Sign in with
Sign up | Sign in

Super Talent And Wintec Industries

Triple-Channel DDR3: 6GB Kit Roundup
By

Super Talent DDR3-1333 CAS 8

When we invited companies to participate in today’s high-end memory comparison, we specifically stated that this would be an overclocking competition focusing on speed and capacity, and that price would not be a major consideration in our final assessment. Much of our publishing calendar was already devoted to value memory and a high-end comparison was long overdue. Nevertheless, these modules are only rated for DDR3-1333.

                  

At least the capacity is right. Part number WA133UX6G8 contains three 2.0 GB modules rated at CAS 8-8-8-24 timings. These timings would be good for a DDR3-1600 kit, but CAS 8 is slower at 667 MHz (DDR3-1333) than it is at 800 MHz (DDR3-1600). CAS latency is rated in cycles and faster memory has a shorter cycle time.

The highlight of this slower memory is that it automatically configures to DDR3-1333 at 1.50 V, requiring only the timings and voltage to be manually set in BIOS to reach rated performance levels. Super Talent took these parts a step further by adding a DDR3-1500 SPD configuration value. Perhaps the firm felt it could pull a value coup at the high-end with highly-overclockable parts? Our tests will determine the success of this tactic.

Super Talent backs its memory products with a limited lifetime warranty.

Wintec AMP-X DDR3-1600 CAS 8

Wintec uses its AMP-X line to beat better-known brands in high-end value, and its part number 3AHX1600C8WS6GTK, 6 GB triple-channel kit boasts high-end 8-8-8-24 rated timings for its DDR3-1600 rated speed. The company apparently realizes that extreme cooling isn’t needed at 1.65 V, and ordinary clip-on covers are the first sign of a product's function-before-form focus.

A maximum SPD automatic configuration value of 667 MHz (DDR3-1333) at CAS 9 hints that the modules are probably using highly-overclockable slower chips, but the moderate 1.65 V overclock rating still falls within Intel’s recommended limit. An XMP profile for DDR3-1600 CAS 8-8-8-24 at 1.65 V allows owners of XMP-capable motherboards to quickly set the kit to its rated overclock level in BIOS, while everyone else must fuss over individual settings to reach rated performance levels.

Wintec branded memory modules include a limited lifetime warranty.

Display all 41 comments.
This thread is closed for comments
  • 1 Hide
    arkadi , January 20, 2009 7:17 AM
    Grate article!
    What was always bothering me about ram reviews is how much memory speed/timing will really impact on system performance. I it is a lot of work I know, but it was never covered.
  • 0 Hide
    neiroatopelcc , January 20, 2009 7:35 AM
    From ArticleOf course, we needed a Core i7 processor, but not just any processor would do. While most reviewers are stuck with engineering samples that only support DDR2-800 and DDR2-1066 ratios (3x and 4x base clock, times two), our retail sample supports data rates all the way up to 2,133 MHz (8x base clock, times two).


    I could be wrong, but shouldn't it be ddr3 ? I'm not aware of i7 supporting ddr2?
  • 0 Hide
    Crashman , January 20, 2009 8:46 AM
    neiroatopelccI could be wrong, but shouldn't it be ddr3 ? I'm not aware of i7 supporting ddr2?


    Heheh, looks like it's been edited.
  • 0 Hide
    azone , January 20, 2009 10:01 AM
    I wounder if amd will do quad channel with its am3 motherboards or even dual 128 bit channels. that would be cool. Just something to beats intels triple 64bit channels.
  • 1 Hide
    Proximon , January 20, 2009 10:48 AM
    Good info. Would have been nice to see at least one real world benchmark.
  • 0 Hide
    goryachev , January 20, 2009 12:29 PM
    Great article. Thanks.
  • -1 Hide
    Gian124 , January 20, 2009 2:04 PM
    Anyone know the difference between the following
    Kingston HyperX T1 Series Kits:
    KHX16000D3T1K3/6GX
    KHX16000D3ULT1K3/6GX

    What does the UL signify?... would it benchmark the same as the former (which was tested in this article)?
  • -1 Hide
    Anonymous , January 20, 2009 2:23 PM
    'The current problem is one of voltage.'
    I loled at that.. maybe it's too early in the morning for me :D 
  • 3 Hide
    hexploit , January 20, 2009 3:19 PM
    Interesting just how few people give a damn about DDR3 at this point.
    I guess many are a: Not wowed by i7 like they were core2 and b: Laugh and the prices of DDR3 at a time when DDR2 is not only still very fast relative to the software/games on the market but is dirt cheap.
  • 0 Hide
    Crashman , January 20, 2009 4:31 PM
    Gian124Anyone know the difference between the following Kingston HyperX T1 Series Kits:KHX16000D3T1K3/6GXKHX16000D3ULT1K3/6GXWhat does the UL signify?... would it benchmark the same as the former (which was tested in this article)?


    They may have changed the name.
  • 1 Hide
    Gian124 , January 20, 2009 5:25 PM
    The response I got from Kingston:
    =======================================================================
    Kingston part number KHX16000D3ULT1K3/6GX is a DDR3 PC3-16000 memory module running at 2000MHz.

    Kingston part number KHX16000D3T1K3/6GX is not a valid Kingston part number. Did you mean to ask about Kingston part number KHX16000D3T1K3/3GX?
    =======================================================================

    Either Tom's had a typo, and this is really only a 3GB (1GBx3) kit, or it is not released for resale yet (e.g. the sales reps don't have that part number available to them). The *only* 6GB kit I saw had the UL designation.

  • 0 Hide
    Crashman , January 20, 2009 6:02 PM
    Gian124The response I got from Kingston:=======================================================================Kingston part number KHX16000D3ULT1K3/6GX is a DDR3 PC3-16000 memory module running at 2000MHz. Kingston part number KHX16000D3T1K3/6GX is not a valid Kingston part number. Did you mean to ask about Kingston part number KHX16000D3T1K3/3GX? =======================================================================Either Tom's had a typo, and this is really only a 3GB (1GBx3) kit, or it is not released for resale yet (e.g. the sales reps don't have that part number available to them). The *only* 6GB kit I saw had the UL designation.


    I guess now you want a copy of the invoice? Tom's didn't make a mistake, but it's possible Kingston might have changed the part number after sending the kit.
  • 1 Hide
    epsiloneri , January 20, 2009 6:09 PM
    In CPU reviews it is often pointed out that the overclockability of any particular CPU depends on the particular CPU sample, and that results may differ strongly between CPUs of the same model. Why does this not apply to memory modules?
  • 0 Hide
    Gian124 , January 20, 2009 6:21 PM
    nah, not harping on mistakes or anything, just that Kingston is saying they do not have a 2GBx3 kit with those series available.

    Reason I'm asking: Building a new system this week and looking to purchase THIS ram (the Benchmark champion, Kingston HyperX T1 series 6GB kit per this article).

    I know the article said you can't find this anywhere, I was merely asking Kingston for when this ram might become available.
  • 2 Hide
    mdma35 , January 20, 2009 6:47 PM
    mushkin FTW again great price/performance value as always
  • 2 Hide
    billiardicus , January 20, 2009 6:49 PM
    Tom's,

    But what about performance in areas that count? I want to know if DDR3 2000 gives me more FPS than DDR3 1066 in games (Crysis, COD: WaW, FC2, etc). Because what I've seen so far, the answer is no or very very little.
  • 2 Hide
    Crashman , January 20, 2009 6:50 PM
    epsiloneriIn CPU reviews it is often pointed out that the overclockability of any particular CPU depends on the particular CPU sample, and that results may differ strongly between CPUs of the same model. Why does this not apply to memory modules?


    It does apply to memory modules, but to a lesser extent. If you overclock six sets of modules with identical specs, you usually get a varience of around 20MHz.

    Gian124Building a new system this week and looking to purchase THIS ram (the Benchmark champion, Kingston HyperX T1 series 6GB kit per this article).I know the article said you can't find this anywhere, I was merely asking Kingston for when this ram might become available.


    Because both are rated at 2000 MHz CAS 8-8-8 1.65V, the most likely scenario is that Kingston sent its test module set to THG first, then altered the model number BEFORE making them available. That would mean the original model number never even made it into the stocking system. Since that's the most likely scenario, I wouldn't have any problem buying the parts with the UL designation.
  • 1 Hide
    Gian124 , January 20, 2009 6:53 PM
    coolio! Thanks Crashman!!!
  • 1 Hide
    marraco , January 20, 2009 8:21 PM
    Wonderful. Nice Article.
    I are preparing a XY chart with Price-Performance based on that data, to post here soon.

    Now, This article need a second part, Real world benchmarck, and bus overclocking limits on the wonderful P6T Deluxe.
  • 1 Hide
    Lurker87 , January 20, 2009 8:49 PM
    Guys, seriously, thank you for this article. I was talking about how I really wanted a good test between all the top ddr3 6gb sticks. But most of all, I wanted to see if those Mushkins were as good as I was hoping they were. This has made my decision so much easier. Thanks everyone!
Display more comments