Sign in with
Sign up | Sign in

After A Month With Razer's Blade

Razer's Second-Generation Blade Notebook Review: Focusing On The Z
By

We spend most of our reviews trying to find something wrong with the products we review, and this was no exception. Razer made its Blade R2 thin and beautiful, so something had to have been traded off. Before we tested this notebook, we assumed it'd either be slow or far too hot, given the parts inside. I even wondered if Razer's build quality would hold up to someone who tends to be rough on mobile hardware. In the end, though, the Blade proved us wrong, making a strong impression on me, in particular.

The design turned out to be both elegant and functional. I spent a month using it as my primary notebook. I gamed with it (plugged into the wall) a lot. But I also took it to many meetings and a conference. I threw it into my backpack and carried it around. Sure, it needed to be cleaned by the end of that month, but the machine itself was just as solid as the day it arrived. The finish still looks great and the display hinges are as tight as new. Not once in my month with it did the Blade lock up or overheat, even when I tried to cause issues.

Performance is similarly solid. You get a killer quad-core processor with a 35 W thermal ceiling, and it's able to keep up with some of the 45 W CPUs out there. You get a GeForce GTX 660M with a core overclocked to 950 MHz and 2,500 MT/s memory that does not throttle. You get 500 GB of storage space with a large SSD-based cache. You get a great keyboard and the Switchblade UI only available on the Blade. You get a 17.3” FHD LCD panel with great color and viewing angles. You get Nvidia's Optimus switching technology that allows this system to offer respectable battery life outside of games, too. Once you fire up your favorite shooter, we'd only caution that the Blade doesn't last long away from a wall socket.

We do wish that the standard warranty were longer (two years) and that the price of upgrading coverage was less than $300. After all, this is a closed machine with no user-serviceable parts, which we're not used to. Fortunately, Razer smartly keeps the drives and battery away from the primary heat-generating components, which would otherwise adversely affect them. The company should stand behind that smart design and give buyers a little more peace of mind.

Price will invariably be what limits the number of Blades out in the wild. At $2,500, it's about $450 more expensive than some of the other 17" gaming notebooks we've reviewed with similar hardware. Then again, the extra $450 does buy a lot more portability. The chassis and power adapter on the Blade are much thinner. Together, this system is over four pounds lighter than other gaming systems with comparable displays. The extra investment also buys a machine that most other folks don't have. Through its features and scarcity, the Blade gets noticed. If you're into that sort of thing, spending more gets you a status symbol. Yes, a Casio tells time. But an Omega Speedmaster says a lot about you. The same analogy carries over here.

If you are looking for style from a full-sized gaming machine, there is very little out there that comes close. Yes, there are machines with faster graphics modules. But, in our testing, there weren't many combinations of games and settings we couldn't play at a native 1920x1080. If you're in love with the Blade's look and feel, it's reassuring to know that it'll game. If you're looking for more in the way of performance, and aren't as particular about where it comes from, then you might choose something else. In the end, Razer's designers followed through on what they felt like a mobile gaming platform should be.

In our month with the Blade, we gained an appreciation for Razer’s overall concept and attention to detail. I wasn't able to break the system, nor could I cause it to fail. Furthermore, I didn't find any glaring weakness in performance, aside from battery life in 3D applications. Perhaps my biggest issue was that I didn't want to pack the Blade up and send it back to California.

Display all 82 comments.
This thread is closed for comments
Top Comments
  • 11 Hide
    Pyree , March 24, 2013 11:49 PM
    g-unit1111I very badly need to get a new laptop but this one is way too rich for my blood. I would definitely consider this if it were about $1K less.

    Lenovo Y580/Y500 GT650m SLI
  • 10 Hide
    mayankleoboy1 , March 24, 2013 10:26 PM
    Wow, this is a very thorough review! Great work!

    This notebook has looked into almost every possible detail. I was particularly impressed that in the heat run, the "WASD" key area was cooler than the rest. This bespeaks extreme attention to details.
Other Comments
  • 9 Hide
    ShadyHamster , March 24, 2013 10:12 PM
    Having all the I/O on the left isn't such a bad idea, keeps the right side clear so cables don't get in the way if you use a mouse close to your laptop like i do.
  • 10 Hide
    mayankleoboy1 , March 24, 2013 10:26 PM
    Wow, this is a very thorough review! Great work!

    This notebook has looked into almost every possible detail. I was particularly impressed that in the heat run, the "WASD" key area was cooler than the rest. This bespeaks extreme attention to details.
  • 5 Hide
    Chairman Ray , March 24, 2013 10:45 PM
    This is an amazing system. Great job by Razer! I won't be buying it due to the steep price tag, but definitely going to recommend it to those who are willing to pay for the best.
  • 5 Hide
    xpeh , March 24, 2013 11:10 PM
    While the price is steep, this laptop is definitely one of the best looking gaming laptops I've ever seen.
  • 2 Hide
    g-unit1111 , March 24, 2013 11:47 PM
    I very badly need to get a new laptop but this one is way too rich for my blood. I would definitely consider this if it were about $1K less.
  • 11 Hide
    Pyree , March 24, 2013 11:49 PM
    g-unit1111I very badly need to get a new laptop but this one is way too rich for my blood. I would definitely consider this if it were about $1K less.

    Lenovo Y580/Y500 GT650m SLI
  • 4 Hide
    slomo4sho , March 25, 2013 1:32 AM
    xpehWhile the price is steep, this laptop is definitely one of the best looking gaming laptops I've ever seen.

    IMO having a $1000 gaming desktop and spending $500-600 on a laptop when Haswell comes out is probably much more economical for the occasional gaming on a laptop paired with a sold desktop to enjoy the higher quality graphics. Even at $2500, this laptop can't even keep up with the $500 budget gaming build from last month.
  • 0 Hide
    de5_Roy , March 25, 2013 2:47 AM
    nice review. :) 
    my real amusement came from the apu-powered laptop's performance, though. it bottlenecked the discreet gpu so badly.... :D 
  • 4 Hide
    corvak , March 25, 2013 4:06 AM
    Gaming laptops have never been priced in a range that makes them worth buying for me. They don't really have enough battery life to really take advantage of portability, and the price/performance is in a whole other league if you compare it to any desktop build.

    Even buying a cheap laptop for travel use alongside a gaming desktop is likely to come in cheaper than many of these.
  • -1 Hide
    Goose_Nipples , March 25, 2013 5:28 AM
    ARMY'S KA-Bar?!?!?!?! Hooooooold up my friend. Devil dog here who's jimmies have most assuredly been rustled.
  • -1 Hide
    Cryio , March 25, 2013 5:47 AM
    Was it just me or did I actually see Battlefield 3 perform BETTER than Black Ops 2, on max settings (albest FXAA+4xMSAA vs 8xMSAA). The f**c CoD...
  • 1 Hide
    oatmeal25 , March 25, 2013 6:00 AM
    This laptop is not for me. I care more about performance than style.

    The Lenovo Y580 WAS a great affordable option (a third to half the cost of Razer's model) with similar performance to this system. Sadly is was recently discontinued and replaced by the inferior Y500.
  • 1 Hide
    A Bad Day , March 25, 2013 6:07 AM
    Um, couldn't I get a Lenovo Y580 for the same hardware config? Or a Sager NP 9130 for around $1300 with less weight?
  • 0 Hide
    de5_Roy , March 25, 2013 6:15 AM
    Quote:
    Was it just me or did I actually see Battlefield 3 perform BETTER than Black Ops 2, on max settings (albest FXAA+4xMSAA vs 8xMSAA). The f**c CoD...

    i think it's because the bf3 bench was the single player campaign which is gpu bound - the 7970m gpu performs less restricted by the apu.. irc tom's cod bop ii review didn't have cpu benchmarks. i didn't know that it was more cpu bound. that's why the msi gx60's performance looks so pathetic - which in turn gives the impression of bf3 performing better than cod bop ii.
  • 2 Hide
    blazorthon , March 25, 2013 6:22 AM
    slomo4shoIMO having a $1000 gaming desktop and spending $500-600 on a laptop when Haswell comes out is probably much more economical for the occasional gaming on a laptop paired with a sold desktop to enjoy the higher quality graphics. Even at $2500, this laptop can't even keep up with the $500 budget gaming build from last month.


    Although I agree with what you say about the costs, to be fair, you can get $1500 or so laptops that compete with the last low-end SBM system (which was $600, not $500) in gaming performance. For example, a $1450 configuration of one of Clevo's laptops get's a quad-core i7 3640QM (a little better than the one in this Razer) and a Radeon 7970M (much, much faster than GTX 660M).
  • 0 Hide
    gxpbecker , March 25, 2013 6:42 AM
    Nifty, but yes you can get a MSI with a bit more power
    The GT60 comes with the same CPU but with 660m, 670mx, 675x and 680m/mx for 1500 - 1900 range. For gaming laptops those are my fav. Now the size/weight are not comparable LOL

    Wife is running a GT60 with the 670mx and it takes everything beautifully. Very surprised at how cool it runs even after a few hours in GW2 lol
  • 0 Hide
    dscudella , March 25, 2013 7:07 AM
    I couldn't live without a 10 key on my laptop. Something I've gotten used to.
  • 0 Hide
    warezme , March 25, 2013 7:31 AM
    The Razor has come a long way. When the first version came out I was going to buy but it had tooo many limitations for the price. Much of this has been cleared up. Unfortunately, I probably won't be shopping for another game laptop for a while since I bought the M17X and while huge compared to this, it is still performance wise a superior machine and highly expandable with more ports than the Razor can offer.
  • 4 Hide
    zyzeast , March 25, 2013 7:40 AM
    I just spend less than half that much on a 15" 1080P MSI GT60 with a GTX 675M video card and same CPU, yea it's thicker but as awesome as this thing is, it's not worth the price tag.
  • 3 Hide
    bokeh , March 25, 2013 8:20 AM
    Quote:
    Um, couldn't I get a Lenovo Y580 for the same hardware config? Or a Sager NP 9130 for around $1300 with less weight?


    Both the Lenovo and Sager have 15.6" displays and are much more traditional designs. The Blade is Razer's statement on how a gaming notebook can be engineered and built. You get a lot of features and much more style than the Lenovo or Sager. There is nothing wrong with choosing any of those 3 machines if they suit your needs and budget. What computer you ultimately choose will depend on what matters to you. My goal is not to help sell a system. My goal is to help the readers of Tom's Hardware make well informed decisions.

    If there is something out there that you want to see reviewed, feel free to send me a PM.
Display more comments