Sign in with
Sign up | Sign in

Benchmark Results: Simultaneous Read And Write

Three More External USB 3.0 Drives Benchmarked
By

Simultaneous read and write operation could be an important metric in situations where you're watching a movie off the USB 3.0 drive while copying more data onto it. In such a case, the 3.5” drives have advantages due to their faster platter speed and superior performance.

The two new 2.5” portable drives by PQI and Transcend are both clearly faster than the ones we reviewed a few weeks ago.

Ask a Category Expert

Create a new thread in the Reviews comments forum about this subject

Example: Notebook, Android, SSD hard drive

Display all 11 comments.
This thread is closed for comments
  • 0 Hide
    Gin Fushicho , September 15, 2010 6:53 AM
    That Samsung performs nicely, I think I may just have to get that.
  • 0 Hide
    dww , September 15, 2010 10:02 AM
    I agree. I really like my existing Samsung Story Station, but when I upgraded my PC I made sure the new MB had USB 3.0 ports so my next ext drive can be 3.0. Good to know I can now get a SSS 3.0. But I'll wait for prices to settle a bit first.
  • 0 Hide
    jamesb-mr , September 15, 2010 7:51 PM
    Noting the 'speed' of the drives - write and read over a 300GB partition at the start of the drives I get approximate figures of:
    Transend 89 down to 65
    Samsung - best 110 down to 100, worst 93 down to 80
    PQI 93 down to 50

    Now - to me, that indicates that the Samsung's worst is only just under the best of the other drives.
    I haven't included the WD drive in that comparism, but I suspect that the throughput from that drive is, as the review states, the best, even when comparing usage of just the first 300GB, or even a full 1TB usage against the Samsung

    HOWEVER - there is the consideration that the Samsung (and WD) will need a mains power supply while the PC is running, but the other drives will (probably) only use power while being actually used, and that will be from the system USB connection.
    Add other considerations - the portability, - keep hold of it factor (weight and pocketing size) - liability of dropping it, or having it stolen when put down on a desk
  • 0 Hide
    ubronan , September 15, 2010 8:58 PM
    we will see what price this drives gonna be.
    On the price i think its samsung which is gonna win this
    For me personally the figures show clearly samsung as the winner those benchmarks are most of the time a joke, real life performance is what counts. Especially since i use it as backup of a system it has to deal with loads of small files which this samsung seem to handle well.
  • 0 Hide
    dww , September 16, 2010 12:33 AM
    Good point about power consumption. My present Samsung does sleep in a low power mode when it's not been accessed for a while, and also has an OFF switch on the front panel - as I think the new one does? Nevertheless it's for use with your desktop PC, not for portable use with a laptop as the smaller drives can be.
  • 0 Hide
    iamezza , September 16, 2010 11:00 AM
    You unfairly bash the Samsung's performance in the article, when your own REAL WORLD performance graphs show the Samsung beating the Western Digital in 4 of the 7 tests. In small file writes (alot of people backup jpeg photos) the Samsung totally smashes the WD.
    Also the biggest benefit of the 5400rpm drive isn't the reduced power consumption itself but the side benefits that entails. Reduced RPM means the drive will run a lot cooler, which can become an issue in warmer climates. Also the 5400rpm will make less noise - it should be effectively silent unless actively reading/writing.
  • 0 Hide
    gdathome , September 16, 2010 12:42 PM
    How do these enclosures compare with eSATA enclosures. This would be a real comparison since up to now eSATA has always beat USB in speed. Most modern machines have SATA and eSATA connections either internal or external so in many cases there is no extra cost. The only real difficulty is if there is no eSATA external connector.
  • 1 Hide
    ZakTheEvil , September 17, 2010 8:50 PM
    They're just as fast as eSATA, I have to Silverstone enclosures with Seagate 7200.11s in them. I get the same read/write when the drives are mounted internally on the SATA bus or in the USB3 enclosures.
  • 0 Hide
    dEAne , October 4, 2010 3:35 AM
    It's still makes sense to have a USB 2.0 products.
  • 0 Hide
    Anonymous , November 25, 2011 1:03 PM
    I have one of this hard and it almost 300GB stuffs on it, now i can't open the hard :(  when i try to open it computer give a message under the heading of Disk is not formatted and it says "The disk in drive A is not formatted. do you want to format it now" please any one who can give me the answer why it's act like that and what i'm gonna do now??
  • 0 Hide
    olaleye , February 8, 2012 10:23 AM
    I need help on how to access my backed up documents on my hard disc