Sign in with
Sign up | Sign in

DoubleSight DS-277W (27" IPS)

Three 27" IPS LCDs: UltraSharp U2711, DS-277W, And MultiSync PA271W
By

DoubleSight is a smaller company specializing in high-end displays. The company doesn't sell Dell's the same volume as Dell, so you'll typically find its 27" DS-277W priced a little higher than the U2711 (although a quick scan through our price engine reveals this isn't always the case). Additionally, we've seen rebates and promotions that make DoubleSight monitors even less expensive. 

With that said, there's nothing cheap about the displays themselves. DoubleSight opts for an industrial design; the DS-277W is encased completely in a black brushed aluminum bezel mounted on a plastic base.

The connectivity suite is very similar to Dell's U2711, except that you get one more VGA port in lieu of a second DVI-D connection, and there's no DisplayPort input.

More noticeably, DoubleSight uses an external power brick, which adds another component to the list of cables to manage. In practice, this isn't much of an inconvenience, since the monitor is stationary. However, the implementation itself is somewhat lacking. During a brownout, all of the monitors powered themselves back up except for the DS-277W. It seems that any power interruption trips a circuit in the brick, requiring that you unplug the adapter for a moments before you plug it back in. We like that DoubleSight adds an additional layer of protection, but the process shouldn't require manual intervention.

Configuring the DS-277W through its OSD is easy, but a little unnatural. The buttons located on the bottom edge of the display are incredibly sensitive due to DoubleSight's use of capacitive sensors. You only need to brush your finger over them to bring up the menu. Ideally, we'd like to see sensitivity dialed down. If you touch a button even slightly outside of its outline, there are times when the screen picks up an incorrect command.

Display all 58 comments.
This thread is closed for comments
  • -2 Hide
    terr281 , August 11, 2011 5:17 AM
    What monitors to review next?... As many people said in the review of the 22" TN panels from your last review, the next review should include "enthusiast available" ~23" panels. (Instead of just big box "Buy from Best Buy" models.)

    The lowest price of the three 22" TN panel monitors you reviewed was $180. A quick Newegg search shows several similar panels from names such as Acer, Asus, etc. starting at $140. (And, in the gaming, as well as office environments, 2 or 3 monitors are now more common than one single large one.)
  • 1 Hide
    nevertell , August 11, 2011 5:27 AM
    IPS vs VA in gaming.

    Although just a regular sum up of the available 22-24 VA panels would be great.
  • 2 Hide
    Anonymous , August 11, 2011 5:49 AM
    Thank you for the excellent and thorough review. Perhaps next time, the new Apple 27" Thunderbolt display can be thrown into the mix. For a lot of video and photography pros like myself, the Apple display is considered to be the "standard" and I would love to see how it stacks up again the competition. Also maybe throw in a professional level Eizo display as well to show the difference between a ~$1000 display and a $3000 display.
  • 4 Hide
    Anonymous , August 11, 2011 5:57 AM
    The new Apple Thunderbolt 27" display - would be nice to see if it's worth the money
  • 8 Hide
    Anonymous , August 11, 2011 6:03 AM
    120hz monitors lead the way

    You should review a 2560x1600 120hz IPS monitor.

    Oh wait...
    2560x1600 isn't supported at 120hz over DVI-D (dual link)
    IPS monitors can't do 120hz with today's technology

    Bummer!

    :( 

    F
  • 5 Hide
    agnickolov , August 11, 2011 6:16 AM
    I'd recommend the same IPS review applied on affordable 24-26" monitors that most of us would actually potentially buy. It's nice to dream about 27"+ 2560x1440, but let's get back to reality with 24" 1920x1080 and 1920x1200 (if still available) IPS monitors please. (At least until higher resolutions enter mainstream price points.)
  • 0 Hide
    crisan_tiberiu , August 11, 2011 7:04 AM
    I have a 22" Philips LED Backlight monitor and i am very happy with it . I dont see any Philips monitors in any of your reviews, why is that? :) 
  • 0 Hide
    boletus , August 11, 2011 7:25 AM
    Nice roundup, it had me measuring what a 26" wide monitor would look like on my desk. However, you need to fix the title block in the table for the NEC monitor on the "Black And White Uniformity" page (it says Samsung S22A350H).
  • 0 Hide
    soccerdocks , August 11, 2011 7:38 AM
    On the "Black And White Uniformity, Viewing Angles" page the 3rd table states that it is for the Samsung S22A350H when it is actually for the NEC.
  • 1 Hide
    Anonymous , August 11, 2011 8:29 AM
    Thank you for this comparison, very interesting reading!

    I am somewhat disappointed that 27" monitors nowadays don't use 2560*1600 panels.
    That resolution makes much more sense to me for a monitor that is not targetted at the average consumer.
    Personally I would love a 2560*1920 (or 2048) screen @ 120Hz, but if I understand correctly link speed becomes an issue here.

    Why is it that displays for mobile phones are increasing in pixel density, but desktop displays don't improve in this regard?

    For a next review I would really like to get a better understanding of (high-resolution) 120Hz monitors. What are the (dis)advantages of 120Hz for regular/2D usage, etc...
  • 0 Hide
    Jax69 , August 11, 2011 8:59 AM
    wait for Samsung's PLS and other iterations of the panel from different brands.
  • -3 Hide
    pirateboy , August 11, 2011 9:47 AM
    please review Asus PA246Q and any other 24 inch 16:10 screens you can get your hands on...please don't review anymore 16:9 screens
  • 0 Hide
    bavman , August 11, 2011 12:40 PM
    I wish i could afford one of these beautiful monitors =(
  • 0 Hide
    jacobdrj , August 11, 2011 1:14 PM
    30" Dell IPS, Apple Cinima Display, IMac 27/30" display, TV's for use as TV monitors. 3d Monitors. Quad LCD monitors (RGB+Yellow)... Projectors, including lag time...

    CNet used to do stuff like this, so did PC Mag. They stopped. Bothers me. I have to rely totally on Amazon/Newegg/TigerDirect user reviews for screen info.
  • 1 Hide
    Soul_keeper , August 11, 2011 1:44 PM
    "But then there are the folks who simply prefer a single workspace and ultra-high resolutions."
    ^^ me
  • 1 Hide
    lbwmoo , August 11, 2011 2:33 PM
    I too would like a better explanation on the issue of pixel density. In 2002 you could order a laptop from dell with a 15" UXGA screen with 1600x1200 resolution. It was a gorgeous screen then, and doesn't look bad now. Standalone desktop monitors, however, with that resolution start at 20" minimum. You can get 1920x1080 at screen sizes starting around 21.5" and ranging to 27" that I've seen in stores. Are there benefits to packing the same resolution into the smaller package, such as smaller pixels leading to crisper image? Is there a "sweet spot" to this resolution that balances pixel size and density vs overall space?

    It seems that 1920x1080 is the new norm, which is annoying because I don't see why I should have to give up vertical resolution just to fit the standard of the current high definition videos. 16x9 vs. 16x10 is a debate right now for me. I would rather have 16x10 because more screen real estate is better, but it seems that the 16x10 front has stagnated. All the new goodies are going into 16x9, with the exception of the 30" 2560x1600 models.
  • 0 Hide
    pirateboy , August 11, 2011 3:21 PM
    jacobdrj30" Dell IPS, Apple Cinima Display, IMac 27/30" display, TV's for use as TV monitors. 3d Monitors. Quad LCD monitors (RGB+Yellow)... Projectors, including lag time...CNet used to do stuff like this, so did PC Mag. They stopped. Bothers me. I have to rely totally on Amazon/Newegg/TigerDirect user reviews for screen info.


    here is an excellent screen review site
    http://www.prad.de/en/monitore/index2.html
  • -1 Hide
    ram1009 , August 11, 2011 3:38 PM
    These hi res monitors are just another case of diminishing returns. You spend several times the dollars as you would on equivilent standard res monitors for a fractional improvement in performance. These are definitely not main stream items. The last time I looked Newegg only offered one monitor in this res range.
  • 1 Hide
    tmax , August 11, 2011 4:26 PM
    Nice monitors but way too much money.
  • 0 Hide
    compton , August 11, 2011 5:35 PM
    Thanks for your excellent review, Andrew. I'd like to see a 24" roundup of IPS/e-IPS. Dell has their new 2412 16:10 24" e-IPS paneled Ultrasharp out, but it's not high gamut like the 2410 and especially the 2408 (which is S-PVA, fantastic, and not for everyone). e-IPS is marching on to higher adoption, and it would be great to see how these e-IPS displays stack up.
Display more comments