Sign in with
Sign up | Sign in

Dell XPS One 27: Can An All-In-One Make Us Love Windows 8?

Dell XPS One 27: Can An All-In-One Make Us Love Windows 8?
By

Windows 8 is unquestionably intended to create consistency between consoles, tablets, phones, and the PC. But the desktop world is still largely without touch input. Can Dell's XPS One 27 make the Windows 8 experience better with a gorgeous touchscreen?

Windows 8 represents Microsoft’s first earnest effort to bring mobile users back to the desktop (Ed.: Or is it the other way around?), where they can find huge quantities of local storage and vast computing resources to be more productive, create content, and game in a truly enveloping environment. A 5" screen just can't hold a candle to three 1920x1080 displays for any of those tasks.

For those of us glued to our desktops, not necessarily concerned about a convergence of phones, tablets, game consoles, and PCs, the Windows 8 interface is jarring. We saw it from your comments as soon as the operating system debuted. But we've been using it since last year and navigate around it fairly smoothly, particularly on multi-monitor configs that circumvent that interface almost entirely.

What about the folks using Windows 8 on a PC with a single screen? That's where the operating system seems to run into most of the resistance. The one thing hurting Microsoft the most with its touch-based interface is the lack of PCs with touchscreens.

Dell saw that coming.

If you have a mobile device with Windows on it, you already know that consistency between interfaces is nice. Really, though, you want functionality to match. A touchscreen turns Dell’s XPS One 27 from a device that resembles a super-sized tablet to a device that actually works a lot like one. And that capability adds only $200 to the price of the most entry-level $1,399 model.

Of course, Dell wants to show off. So we're testing something a little (lot) more deluxe.

  Dell XPS One Touch 27 (2710) $2599 Configuration
PlatformIntel LGA 1155, H77 Express, Embeded PCIe Graphics
CPUThird-Generation Intel Ivy Bridge-Based Core i7-3770S (3.1-3.9 GHz, 8 MB Shared L3 Cache, 65 W Max TDP)
RAM2x Nanya NT8GC64B8HB0NS-DI (2 x 8 GB) DDR3-1600 SO-DIMM, CL11
GraphicsNvidia GeForce GT 640M: 645 MHz, 2 GB GDDR5-4000
DisplayCapacitive Touch 27" LED Backlit Glossy LCD, 2560x1440
Webcam2.0 Megapixel w/dual microphone and sliding cover
AudioRealtek Integrated HD Audio with Waves MaxxAudio 4
SecurityKensington Security Slot
Storage
Hard DriveSeagate Barracuda ST2000DM001: 2 TB, 7,200 RPM, 64 MB Cache, SATA 6Gb/s
Samsung MZMPC032HBCD-00000: 32 GB MLC Cache Drive, mSATA 6Gb/s
Optical DriveHL-DS 8x Slot Loading DVD Burner/BDR Combo HL-DT-ST DVDRWBD CT40N
Media Drive8-in-1 SDXC/MMC/MS/xD flash media interface
Networking
Wireless LANIntel Advanced-N 6235 802.11n PCIe
Wireless PANIntegrated Bluetooth Transceiver on Wireless Combo Card
Gigabit NetworkAtheros AR8161 PCIe 10/100/1000 Mbps Ethernet
IEEE-1394None
TelephonyNone
Peripheral Interfaces
USB6 x USB 3.0 (4-rear, 2-side)
Expansion Card1 x empty Mini PCIe (for optional TV tuner)
External Hard Drive
USB-only
AudioHeadphone, Microphone, Rear Out, SPDIF
VideoHDMI Out, HDMI In (Display-Only)
General Stats
WeightPC 34.4 lbs, Peripherals 1.6 lbs, Total 36 pounds
Operating SystemMicrosoft Windows 8 Pro 64-bit Edition, OEM
WarrantyOne-year parts/Labor w/In-Home Service


The extra $1,000 brings with it a slew of upgrades, including the Core i7-3770S CPU, 16 GB RAM, the 32 GB SSD cache drive, a 2 TB hard drive, and Blu-ray reader/DVD burner.

Display 109 Comments.
Top Comments
  • 30 Hide
    JohnUSA , April 8, 2013 9:39 PM
    A very important and crucial point: Touch screens are doomed to fail as users will find out soon that their arm, wrist and hand will get tired and sore soon as they keep extending their arms to use this pain producing gadget.
    Who ever invented the desktop touch monitor should be shot.
  • 13 Hide
    fnh , April 8, 2013 9:50 PM
    JohnUSAA very important and crucial point: Touch screens are doomed to fail as users will find out soon that their arm, wrist and hand will get tired and sore soon as they keep extending their arms to use this pain producing gadget.Who ever invented the desktop touch monitor should be shot.


    There's probably some use for a touchscreen-desktop monitor productivity-wise.

    But as a Windows 8 saviour? Hell no!
  • 11 Hide
    flong777 , April 9, 2013 1:56 AM
    Wow for $2600 and change you could build a top of the line computer and buy a 27" IPS Dell screen - they frequently go on sale for around $500 - $550. That computer would be somewhere around five times faster than this Dell touch screen and it would have first-class components.

    Really there is no comparison. Windows 8 and a touch screen are not worth the trade off. Building a high-end system that blows the Dell away is by far the superior choice.
Other Comments
  • 30 Hide
    JohnUSA , April 8, 2013 9:39 PM
    A very important and crucial point: Touch screens are doomed to fail as users will find out soon that their arm, wrist and hand will get tired and sore soon as they keep extending their arms to use this pain producing gadget.
    Who ever invented the desktop touch monitor should be shot.
  • 13 Hide
    fnh , April 8, 2013 9:50 PM
    JohnUSAA very important and crucial point: Touch screens are doomed to fail as users will find out soon that their arm, wrist and hand will get tired and sore soon as they keep extending their arms to use this pain producing gadget.Who ever invented the desktop touch monitor should be shot.


    There's probably some use for a touchscreen-desktop monitor productivity-wise.

    But as a Windows 8 saviour? Hell no!
  • 10 Hide
    mayankleoboy1 , April 8, 2013 10:08 PM
    The alternate review is a great Value-addition to this article.
    Its important to get a informal, subjective review from a general user. Numbers are very important, but they dont tell the complete picture.

    +1 for more "Average Joe" impressions in gadget reviews.
  • 10 Hide
    killerclick , April 8, 2013 10:24 PM
    Touchscreens on desktops will never go mainstream. It's just a fad they're trying to push, like 3D was a few years back. People don't like to have to sit close to screens and use their arms to control them - that's why TVs have remotes. Touchscreens on desktops solve nothing and improve nothing. Sure it's more intuitive to touch something than point and click, but anyone who can't figure out pointing and clicking won't get much out of using a computer anyway.
    Touchscreens on laptops might suck less as a concept, but laptop screens suck by design because they're so small.
  • 7 Hide
    vaughn2k , April 8, 2013 10:31 PM
    JohnUSAA very important and crucial point: Touch screens are doomed to fail as users will find out soon that their arm, wrist and hand will get tired and sore soon as they keep extending their arms to use this pain producing gadget.Who ever invented the desktop touch monitor should be shot.

    I find these all-in-one touch screens helpful for kiosks, data centers, production, (kitchen - maybe :p ), POS, as a replacement for other tools such as keyboards and mouse - simply for convenience. But yes, not a tool to be used for 8hours work in-front of a computer. And if you would have this for those application I mentioned, this is too damn expensive and ludicrous!
  • 3 Hide
    ta152h , April 8, 2013 11:14 PM
    Quick answer, no.

    Touchscreen has no place on a desktop, unless you have Felix Unger with plastic gloves touching it. It's messy, and it's hard not to feel like a retard while using it.

    This is a solution in search of a problem. I haven't heard too many complaints on the keyboard/mouse interface. I have heard plenty of complaints about Windows 8.
  • -4 Hide
    thinslicedbread , April 8, 2013 11:47 PM
    Every time Tom's (or any other site for that matter) posts anything about Windows 8 or touch-screen PC's you always, ALWAYS, get people who instantly denounce such products almost as if they are "of the devil himself". As a power user, or anyone who actually comes to Tom's to read "tech-y" articles - Yes, Windows 8 is probably not for you. That's fine and dandy. But I get so tired of people just instantly proclaiming Windows 8 a failure because of the changes that Microsoft has made to it. While no, it does not have a start button, anyone who has used it for more than a day can tell you that it doesn't really matter. I tap the Windows key and start typing what I want and Windows finds it for me. The start screen gives me a quick overview of important applications without having to actually OPEN the application to find the information. I love my ASUS Vivo Tablet (Windows RT), and I find myself using that more often than my laptop or desktop when I just want to look something up or read and respond to an email.

    Case in point: I set my girlfriend up with what I thought was a really nice setup. A touch screen AIO in her spare room. It had (read: HAD) Windows 7 on it. She was constantly complaining about how she hated it when it either did not register her touches or the limited gestures that I so painfully set up. She went months without even turning the damn thing on. She complained that she couldn't do anything with it because it was just too hard to get a simple task done.
    Windows 8 comes out last October and I figure I'd give it a shot and if she still didn't like it, I'd have an extra computer in my man cave for something. I can't keep her off the thing. She absolutely loves it. She loves the live tiles, how it recognizes her gestures, how easy it is to navigate. I could go on...
    What I wish people would realize is that Windows 8, while it will probably not be as widely accepted as our beloved Windows 7, it is still a pretty solid step forward. If you are a power user (myself included) you will probably never install W8 on your desktop or even your laptop. But it is a fantastic piece of software that can change how people use computers.
  • 2 Hide
    magic couch , April 9, 2013 12:15 AM
    On the file compression page the graphs show winRAR being faster than 7zip yet the article says 7zip is faster. Were the graphs reversed?
  • 4 Hide
    edwuave , April 9, 2013 1:12 AM
    instead of touch, bundle with Kinect motion control = so much win.
  • 5 Hide
    clifftam , April 9, 2013 1:39 AM
    It looks like a PC version of an iMac to me.
  • 8 Hide
    merikafyeah , April 9, 2013 1:55 AM
    How ***** think: "There's a touch screen so it MUST be the ONLY interface which I must therefore use CONSTANTLY for everything. My keyboard and mouse will, for some inexplicable reason, become useless, and my arms will get tired from so much reaching.

    How normal people think: Cool, a touch screen. Now I have more options. Perhaps one day I'll find an application in which being able to manipulate up to 10 different points simultaneously will be much more practical and time-saving than editing coordinates one at a time.

  • 11 Hide
    flong777 , April 9, 2013 1:56 AM
    Wow for $2600 and change you could build a top of the line computer and buy a 27" IPS Dell screen - they frequently go on sale for around $500 - $550. That computer would be somewhere around five times faster than this Dell touch screen and it would have first-class components.

    Really there is no comparison. Windows 8 and a touch screen are not worth the trade off. Building a high-end system that blows the Dell away is by far the superior choice.
  • 3 Hide
    DjEaZy , April 9, 2013 1:59 AM
    Dell XPS One 27: Can An All-In-One Make Us Love Windows 8? NO!!!
  • -1 Hide
    flong777 , April 9, 2013 2:00 AM
    We see the future of desktops in movies like Iron Man where there will be a touch interface. However, what we do not see in Iron Man is the input system of these computers which for now will still require a keyboard and mouse. I am neglecting to include "Jarvis" on purpose because I think that personal computers with AI are still a ways away for now.
  • 4 Hide
    mapesdhs , April 9, 2013 2:25 AM

    And then there's the mess one's fingers will make on a touch screen. I can't see desktop users
    being happy with ever-present finger prints, etc. When I get off a bus, I see people sitting using
    their smart phones; my first thought is, how can they live with such a filthy screen?? Some of
    them look as though they've been dipped in a sewer...

    Ian.

  • 7 Hide
    Cataclysm_ZA , April 9, 2013 2:34 AM
    No Displayport or Thunderbolt, no Intel Gigabit ethernet, one 2.5" drive, no digitiser with a pen, less-than-stellar stand and a TN panel? Sorry Dell, you've lost the plot. Try again.
  • -3 Hide
    virgult , April 9, 2013 2:50 AM
    OK, Macs are overpriced and stuff.
    But why on earth would I pay MORE for a PC when there's a widely supported Unix for LESS?
  • 1 Hide
    virgult , April 9, 2013 2:54 AM
    virgultOK, Macs are overpriced and stuff.But why on earth would I pay MORE for a PC when there's a widely supported Unix for LESS?


    Sorry, I didn't notice the screen was 27". Ok, this puts everything back into perspective again. No flame intended.
  • 7 Hide
    killerclick , April 9, 2013 3:02 AM
    thinslicedbreadBut I get so tired of people just instantly proclaiming Windows 8 a failure because of the changes that Microsoft has made to it.


    No, we predicted it would be a failure because of the changes Microsoft made to it.

    We're proclaiming it a failure because it has a 30% slower adoption rate than Vista had, despite being released just before the Xmas shopping season.

    Fans of Windows 8 and Metro need to recognize they're the minority. More than 96% of PC users are not using Windows 8, and the reason is not steep hardware requirements, or bugs, or the unavailability of drivers, but the stupid touch centric interface that most users don't want anywhere near their PCs - hence the 3.3% market share for Windows 8.
  • 0 Hide
    janetonly42 , April 9, 2013 3:34 AM
    clifftamIt looks like a PC version of an iMac to me.

    Maybe, if so it's way uglier and packed with a crap OS too.
Display more comments
React To This Article