Sign in with
Sign up | Sign in

Install A Hard Drive Or SSD In Your Notebook's Optical Bay

Install A Hard Drive Or SSD In Your Notebook's Optical Bay
By , Achim Roos

You want a performance-oriented SSD in your notebook, but you also need the capacity of a hard drive. Why not just remove your optical drive, drop your hard drive into its bay, and load up a brand new SSD with Windows and your apps?

Of course you'd rather have a notebook with a nice, larger SSD. You get significantly better responsiveness, higher data transfer rates, and lower power consumption, translating into longer battery life. 

Why, then, do most notebooks still come with hard disks rather than solid-state drives? Unfortunately, SSDs are still very expensive per gigabyte of capacity. A 128 GB SSD sets you back at least $140, depending on how fast it is and who's selling it. At that price, you could buy a 1 TB hard disk instead. Smaller SSDs around the 64 GB mark are naturally less expensive, but then you have to start worrying whether your operating system and applications will even fit, let alone your movies, music, and pictures.

That's an easy problem to solve on the desktop. Simply use an SSD and a hard drive together in the same machine. The SSD hosts the operating system and a few hand-picked, performance-sensitive applications, while the mechanical storage is used for user data.

Most notebooks don't give you the luxury of using both technologies, though. Equipped with a single 2.5" drive bay, they force you to choose between a big price tag and small capacity, or more space and lower performance.

But if your mobile machine sports one hard disk bay and an optical drive slot, we'll show you how to make a minor compromise to get an SSD and conventional disk running cooperatively.

Borrowing Space From The Optical Drive

There are already kits available that let you swap out your optical drive and replace it with a 2.5" storage device, be it a hard drive or SSD. MCE Technologies makes them for Macs and NewMode Electronics sells them for a number of PC vendors. We used a kit called OptiBayHD, available in Germany. In every case, the idea is to replace the optical drive with a special caddy that holds any other component that fits. In this story, we're going to swap out the original hard drive, replace it with an SSD, and then drop the disk into the OptiBayHD caddy.

The OptiBayHD comes in 13 different flavors, which differ slightly with respect to internal and external connections, height, supported hard disk height, and front panel color. Between them, you're able to achieve compatibility with notebooks made by Asus, Dell, Fujitsu LG, Samsung, Sony, and Toshiba. The cost is $68 (found on hantz.com), plus shipping. Optional USB or eSATA cables allow you to use the OptiBayHD caddy like an external drive, too.

On the following pages, we'll show you how to add an SSD to a Dell Latitude D630 notebook, specifically, using the OptiBayHD caddy.

Ask a Category Expert

Create a new thread in the Reviews comments forum about this subject

Example: Notebook, Android, SSD hard drive

Display all 45 comments.
This thread is closed for comments
  • 1 Hide
    thehidecheck , January 26, 2012 3:21 AM
    Lol, this reminds me of the floppy disks of yore. Still, there is alot of utility in this, I see it having a good future.
  • 9 Hide
    phamhlam , January 26, 2012 4:14 AM
    I thought about doing this. It gives you the speed of a SSD and the space of a HDD. When you need your DVD drive, slide it back in or just use a USB one. I ended up selling my laptop and getting a desktop haahaha.
  • 0 Hide
    Xajel , January 26, 2012 4:33 AM
    I think having a 128 - 256 GB mPCIe SSD will be much easier to have :D 

    + it will give you the ability to have another HDD for large storage if you can't life with just 128 or 256GB :) 
  • 0 Hide
    mswezey , January 26, 2012 5:01 AM
    I've already done this 2 months ago! Best thing you can do for a laptop!
  • 0 Hide
    Anonymous , January 26, 2012 5:58 AM
    But what about heat? As far as I can see there are no venting holes or I might just be mistaking. :) 
  • 0 Hide
    Reynod , January 26, 2012 6:00 AM
    Great idea ... I like it.

    Can you run some tests on the drive please?

    Compare it to the main drive for speed?

    Cheers
  • 2 Hide
    serhat359 , January 26, 2012 6:01 AM
    I also thought about this but it's just too expensive!
  • 0 Hide
    Pyree , January 26, 2012 6:40 AM
    Quote:
    But what about heat? As far as I can see there are no venting holes or I might just be mistaking. :) 

    Have that set up on my laptop. SDD in the normal HDD bay, HDD in OD bay. No issue on heat for HDD. HDD about 38-40c on load.
  • 0 Hide
    ivyanev , January 26, 2012 8:33 AM
    Isn't eSATA usb 3 and other ports designed to accommodate external hdd? I agree that external isn't as convenient as build in ,but can be used in several laptops.
  • 5 Hide
    jamesedgeuk2000 , January 26, 2012 9:32 AM
    Lmao I did this back in 2006, the dell drive bay in your pic is one of the multibay drives used in the first ever XPS and the i9100.

    Hears another newsflash, you can also replace the optical drive with hot swappable extra battery's for extra power time! :o 
  • 4 Hide
    __-_-_-__ , January 26, 2012 9:37 AM
    insane prices on toms hardware and confusing article.

    resuming:
    ICH2-8M chipsets: uses sata or pata
    ICH9M or newer: uses sata
    ODD sizes: 9.5mm or 12.7mm

    you can also put 1.8" drives if you get a 1.8" to 2.5" adapter.

    There's 2 types of ODD to HDD adapters:
    -Adapter only
    -hotswap capable ones that allow the odd caddy to slide


    "At about $68 (plus international shipping) the caddy isn't exactly cheap" o'really? toms is trying to rips us off.
    here way more cheaper and dozens of models:
    http://www.newmodeus.com/shop/index.php?main_page=index&cPath=2&zenid=0dacdbda0327cab9d5e7253d90061d0e

    and even cheaper:
    http://www.ebay.com/itm/2-5-Laptop-SATA-HDD-ODD-CD-DVD-RW-BOX-Caddy-12-7mm-/260780207912?pt=PCC_Drives_Storage_Internal&hash=item3cb7b62f28

    $12.99!!!
  • -1 Hide
    Yuka , January 26, 2012 11:23 AM
    I've been looking for one of those for my Asus N3 fro quite some time now 8(

    I really think that using that space you could fit even more with custom "bays replacements". We still waste space. Also, making it into a real hdd bay could be great as well.

    Cheers!
  • -5 Hide
    bennaye , January 26, 2012 12:26 PM
    1. Cut a hole in the box.
    2. Put your junk in the box
    3. Make her open the box.

    And THAT'S the way you do itttt~ It's my SSD in a box!
  • -2 Hide
    hunshiki , January 26, 2012 3:06 PM
    Because Lenovo's UltraBay is made so poorly, that it won't fit any computer.
    Just check the reviews at Lenovo: http://support.lenovo.com/en_US/detail.page?LegacyDocID=MIGR-73170
  • -1 Hide
    jhansonxi , January 26, 2012 4:46 PM
    I think this is a great idea for enabling software RAID 1 on a notebook. That would help performance and provide redundancy. With software RAID on Linux you can remove one drive and still boot so it is possible to swap the CD/DVD drive back in, use it, then swap it back out and let the RAID resync.
  • -1 Hide
    hunshiki , January 26, 2012 5:04 PM
    It's a laptop, can get stolen easily. I think having Wuala, Crashplan, or any secure sync service is a better idea to prevent data loss. Also, never forget to have an encryption if you have business-sensitive information.
  • -2 Hide
    freggo , January 26, 2012 5:27 PM
    That's a great idea. Will have to check it out. Can definitely breath some new live in older Laptops.
  • -1 Hide
    __-_-_-__ , January 26, 2012 6:22 PM
    hunshikiBecause Lenovo's UltraBay is made so poorly, that it won't fit any computer.Just check the reviews at Lenovo: http://support.lenovo.com/en_US/de [...] MIGR-73170

    it fit's. there's specially design odd converters for lenovo.it's a special 7-8mm thing. it's very rare but it does exist. probably cheap on ebay.
  • -2 Hide
    mrkdilkington , January 26, 2012 8:24 PM
    Just bought one of these off ebay for $15.
    Also what effect does this have on the battery?
  • -1 Hide
    masterofevil22 , January 26, 2012 8:26 PM
    Why didn't I think of this??

    FML
Display more comments