Sign in with
Sign up | Sign in

Benchmarks And Settings

X48 Motherboard Comparison
By
Benchmarks and Settings
3D-Games
Crysis Version: 1.1
Video Modes: 800x600 (low), 1920x1200 (high)
Video Quality: Low Details (low), Very High Details (high)
Anti-aliasing: Off (low), 8x (high)
Benchmark: Benchmark_CPU.bat
Supreme Commander Version: 3.220
Video Modes: 1024x768 (low), 1920x1200 (high)
Video Quality: Lowest Details (low), Highest Details (high)
Anti-aliasing: Off (low), 8x (high)
Graphics: Medium
Test Path: Options/Performance/Test Settings
Unreal Tournament 3 Version: 1.2 (Dual-Core Patch)
Video Modes: 640x480 (low), 1920x1200 (high)
Video Quality: Lowest Details (low), Highest Details (high)
Post Processing: Default (low), Intense (high)
Benchmark: 16-bot botmatch (war-marketdistrict)
Applications
Grisoft AVG Anti-Virus Version: 7.5.467
Virus Base: 269.6.1/776
Benchmark: Scanning 3.82 GB Application Folder
Maxon Cinema 4D Version: 10.008
Resolution: 1280 x 1024
Benchmark: Rose Drop, 8-bits (50 Frames)
Adobe Photoshop CS3 Version: 10.0x20070321
Filtering from a 69 MB TIF-Photo
Benchmark: Tom's Guide-Benchmark V1.0.0.4
Rarlab Winrar Version 3.70 BETA 8
Compression = Best
Dictionary = 4096 kB
Uncompressed Folder Size: 642 MB
Video
TMPEGEnc 4.0 Xpress Version: 4.2.10.211
Import File: Terminator 2 SE DVD (2 Minutes)
Resolution: 720x576 (PAL) 16:9
Audio: Dolby Digital, 48000 Hz, 6-Channel, English
Advanced Acoustic Engine MP3 Encoder (160kb/s)
DivX 6.6 Version: 6.6.1
Profile: Home Theater Profile (720 x 576)
1-pass, 780 kb/s
Encoding mode: Insane Quality
Enhanced multithreading
XviD 1.1.2 Version: 1.1.2
Target quantizer: 1.00 (maximum quality)
Clone DVD 2 Version: 2.908
DVD "Terminator II SE" (English version)
Transcoding from DVD-9 to DVD-4.7
Audio: English Dolby AC-3/6 (surround) - DTS
Subtitles: None
Synthetics
SiSoftware Sandra XII Version 2007.5.11.40
Memory Test = Bandwidth Benchmark
Hard Drive Performance
Low Level Performance h2benchw 3.6 (by c'T Magazine
I/O Performance IOMeter 2003.05.10:
Fileserver Benchmark
Webserver Benchmark
Database Benchmark
Workstation Benchmark
Audio
Rightmark Audio Analyzer Version: 6.0.6
Stream Quality: 16 bits, 44.1 khz
Ask a Category Expert

Create a new thread in the Reviews comments forum about this subject

Example: Notebook, Android, SSD hard drive

Display all 7 comments.
This thread is closed for comments
  • 0 Hide
    Anonymous , June 15, 2008 3:19 PM
    Help please.Can this board be configured with the first two (SATA) HDs mirrored and the other drives JBOD? Thank you in advance.
  • 0 Hide
    oblivionspell , July 2, 2008 8:26 PM
    Great review, very detailed and informative. But I must say that either you were lucky that your X38 P5E3 Deluxe came with a better-than-average chipset or that I wasn't so lucky and got a malfunctioning one.

    I have an Asus Maximus Formula which is, as you know, the Republic of Gamer's solution for the X38 and recently bought a Patriot Extreme Performance 1150mhz PC2-9600. Whenever I try anything above 1020mhz for the RAM my PC reboots; the higher it is the less time it takes to do it. At 1020mhz it'll only reboot if I run something more demanding like 3dMark06 or any new game, at 1100mhz it'll barely show the Windows loading screen then reboot, above 1120mhz it'll not even load windows and freeze. But in every case it boots up fine.

    The Asus forums are full of users who can't get stability in any way with >=1066mhz ram on X38 boards. A selected few have come to accomplish it however, which leads me to think those were the lucky ones who got the good shipment, like you. The Patriot forums are the same, X38 users can't get their system stable with RAMS over 1066 or not even that.

    Maybe that X48 "official" support is something to consider, it might be the fix to the X38 we users are looking for. Even if it's only to make sure it'll run RAMs at >=1066mhz, it's good enough already.
  • 0 Hide
    Anonymous , August 15, 2008 1:22 PM
    oblivionspell - Have you tried manually setting your RAM voltage to the correct value for the performance setting(s)?

    I had to do this on my Asus Crosshair, even though EPP is supposed to take care of it for you. Without manually setting the voltage, I had memory corruption and crashes, but could use the non-EPP mode. With the voltage bumped to the correct 2.1V,
    the EPP modes work perfectly.
  • 0 Hide
    Crashman , September 6, 2008 9:37 AM
    oblivionspellGreat review, very detailed and informative. But I must say that either you were lucky that your X38 P5E3 Deluxe came with a better-than-average chipset or that I wasn't so lucky and got a malfunctioning one.I have an Asus Maximus Formula which is, as you know, the Republic of Gamer's solution for the X38 and recently bought a Patriot Extreme Performance 1150mhz PC2-9600. Whenever I try anything above 1020mhz for the RAM my PC reboots; the higher it is the less time it takes to do it. At 1020mhz it'll only reboot if I run something more demanding like 3dMark06 or any new game, at 1100mhz it'll barely show the Windows loading screen then reboot, above 1120mhz it'll not even load windows and freeze. But in every case it boots up fine.The Asus forums are full of users who can't get stability in any way with >=1066mhz ram on X38 boards. A selected few have come to accomplish it however, which leads me to think those were the lucky ones who got the good shipment, like you. The Patriot forums are the same, X38 users can't get their system stable with RAMS over 1066 or not even that.Maybe that X48 "official" support is something to consider, it might be the fix to the X38 we users are looking for. Even if it's only to make sure it'll run RAMs at >=1066mhz, it's good enough already.


    It's just a matter of having the right RAM and using the correct timings and voltage. All X38 and X48 motherboards that support DDR2 memory can run DDR2-1066 speeds with stability, so long as the RAM is set up right in BIOS.
  • 0 Hide
    Anonymous , September 15, 2008 5:50 PM
    "Inside, users will find a GUI based on the Smart Common Input Method (SCIM) platform."

    This is not accurate. SCIM is an "input method" -- a scheme for entering internationalized text. Not sure what the GUI is really based on. GTK2, maybe?
  • 0 Hide
    Crashman , September 15, 2008 7:18 PM
    Quote:
    "Inside, users will find a GUI based on the Smart Common Input Method (SCIM) platform."

    This is not accurate. SCIM is an "input method" -- a scheme for entering internationalized text. Not sure what the GUI is really based on. GTK2, maybe?


    I see your point, but that's the same arguement as "Windows 98SE is a GUI based on DOS". Which is innacurate only in wording. It would be better to say "Windows 98SE is a GUI for DOS".

    So, you'd be happier to read "Users will find a GUI for the Smart Common Input Method (SCIM) platform" correct?
  • 0 Hide
    chill70 , October 15, 2008 12:09 PM
    It's not only the wording. SCIM is not an operating system, so even your example is not analogous (won't even mention that DOS and Windows are separate operating systems with distinct kernels, etc).

    This statement is as correct as saying Vista has a GUI based on a 105-key keyboard.

    SCIM is an input method platform independent on the GUI. GTK GUI is an widget toolkit, independent on SCIM (although they *may* used each other). Neither is "based" on the other.

    If you want to emphasize that the Express Gate supports users of many different languages and nationalities you can mention that the GUI USES SCIM.