Sign in with
Sign up | Sign in

System Setup And Benchmarks

ATI Radeon HD 5870: DirectX 11, Eyefinity, And Serious Speed
By , Fedy Abi-Chahla

We tested on an LGA 1366-based machine sporting Intel's fastest Core i7 processor, the 975 Extreme, overclocked to 4 GHz. The idea here is that we wanted to eliminate CPU bottlenecks wherever possible, though you'll noticed these graphics cards are so fast that CPU-bound situations are unavoidable at times.

Also, the GeForce GTX 285s had to be run at 100% fan duty cycle in SLI mode, else they'd crash.

Finally, it's worth noting that the Radeon HD 5870 intermittently exhibited corruption in the first 3DMark Vantage test.

Test Hardware
Processor
Intel Core i7-975 Extreme (Bloomfield) 3.33 GHz, 6.4 GT/s, 8 MB L3 Cache, power-saving settings disabled
Overclocked to 4 GHz (25 * 160 MHz)
Motherboard
Asus Rampage II Extreme (LGA 1366) X58/ICH10, BIOS 1504
Memory
Corsair Dominator 6GB (3 x 2GB) DDR3-1600 8-8-8-24 @ 1,600 MHz
Hard Drive
Intel SSDSA2MH160G2C1 160 GB SATA 3 Gb/s
Networking
Realtek RTC8111C, 1 Gbps
Graphics CardsATI Radeon HD 5870 1GB

ATI Radeon HD 4870 X2 2GB

ATI Radeon HD 4890 1GB

ATI Radeon HD 4870 1GB

Nvidia GeForce GTX 295 1.8GB

Nvidia GeForce GTX 285 1GB
Power Supply
Cooler Master UCP 1100 W
CPU Cooler
Thermalright Ultra 120 Extreme
System Software And Drivers
Operating System
Microsoft Windows 7 x64
DirectX
DirectX 11
Platform Driver
Intel INF Chipset Update Utility 9.1.1.1019
Graphics Driver
AMD Catalyst 8.66 RC6

AMD Catalyst 9.9

Nvidia GeForce 190.62

BenchmarkConfiguration
World in Conflict Very High Quality Settings, No AA / No AF, vsync off, 1680x1050/1920x1200, 2560x1600, Patch 1009, DirectX 10

Very High Quality Settings, 4x AA / 16x AF, vsync off, 1680x1050/1920x1200, 2560x1600, Patch 1009, DirectX 10
Far Cry 2 Ultra High Quality Settings, No AA / No AF, vsync off, 1680x1050/1920x1200, 2560x1600, Steam Version

Ultra High Quality Settings, 8x AA / No AF, vsync off, 1680x1050/1920x1200, 2560x1600, Steam Version
CrysisVery High Quality Settings, No AA / No AF, vsync off, 1680x1050/1900x1200, 2560x1600, Patch 1.2.1, DirectX 10, 64-bit Executable

Very High Quality Settings, 8x AA / No AF, vsync off, 1680x1050/1900x1200, 2560x1600 Patch 1.2.1, DirectX 10, 64-bit Executable
Left 4 Dead
Highest Quality Settings, No AA / No AF, vsync off, 1680x1050/1920x1200, 2560x1600, Steam Version

Highest Quality Settings, 8x AA / 16x AF, vsync off, 1680x1050/1920x1200, 2560x1600, Steam Version
Grand Theft Auto IV
Highest Quality Settings, No AA / "High" AF, vsync off, 1680x1050/1920x1200, 2560x1600, Patch #3
Stalker: Clear Sky
Extreme Quality Setting, No AA / No AF, vsync off, 1680x1050, 1920x1200, 2560x1600, DirectX 10 lighting

Extreme Quality Setting, 4x MSAA / No AF, vsync off, 1680x1050, 1920x1200, 2560x1600, DirectX 10 lighting
H.A.W.X.
Highest Quality Settings, No AA / No AF, vsync off, 1680x1050, 1920x1200, 2560x1600, AO enabled, DirectX 10/10.1

Highest Quality Settings, 8x AA / No AF, vsync off, 1680x1050, 1920x1200, 2560x1600, AO enabled, DirectX 10/10.1
Resident Evil 5
High Quality Settings, No AA / No AF, vsync off, 1680x1050, 1920x1200, 2560x1600, DirectX 10, Fixed Benchmark

High Quality Settings, 8x AA / No AF, vsync off, 1680x1050, 1920x1200, 2560x1600, DirectX 10, Fixed Benchmark
3DMark Vantage Performance Default, High Quality, Extreme Quality
Ask a Category Expert

Create a new thread in the Reviews comments forum about this subject

Example: Notebook, Android, SSD hard drive

Display all 214 comments.
This thread is closed for comments
Top Comments
  • 26 Hide
    hispeed120 , September 23, 2009 4:13 AM
    I'm. So. Excited.
  • 23 Hide
    cangelini , September 23, 2009 4:43 AM
    viper666why didn't they thest it against a GTX 295 rather than 280??? its far superior...


    Ran it against a GTX 295 and a 285 and 285s in SLI :) 
  • 22 Hide
    megamanx00 , September 23, 2009 4:48 AM
    O M F G!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    Just wish the darn thing wasn't so big, but man, what a card! Now I'm thinking about a bigger case :D 
Other Comments
  • 26 Hide
    hispeed120 , September 23, 2009 4:13 AM
    I'm. So. Excited.
  • 9 Hide
    Anonymous , September 23, 2009 4:15 AM
    Can't wait
  • 21 Hide
    crosko42 , September 23, 2009 4:21 AM
    So it looks like 1 is enough for me.. Dont plan on getting a 30 inch monitor any time soon.
  • 20 Hide
    jezza333 , September 23, 2009 4:29 AM
    Looks like the NDA lifted at 11:00PM, as there's a load of reviews now just out. Once again it shows that AMD can produce a seriously killer card...

    Crysis 2 on an x2 of this is exactly what I'm waiting for.
  • 8 Hide
    woostar88 , September 23, 2009 4:38 AM
    This is incredible at the price point.
  • 20 Hide
    tipmen , September 23, 2009 4:40 AM
    wait, wait, before I look can it play cry... HOLY SHIT?!
  • 23 Hide
    cangelini , September 23, 2009 4:43 AM
    viper666why didn't they thest it against a GTX 295 rather than 280??? its far superior...


    Ran it against a GTX 295 and a 285 and 285s in SLI :) 
  • 2 Hide
    Annisman , September 23, 2009 4:44 AM
    I refuse to buy until the 2GB versions come out, not to mention newegg letting you buy more than 1 at a time, paper launch ftl.
  • 15 Hide
    jasperjones , September 23, 2009 4:44 AM
    Thanks for the timely review. I have to say though, some of the technical details are beyond me. It'd be useful if you explained terms such as "VLIW architecture" or "tessellation engine"
  • 22 Hide
    megamanx00 , September 23, 2009 4:48 AM
    O M F G!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    Just wish the darn thing wasn't so big, but man, what a card! Now I'm thinking about a bigger case :D 
  • 17 Hide
    Annisman , September 23, 2009 4:49 AM
    Oops, who am I kidding ? I just ordered 2 5870's. One Sapphire, and one HIS, seeing as how they limit you to one per customer.
  • 18 Hide
    falchard , September 23, 2009 4:54 AM
    I think most of this review has to do with how many games are optimized for nVidia. The Crytek Engine 2.0 and Source Engine are well known for heavily favoring nVidia architecture yet compose the bulk of the benchmarks. I think the fact ATI can do best in these engines when they have a detect ATI instant nerf its performance speaks measures for the actual card.
  • 14 Hide
    tipmen , September 23, 2009 4:56 AM
    Another thing is that the 5800x2 isn't out yet, now think of two of those bad boys in Crossfire.
  • 6 Hide
    blackbyron , September 23, 2009 4:59 AM
    Not bad for Crysis benchmark. I really want 5870 for my christmas present, but damn I also need to buy a new PSU.
  • 12 Hide
    blackbyron , September 23, 2009 5:02 AM
    In addition, I am impressed that the 5870 has a better power consumption and better gaming performance compare to DX10 cards. If the card is affordable I'd definite buy one.
  • 3 Hide
    cangelini , September 23, 2009 5:10 AM
    jasperjonesThanks for the timely review. I have to say though, some of the technical details are beyond me. It'd be useful if you explained terms such as "VLIW architecture" or "tessellation engine"


    Jasper,
    TBH, the architectural details are secondary to how the card performs. However, if you'd like a better idea of what tessellation can do for you, check out the picture of the Alien on page six!
Display more comments