Sign in with
Sign up | Sign in

AMD Radeon R9 270: A Worthy Radeon HD 7870 Replacement

AMD Radeon R9 270 Review: Replacing The Radeon HD 7800s
By

On average, how does AMD's Radeon R9 270 perform compared to the previous-generation Radeon HD 7800s? How about when we put it up against the Radeon R7 260X, R9 270X, and the GeForce cards it competes against?

The Radeon R9 270 performs so much like the Radeon HD 7870 that even the most seasoned gamer wouldn't be able to tell them apart. With that said, what was the point of creating a new model?

Most notably, the Radeon R9 270 sheds one six-pin auxiliary power connector in its transformation from Radeon HD 7870, making it the fastest reference board we've ever tested that only requires one six-pin input. It just slightly bests the GeForce GTX 660 to earn that title. In a different suite of benchmarks, this competition could have gone the other way; it was that close.

But pair the R9 270's performance with a $180 price tag, and you're looking at $10 less than the lowest-priced GeForce GTX 660. AMD has a card worth buying, so long as you're stepping up from the right level of performance. It's true that the Radeon HD 7870 was recently priced around this same level, so the value isn't particularly stunning. But those cards were discounted to make room for these newly rebranded models, and the 7800s are probably going to disappear shortly.

The Radeon R9 270 ensures that the HD 7870 won't be missed. However, we can't help but worry about the imminent discontinuation of the Radeon HD 7850. While the Radeon R7 260X does an admirable job given its modest specifications, it's simply unable to compete against Nvidia's GeForce GTX 650 Ti Boost (especially when you consider their similar $140 price points). AMD's new naming scheme doesn't leave any obvious room between the R7 260X and R9 270, but hopefully the company comes up with something to fill the hole it's creating. Our suggestion would be to drop the R9 270's price sooner than later.

In the end, AMD's Radeon R9 270 doesn't break any value barriers like the R9 280X did. But it remains a solid value proposition with less strenuous power supply requirements than before. Barring a significant price drop on Nvidia's GeForce GTX 660, we might expect the Radeon R9 270 to secure a spot in our monthly Best Gaming Graphics Cards for the Money guide.

Ask a Category Expert

Create a new thread in the Graphics & Displays forum about this subject

Example: Notebook, Android, SSD hard drive

Display all 31 comments.
This thread is closed for comments
  • 1 Hide
    16bit , November 12, 2013 9:22 PM
    Seems like a pretty solid card, but I would like to see benchmarks that include some of the higher end cards. Curious how big the gap between the 280x and the 270 is.
  • 3 Hide
    CaptainTom , November 12, 2013 9:48 PM
    I actually like this card... Make an overclocking review!
  • -3 Hide
    esrever , November 12, 2013 10:16 PM
    I feel like they don't need a 270x now since board partners could just have released OCed versions of this to fill the slot. Strange that they don't have a 7850 replacement.
  • 2 Hide
    m32 , November 12, 2013 10:33 PM
    Quote:
    I actually like this card... Make an overclocking review!


    I doubt this card has too much headroom in that department. The 6-pin is a gift and a curse.
  • 5 Hide
    wdmfiber , November 12, 2013 10:43 PM
    The chart need a typo fixed. The 7870 is I incorrectly labeled as 40nm, but it's built on the 28nm fab process; just like everything else. .

    Frig... we've been stuck at 28nm for so long it's just "understood". You could get-away with leaving that whole column out.
  • -1 Hide
    Sakkura , November 12, 2013 11:04 PM
    Wonder if there'll be any versions with two 6-pin power connectors. They could be great value for overclocking.
  • -2 Hide
    bustapr , November 13, 2013 3:22 AM
    I wonder, how exactly does overclocking work with these cards? Wouldnt it just be varying its fan speeds whenever it hits a certain temperature and sends clockspeeds all over the place?
  • 1 Hide
    AMD Radeon , November 13, 2013 4:16 AM
    i am waiting for a price cut for R9 series

    the previous version, 7870 GHz edition and 7870 XT is now so cheap
  • -1 Hide
    tomfreak , November 13, 2013 4:29 AM
    I will not be surprise they gonna release a R9-260X (R9 version of 260X) that is a rebrand of 7850. A curacao chip with a broken CU has to go somewhere.....
  • 0 Hide
    witcherx , November 13, 2013 4:54 AM
    why not radeon 7850 2gb?
  • 0 Hide
    Da W , November 13, 2013 5:30 AM
    How about crossfire? tri-crossfire? That would be interesting to see, 3x 270 with one 6pin connector each, instead of buying the monster that 290X is.
  • 0 Hide
    rolli59 , November 13, 2013 6:20 AM
    So are they leaving room for R9 265X? Eventually there must be a card with disabled Shader Cores always has been, that is how they maximize their yields. Unless of course they keep the 7850 in the lineup like they have done with the lower end 6xxx series cards.
  • 0 Hide
    Onus , November 13, 2013 7:04 AM
    Da, this card only has one Crossfire connector, so tri-Crossfire will not be possible.
    I wonder if it will Crossfire with a HD7870 though.
  • -1 Hide
    tomc100 , November 13, 2013 7:16 AM
    Not sure why tomshardware is using COD Ghosts as a performance test. This game is one of the most poorly optimized game ever made right next to that Jurassic Park game in the 90's called Trespasser. The game is using the same Quake engine and is known to run poorly on SLI and crossfire.
  • 0 Hide
    TeraMedia , November 13, 2013 7:29 AM
    It looks like they intentionally hamstrung this card against OCing with that single 6-pin. There appears to be a bit of power headroom, but not much. Bumping freq and/or V will eat that up pretty quickly. It makes sense if they don't want to cannibalize 270X, I suppose, but oh well.
  • 0 Hide
    slomo4sho , November 13, 2013 7:39 AM
    An underclocked 270X that is $20 less. I am sure it can be clocked back up to the speed of the 270X at the very least. Look forward to some OC results.
  • 0 Hide
    Onus , November 13, 2013 7:43 AM
    That's the reference model. You can bet some board partners are going to either put an 8-pin on it or a pair of 6-pin connectors, just for OCing.
    I'm still looking forward to a review of the R7s...
  • 0 Hide
    ZEPd3Z , November 13, 2013 9:20 AM
    So will this crossfire with an HD 7870 like the R9 280X with an HD 7970?
  • 0 Hide
    iceclock , November 13, 2013 9:25 AM
    looking good, hope the prices of the old 7870 goes down as the 270s and 280s come in stock.

  • 0 Hide
    mapesdhs , November 13, 2013 10:36 AM
    So basically the card is rereleased 20 months after initial launch, with a new
    name and tweaked performance that's slower or little better than the original,
    and pretty much the same price point. Can someone explain where one can
    find Moore's Law in all this? IMO it all looks like a waste of time. I mean, after
    20 months, this is all we get? Not impressed at all. I'd hoped AMD wouldn't
    go down the road of rebranding (it was bad enough with the 8800GT fiasco),
    but I guess they figure enough people will fall for the PR. I foresee yet more
    cards on eBay from disgruntled gamers who upgraded only to observe little
    or no speed gain.

    The 290/290X at least offer something tangible, whether it's solid performance,
    good prices, or both, sans noise issues, but these reissued older GPUs really
    irritate me. Reminds me of the lacklustre improvements we've had in CPU power,
    the halting of price drops for SSDs, the shooting back up of RAM prices since
    Feb, and so on. If the PC market is shrinking, I don't think one can blame it
    entirely on the rise of tablets & suchlike, or the dislike many have of Win8;
    instead, IMO these days there are simply fewer items that are worth buying
    as upgrades. All this stalls demand, people stop buying, or buy less often
    as they wait for something better, which makes it look like the market is
    shrinking when infact users are just waiting for products that are worthy
    of their cash.

    Sometimes I think it's a pity that all the various 3rd-party GPU makers can't
    combine their own talents and come up with a completely separate GPU
    development path to NVIDIA and AMD. Surely there's enough skill & knowledge
    by now at ASUS, Sapphire, Gigabyte, EVGA, HIS, etc., to do this. Oh if only...

    Ian.

Display more comments