Sign in with
Sign up | Sign in

Benchmark Results: Tom Clancy’s Endwar

Best Of The Best: High-End Graphics Card Roundup
By

Endwar uses an enhanced Unreal 3 engine that looks very good on the screen. This game really isn’t ideal for benchmarking, since a software limiter caps its frame rate at 30 FPS. This is typical for most current real-time strategy games, which limits settings options for benchmarking to a narrow range.

Nevertheless, we observed it was possible to depress frame rates below 30 FPS in Replay Kopenhagen. We could only use the 1920x1200 resolution without AA. In that case, the 3D engine and the fastest graphics cards all had enough headroom to hit the 30 FPS limit, which produced identical results for all contenders. Borderline cards in this category include the GeForce 9800 GTX+ and the Radeon HD 4870, both of which achieved frame rates of 29.5 FPS, which rounded up to 30 FPS. Any faster cards were clipped to 30 FPS, although they probably could have delivered at least a few frames per second more.

When AA was turned on, our measurements worked better because the replay could tax even the most powerful graphics cards more heavily. At the bottom of the range, the results are less ambiguous. If a graphics card lacks sufficient muscle, a difference of 10 FPS means a 30% decrease in performance. The High setting was as high as we could go for graphics quality.

Display all 111 comments.
This thread is closed for comments
Top Comments
  • 23 Hide
    Anonymous , May 22, 2009 6:24 AM
    Only one ATi card? What happened to all those OC'd 4890s?
  • 16 Hide
    Anonymous , May 22, 2009 7:42 AM
    Weird test:
    1) Where are the overclocking results?
    2) Bad choice for benchmarks: Too many old DX9 based graphic engines (FEAR 2, Fallout 3, Left4Dead with >100FPS) or Endwar which is limited to 30FPS. Where is Crysis?
    3) 1900x1200 as highest resolution for high-end cards?
  • 10 Hide
    sosofm , May 22, 2009 8:24 AM
    This benchmark is not fair for Ati !!!
Other Comments
  • 23 Hide
    Anonymous , May 22, 2009 6:24 AM
    Only one ATi card? What happened to all those OC'd 4890s?
  • 8 Hide
    Anonymous , May 22, 2009 6:27 AM
    And those HAWX benchmarks look ridiculous. ATi should wipe floor with nvidia with that. Of course you didn't put dx10.1 support on. Bastard...
  • 1 Hide
    cangelini , May 22, 2009 6:35 AM
    quarzOnly one ATi card? What happened to all those OC'd 4890s?


    These are the same boards that were included in the recent charts update, and are largely contingent on what vendors submit for evaluation. We have a review upcoming comparing Sapphire's new 1 GHz Radeon HD 4890 versus the stock 4890. It'll be up in the next couple of weeks, though.
  • 4 Hide
    ohim , May 22, 2009 6:52 AM
    Am i the only one that find this article akward since looking at the tests done on Ati cards on The Last Remnant game makes me wonder what went wrong ... i mean it`s UT3 engine ... why so low performance ?
  • 10 Hide
    curnel_D , May 22, 2009 6:57 AM
    Ugh, please tell me that The Last Remnant hasnt been added to the benchmark suite.

    And I'm not exactly sure why the writer decided to bench on Endwar instead of World In Conflict. Why is that exactly?

    And despite Quarz2's apparent fanboism, I think HAWX would have been better benched under 10.1 for the ATI cards, and used the highest stable settings instead of dropping off to DX9.
  • 16 Hide
    Anonymous , May 22, 2009 7:42 AM
    Weird test:
    1) Where are the overclocking results?
    2) Bad choice for benchmarks: Too many old DX9 based graphic engines (FEAR 2, Fallout 3, Left4Dead with >100FPS) or Endwar which is limited to 30FPS. Where is Crysis?
    3) 1900x1200 as highest resolution for high-end cards?
  • 4 Hide
    EQPlayer , May 22, 2009 7:47 AM
    Seems that the cumulative benchmark graphs are going to be a bit skewed if The Last Remnant results are included in there... it's fairly obvious something odd is going on looking at the numbers for that game.
  • 9 Hide
    armistitiu , May 22, 2009 7:48 AM
    Worst article in a long time. Why compare how old games perform on NVIDIA's high end graphic cards? Don't get me wrong i like them but where's all the Atomic stuff from Saphire, Asus and XFX had some good stuff from ATI too. So what.. you just took the reference cards from ATI and tested them? :| That is just wrong.
  • -7 Hide
    pulasky , May 22, 2009 8:00 AM
    WOW what a piece of s********** is this """"""review"""""" Noobidia pay good in this days.
  • -1 Hide
    darkpower45 , May 22, 2009 8:00 AM
    ok i tried playing The Last Remnant on my comp with my 4870x2 and it failed hardcore >.< the game itself is ridiculously boring too. sooo why is it added to the benching list?? *shakes head* makes me sad...
  • 1 Hide
    guusdekler , May 22, 2009 8:02 AM
    I find it a lack this tests do not include the 3DMark Vantage suite.
    Ok, there aren't many games using DX10, but some very good ones do !.

    Thats the reason i've switched to vista.

    And with me enough people to justify a proper DX10 benchmark.
  • -6 Hide
    Luscious , May 22, 2009 8:07 AM
    No mention of the GTX 285 2GB version? I'm planning on picking up three of these for a tri-SLI Core i7 build, all water-cooled and overclocked.
  • -9 Hide
    Ellimist , May 22, 2009 8:19 AM
    well i'm running an factory overclocked gtx285. only because i like solid drivers and DAAMIT doesn't seem to be able to provide these consistently. thats been my biggest problem in picking up an ATI card.

    This review however is terrible. the benchmark selection is dated if nothing else. even toms other reviews of recent have used better benchmarks than this.
  • 10 Hide
    sosofm , May 22, 2009 8:24 AM
    This benchmark is not fair for Ati !!!
  • 3 Hide
    IronRyan21 , May 22, 2009 9:00 AM
    Lets see some 3dmarkVantage pls
  • 0 Hide
    drealar , May 22, 2009 9:18 AM
    Like car review magazine (like the one my friend is working for), I THINK they only have cards that were submitted to them and (not sure if this is the case with Tom's) they're only lended for a limited amount of days.

    Although I'm not very satisfied (coz lack of ATI card in your possession), I thank you for the review with Fallout, Left 4 Dead and Last Remnant with DX9. Yup I'm still using XP coz the bog-down symptom with Vista is too noticeable for my rig.

    1920x1200 as minimum threshold? Cool, as my 23" is limted to 1920x1080 anyway :p 
  • 1 Hide
    JeanLuc , May 22, 2009 10:09 AM
    I think you guys should cut Tino Kreiss some slack this I believe his first publication? Saying things like "this is the worst article I've read in a long time" doesn't actually help. You can blame the choice of benchmarks suites on sites manager/editor not the author as he only does what he is told to write. So with that in mind............Cangelini your fired.

    I am curious though, HAWX is a game sponsored by ATI so why is the HD4890 getting it's backside tanned by the GTX275? It's not just a few FPS behind either the difference is quite remarkable and yes I do realise the BFG GTX275 is overclocked but it's not overclocked by a lot.
  • 0 Hide
    cangelini , May 22, 2009 10:16 AM
    JeanLucCangelini your fired.


    Perhaps you'll hire me as a copy editor for your posts instead? ;-)

    In all seriousness, Tino has been with Tom's German office for a long time. I've asked the staff responsible for testing there to drop in and provide some feedback on the products and benchmarks used here.

    Best,
    Chris
  • 9 Hide
    linaaslt , May 22, 2009 10:25 AM
    How lame this article is... i was always wondering why they don't use full potential of gpu, if ATI is capable of using DX10.1 (and game uses that technology), why not use it. it might not be fair for nvidia but ffs, i believe that this kind of review should show all potential of products.
    Shame for TH!
Display more comments