Sign in with
Sign up | Sign in

Setup and Calibration Of The Overlord Tempest X270OC

Overlord Tempest X270OC, 27" 120 Hz IPS Gaming Monitor Review
By

The Tempest has no OSD, so the only way to calibrate it is with LUT-generating software like CalMAN. We did this for the purposes of our tests, and we’ll explain how it affects the results as we go. If you don’t have the necessary gear, Overlord at least offers color profiles to download.

Of course, the real reason you'd make the X270OC a centerpiece of your gaming PC is its overclocking ability. Natively, we're dealing with a 60 Hz IPS panel. But thanks to Overlord’s custom PCB, it can run at up to 120 Hz reliably. Why do we say “up to”? According to Overlord, not every example will be stable at 120 Hz. It is possible that you’ll see artifacts like dropped frames, or you might even hear coil whine from the timing controller choke.

You won’t simply be able to plug in the X270OC and choose 120 Hz from your Windows Control Panel, either. There are a couple of steps you need to take first.

Setting The Refresh Rate

To begin, download the Pixel Clock Patch utility here for Nvidia or for AMD/ATI. All that this app does is removes the pixel clock limiter built into your video driver. It’s a quick operation, which can be easily undone since a backup of your un-patched driver is automatically created.

Next, you need the Custom Resolution Utility. This is where you create custom refresh rates.

The first screen manages your custom configurations. To create a new one, click Add under Detailed resolutions. Then, you're taken to the manual setup window.

As you can see, there are quite a few parameters to address when overclocking a monitor. The screenshot above represents our particular X270OC. These settings may not work for everyone. But they'll suffice as a starting point. Additionally, there are plenty of online resources available to help you create custom resolutions and achieve a stable overclock.

Calibration

The only image control available is brightness, which moves in fairly coarse steps of about 8 cd/m2 per click. To complete our benchmarks, we used CalPC to generate a software look-up table after measuring the X270OC’s default state. For more information on the CalPC process, please refer to Do It Like Tom's: Calibrating Your Monitor With CalMAN RGB,where you’ll find a step-by-step guide.

Ask a Category Expert

Create a new thread in the Reviews comments forum about this subject

Example: Notebook, Android, SSD hard drive

Display all 108 comments.
This thread is closed for comments
  • 1 Hide
    oudmaster , July 17, 2014 12:54 AM
    the price is interesting with these specs !
    any idea if there will be a similar monitor spec but 4k resolution ?

    thanks,
  • -5 Hide
    oudmaster , July 17, 2014 12:54 AM
    the price is interesting with these specs !
    any idea if there will be a similar monitor spec but 4k resolution ?

    thanks,
  • -3 Hide
    oudmaster , July 17, 2014 12:55 AM

  • 4 Hide
    wtfxxxgp , July 17, 2014 2:08 AM
    Crickey me...this is a monitor of note it seems! At that price point, I find it incredible. Well done to Overlord! The only issue I have now is... will the price increase as a result of all the buzz this will generate? This is probably going to be my next monitor, depending on exchange rates...
  • -5 Hide
    Shneiky , July 17, 2014 2:12 AM
    4K at 120 MHz? Not in the next 5 years.
  • 2 Hide
    Swiperd3 , July 17, 2014 3:23 AM
    Driving QHD to 120 FPS at the max graphics detail is sure as hell will require A LOT of horsepower. Will TOP-SLI/CF-x2 be enough for modern FPS games?
  • 1 Hide
    Traciatim , July 17, 2014 4:04 AM
    Wow, you get this with one of the variable sync techs and you have yourself one fantastic monitor.
  • 0 Hide
    waxdart , July 17, 2014 4:11 AM
    16:9 :( 
  • 5 Hide
    envy14tpe , July 17, 2014 4:37 AM
    Thank you Thank you Thank you. I've been dying to see a review on this monitor.
  • 1 Hide
    Reaver192 , July 17, 2014 4:44 AM
    Yeah, I've been waiting fir this for too long. I wanted one of these months ago but they have been out of stock. Such a sweet deal
  • 5 Hide
    avatar_raq , July 17, 2014 5:27 AM
    This is the holy grail of PC monitors, if only it comes with 120 Hz guaranteed out of the box.
  • 2 Hide
    yogalD , July 17, 2014 5:34 AM
    I wish it had a strobe backlight though, that would make it perfect
  • 5 Hide
    Durandul , July 17, 2014 6:17 AM
    If it had an option for Display port, that would have been almost perfect. That being said, I use DVI anyway, so who am I to complain.
  • 2 Hide
    MonsterCookie , July 17, 2014 6:50 AM
    This is already a step at the good direction. Even the price in $ looks decent.
    Question is how much will this cost here in Europe.

    Also, now make the same thing happen in a 30" format with 2560x1600 resolution, and than I am definitely opening my wallet.
  • 2 Hide
    mapesdhs , July 17, 2014 7:14 AM

    MonsterCookie, alas I doubt that will happen. A few years ago, 1440 and 1600
    height monitors were priced basically the same, ie. expensive. Back then, top-end
    GPU reviews tended to use 2560x1600 as a typical max res test for gaming. But
    then buying patterns evolved, the usual feedback between pricing and demand,
    people tended to opt more and more for 1440 displays instead. As a result, when
    I wanted to get a 1600 IPS a while ago, I was amazed to find 1600 hieght displays
    were about 4X more expensive than 1440 IPS models.

    Presumably it suits the industry to home in on a more typical standard, and for
    the moment, beyond HD, 2560x1440 seems to be it. Very unlikely the industry has
    any interest in pushing 1600 height to the masses, so probably the next main step
    up will be to 4K, or as I wish they'd call it instead, quad-HD.

    Ian.

  • 1 Hide
    ubercake , July 17, 2014 7:14 AM
    The specs look goood, but the key is they don't guarantee 120Hz for all OC monitors:
    http://overlordcomputer.com/blogs/news/7384176-the-overclock-overview

    It's like hoping you'll get an i7 that will have a stable OC to 4.5Ghz 24/7. It's the luck of the draw.
    I don't much like putting my money on hope. If they did have a guarantee or just sold a monitor that shipped to my house with 120Hz capability, I'd be more likely to hand over my cash.

    You know darn well they make sure the review site is getting a good one.
  • 1 Hide
    daglesj , July 17, 2014 7:29 AM
    So does it work fine at say 90Hz and if so is that an improvement?
  • 1 Hide
    npyrhone , July 17, 2014 7:42 AM
    Thanks a million for the review! This will be next monitor. Hallelujah! Lacking a decent non-TN gaming panel, I've played with a pro 24" CRT for all these years.
  • 2 Hide
    npyrhone , July 17, 2014 7:46 AM
    A few answers and corrections concerning ideas thrown around in this thread:

    1) Yes, This works perfectly at 90Hz. Yes, it is a great improvement. Much greater improvement is 60->90 than 90->120.

    2) All monitors are from this day to the future to come 16:9. So, its useless to fancy 16:10 monitors anymore, they wont be coming ever again.

    3) 4K 120Hz gaming monitors wont be coming, either. At least not in the foreseeable future.

    4) Overclocking this is not luck of the draw. They all come at least 96Hz, and the great majority work 120Hz.

    5) The lack of displayport etc is what helps keeping input lag low.
  • 9 Hide
    rishiswaz , July 17, 2014 8:11 AM
    I wonder why they don't just have another model with cherry-picked panels that they ship at 120 out of the box
Display more comments