Sign in with
Sign up | Sign in

Bowers & Wilkins MM-1

Premium Two-Channel PC Speaker Roundup
By

PC enthusiasts might not be familiar with B&W, as it only just released its first purpose-built computer speakers. But Bowers & Wilkins is no stranger to audiophiles. This UK-based company has been producing high-end speakers since the 1960s, and when it comes to price, the MM-1s definitely define the high-end with a $499.95 buy-in. These speakers come with a two-year warranty, which is par for the course when it comes to premium speakers, but less than we’d hope for based on cost.

The MM-1 speaker system is undeniably attractive with brushed metal accents and a flat black cloth covering. Each enclosure houses a 1” tube-loaded tweeter and 3” long-throw driver. Take note of the size, because the other products in this roundup have larger (or twice as many) drivers. The enclosures feel very sturdy compared to the competition, and there’s some weight to them, despite the compact dimensions measuring less than 7” tall and about 4” in diameter.

The MM-1s come with an A/C adapter power cable, a five-foot long 1/8” mini-jack input cable, and a five-foot long USB cable. Why would PC speakers come with a USB cable? Because this kit employs a built-in DAC. The B&W MM-1 can actually bypass the sound hardware in your PC and convert the digital data into analog sound internally. Our tests show that this can improve the frequency response compared to a sub-par integrated audio codec.

The left enclosure’s input cable is permanently attached, but it can be removed from its plug on the bottom of the right enclosure for setup. There are even some cable-routing placements under the right speaker to keep the installation clean.

Also included is an attractive seven-function remote that allows limited control of the next, previous, and pause/play functions of your PC playback software when you’re using the USB input. The remote is always able to control power, volume, and mute, regardless of the input used.

The auxiliary 1/8” input jack is on the back of the right enclosure, just below the headphone output. The USB and auxiliary inputs work at the same time. 

The remote has most of the control functionality, but there are also built-in volume buttons built in to the right enclosure. This control is beautifully integrated into the speaker design. But for the steep asking price, we’re somewhat disappointed in the lack of bass or treble adjustments with the MM-1.

Ask a Category Expert

Create a new thread in the Reviews comments forum about this subject

Example: Notebook, Android, SSD hard drive

Display all 78 comments.
This thread is closed for comments
  • 2 Hide
    Anonymous , January 19, 2011 4:16 AM
    Has the reviewer heard of Audioengine A2 speakers? They are outstanding 2 channel speakers for $199.
  • 0 Hide
    Randomacts , January 19, 2011 4:21 AM
    No love for the budget minded folk?
  • 3 Hide
    Harby , January 19, 2011 4:43 AM
    jdmiHas the reviewer heard of Audioengine A2 speakers? They are outstanding 2 channel speakers for $199.


    Indeed, A2s are really good, though a bit on the weak side with 30 watts. But since you went with B&W you could have tested Audioengine A5s which are insanely awesome and cheaper than B&W's at ~$325.
  • 1 Hide
    gostumpy , January 19, 2011 4:59 AM
    Large knob that feels quick robust? ;) 
  • 0 Hide
    dEAne , January 19, 2011 5:20 AM
    I like that Bowers & Wilkins MM-1 - but yes theirs a bit lacking to the design.
  • -1 Hide
    sparky2010 , January 19, 2011 5:52 AM
    I'm really happy with my 4 year old creative soundworks 7.1 system... until now it still offers great sound, and having true 7.1 really rocks, especially in FPS... although i'm considering the logitech z5500.. hat sounds amazing and looks even better...
  • 0 Hide
    icehot , January 19, 2011 5:55 AM
    Nice review, I bought the Creative Gigaworks T40 Series II about 4 months ago, and have loved them, the sound is superb.
  • 0 Hide
    titaniumsquirrel , January 19, 2011 7:15 AM
    The AV 40s were the first speakers I've ever owned that failed on me. I don't care how good they sound if reliability is an issue. I'm never purchasing another M-Audio product. Decided to go with a pair of Gigaworks refurbs for a fraction of the price afterward and have been very pleased.
  • -4 Hide
    hardcore_gamer , January 19, 2011 7:19 AM
    2.0 is way too low.For gamers, a 5.1 is the minimum requirement.
  • 0 Hide
    megatron46 , January 19, 2011 7:23 AM
    Nice Speakers but i like my Monitor Audio RX8 teamed with Definitive Technology Supercube I sub and Cambridge Audio Azur 840A Amp.......
  • 0 Hide
    Anonymous , January 19, 2011 7:55 AM
    Too bad the nuberts arent out yet
  • 1 Hide
    Anonymous , January 19, 2011 8:22 AM
    Well, I'm not a hardcore gamer, but I'm well into music. I tried lots of 'computer' speakers, only to find that none comes close to even sub-par 'hifi' speakers.
    So, I went for a pair of Mackie MR8 - which are pro audio monitors. They're not much more expensive than high-end PC speakers - but it's a totally different world in any respect: sound quality, power, you name it.
    If you're serious about sound, check them - they're discounted everywhere.
    By the way, I'm driving them with a Fucusrite Saffire Pro24 DSP: a killer combination.
  • 0 Hide
    Alvin Smith , January 19, 2011 9:46 AM
    KRK Systems RP5G2 Rokit G2 Powered Studio Monitor - 5 inch, 75 Watts

    http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16882280001&cm_re=krk-_-82-280-001-_-Product

    Just Better.

  • 2 Hide
    JohnnyLucky , January 19, 2011 10:25 AM
    My pc is connected to my old audio receiver & speakers through a fiber optic cable. The sound is outstanding.
  • 0 Hide
    jeverson , January 19, 2011 10:31 AM
    For that kind of money I would rather just get this...

    http://www.klipsch.com/na-en/products/promedia-2-1-overview/

    That way I also get a dedicated sub.
  • 3 Hide
    Yargnit , January 19, 2011 10:37 AM
    Hopefully we'll see a 5.1+ article soon as well. I have a Logitech z5500 that I use for PC as well as TV and Xbox, and I'd love to see how other surround systems stack up.

    I do find it odd that you'd include a $500 2 speaker setup, yet you don't include any systems in the ~$50 range. It seems like $500 2 speaker systems is a very niche market, my 5.1 system cost less than that, and it can function as a home theater system as well. It would be interesting however to throw a cheap system in there to see if there is a big difference. The $100 and $500 seemed amazingly close.
  • 1 Hide
    orodreth , January 19, 2011 10:39 AM
    The article should have provided additional parameters around which the selections were determined (unless you sampled only speakers that manufacturers were giving you for free in exchange for the review... though that would be nice to know). Price is probably the number one differentiation that consumers would consider. Then you have physical dimensions, power, inputs/outputs, and perhaps frequency response, which would be the collection of main factors that might categorize purchasing decisions.

    The only two criteria cited were 2.0 configuration and "pc speakers" which would presume that all of the samples had to have their own internal powered amplifier. If you were trying to get a sampling amongst a wide price range, your sample size is too small, though that might also be due to the limited vendor options noted.

    THG, you can be more comprehensive than this. You guys do Video Card reviews by price bracket and you're claiming sound is the big #2 sense used in computer use. You could do 2.0 speakers in two or three price brackets, 2.1 speakers in the same brackets and 5.1 or 7.1 in same brackets. We know you have the intelligence and enthusiasm :) 
  • 0 Hide
    Zoonie , January 19, 2011 10:45 AM
    Harman/Kardon's Soundsticks should've definitely been a part of this roundup :) 
  • 0 Hide
    cyrusfox , January 19, 2011 10:49 AM
    RandomactsNo love for the budget minded folk?


    While a bit of a pain to set up in Windows 7, these are great for the budget lover
    http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16836157008

    LOGISYS Computer SP8000BK 4.1 Speakers for $30 from newegg.

    Or you could go the other route, and just use a receiver and hand select your own speakers. Unfortunately it is hard to find nice used receivers at a decent price.
  • 0 Hide
    wasupmike , January 19, 2011 11:20 AM
    agree with how good the M-Audio speakers sound... ya, they're a bit pricey... but they're that good sounding - especially good for 'audio professionals'

    so if it's within anyone's budget... they're very worth considering - even over more complex setups (like 2.1)
Display more comments