Sign in with
Sign up | Sign in

Asus P5E3 Premium WiFi-AP @n (Update)

X48 Motherboard Comparison, Part 2
By

We already reviewed the P5E3 Premium WiFi-AP @n edition motherboard in our original X48 Motherboard Comparison, or at least we thought we had. Asus later revealed a completely new circuit board, trickily given the same “revision number.” Because the review samples were not the same as the retail units, we secured the later version for a retest.

x48 motherboard comparison

What is most noticeably different about the P5E3 Premium WiFi-AP @n Edition retail samples is a missing PCI-Express x1 slot in the top position. Some of the capacitors have also been moved around, and we have no idea what changes might be beneath the surface.

Asus P5E3 Premium WiFi-AP @n Edition (Revision 2.00G)
Northbridge Intel X48 Express MCH
Southbridge Intel ICH9R
Voltage Regulator Eight Phases
BIOS 0401 (04/03/2008)
333.3 MHz (FSB1333) 334.0 MHz (+0.2%)
Clock Generator ICS 9LPRS918HKL
Connectors and Interfaces
Onboard 3x PCIe x16 (Modes: Two x16: One x4/x1)
1x PCIe x1
2x PCI
2x USB 2.0 (2 ports per connector)
1x IEEE-1394 FireWire
1x Serial Port header
1x Floppy
1x Ultra ATA (2 drives)
6x Serial ATA 3.0Gb/s
1x Front Panel Audio
1x CD-Audio In
1x S/P-DIF Out
1x Fan 4 pins (CPU)
5x Fan 3 pins (Chassis/Power)
IO panel 1x PS2 (keyboard )
2x RJ-45 Network
6x USB 2.0
2x External SATA
1x IEEE-1394 FireWire
2x Digital Audio Out (S/P-DIF optical + coaxial)
6x Analog Audio (7.1 Channel + Mic-In + Line-In)
2x WiFi Antenna Connectors
Mass Storage Controllers
Intel ICH9R 6x SATA 3.0Gb/s (RAID 0,1,5,10)
JMicron JMB363 PCI-E 1x Ultra ATA-133 (2-drives)
2x External SATA 3.0Gb/s (RAID 0, 1 JBOD)
Network
Marvell 88E8056-NNC1 PCI-E Gigabit LAN Connection
Realtek RTL8110SC PCI Gigabit LAN Connection
Ralink RT2770F USB 802.11n/g/b Wireless Network Interface
Audio
ADI 1988B HD Audio Codec 7.1 + 2 channel Multi-Streaming Output
FireWire
Agere L-FW3227-100 PCI 2x IEEE-1394a (400 Mb/s)

We’re only focusing the P5E3 Premium WiFi-AP coverage on changes, but we did find one in BIOS: Asus has added separate GTL Reference voltage adjustments for each CPU core.

x48 motherboard comparison

Readers not yet familiar with the P5E3 Premium WiFi-AP can look back to our previous review for details on the things that haven’t changed in the retail circuit board revision.

Ask a Category Expert

Create a new thread in the Reviews comments forum about this subject

Example: Notebook, Android, SSD hard drive

Display all 9 comments.
This thread is closed for comments
  • 5 Hide
    nihility , May 31, 2008 8:23 AM
    I thought the major concern with overclocking was doing it with 4 GB or 8 GB of memory installed and with quad cores.
    Buying an overly expensive high end motherboard but installing a 65 nm dual core processor and just 2 GB of RAM seems a very odd combination to me.
  • 0 Hide
    Anonymous , May 31, 2008 4:10 PM
    @ni

    Not so odd if you want to get the base foundation set up and then wait for lower prices on higher performance parts later on down the road.
    A quad core (3.0 GHz x 4) chip is coming down the pike by years end and DDR3 prices are on the slide. Building an E8400 / 2 GB base machine is exactly what I did to finally migrate from my 5 year old P4 Extreme Edition / Intel 875 based rig.

    That's the beauty of the X48 platform; longevity.
  • 0 Hide
    Anonymous , May 31, 2008 10:45 PM
    The ECS offering has supposedly been out for around a month, but I can't find it for sale ANYWHERE!! can't even find a price. I used to turn my nose up at ECS products. Our company used Asus boards exclusively thinking they were a higher quality product. Evey one of our Asus boards failed within 4 years. This may be because the Chinese have studied the American business model... Make a product that is designed to either fail or need parts within a calculated period of time. ECS are much cheaper, and so far seem more stable than the Maximus Formula board we purchased recently. The Asus BIOS is for people who like to toy with settings. Unfortunately their BIOS has become complicated beyond their programmers ability too write stable code.
  • 1 Hide
    Anonymous , June 1, 2008 4:09 AM
    Glad to see that gigabyte's board was so much more energy efficient than Asus', or any other board for that matter... especially while overclocking
  • 0 Hide
    Fedor , June 1, 2008 7:53 AM
    Arcolyte - lol. Did you fall asleep and dream up another page of the review which had power consumption whilst overclocking? :p 

    For the record I'm using my first Gigabyte board (X38-DQ6) and overall I'm pretty happy with it, but having said that I haven't used Asus in at least 5 years. With these comparisons it often comes down to features since performance is pretty near (although the low memory speeds achieved by the Gigabyte surprised me!).
  • 0 Hide
    Anonymous , June 1, 2008 3:19 PM
    " Intel covers all of its CPU VRM MOSFET?s with sinks. Our apologies for the alphabet soup that made up the last comment. " -> You could've gone with " Central Processing Unit Voltage Regulator Module Metal?Oxide?Semiconductor Field-Effect Transistor's " , so it's ok =)
  • 0 Hide
    frodbonzi , June 2, 2008 3:01 AM
    I wonder how the Asus' Rampage Formula stacks up here? It supports DDR2 or DDR3 and is part of the RoG line... X48 as well...
  • 0 Hide
    xanxaz , June 2, 2008 8:00 PM
    asrock rocks....lol...although i'll keep my gigabyte... as i dont know where to say this, it's better say it here... your main page is eating my cpu cycles... between 25% up to 50% cpu utilization while viewing your site? please cut down in animated ads... running a c2d at 3.6 and still lags while surfing... dah... it's just your site... os is it me? i think it's the ad on the top right corner that is causing that...
  • 0 Hide
    wozeus , June 16, 2008 5:54 PM
    I see that Newegg has ECS X48T-A for under $200. Looks like it's a great deal...going to get one.