Skip to main content

T-Force Xtreem 16GB DDR4-3600 Dual-Channel Kit Review

Team Group’s T-Force Xtreem DDR4-3600 comes with solid CAS 18 timings, but do these factory-overclocked modules provide the performance and value needed to win our approval?

Test Results And Final Analysis

Gigabyte’s Z170X-Gaming G1 set the high mark for DDR4 overclocking in our Z170 review series, and will remain the motherboard of choice until a new, superior overclocking model is found. I’ve also retained our previous generation benchmark hardware and software, which will be updated whenever a suitable replacement motherboard is found.

Test System Configuration

Benchmark Configuration
Autodesk 3ds Max 2013Version 15.0 x64: Space Flyby Mentalray, 248 Frames, 1440x1080
WinRARVersion 5.0: THG-Workload (1.3 GB) to RAR, command line switches "winrar a -r -m3"
Grid 2Steam Version, In-Game Test, High Quality, No AA
Battlefield 4DirectX 11, 100-sec. Fraps "Tashgar", High Quality
SiSoftware SandraVersion 2014.02.20.10, Memory Bandwidth, Cache & Memory Latency Benchmarks

Test Results

It might have a higher rating, but the T-Force Xtreem DDR4-3600 wasn’t able to overclock as far as the Viper 4 DDR4-3400 on our test system. It wouldn’t even overclock at all, until we tried copying primary timings from a higher rated set, after which it booted at DDR4-3733 but wasn’t stable. After seven minutes at DDR4-3434, one thread of Prime95 crashed during our eight-thread stability test.

Lowest Stable Timings at 1.35V (Max) on Gigabyte Z170X-Gaming G1 (BIOS F5i)
 DDR4-3200DDR4-2666DDR4-2133
T-FORCE XTREEM 16GB TXGD416G3600HC18ADC0114-15-15-30 (1T)12-12-12-28 (1T)11-11-11-28 (1T)
Adata XPG Dazzle 16GB AX4U2800W8G17-DRDNot Capable13-14-14-28 (1T)11-11-11-28 (1T)
Patriot Viper 4 16GB PV416G340C6K16-16-16-32 (1T)13-13-13-28 (1T)11-11-11-28 (1T)

Given the T-Force Xtreem DDR4-3600’s poor overclocking, its record-setting DDR4-3200 timings were quite a surprise. Good timings continue through DDR4-2666, but it falls back to mediocre minimum stable latency at DDR4-2133.

A Sandra Bandwidth measurement of 35 GB/s is the highest we’ve seen from two single-sided modules. A pair of dual-ranked DIMMs has previously returned even higher Sandra Bandwidth measurements, in spite of the test platform’s dual-channel design.

Lower is better for latency, and the T-Force Xtreem’s DDR4-3200 CAS 14 capability provides exceptional response times.

Grid 2 becomes memory bound when set well below the GPUs capability, but hardly shows a difference at settings a gamer would realistically choose.

Battlefield 4 shows slightly better performance at improved memory settings, but the differences aren’t large enough to be noticed by normally-enabled humans.

3ds Max only shows noticeable performance deficits when using bad memory settings, and it’s been a long time since we’ve actually seen a module set that would drag it down.

WinRAR produced a strange “hiccup” at DDR4-2666, and retests proved that this wasn’t due to a software bug. A little further digging showed that the motherboard was using the 630-cycle tRFC from the memory’s DDR4-3600 profile.

Unfortunately, if you want a set of memory that’s rated for DDR4-3600, you’re going to have to pay for that rating. The T-Force Xtreem TXGD416G3600HC18ADC01 kit cost $10 more than the Viper 4 PV416G340C6K kit.

MORE: Best Memory

MORE: DDR DRAM FAQs And Troubleshooting Guide

MORE: All Memory Content

Follow us on Facebook, Google+, RSS, Twitter and YouTube.

Thomas Soderstrom
Thomas Soderstrom is a Senior Staff Editor at Tom's Hardware US. He tests and reviews cases, cooling, memory and motherboards.
  • Metteec
    Thanks for the review. The benchmarks tell quite a story. For the extra money and faster DRAM speed, you get a one extra FPS in speed for gaming. At least they look cool!
    Reply
  • Malik 722
    is it also better than corsair vengeance platinum.
    Reply
  • xvegan
    You guys at Toms are bleeding away your core audience with this excessive 'game' stuff.

    Please realize you are becoming irrelevant to the average techno felon.

    Stop with the game crap long enough to take a look around.
    Reply
  • Crashman
    19030522 said:
    You guys at Toms are bleeding away your core audience with this excessive 'game' stuff.

    Please realize you are becoming irrelevant to the average techno felon.

    Stop with the game crap long enough to take a look around.
    We review the stuff we're sent, same as always. We still try to overclock the crap out of it. I personally try to remain neutral to stuff that doesn't exceed expectations, but you'll notice the glee when stuff actually does.

    If you want to change what we get, you'll have to pressure the industry.
    Reply
  • logainofhades
    19030522 said:
    You guys at Toms are bleeding away your core audience with this excessive 'game' stuff.

    Please realize you are becoming irrelevant to the average techno felon.

    Stop with the game crap long enough to take a look around.

    The vast majority of build requests, in the forums, are for gaming rigs, so I would have to disagree.
    Reply
  • Metteec
    I have used TH for over five years. I am primarily a gamer with a curiousity for how things work. TH has focused on gamers and hardware related to gamers for as long as I can remember. If TH stopped the focus on games and benchmarks, I would probably regular another website like Anandtech. So TH, keep up the good work.
    Reply
  • Crashman
    19032944 said:
    I have used TH for over five years. I am primarily a gamer with a curiousity for how things work. TH has focused on gamers and hardware related to gamers for as long as I can remember. If TH stopped the focus on games and benchmarks, I would probably regular another website like Anandtech. So TH, keep up the good work.
    I think his is a marketing complaint. You know, overclock something to its limit, set that as an XMP profile, slap the name "Gaming" or some variation of "Extreme" on the label, sell it to people who can't be bothered to do their own overclocking. Well, we covered the slower stuff, and overclocked that as well, so readers are just seeing a wider array of marketing tactics. And we really can't blame companies for wanting to send MORE of their enhanced-marketing labels.
    Reply