Sign in with
Sign up | Sign in

Results: Pixel Response And Input Lag

GeChic On-Lap 2501M 15.6" Battery-Powered Monitor, Tested
By

Pixel Response And Input Lag

To perform these tests, we use a high-speed camera that shoots at 1,000 frames per second. Analyzing the video frame-by-frame allows us to observe the exact time it takes to go from a zero-percent signal to a 100% white field.

The pattern generator is placed at the base of the monitor so that our camera can capture the precise moment its front-panel LED lights up, indicating that a video signal is being received. With this camera placement, we can easily see how long it takes to fully display a pattern after pressing the button on the generator’s remote. This testing methodology allows for accurate and repeatable results when comparing panels.

We’ve returned the data from our past TN-based monitor reviews to the charts so that comparisons can be made between IPS and TN technology.

The On-Lap is slower than other TN monitors in the response time test. It’s also takes a hair longer to draw a full-white screen than the 27-inch IPS panels we’ve recently tested. Let’s see how the overall input lag affects the numbers.

The On-Lap is still at the back of the pack for absolute input lag. This is not a screen for hair-trigger gamers with Jedi-like reflexes. It’s certainly fine for slower-paced mainstream games, though. With two HDMI inputs, you can hook up a laptop or even a console to it for a truly portable gaming experience.

Ask a Category Expert

Create a new thread in the Reviews comments forum about this subject

Example: Notebook, Android, SSD hard drive

Display all 16 comments.
This thread is closed for comments
  • 0 Hide
    mayankleoboy1 , March 27, 2013 10:18 PM
    So even though the hardware itself is excellent, the final product is too niche-y to sell ?
  • 4 Hide
    slomo4sho , March 28, 2013 12:13 AM
    A portable monitor at the conveniently low price of an entry level tablet or chromebook... I see real utility here.
  • 1 Hide
    Fulgurant , March 28, 2013 12:56 AM
    I might be interested in something like this at some point. Nice review.
  • 0 Hide
    Senor Kalyan , March 28, 2013 3:30 AM
    http://us.aoc.com/monitor_displays/e2251fwu
  • 1 Hide
    warezme , March 28, 2013 7:10 AM
    It is an industry artificial block in my opinion. All they would have to do is include a little extra circuitry to the existing pads for an HDMI input and viola, you could use your pad as a monitor to another device. Most pads have at least that resolution on some even better. I would never buy this item unless it was under $150 or less. It is a one trick pony with a low resolution screen.
  • 4 Hide
    groundhogdaze , March 28, 2013 7:57 AM
    I'd love to have one of these portable monitors. I've go a bunch of headless PC's that I need to check every once in a while and don't want to lug a regular monitor around nor hunt for a power socket for the test monitor. If only the price were a little lower...
  • 1 Hide
    Fulgurant , March 28, 2013 8:56 AM
    warezmeIt is an industry artificial block in my opinion. All they would have to do is include a little extra circuitry to the existing pads for an HDMI input and viola, you could use your pad as a monitor to another device. Most pads have at least that resolution on some even better. I would never buy this item unless it was under $150 or less. It is a one trick pony with a low resolution screen.

    I don't disagree that tablets could easily include an input, but to be fair, this product is far bigger than a tablet. It may only have a niche use, but it is clearly better suited for that niche use than a tablet screen would be.
  • 1 Hide
    Fulgurant , March 28, 2013 9:59 AM
    FulgurantI don't disagree that tablets could easily include an input, but to be fair, this product is far bigger than a tablet. It may only have a niche use, but it is clearly better suited for that niche use than a tablet screen would be.

    Come to think of it, laptops should include inputs too -- but to my knowledge, they never have.
  • 0 Hide
    g00fysmiley , March 28, 2013 11:57 AM
    interesting concept but would be nice if bluetooth connectivity wee there unless i am missing somethign it s hdmi only. touchscereen i know is pricier but again would add to utility. interesting product just as it is looks very limited
  • 1 Hide
    RedJaron , March 28, 2013 3:55 PM
    Senor Kalyanhttp://us.aoc.com/monitor_displays/e2251fwu

    Nice product, except it doesn't have its own power supply and can only take a USB signal over a DisplayLink driver. Makes for a nice quasi-mobile secondary monitor for computers, but it won't connect to most types of mobile devices like the GeChic will.
  • 0 Hide
    shadowfamicom , March 29, 2013 7:50 AM
    Their USB powered HDMI monitor is really well made. I have one I use for when I want to grab one of my booksized PC's or my Mac Mini and take it on the road. It is also really great for testing hardware or with consoles. And adding a separate battery pack that has two USB ports lets me use it with a Raspberry Pi on the go. It is meant to be used to add dual monitor support to your notebook (even comes with metal brackets).

  • 1 Hide
    shadowfamicom , March 29, 2013 7:52 AM
    shadowfamicomTheir USB powered HDMI monitor is really well made. I have one I use for when I want to grab one of my booksized PC's or my Mac Mini and take it on the road. It is also really great for testing hardware or with consoles. And adding a separate battery pack that has two USB ports lets me use it with a Raspberry Pi on the go. It is meant to be used to add dual monitor support to your notebook (even comes with metal brackets).


    Forgot the link to the one I was talking about which is 13.3 inches

    http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=9SIA0V108S5365
  • 1 Hide
    ashburner , March 29, 2013 9:01 PM
    I use a 1.99 app called iDisplay. Only works over wifi though with my 3rd gen iPad. It works well.
  • 2 Hide
    occupant , April 3, 2013 6:29 AM
    Reminds me of the Lenovo LT1423, a $350-$400 touchscreen introduced in January at CES2013, which would actually be useful for me since it matches my laptop's 1600x900 resolution. I don't need wireless connectivity or BlueTooth or a ton of features, or even a touchscreen. Somebody package a 1600x900 17 inch laptop screen in a nice aluminum enclosure with a kickstand, and make it thin enough to accompany my laptop in its backpack, and I'd happily pay $300 for it. Dual displays are pretty much required for the work I do, and the typical 27-32 inch TV in many hotel rooms isn't exactly an ideal second display. Toting around a 2 inch thick $69 refurbished 20 inch Acer V203H has been my solution and it doesn't exactly fit in my laptop bag, even if I remove the stand and carry it separately or in my other bags. At least it is 1600x900.
  • 0 Hide
    Some_guy_said , April 10, 2013 1:58 PM
    mayankleoboy1So even though the hardware itself is excellent, the final product is too niche-y to sell ?


    Absolutely.

    You can get a 9 inch IPS TOUCH screen at 1900x1200 resolution, speakers, Weighs only 1.2 pounds and lasts for 8 hours on a charge.

    For $20 more...$270.
    http://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B008GFRE5A/ref=asc_df_B008GFRE5A?tag=hyprod-20&hvpos=1o2&hvexid=&hvnetw=g&hvrand=1878467891549516394&hvpone=

    And it comes with a tablet included at no extra charge.
  • 0 Hide
    Hadit , April 19, 2013 8:39 AM
    Sorry for a possibly dumb question, but I assume the HDMI connection is only important for videos. I just want a good display for static camera shots that I can paint from. Need good color and resolution.