Sign in with
Sign up | Sign in

CPU And Cooler

System Builder Marathon: The $5,000 Extreme PC
By

CPU: Intel Core i7 Extreme Edition 965

Most of us prefer to seek the best possible value, using overclocking as an excuse not to buy elite-class (and often over-priced) components. After all, with the exception of a few minor features, aren’t all Core i7 processors really the same, save an unlocked multiplier? The only way to test that theory would be to buy the best, which is something many $5,000 PC builders would do anyway and consider the differences between it and previously-tested lower-cost parts.

Read Customer Reviews of Intel's Core i7 Extreme Edition 965


The two documented differences between Core i7 Extreme and its siblings are its unlocked multiplier and an increased QPI-link rate of 6.4 GT/s, compared to 4.8 GT/s for cheaper versions. But while every model of Core i7 is also differentiated by rated speed, what’s not documented is how well each model is cherry-picked for the task.

All Core i7 processors come from the same process, and while Intel has been known to determine the best parts by testing, there is simply no way of knowing how much difference separates the lowest- and highest-end models. We hope that choosing the highest-end model will allow us to reach the highest overclock, but there is always the possibility that the lowest-end models of one batch might actually overclock better than the highest-end models of another. The only way to know how well any processor will respond to an overclocking effort is to test it, since each processor is unique.

Intel includes a higher-capacity, all-copper cooler with its Core i7 Extreme. This would be a great accessory for budget overclockers if available separately, but our overclocks are a little more “extreme” than what the Extreme cooler is designed to cope with.

CPU Cooling: Custom-Liquid Configuration

Setting up a liquid-cooling system should be easy with a partner as large as Newegg, but the i7 water cooling market is still young enough that a complete kit still isn't available for the Core i7 Extreme. Also, since we had to return our parts to Newegg, we couldn’t simply drill holes in the case to mount various components. Instead, we had to piece together our cooling system with a variety of parts, beginning with the pump-and-reservoir assembly of Cooler Master’s Aquagate Max.

Read Customer Reviews of Cooler Master's RL-HUB-KBU1-GP Water Cooler


We scoured the Web, comparing every pump-and-reservoir option Newegg offered, and the easy installation and a flow rate of 450L/H made the Aquagate Max the best fit for our application. A few testers had claimed the kit’s fans and water block were inadequate, but we planned to replace those anyway.

In fact, because we had selected a specific case for its triple-fan-radiator support, our first move was to replace the two-fan Cooler Master unit with a three-fan model from Swiftech. We’ve long appreciated the capabilities of its MCR320-QP Quiet Power radiator , and this is also the only three-fan model Newegg carries.

Increased airflow usually comes at the expense of added noise, but a well-designed fan provides the best of both worlds. Rated at 63.7 CFM and 1,600 RPM, fluid-dynamic-bearing technology and optimized blades keep the Scythe S-Flex SFF21F below its 28 decibel peak noise level under typical operating conditions. With nearly as much capacity per fan as two of Cooler Master’s fans, three SFF21Fs should prove more than sufficient for our CPU-cooling needs.

The only part we couldn’t get from Newegg was a liquid-cooling water block for LGA-1366 processors. After waiting three months for the requisite component to show up at retail, we gave up and used our own means to obtain the Apogee GTZ LGA-775 water-block assembly and LGA-1366 bracket. The combination must be in high demand, because several companies that had offered pre-configured Apogee GTZ LGA-1366 assemblies were out of stock.

Display all 86 comments.
This thread is closed for comments
  • 1 Hide
    xx12amanxx , February 12, 2009 5:11 AM
    Nice article!

    I wish i could own a rig like that,but it would be that or a 383 stroker for the F-body..lol I can dream cant I?
  • 1 Hide
    Crashman , February 12, 2009 5:32 AM
    xx12amanxxNice article!I wish i could own a rig like that,but it would be that or a 383 stroker for the F-body..lol I can dream cant I?


    383 strokers are for copycats. Basically, too many bad 400 blocks and people found a cheap way to re-use the cranks to make their 350's bigger. If you have THIS kind of money, you'd might as well go BIG BORE too. Maybe a bowtie block? At any rate, you'll win more races with a real 400 (or larger custom size) so long as the block is good.
  • 2 Hide
    one-shot , February 12, 2009 6:24 AM
    It is interesting to note on Page 14. On the Sandra XII Multimedia test the Core i7 965 @ 4.2GHz scored 486,971, while the i7 920 @ 4.0GHz scored 386,867. The difference was 200MHz and made such a large difference. Did the Intel SSDs influence such a large gain in performance or the DDR3 @ 1800MHz or perhaps a combination of both?
  • 3 Hide
    Crashman , February 12, 2009 6:45 AM
    Quote:
    It is interesting to note on Page 14. On the Sandra XII Multimedia test the Core i7 965 @ 4.2GHz scored 486,971, while the i7 920 @ 4.0GHz scored 386,867. The difference was 200MHz and made such a large difference. Did the Intel SSDs influence such a large gain in performance or the DDR3 @ 1800MHz or perhaps a combination of both?


    The 965 has a higher-bandwidth QPI link, so it should be good for boosting at least a few synthetic scores.
  • 4 Hide
    xx12amanxx , February 12, 2009 7:24 AM
    Intel is the fastest thats why...This is supposed to be an uber rig.

    Ya crashman thats the problem i dont have that kind of money..lol A fresh stock rebuild bolt on's and spray will have to hold me off until better times!
  • 6 Hide
    JeanLuc , February 12, 2009 8:19 AM
    I would love to seen those Windows boot times with those RAID 0 Intel SDD's!
  • -8 Hide
    gim159 , February 12, 2009 8:35 AM
    Yeah, Optimize the heck out of it and take all of the unnecessary stuff out.. Probably 4 sec boot, Awesome!
  • 0 Hide
    Crashman , February 12, 2009 10:17 AM
    xx12amanxxIntel is the fastest thats why...This is supposed to be an uber rig.Ya crashman thats the problem i dont have that kind of money..lol A fresh stock rebuild bolt on's and spray will have to hold me off until better times!


    I spec'd out a friend's 406 C.I. mouse a few years ago and he got through under $4500 with aluminum heads and a roller cam!
  • 2 Hide
    DjEaZy , February 12, 2009 10:51 AM
    ... maybe build some AMD based systems too, to see, how they stack up against in price/performance... just for tha fun of it...
  • 3 Hide
    _horse , February 12, 2009 10:51 AM
    Great article!

    HOWEVER, Should have used an Antec1200 for that much coin on the case. I have one at home using water cooling and its so much easier than any other case I've used to date. Cheaper too, in this instance.
  • 4 Hide
    Crashman , February 12, 2009 11:03 AM
    _horseGreat article!HOWEVER, Should have used an Antec1200 for that much coin on the case. I have one at home using water cooling and its so much easier than any other case I've used to date. Cheaper too, in this instance.


    I've owned both, the Cooler Master is a nicer case. I mean, we're just throwing opinions around now, right?

    But the Cosmos S is far more portable, and it fits the big radiator perfectly. In fact, it's the only stock case to fit that radiator properly.
  • 0 Hide
    LATTEH , February 12, 2009 11:13 AM
    With a build like that you guys should have tryed to set Crysis with 16 AA!


    well it probably wont be playable but it would just be neat to see.
  • 1 Hide
    _horse , February 12, 2009 11:24 AM
    CrashmanI've owned both, the Cooler Master is a nicer case. I mean, we're just throwing opinions around now, right?But the Cosmos S is far more portable, and it fits the big radiator perfectly. In fact, it's the only stock case to fit that radiator properly.


    Thats true, but I didnt know we were going for portability here, especially with a liquid cooled system.
  • 2 Hide
    rodney_ws , February 12, 2009 11:31 AM
    There's no way that sound "card" is up to the level of a $5k rig.
  • 3 Hide
    jcknouse , February 12, 2009 11:33 AM
    Nice article.

    Question for the writing staff:

    Have you thought about taking all your review statistics, and assembling an "uber system" based on the best parts based on what you have found in your review tests?

    Just curious. I don't remember that ever having been done before here. And for $5,000, you surely could afford to throw together all of the top notch parts into a system for kind of a "what happens when you put all the best parts together" article.

    Now you guys have me itching to build a new system already...and I just built one back in September!! lol
  • 1 Hide
    jcknouse , February 12, 2009 11:36 AM
    That is a really good question too:

    With the width of the video cards, where would you plug in a soundcard? Does it use the 3rd PCI-E x16 slot?

    Just curious. I've always noticed how the ATX motherboard size standard hasn't shifted to grow with the growth of the size of components, such as video cards and component heatsinks.

    Limited room bites. lol
  • 2 Hide
    cah027 , February 12, 2009 11:37 AM
    Why not 3 liquid cooled 285's. Maybe drop the Blueray and or go down to a 920 in the next one. Keep the SSD's.
  • 1 Hide
    Crashman , February 12, 2009 11:49 AM
    cah027Why not 3 liquid cooled 285's. Maybe drop the Blueray and or go down to a 920 in the next one. Keep the SSD's.SSD's are fast but the only benchmarks they matter in are the ones that don't count (synthetics)


    SSD's are fast but the only benchmarks they matter in are the ones that don't count (synthetics)
Display more comments