Sign in with
Sign up | Sign in

Game Details

Star Trek Online: Game Performance Analyzed And Benchmarked
By

Speaking of outfitting and leveling up, there is no end to customization in this game. Every player is a captain of a starship, which means you can customize how your ship appears and upgrade its components or select a better ship. You can also customize your character's and your bridge officers' skills and equipment.

You can get this new equipment from looting and exploring or you can purchase it. To purchase equipment, there are a number of currencies in the game--energy credits, explorer badges, and Starfleet merits are the main ones, but there are other categories of items also used for trade. Of course, the Federation is supposed to be a utopian cashless society, so none of these are just plain credits. Go figure.

Another aspect of the game that is new to this writer is automatic grouping. There are missions where you'll beam down to a planet and find that a number of other human players are automatically on your team, sharing the same goals (Ed.: sounds like Blizzard's new dungeon tool). There are also missions where you'll warp into a space-combat situation and find the same thing. I have to say that this is a nifty way to prompt folks to meet up and play together. When the mission is over, the team is still together, and it's usually convenient to continue as a group unless you don't want to.

As far as player versus player (PvP) combat goes, with a limited amount of time to play, I never got the chance to dig deep enough into the game to experience it firsthand. I did notice a PvP ground-combat zone on the Andorian planet, and I understand there are space PvP zones where Klingon and Federation captains can duke it out. Speaking of Klingons, this is a PvP-centric faction. You can't even make a Klingon character until you've spent some time as a Federation player, and advancing that Klingon player relies almost entirely on PvP combat. Nifty!

What are the negative aspects of the game? First, the learning curve is somewhat awkward. I found it took me a while to get comfortable with all of the different aspects of the game so I could start having fun. Unlike other MMOs that only deal with one combat type, STO starts you off on the ground, quickly thrusts you into space to start learning all over again, and then drops you off at the local space station and says "good luck!" It's bewildering, and it saps the fun out of the first couple of hours until you've experienced enough to form a solid grasp of the basics. Even after days of play, you find yourself learning fundamental aspects of the game. The good news is that as things clear up, it becomes much more fun.

Secondly, I felt a definite disparity between space and ground missions. The space aspect of the game feels very polished and works well, while ground missions aren't quite as slick. Things have improved since the beta, but there have been times when I've wished that the away mission would end so I could get back to the helm of my interstellar hot-rod. Having said that, I admit that my preference is likely a subjective one, and these vastly different arenas can really break things up and keep the game fresh, unlike other MMOs.

Finally, aside from all of the new things that this game does, it still offers little more than an excuse to engage in combat. Fans of Star Trek's special brand of intellectually-challenging science fiction are going to be disappointed. STO offers the same kill, delivery, gather, and escort quests as every MMO that came before it, the only difference being that these are in the Star Trek universe. Admittedly, a few missions do not require combat of any kind, but more often than not, these are gather quests that offer little enjoyment or challenge. You can tell that the game's writers have made efforts to make these quests interesting in some cases, but on the whole they serve to break up the combat missions more than anything else.

Despite these complaints, the game is very engaging and entertaining. There really is so much more to this title that it's hard to deliver a meaningful overview in a page or two. But the focus of this article is the performance of the game on your PC. Suffice to say that I was pleasantly surprised and intrigued by this MMO, considering that I didn’t have very high hopes for the title before playing it. Let's move on to the performance.

Display all 89 comments.
This thread is closed for comments
Top Comments
  • 18 Hide
    Silmarunya , February 18, 2010 6:17 AM
    jdh64Admit it TOMS......Geforce rules this games as well as others.......quit being ATI fanbois......Wait till the new series of cards comes out....then whatcha gunna do...cry!!!!


    Not really. This is just about the only benchmark where a Geforce card beats a comparable 5000-series one, so there's still a nice lead for the 5000 cards. With a driver update, this result can change in favor of the 5000, which would give them back every game tested here...

    And nobody should be very concerned about the GTX 300, at least not for the first year and a half. The initial mammoth chip will be expensive, hot, noisy and more powerful than useful for gaming. By the time it scaled down properly, ATI will have refreshed cards in the market for a while, probably offering better performance, lower power consumption and more features for a similar price tag.

  • 12 Hide
    JeanLuc , February 18, 2010 7:56 AM
    How does such an ugly game mange to tax state of the art video cards?
Other Comments
  • 18 Hide
    Silmarunya , February 18, 2010 6:17 AM
    jdh64Admit it TOMS......Geforce rules this games as well as others.......quit being ATI fanbois......Wait till the new series of cards comes out....then whatcha gunna do...cry!!!!


    Not really. This is just about the only benchmark where a Geforce card beats a comparable 5000-series one, so there's still a nice lead for the 5000 cards. With a driver update, this result can change in favor of the 5000, which would give them back every game tested here...

    And nobody should be very concerned about the GTX 300, at least not for the first year and a half. The initial mammoth chip will be expensive, hot, noisy and more powerful than useful for gaming. By the time it scaled down properly, ATI will have refreshed cards in the market for a while, probably offering better performance, lower power consumption and more features for a similar price tag.

  • -3 Hide
    gilbertfh , February 18, 2010 6:25 AM
    This game looks interesting and could be a good diversion once in a while but I can't really see it replacing the games I am playing now. I have played other cryptic studios games and they really didn't engage me for long. If I buy it I will at least play it for the included month before purchasing a subscription.
  • 2 Hide
    toxxel , February 18, 2010 6:48 AM
    If your interested in playing this game give it 6 months or so. Currently there is no content at max level, and it takes less than a week to hit max rank. Klingons only have pvp content but more is promised for both factions. Server instability and downtime have plagued launch mostly for the overwhelming player base and not being prepared.

    I for one would wonder how this and Champions Online run since ST:o  runs on a modified CO engine.
  • 0 Hide
    footsoldier , February 18, 2010 6:49 AM
    Sh*t game. Sh*t graphics. But, good article. Geforce do weirdly beats 5000s tho, maybe some driver updates will fix it.
  • 12 Hide
    JeanLuc , February 18, 2010 7:56 AM
    How does such an ugly game mange to tax state of the art video cards?
  • 2 Hide
    jennyh , February 18, 2010 8:30 AM
    I guess Nvidia leaned on Don after this months "Best gaming graphics card".

    Batman AA was the last one of these reviews I believe. Either way, twice in the past 4 months you've managed to review games that go quite wildly against the norm in terms of the gtx260's actual potency.
  • -4 Hide
    cypeq , February 18, 2010 8:41 AM
    it is a shameless advertisment...
  • 4 Hide
    cypeq , February 18, 2010 8:45 AM
    notty22I feel sorry for ati***s scared of Fermi.


    I feel sorry for nVidia now becouse roles on marked turned and now nVidia is on position where it needs to chatch up.
  • -4 Hide
    Onus , February 18, 2010 9:01 AM
    Subscription-based? Pass.
  • 8 Hide
    kettu , February 18, 2010 9:38 AM
    I think it would be worth mentioning in the article that this game is a "TWIMBP" title. That would explain why Nvidia cards perform so well compared to competition.
  • -2 Hide
    anamaniac , February 18, 2010 9:42 AM
    How about testing this on a Intel 660 (using the integrated video) and comparable laptop chip with n Intel GPU?
    Because, come on, Intel is the market leader in GPU's (in sheer quanitity alone).

    I wonder how this game would look spread across 5x 30" 2560x1600 monitors (all in portrait mode for a 45/16 or 2.8125:1 aspect ratio), assuming a 5890 (the 6xDP version that we all want released already).

    While I may be a trekkie to the core, this game does not interest me.
    Kirk was alright, but Picard owned his ass.
    BTW, do you get to get it on with hot alien chics? That'd be the one redeeming factor of the game...

    =)
  • 5 Hide
    jennyh , February 18, 2010 9:57 AM
    kettuI think it would be worth mentioning in the article that this game is a "TWIMBP" title. That would explain why Nvidia cards perform so well compared to competition.


    Agreed. I didn't even realise STO was a TWIMTBP title.

    That's pretty poor form Cleeve. Are things so desperate for Nvidia now that you aren't allowed to mention TWIMTBP in these 'reviews' you do?
  • 0 Hide
    JohnnyLucky , February 18, 2010 10:59 AM
    I'm not interested in playing the game. After 35 years on TV and the silver screen the game won't seem right.
  • 6 Hide
    Spanky Deluxe , February 18, 2010 11:17 AM
    Great game. Despite a few server crashes etc the launch has been significantly smoother than most MMOs. It's already got a good amount of content. Sure reaching the level max takes about 4-5 days for most players but that's *game* time so 96 to 120 hours game time. Unless you're a speed runner and don't care about the story - then you can probably burn through it faster.

    It's got its bugs but, as I said, compared to other MMOs at launch, it feels very polished.

    I'm a little surprised to see no SLI or Crossfire benchmarks in this article btw - particularly because you're benchmarking at 2560x1600. FWIW, I'm running a pair of 1GB XFX 4870s on an i7 system. I'm running at 2560x1600.

    My settings are 200/300% for every option (basically everything is maxxed) apart from antialiasing, which I've set at 2x, and anisotropic filtering, which I've set at 4x. It runs perfectly smoothly all the time. I haven't tried it at higher AA/AF options since these are what I set it to for all games (I've never been able to tell the difference between 2xAF and higher when at 2560x1600 and I've always been in the habit of having AF at twice what AF is set to).
  • 6 Hide
    calranthe , February 18, 2010 11:23 AM
    Well both me, wife and our two closest friends have been playing STO since beta.

    It depends what your looking for, if your in it to power game and max to end level you gotta realise wow and all the others didn't have end level content in game at launch.

    If your looking for An authentic ST style game where you can visit DS9, explore strange new worlds, customise your bridge officers and ship, go to alot of the iconic areas of the ST universe and generally have fun it is fun:) 

    Best fun we have had in an mmo for a very long time and the launch although bumpy is no worse than most other mmo launches.

    Its different than most other mmo's as in leveling isn't a focus, leveling brings you better ships and weapons etc but you don't haveto grind and its casual play friends as in you can log on for 30 mins and feel as if you actually did something.

    Final comment, as a core group we four have been playing pc games since the zx81 (remember typing the gaming in from the sinclair magazine) to every genre since and this is one of the nicest casual fun games aslong as your not focused on end game power gaming
  • -2 Hide
    davendork , February 18, 2010 11:53 AM
    Dear TH,
    Pls stop reviewing this game and letting me know it will play sweet on my hardwares. Even tho I was trekkie in high school I don't need to get caught up in this MMO. Don't need the temptation. You are evil mistress.
    -davendork
  • -4 Hide
    elbert , February 18, 2010 12:14 PM
    Quote:
    Speaking of Klingons, this is a PvP-centric faction. You can't even make a Klingon character until you've spent some time as a Federation player, and advancing that Klingon player relies almost entirely on PvP combat. Nifty!

    This really sucks. This brings the pvp game play back about 10 years when diablo 2 launched. One sided no real MMO pvp making this game really a RPG online. Cant we start out as borg or klingon? This will end up being the great opportunity missed to dethrone WOW.
  • -3 Hide
    DaveUK , February 18, 2010 12:21 PM
    Is there any particular reason why Toms have got into the extremely bad habit of not ordering your benchmarks from top performer > bottom performer in a logical fashion?

    For some reason ATI cards are sat at the top of these charts even when they are not first. The 5770 is 'above' the GTS 250 and the high-end cards are 'above' the GTX 260. It's tacky, and it just looks like you're sponsored by AMD. Maybe you are !?

    Can you please start ordering your benchmarks logically so that the highest performer is at the top and lowest performers at the bottom. It makes you look alot more professional.

    In case you've forgotten, here's how to do it properly.

    http://www.anandtech.com/video/showdoc.aspx?i=3679&p=8

    Kthxbai.
  • -1 Hide
    WINTERLORD , February 18, 2010 12:21 PM
    good review its nice to see some MMO's in review to see how they work on different hardware and such
Display more comments