Trouble with "Error Performing Inpage Operation"

Status
Not open for further replies.

Galin

Distinguished
Feb 20, 2007
Hi everyone, I’ve been building my own systems for a couple years now and I usually do my own tech support but this one has me stumped. First my laptop (Dell Inspiron 8500) stopped booting, giving me a BSOD every time I tried. I took out the HD and mounted it in an external drive enclosure (NexStar USB 2.0) and hooked it up to my desktop to get the data off it before reformatted the drive, assuming at this point that it was just a corrupted copy of windows I was dealing with. However, when I tried to open the drive in windows explorer I got a “can not read drive F: Error Performing Inpage Operation” message. I tried rebooting the system a couple times to no avail. After an online search the only info I was able to find was that my HD was probably failing and to try Ontrack’s Easy Recovery Pro. I tried the software and I was able to see the data on the drive just fine, but to get it off I will have to buy the software. This is going to set me back about $90. It’s worth it to me to get the data(serves me right for not backing up my data as often as I should), but I hate to shell out the cash if I’m just missing something simple that would let me access the drive. Thank you in advance for your advice, I’ve found the comments on this site invaluable over the years.

System Specs.

Desktop

MB: Asus P5WD2-Premium
Ram: 2gig Balistix-667
CPU: P4 3.4ghz
GPU: ATI X850 PE

Laptop: Dell Inspiron 8500

Ram: 640
CPU: P4 Mobile 2.4ghz
GPU: ATI 9000 mobile
HD: Toshiba 30gig

If I’ve missed any important specs, please let me know

acl

Distinguished
Sep 20, 2007
hi