• LCD

Votes: 8 72.7%

• Total voters
Status
Not open for further replies.

gcfmathew

Distinguished
Apr 4, 2008
How the hell do you tell what the max fps on an LCD will be? By max FPS i guess im relating to refresh rate (hz) from a CRT point of view.

Right now I have a 19" Samsung Synchmaster CRT with a native resolution of 1280x1024 hitting a max refresh rate of 85hz.

To my knowledge, this means on my current monitor the most FPS I actually attain and can display is 85fps/hz. Which is fine. When I drop my monitor to 75hz or lower. I can notice the flicket/FPS drop. It looks less smooth, and iritates my eyes quicker than 85hz.

Its 2008 and I think im finally ready to get me a widescreen LCD. I was trying to get me a 22" or a 24". Here's the problem I ran into 3 time.

2 LCD monitors I tried has native resolution of 16xx by 10xx....this is great....now before the next sentence, I do realise LCD dont actually have a refresh rate and update each pixel and the time it take to go from b-w-b is meased in MS. I.e. a 2-3MS monitor. I get this.

BUT, even with an LCD you still have the options/capabilities to change/set resfresh rate within nvidias drivers. So I suppose refresh rate in nvidia drivers for a LCD can be translated into "you gonna get this much FPS at most".

Here is where the problems start. 2 diff 21" LCD and 1 26" 720P TV have all been returned due to the fact the the "refresh rate" within nvidias drivers never exceed 60hz. So I never get more than 60 FPS.

This can cause a problem for someone who's been gaming @ 85FPS/HZ for 10+ years. LCDs give me headaches and I can't stand losing 25 FPS.

How the hell am i suppose to know what the "max fps/refresh rate" of an LCD monitor will be other than trial and error?

I tried to decipher the #'s @ sites , such as,

horizontal refresh rate = 25-92
verticle refresh rate = 35-75