Sign in with
Sign up | Sign in

Benchmark Results: Transfer Diagrams

1,000 GB: Three Samsung TB Drives
By

The Spinpoint F drives both reach almost 120 MB/s of throughput, while the EcoGreen F drive is limited to less than 90 MB/s due to its lower spindle speed. Also be prepared to see minimum transfer rates of around 40 MB/s for the EcoGreen F drive, while the Spinpoint F drives at 7,200 RPM don’t drop much below 60 MB/s.

Ask a Category Expert

Create a new thread in the Reviews comments forum about this subject

Example: Notebook, Android, SSD hard drive

Display all 15 comments.
This thread is closed for comments
  • -6 Hide
    Kari , September 23, 2008 11:18 AM
    WTF is that amch questionmarket survey that keeps hijacking my browser everytime I continue to the next page! It's getting pretty annoying and I don't 'qualify' for the survey but that doesn't stop them from trying.. >:( 
  • 2 Hide
    randomizer , September 23, 2008 12:02 PM
    No surveys showing up here.
  • 1 Hide
    Dogsnake , September 23, 2008 1:06 PM
    What survey? No problems going page to page on 3 separate systems I checked with. Maybe your infected?
  • 2 Hide
    one-shot , September 23, 2008 1:51 PM
    I just imagine that smug little cat saying "no problems here" like it knows whats going on. That pic makes me laugh, all the smugness
  • 1 Hide
    arkadi , September 23, 2008 3:10 PM
    i hope to see performance of Raid configuration on popular chip sets. Raid 0,5. I have 2 Spinpoint F mainstream model drives on my nforce4 sli Raid 0, and i can fell the differents in performance comparing 2 my old two 250 wd raid drives (Raid 0).
  • 1 Hide
    SDLeary , September 23, 2008 4:32 PM
    Could you perhaps do some comparisons with the WD Caviar Green? Its not listed on the main spec page, but these drives are supposed to have a variable rotation speed; between 5400 and 7200. If the Samsung is fixed 5400, then there might be some performance differences!

    SDLeary
  • -1 Hide
    WheelsOfConfusion , September 23, 2008 4:40 PM
    http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/NET_Act
    Link failure. :\
  • 0 Hide
    WheelsOfConfusion , September 23, 2008 4:43 PM
    Er, ignore that. Replied in the wrong tab.

    What I wanted to post here is that I also want to see a comparison with the 5400/7200 variable speed drives. Does that offer any real advantage, and what about the power savings?
  • 2 Hide
    ravenware , September 23, 2008 6:38 PM
    Yes! Finally another hard drive review, because these are so much different than the last hard drives that were reviewed.

    Can we have another SSD review this week too? You know, one that shows how great the SSD performs but how it also costs too much?
  • -1 Hide
    Kari , September 23, 2008 6:52 PM
    DogSnakeWhat survey? No problems going page to page on 3 separate systems I checked with. Maybe your infected?

    nah I'm clean.
    Looks like it's gone now. It used to be a little popup window before that i blocked but today it was more aggressive and annoying. And I've never seen it on any other sites, only here at toms, must be some sponsor or smthgn... Heres hoping they got ridd of it permanently
  • 1 Hide
    caskachan , September 24, 2008 10:09 AM
    YEAH RIGHT ECOLOGICAL DRIVES MY ASS

    samsung latest batch of 1tb drives could not perfrom well at high speeds so, what thye do
    sell them as eco friendly low spinning drives yay!

    ...
  • 1 Hide
    Anonymous , September 25, 2008 10:38 AM
    The "green" moniker is obvious marketing babble. These drives are designed and very well suited for non-pc appliances like settop boxes and game consoles. In the pc arena you mentioned HTPC and NAS but office pc's can also use a quiet and cool running drive. To me all these lower performance applications look like at least 50% of the market.
  • -1 Hide
    jacke , September 30, 2008 7:07 PM
    1 TB is now in Your notebook. Take Dell Precision M6400

    Jaak http://shop.it.ee/

  • 0 Hide
    JonnyDough , October 4, 2008 12:30 PM
    Kari

    Wait, is it just me or is Kari also Randomizer...? Hmm. Delete the profiles? Check ISP #s? Where is the Stasi when you need them.
  • 0 Hide
    randomizer , October 5, 2008 1:52 AM
    JonnyDoughWait, is it just me or is Kari also Randomizer...?

    Why would you say that? And why would I need another profile? :lol: