All they would have to do is include a little extra circuitry to the existing pads for an HDMI input and viola, you could use your pad as a monitor to another device. Most pads have at least that resolution on some even better. I would never buy this item unless it was under $150 or less. It is a one trick pony with a low resolution screen.
  • 4 Hide
    groundhogdaze , March 28, 2013 7:57 AM
    I'd love to have one of these portable monitors. I've go a bunch of headless PC's that I need to check every once in a while and don't want to lug a regular monitor around nor hunt for a power socket for the test monitor. If only the price were a little lower...
  • 1 Hide
    Fulgurant , March 28, 2013 8:56 AM
    warezmeIt is an industry artificial block in my opinion. All they would have to do is include a little extra circuitry to the existing pads for an HDMI input and viola, you could use your pad as a monitor to another device. Most pads have at least that resolution on some even better. I would never buy this item unless it was under $150 or less. It is a one trick pony with a low resolution screen.

    I don't disagree that tablets could easily include an input, but to be fair, this product is far bigger than a tablet. It may only have a niche use, but it is clearly better suited for that niche use than a tablet screen would be.
  • 1 Hide
    Fulgurant , March 28, 2013 9:59 AM
    FulgurantI don't disagree that tablets could easily include an input, but to be fair, this product is far bigger than a tablet. It may only have a niche use, but it is clearly better suited for that niche use than a tablet screen would be.

    Come to think of it, laptops should include inputs too -- but to my knowledge, they never have.
  • 0 Hide
    g00fysmiley , March 28, 2013 11:57 AM
    interesting concept but would be nice if bluetooth connectivity wee there unless i am missing somethign it s hdmi only. touchscereen i know is pricier but again would add to utility. interesting product just as it is looks very limited
  • 1 Hide
    RedJaron , March 28, 2013 3:55 PM
    Senor Kalyanhttp://us.aoc.com/monitor_displays/e2251fwu

    Nice product, except it doesn't have its own power supply and can only take a USB signal over a DisplayLink driver. Makes for a nice quasi-mobile secondary monitor for computers, but it won't connect to most types of mobile devices like the GeChic will.
  • 0 Hide
    shadowfamicom , March 29, 2013 7:50 AM
    Their USB powered HDMI monitor is really well made. I have one I use for when I want to grab one of my booksized PC's or my Mac Mini and take it on the road. It is also really great for testing hardware or with consoles. And adding a separate battery pack that has two USB ports lets me use it with a Raspberry Pi on the go. It is meant to be used to add dual monitor support to your notebook (even comes with metal brackets).

  • 1 Hide
    shadowfamicom , March 29, 2013 7:52 AM
    shadowfamicomTheir USB powered HDMI monitor is really well made. I have one I use for when I want to grab one of my booksized PC's or my Mac Mini and take it on the road. It is also really great for testing hardware or with consoles. And adding a separate battery pack that has two USB ports lets me use it with a Raspberry Pi on the go. It is meant to be used to add dual monitor support to your notebook (even comes with metal brackets).


    Forgot the link to the one I was talking about which is 13.3 inches

    http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=9SIA0V108S5365
  • 1 Hide
    ashburner , March 29, 2013 9:01 PM
    I use a 1.99 app called iDisplay. Only works over wifi though with my 3rd gen iPad. It works well.
  • 2 Hide
    occupant , April 3, 2013 6:29 AM
    Reminds me of the Lenovo LT1423, a $350-$400 touchscreen introduced in January at CES2013, which would actually be useful for me since it matches my laptop's 1600x900 resolution. I don't need wireless connectivity or BlueTooth or a ton of features, or even a touchscreen. Somebody package a 1600x900 17 inch laptop screen in a nice aluminum enclosure with a kickstand, and make it thin enough to accompany my laptop in its backpack, and I'd happily pay $300 for it. Dual displays are pretty much required for the work I do, and the typical 27-32 inch TV in many hotel rooms isn't exactly an ideal second display. Toting around a 2 inch thick $69 refurbished 20 inch Acer V203H has been my solution and it doesn't exactly fit in my laptop bag, even if I remove the stand and carry it separately or in my other bags. At least it is 1600x900.
  • 0 Hide
    Some_guy_said , April 10, 2013 1:58 PM
    mayankleoboy1So even though the hardware itself is excellent, the final product is too niche-y to sell ?


    Absolutely.

    You can get a 9 inch IPS TOUCH screen at 1900x1200 resolution, speakers, Weighs only 1.2 pounds and lasts for 8 hours on a charge.

    For $20 more...$270.
    http://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B008GFRE5A/ref=asc_df_B008GFRE5A?tag=hyprod-20&hvpos=1o2&hvexid=&hvnetw=g&hvrand=1878467891549516394&hvpone=

    And it comes with a tablet included at no extra charge.
  • 0 Hide
    Hadit , April 19, 2013 8:39 AM
    Sorry for a possibly dumb question, but I assume the HDMI connection is only important for videos. I just want a good display for static camera shots that I can paint from. Need good color and resolution.