Sign in with
Sign up | Sign in

The Panel

Ubuntu 11.04 (Natty Narwhal), Reviewed In Depth
By

While the Unity Panel may appear similar to the upper panel in previous versions of Ubuntu, it functions very differently. First and foremost, the Unity Panel cannot be customized. Quick launchers and applets cannot be added, and the position of Panel elements are locked in place. In fact, there's no more right-click functionality, period. The bulk of the Panel (where most launchers and applets used to go) is reserved for a Mac OS-style global menu. The combined Applications/Places/System menu is replaced by the Ubuntu button, which activates Dash.

The Panel in Unity is composed of three main areas: indicators, global menu, and Dash. Let's take a look at how each element of the new Panel functions, starting with the familiar-looking indicators.

Indicators

At first glance, the indicators on the far-right end of the Panel look largely unchanged from Ubuntu 10.10. But upon further comparison, the changes are significant. Unity's effort to save screen real estate and push uniformity also hits the indicators. The icons are now closer together than in 11.04 Classic and previous versions of Ubuntu. The WiFi and battery life icons are slightly larger, and are equal in size to the other indicator icons.

The sequence of the indicators remains the same. From right to left: login/logout, user messaging/social status, time/date/calendar, mail/message notifier, volume controls, connectivity status, battery life, Bluetooth, and application-specific indicator controls. As usual, clicking an indicator icon produces a drop-down menu of related options. The only two differences we found in the Ubuntu 11.04 indicator menus are the addition of System Settings to the end of the login/logout indicator menu (explained earlier), and the omission of a weather option in the time/date/calendar indicator.

Under the surface, the indicators get more interesting. In Natty Narwhal, indicators can now passively convey information by changing color. While colored indicators aren't anything new, they now have uniform and clearly-defined meanings. The definitions of these color-coded indicators are displayed in the table below, in descending order, from most to least urgent:

Color
Definition
Red
Critical Issue/Action
Orange
Critical Warning
Blue
Contains Information
Green
OK/Approved
Grey/Theme Default
Neutral/No Status


Both red and orange indicators usually refer to system-level events, while blue and green mainly concern applications. When indicators turn red, a critical issue is present. This usually means that some form of action is needed from the user. For example, the login/logout indicator may turn red because a restart is required to complete a major kernel update. Indicators turn orange for critical warnings. Unlike critical issues, critical warnings do not require action from the user. Indicators that turn blue contain new, non-critical information. The mail/messaging indicator may turn blue if there are new items in one of the attached applications or services. Green indicators mean something is OK or approved. When indicators have nothing to report, they remain grey, or they use the theme default color if you changed themes.

Global Menu

If you haven't used a Mac operating system in the last quarter-century, the global menu won't be a familiar concept. Essentially, the global menu is a menu bar in a different location. Usually, the menu bar is located in-between the window title bar and the application toolbars.

The other way to display the File, Edit, View, and Help options is in a global menu. In operating systems that employ a global menu, the menu bar of each application is not housed within the application's window. Instead, the operating system must provide an ever-present, dedicated menu bar. As in Mac OS X, the upper Panel in Ubuntu 11.04 houses the menu bar items of the currently-selected application.

In contrast to OS X, the global menu in Unity behaves differently depending on whether or not there is an active application present, and if that application is windowed or maximized.

No Active Application

When there are no active applications present (the desktop is in the foreground), the area of the Panel between Dash and the indicators is empty. Hovering the mouse cursor over the middle section of the Panel brings up the desktop global menu.

The File, Edit, and View menus hold all the right-click functions available to the desktop and objects on the desktop. The Places menu contains quick links to folders and connected devices, much like the Places section of the old Applications/Places/System menu in previous versions of Ubuntu. While there is an option to Add Bookmark, it doesn't appear to work. Additional items can still be added to the Places menu by dragging them to the Places side pane in the Nautilus file manager, just like in previous versions of Ubuntu.

Windowed Active Application

The name of the currently-active application is located in the Panel just to the right of Dash when it's windowed. The name of the file, Web page, or folder being viewed in the active application appears in the window title bar just to the right of the window controls. Hovering the mouse cursor over the middle area of the Panel fades the application's name (past the first seven characters) to reveal the global menu bar items.

Maximized Active Application

When an application is maximized, the window title bar combines with the Panel. Window controls now appear to the right of Dash, followed by the name of the file/page/folder being viewed in the active application. Hovering the mouse to the middle area of the Panel replaces the file/page/folder name with the global menu bar items.

Ask a Category Expert

Create a new thread in the Reviews comments forum about this subject

Example: Notebook, Android, SSD hard drive

Display all 123 comments.
This thread is closed for comments
  • 4 Hide
    jryan388 , June 10, 2011 4:25 AM
    One problem I faced with the standard unity desktop is the horrible performance even on my Athlon II @ 3.6 and Radeon 5750. I upgraded on launch day, so maybe canonical fixed it by now, but the performance was absolutely abysmal. The easiest fix is the unity-2d package. Great performance, doesn't look any worse.
  • 5 Hide
    ksa-_-jed , June 10, 2011 4:30 AM
    U should add more distros to the benchmarks like Debian, Fedora, and open SUSE.
  • 0 Hide
    shiftmx112 , June 10, 2011 4:32 AM
    Meh is exactly how I described 10.10 Still gonna try Unity.
  • 3 Hide
    Yuka , June 10, 2011 4:34 AM
    11.04 sucks; plain and simple.

    Power users can do little to nothing to fix things between gnome3 and the buggy Unity.

    I wouldn't even bother with 11.04 when 10.04 is rock solid.

    Cheers!
  • 1 Hide
    davewolfgang , June 10, 2011 4:45 AM
    I tried the upgrade, but unity is blech. I am still using the upgrade, but doing the classic.

    But I may go back to 10.10 for my EeePC.
  • 0 Hide
    adamovera , June 10, 2011 4:53 AM
    jryan388One problem I faced with the standard unity desktop is the horrible performance even on my Athlon II @ 3.6 and Radeon 5750. I upgraded on launch day, so maybe canonical fixed it by now, but the performance was absolutely abysmal. The easiest fix is the unity-2d package. Great performance, doesn't look any worse.

    Wow, that isn't right, the old X2 test system which has a considerably older Nvidia card runs it great. What's the full specs?
  • 0 Hide
    adamovera , June 10, 2011 4:56 AM
    ksa-_-jedU should add more distros to the benchmarks like Debian, Fedora, and open SUSE.

    Fedora 15/GNOME 3 coming up next. I have never had any luck whatsoever with openSUSE, will keep trying new versions as they come out though.
  • 2 Hide
    bellman80 , June 10, 2011 4:58 AM
    I tried 11.04. Unity was more annoying than useful. I installed the new Linux Mint instead, I'm a happy camper now.
  • 1 Hide
    Tamz_msc , June 10, 2011 5:14 AM
    I'm going to stick with 10.04, because it has been running rock-solid without a glitch for almost a year. It was able to find drivers for my on-board audio which even Windows 7 could not find.

    Unity is not my cup of tea., though I'm looking forward to GNOME 3.0.

    Till then Lucid Lynx FTW!
  • 1 Hide
    RogueKitsune , June 10, 2011 5:20 AM
    Unity is a nice idea, but not my cup of tea. Overall I am happy with the changes in 11.04. Right now i have my laptop(AMD Turion x2, radeon x1200)running it with no problems(everything worked out of the box)
  • 0 Hide
    Filiprino , June 10, 2011 5:31 AM
    Well, Unity is a plug-in of Compiz so if you install Compiz-config GUI you can configure more options and a bunch of effects, window management utilites and shortcuts.
  • 0 Hide
    3ul , June 10, 2011 6:21 AM
    I think the performance issue in unity 3d is due to the vsync(not sure the name right or wrong) is on by default in compiz setting. Turning this off should fix the performance problem. This issue mostly affected by AMD card.

    BTW unity imo have bright future. This is 1st public release so expect some bugs. By the time unity matured, its going to be a great shell for gnome..
  • 0 Hide
    antemon , June 10, 2011 6:25 AM
    I'm still waiting for better games for linux

    hope the big names in the industry follow suit with indie devs on this...
  • 1 Hide
    haplo602 , June 10, 2011 6:36 AM
    running the xubuntu variant so not bothered by unity. however ubuntu in general is a bloated mess. the only thing I like is automounter works out of the box.

    However I switched graphics cards and getting it to run again was not automatic. I expected a bit more :) 
  • 1 Hide
    razor512 , June 10, 2011 8:56 AM
    the os is good but the UI sucks.

    The unity crap bar makes it hard to launch multiple windows of a program, requiring you to basically use options built into the program to open another window

    the side bar is annoying, when ever you go to click on something on the left side of the window, you can easily accidentally bring out that annoying menu

    the search bar is annoying and will at most drive new users away from ubuntu. Since it requires you to search for things, for a novice user if you don't know what specific option you are looking for but want to discover the options, this makes it hard to do.

    while hardware support has been getting better, the Os has also been getting slower overall. They need to shift their focus from bloat to speed.

    they need to take a lesson from professional software makers. Most new professional apps, eg check out the latest adobe audition or photoshop or maya 3d or the mental ray render engine
    Performance is always improved on the same hardware

    An upgrade is not really a upgrade if you are losing performance.

    Would you "upgrade" from a GTX480 to a GTX460?
  • -1 Hide
    killerclick , June 10, 2011 9:03 AM
    Linux shouldn't try to be a desktop OS for grandma.

    It's strong in the server segment, it's nearly ubiquitous in the supercomputer segment and Android is now a force in the mobile market. It should build on that and leave the desktop market to Windows and OSX.
  • 5 Hide
    DSpider , June 10, 2011 9:34 AM
    killerclickLinux shouldn't try to be a desktop OS for grandma.It's strong in the server segment, it's nearly ubiquitous in the supercomputer segment and Android is now a force in the mobile market. It should build on that and leave the desktop market to Windows and OSX.

    Why ? Linux can look like both of them and can do much more. OS for grandma ? Hahahaha. Don't compare Ubuntu to Linux in general. You think grandma can install Arch Linux or Gentoo ?
  • 7 Hide
    Spanky Deluxe , June 10, 2011 9:48 AM
    I made the mistake of trying Ubuntu 11.04 a few weeks ago when I needed a Linux distro for my CUDA development machine. Can't believe the joke of a GUI that they're using now, Unity is one of the worst user experiences I've ever had. Took me ages to just find where to change the screen resolution - the search terms I put into the search box didn't bring it up. After a few hours I uninstalled it. I gave Fedora a try too but Gnome 3 wasn't much better in terms of usability. In the end I went back to good old Scientific Linux with it's 'traditional' Linux GUI.

    I don't know what these Linux folk are thinking. It seems they're trying to force GUIs that are only useful on Netbooks on everyone. Trust me, a Netbook GUI is a pile of poo on a 2560x1600 display - let alone a 3 monitor setup.

    I don't really understand the point in the whole oversimplification thing either. There is no way in hell that I would ever recommend Linux to any non 'pro' user. Not because of how complicated it may be, which they're trying to do away with here, but because a non 'pro' user would struggle to get support and would struggle to get the software they want. Windows is hardly a big premium on computer costs these days and besides which, if it were for a grandma who'd never used a computer before then I'd get her an iPad instead.

    It really looks like the movers and shakers behind these big Linux distros are disillusioned as to who their customers or potential customers are and they're messing up the GUI for the people that know and love Linux in a vain attempt to encourage a tiny tiny minority of new users. Linux as a whole just went seriously down in my regard.
  • 1 Hide
    winco , June 10, 2011 10:00 AM
    Still no "shutdown when idle" power management? A big big drawback for me adopting Linux.
  • 2 Hide
    burnley14 , June 10, 2011 10:42 AM
    This should be the desktop background on a loop:

    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=ykwqXuMPsoc
Display more comments