How to block a bittorrent client

Zero_Lancer

Distinguished
Dec 3, 2010
My brother keeps downloading torrents and I don't want him to so I was wondering if there was a way to keep torrents from going from my router to his computer but still give him access to the internet. I have a Linksys WRT160N V3 router.

G

"Hand-------->Internet Connection----------> Yank it out."

More fun with wireless -- just apply Access List setting without adding his MAC ID to the list.

Zero_Lancer

Distinguished
Dec 3, 2010
I would love to just unplug him (younger brother) since I have power over the internet, unfortunately my dad has power over me so I have to give him internet access but I have sole power over all torrents. As for blocking the application, he has Utorrent so in the box to block applications do I put "Utorrent" or "Utorrent.exe" and will that keep him from launching it on his computer? I'm a total noob when it comes to networking.

someone19

Distinguished
Jan 16, 2011
Wouldn't block him, but here's your user manual:

http://homedownloads.cisco.com/downloads/userguide/1224640959708/WRT160N_V10_UG_A-WEB.pdf

On pages 22-24 it describes how to setup QOS and filtering. I'd setup a MAC filter and set his MAC to the lowest priority. Now when he is accessing the internet (by ANY program) he'll go full speed. When you both are using the internet, you'll have a higher priority than he does.

By setting up the application block on the router you don't prevent it from running on his computer, a properly setup filter will block the traffic from accessing the internet. Unfortunately bittorrent programs and users get very adept at bypassing filters, which means that its even harder to setup proper filters.

The filters listed above by Dadingle will interupt more than bittorrent traffic, and you may have a compromised internet experience in other programs.

Slow him down, and smile while you surf away. You can even edit your MAC to have a higher than normal priority.

Zero_Lancer