Sign in with
Sign up | Sign in

Chris Angelini On Tom's Hardware In 2012

Chris Angelini On Tom's Hardware In 2012
By

I just got back from CES 2012. And although I’ve attended a great many Consumer Electronics Shows, Computexes, and Comdexes (never a CeBIT), this year’s show was by far the most intense. It wasn’t that there were tons of really awesome products. In fact, on the PC side, I came away flatly underwhelmed. Nvidia wasn't ready to show off Kepler. AMD's Trinity was up and running, but no comment on availability. Intel 7-series chipsets were on boards, but with little new to discuss aside from integrated USB 3.0. Rather, the hustle was a direct result of nearly 50 scheduled meetings, meals, and parties. Additional editorial staff drove out at the last minute to cover an additional 20 or so get-togethers that I just couldn’t fit in.

In years past, we probably wouldn’t have been so busy. But our scope is expanding. You already know Tom’s Hardware as a place where enthusiasts and the tech-curious go to learn about the latest PC-oriented hardware, how it works, and whether it’s worth spending your hard-earned money on. That won’t change. We’re still enthusiasts passionate about getting maximum value out of our machines. As you probably noticed over the past six months, though, we’ve also added tablet coverage. In classic Tom’s Hardware style, we’re coming up with new ways of testing, including a unique display suite that allows us to quantify the performance of an LCD panel.

You’ll continue seeing tablets in 2012, along with smartphone coverage (our first review went live during CES: Nokia Lumia 710 Review: Windows Phone 7 On A Budget). We plan to cover Ultrabooks, of course, particularly once Intel’s Ivy Bridge architecture makes them a little more interesting than Windows-based MacBook Air clones. And we made some interesting contacts at CES that should help pave our way into the world of automotive infotainment, too.

Again, though, don’t fret over a departure from our bread and butter. Graphics, processing, motherboards, memory, cases, cooling, and build guides all remain core components of our editorial calendar. I’d even like to see us go into more depth in those segments. To that end, I’ll be expanding our editorial team with experts in several different fields over the next couple of months so that we’re able to satisfy your tech cravings with even more meaty content in the year to come.

Charts

One area of the site that continues seeing updates is our charts section. Truth be told, I think that the charts interface could use some help to simplify navigation and product-to-product comparisons. Even still, there’s a ton of data added on a regular basis, and we now cover graphics cards, hard drives, SSDs, CPUs, power supplies, external storage (memory cards, thumb drives, and hard drives), processor cooling, and NAS appliances. Our 2012 graphics benchmark suite and platform was recently finalized, so you’ll start seeing updates with the latest games, GPU compute applications, temps, and acoustic measurements shortly.

Contests

I also want to take a moment to address the contests we regularly run on Tom’s Hardware. More so last year than any before, we gave away an incredible amount of gear. Predominantly, though, only residents of the United States, excluding Rhode Island, were eligible to win.

Our international audience is massive, and we appreciate the patronage of everyone who reads Tom’s Hardware outside of the U.S. But the unfortunate reality for us is that contests are categorized as sweepstakes/lotteries, putting them under the scrutiny of the Federal Trade Commission.  Certain countries require entrants to solve a puzzle, creating a contest of skill. Other times, big customs duties make shipping prizes prohibitively expensive.

As such, contests on tomshardware.com necessarily remain limited to our American audience. That’s the bad news. The good news is that we have Tom’s Hardware sites in France, England, Germany, Italy, Finland, Russia, and Turkey. So, I see no reason why 2012 shouldn’t see our international sites extend more giveaway opportunities to their local audiences as well, which we’d be happy to link to here.

I should also note that Tom’s Hardware recently won Samsung’s 830 SSD contest, which involved explaining solid-state technology as simply as possible. Because that one was hosted by Samsung itself, 15 of our readers, locally and internationally, are going to be given 128 GB drives.

BestConfigs

The BestConfigs section, designed to give our readers an easy place to send friends and family for community-approved upgrade advice, is in dire need of an update. I’ll be working with Joe Pishgar, our community manager, over the next couple of weeks to get new threads in the forums so that you can pick your favorite components for each of our 10 different build categories. Stay tuned.

Get Involved

Over the last year, we took more cues than ever from our audience. We polled you on Facebook, collected your feedback in the comments section of news stories asking for your preferred benchmarks, and communicated with you over Twitter.

I realize that there are plenty of Tom’s Hardware regulars who have no interest in social media, and that’s fine. However, I want to make sure that the door remains open to anyone with constructive feedback on ways we can better satisfy you with our writing, testing, and content direction. You’re more than welcome to jump onto my Twitter page and join the handful of regulars with whom I discuss upcoming stories, collect feedback on certain tests, and share information from private meetings at the shows I attend.

Have A Great 2012!

We have a lot of exciting content planned for the next 12 months. Multiple Radeon HD 7970s are currently sitting on test beds behind me. Radeon HD 7950s are expected soon. Intel’s Ivy Bridge architecture is nearly upon us. And Xeon E5s should be arriving in the next couple of months, too.

Really, though, some of the best stories and series are the ones we didn’t explicitly plan, but were presented by Tom’s Hardware readers with great ideas. Adam Overa’s line-up of Web Browser Grand Prixs, Paul Henningsen’s Balanced PC stories, and Dr. Alan Dang’s security coverage were all high points of the last year. As mentioned, I’m looking to introduce several more writers’ ideas to the site. If you think you have what it takes, check out the news post I just published.

Chris Angelini

Display all 44 comments.
This thread is closed for comments
Top Comments
  • 11 Hide
    cangelini , January 16, 2012 5:49 PM
    jonnydoughUhh, isn't that the exact same picture you've used before?

    Yeah, did you want a new one? I look pretty similar, though ;-)
Other Comments
  • 2 Hide
    phishy714 , January 16, 2012 4:50 PM
    Speaking of the Samsung SSD contest.. who won?
  • 1 Hide
    cangelini , January 16, 2012 4:53 PM
    Phishy714Speaking of the Samsung SSD contest.. who won?

    Believe Joe and Marcus are handling that--I'll ask!
  • 0 Hide
    RedJaron , January 16, 2012 5:15 PM
    Happy to be here and love the stories you guys bring. Chris is even known to respond to tweets!
  • 1 Hide
    JonnyDough , January 16, 2012 5:44 PM
    Uhh, isn't that the exact same picture you've used before?
  • 11 Hide
    cangelini , January 16, 2012 5:49 PM
    jonnydoughUhh, isn't that the exact same picture you've used before?

    Yeah, did you want a new one? I look pretty similar, though ;-)
  • 8 Hide
    boletus , January 16, 2012 5:57 PM
    While I appreciate that no one can ignore the rising importance of tablets, phones, etc. in the computing world, they remain a big yawn for me, personally. And, fact is, those types of devices have ample coverage at sites like Cnet, which cater to the general masses. Do I care which little gadget has finally been dumbed-down enough that lemurs can use alongside chimpanzees, or which 3.5" LCD screen is preferred by 4-year-olds? No; I want to know which mobo is going into my next build and which components will best compliment it.

    So while I don't want to discourage Tom's from expanding in those ways, I do hope that, as Chris says, PC hardware will remain the focus. Because, after all, that's why I come here. And thank you to the people at Tom's HW for being here.

  • -5 Hide
    dingo07 , January 16, 2012 7:14 PM
    Can I send my PC in to Tom's to have it Overclocked? - because I haven't the faintest clue, and you guys are the best!
  • 5 Hide
    Anonymous , January 16, 2012 8:09 PM
    Chris Angelini, check the TechReport's new micro-stuttering tests for GPUs. They are analyzing the time it takes for a single frame to be rendered. Perhaps you'll find it useful for your tests.
    http://techreport.com/articles.x/21516
  • 0 Hide
    crewton , January 16, 2012 8:12 PM
    dingo07Can I send my PC in to Tom's to have it Overclocked? - because I haven't the faintest clue, and you guys are the best!


    I'd ask in the classifieds if anyone on the site lives near you and is willing to overclock your pc for $xx. If you live in Omaha, NE I'd do it for you :p 
  • 0 Hide
    mrmaia , January 16, 2012 8:13 PM
    Welcome to the world's best tech site, Chris. We readers are always wanting news!
  • 0 Hide
    davewolfgang , January 16, 2012 8:18 PM
    Please keep up the great work!! And while you do delve into other Personal Electronic Devices - please keep those great DIY hardware reviews coming. I wish I had better writing skills (and my spelling stinks too - those red squiggly lines save me!), I'd apply for a position!
  • 2 Hide
    ta152h , January 16, 2012 9:26 PM
    mrmaiaWelcome to the world's best tech site, Chris. We readers are always wanting news!


    Welcome? He's been around for a while.

    I've talked him with a little, and can say he's a really great guy. Even tempered, objective, well-mannered, and very open minded. I wish I had his disposition. The one thing I will mention is that he actually DOES listen to what people say, and considers different opinions. A lot of people say they want your opinion, but really only do if it agrees with what their opinion already is. With him, you really can influence him and make a difference. I'll say it again, he does listen. He's also enjoyable to chat with. So, by all means, take him up on his offer, you can make a difference.
  • 4 Hide
    nerrawg , January 16, 2012 10:51 PM
    tgreaderChris Angelini, check the TechReport's new micro-stuttering tests for GPUs. They are analyzing the time it takes for a single frame to be rendered. Perhaps you'll find it useful for your tests.http://techreport.com/articles.x/21516


    Right on the money with that article tgreader, looks like measuring the 99 percentile frame time is much more informative than fps for SLI and CFX setups. I has no idea how deceptive those fps charts actually are in terms of microstutter.

    And of course great editorial Chris! Looking forward to 2012 on Toms Hardware!
  • 0 Hide
    cangelini , January 16, 2012 11:11 PM
    ta152hWelcome? He's been around for a while. I've talked him with a little, and can say he's a really great guy. Even tempered, objective, well-mannered, and very open minded. I wish I had his disposition. The one thing I will mention is that he actually DOES listen to what people say, and considers different opinions. A lot of people say they want your opinion, but really only do if it agrees with what their opinion already is. With him, you really can influence him and make a difference. I'll say it again, he does listen. He's also enjoyable to chat with. So, by all means, take him up on his offer, you can make a difference.

    Thank you, sir!
  • 1 Hide
    Onus , January 17, 2012 1:45 AM
    I'm almost tempted to get a Twitter account for the sole reason of keeping up with Chris and this site. I'm going to mull it over.
    I will say, if I didn't already have a good job, I'd be interested in that editorial position. I learned grammar and spelling the old fashioned way, and would like to believe most of it stuck pretty well. Not lately, but in past jobs I have been asked to do the writing for my workgroup...
    Anyway, of the various tech sites I visit, this is by far the most frequent.
  • -4 Hide
    Th_Redman , January 17, 2012 1:47 AM
    "Certain countries require entrants to solve a puzzle, creating a contest of skill. Other times, big customs duties make shipping prizes prohibitively expensive.

    As such, contests on tomshardware.com necessarily remain limited to our American audience. That’s the bad news. The good news is that we have Tom’s Hardware sites in France, England, Germany, Italy, Finland, Russia, and Turkey."

    What about Canada, your supposedly "great neighbours to the North"? When are we going to be allowed into your contests? Even if there are Customs tariffs, extra shipping costs etc., you, Tomshardware have a great following here and why so many other countries have contests and access to them...and we, Canada, again...your supposedly great neighbors, are excluded is a joke. Get on the ball in 2012, Tom's...or you will lose readers eventually. We are a "forgiving bunch", but up to a point!
  • 1 Hide
    cangelini , January 17, 2012 1:52 AM
    Th_Redman"Certain countries require entrants to solve a puzzle, creating a contest of skill. Other times, big customs duties make shipping prizes prohibitively expensive.As such, contests on tomshardware.com necessarily remain limited to our American audience. That’s the bad news. The good news is that we have Tom’s Hardware sites in France, England, Germany, Italy, Finland, Russia, and Turkey."What about Canada, your supposedly "great neighbours to the North"? When are we going to be allowed into your contests? Even if there are Customs tariffs, extra shipping costs etc., you, Tomshardware have a great following here and why so many other countries have contests and access to them...and we, Canada, again...your supposedly great neighbors, are excluded is a joke. Get on the ball in 2012, Tom's...or you will lose readers eventually. We are a "forgiving bunch", but up to a point!

    Physical proximity isn't the problem, unfortunately. Laws and regulations are. Believe me, it's a royal pain to ship back and forth between our SoCal offices and Don up in Winnipeg, but we'd certainly do it for contests if the lawyers would allow it!
  • 0 Hide
    Onus , January 17, 2012 1:54 AM
    Th_, I'm sure Chris was oversimplifying the issue of international winners. They're dealing with government bureaucrats and similar parasites who impose their will on others by force, not with persuasive Reasoning; meeting their requirements would be a crap-shoot, and losing could be extremely expensive.
  • 2 Hide
    mkrijt , January 17, 2012 5:38 AM
    tgreaderChris Angelini, check the TechReport's new micro-stuttering tests for GPUs. They are analyzing the time it takes for a single frame to be rendered. Perhaps you'll find it useful for your tests.http://techreport.com/articles.x/21516


    That was exactly what I was thinking :)  This would be a (very) valuable addition to the tests.
  • 0 Hide
    Mac_McMan , January 17, 2012 7:14 AM
    ta152hWelcome? He's been around for a while. I've talked him with a little, and can say he's a really great guy. Even tempered, objective, well-mannered, and very open minded. I wish I had his disposition. The one thing I will mention is that he actually DOES listen to what people say, and considers different opinions. A lot of people say they want your opinion, but really only do if it agrees with what their opinion already is. With him, you really can influence him and make a difference. I'll say it again, he does listen. He's also enjoyable to chat with. So, by all means, take him up on his offer, you can make a difference.
    Wow, no wonder Chris gets the love :p 
Display more comments