Sign in with
Sign up | Sign in

Test Settings

CoolIT Vs. Cogage: Little Water And Big Air Compared
By

We overclocked our C0-stepping Core i7 920 to 3.80 GHz in order to assure a high thermal load with both high-performance cooling solutions, using a 200 MHz base clock and 19x core multiplier.

Test System Configuration
CPU

Intel Core i7 920 (2.66 GHz, 8.0 MB Cache)
Overclocked to 3.80 GHz (19x 200 MHz), 1.366V

CPU Cooler, Air

Cogage True Spirit at continuous 12V
120 mm fan, 1,600 RPM

CPU Cooler, Liquid

CoolIT Domino A.L.C. at continuous 12V
120 mm fan, 600-2,800 RPM

Motherboard

Asus P6T Rev. 1.01G, BIOS 0306 (02-03-2009)
LGA-1366, X58/ICH10R

RAM

Kingston KHX16000D3ULT1K3/6GX (6.0 GB)
DDR3-2000 at DDR3-1600 CAS 8-8-8-24

Graphics

Zotac GeForce GTX260² 896MB
576/999MHz GPU/Shader, GDDR3-2484

Hard Drives

WD VelociRaptor WD30000HLFS
0.3 TB, 10,000 RPM, 16 MB Cache

Sound

Integrated HD Audio

Network

Integrated Gigabit Networking

Power

Cooler Master RS850-EMBA
850W, ATX12V v2.2, EPS12V

Optical

Lite-On LH-20A1L, 20X DVD±R

Software

OS

Microsoft Windows Vista Ultimate x64 SP1

Graphics

Nvidia GeForce 182.08

Chipset

Intel INF 9.1.0.1007

 
A 1.366 volt output under full load (1.344 volt idle) resulted from setting our Asus P6T motherboard to 1.350V core with Load-Line Calibration enabled.

The increased voltage kept our CPU stable at 3.80 GHz throughout its 8-thread Prime 95 64-bit torture test, while pushing temperatures on these high-capacity coolers beyond 75 degrees Celsius.

Benchmark Configuration
Prime95 v.25.8

64-bit executable, Small FFT's, 8-threads

RealTemp 2.70

Highest core reading at full CPU load (60 minutes)
Highest core reading at 30 minutes idle

Acu-Rite Thermal Probe

IOH/VRM Heat Pipe temperature at northbridge junction
Ambient temperature at 6" from motherboard front edge

Ask a Category Expert

Create a new thread in the Reviews comments forum about this subject

Example: Notebook, Android, SSD hard drive

Display all 55 comments.
This thread is closed for comments
  • 1 Hide
    Proximon , May 8, 2009 6:34 AM
    I would have liked a better description of this Cogage. HDT? Aluminum block? Copper? It could have used a few more pictures as well.
  • 0 Hide
    JeBuSBrian , May 8, 2009 7:36 AM
    Come on, Tom's! Hire a proof-reader already. Your writers obviously can't do the jobs themselves. And it simply makes this site look more unprofessional than it already has become.
  • -1 Hide
    renozi , May 8, 2009 7:38 AM
    Is the Spirit better than the TRUE 120?
  • -1 Hide
    Crashman , May 8, 2009 8:36 AM
    renoziIs the Spirit better than the TRUE 120?


    The article said they never sent the Ultra 120 Extreme.
  • 4 Hide
    Anonymous , May 8, 2009 8:57 AM
    "At full speed (2,800 RPM) its fan was over twice as loud as that of the True Spirit."

    That will lead people to believe it was 56dB, when in fact something that is "twice as loud" is only +6dB
  • 2 Hide
    Crashman , May 8, 2009 9:09 AM
    Drikanna"At full speed (2,800 RPM) its fan was over twice as loud as that of the True Spirit."That will lead people to believe it was 56dB, when in fact something that is "twice as loud" is only +6dB


    No. Twice as loud is +10db. Twice as many fans would be +3db. We didn't have a accoustically dampened room to test them in, and taking meter readings against background noise provides skewed numbers that most people can't work out. It's easier to simply say "at least twice as loud" when you mean more than 10db louder.

    What makes that observation most significant is that both companies rate their devices at similar full-speed noise levels, when it's quite obvious to testers that one device is very much louder than the other.

    There are many ways to screw up a reading even in a silent room. The standard from audio devices is to test at one meter, but some review sites do it at around one decimeter. If you go in the other direction, perhaps the "noisier" device was tested at 1 dekameter.

    Any company who advertises noise readings that were taken at more than one meter without specifying the distance is cheating its customers. Any company who advertises noise readings that were taken at less than one meter is cheating itself.
  • -1 Hide
    Crashman , May 8, 2009 11:12 AM
    Congrats on getting a good processor. I get those once in a while too. With Core i7, it's like one out of five.
  • 9 Hide
    kschoche , May 8, 2009 11:55 AM
    dragonsprayerlol! me? sorry about the typos - i am testing a system while i test this - keep in mind its running at 4.15ghz at 72c with prime 95 and 3d mark06 running at the same time!!!!! with hypo treading on! try that cyber-loser! or ibuyjunk! o man i should not do that sorry THG! i know they support the site but, when they claim 4.1ghz but do not spec 100c with prime 95 - well we get a little up set over here! hybrid single (keep in mind this is our low end system!) (includes push pull fans in 3 rads- look for the split at the upper left)anyone that wants to build ther own email me or pm me! tech support is free for THG, loop: http://s329.photobucket.com/albums [...] s-i7-2.jpg ,,,, http://s329.photobucket.com/albums [...] C_0166.jpg enjoy and good luck! we do plumb the boreas in this too - sorry for no proof rading~!


    You should be banned, not for your shameless plugs, but for your idiotic posts and worse proofreading performance than THG
  • 2 Hide
    hustler539 , May 8, 2009 1:04 PM
    ^not banned, shot.....As for the article, I too would have liked a bit more info on the Spirit, like base material and smoothness?
  • 4 Hide
    chjade84 , May 8, 2009 1:14 PM
    Wow, lots of messages rated as useless here.

    A decameter, Crashman? I'm not sure many people read from 10 meters away but I bet someone has, lol. SPL is a difficult thing to rate objectively.

    I am a little surprised the HSF beat that little water cooler by so much.
  • 3 Hide
    morpheas768 , May 8, 2009 1:16 PM
    dragonsprayercan i delete that? looks like i was sleep typing again! worst part is the system above i was mubbling about in my sleep runs 60-70c in prime 95, even after running 3dmark06 3 times in row. That is at 4.2ghz. I make you a deal you find a better systme for under $4k, that is single loop that can match those specs and i quit! lol!i am central time, i wrote that at 4am after i woke up and then went to bed! lol! ya i should be banned! again!

    kschocheYou should be banned, not for your shameless plugs, but for your idiotic posts and worse proofreading performance than THG


    I agree with kschoche, You should be banned for your 'no-proof claims' and stupid adv. posts dragonsprayer.
  • 0 Hide
    Crashman , May 8, 2009 1:31 PM
    chjade84Wow, lots of messages rated as useless here. A decameter, Crashman? I'm not sure many people read from 10 meters away but I bet someone has, lol. SPL is a difficult thing to rate objectively.I am a little surprised the HSF beat that little water cooler by so much.


    Yeh, it's a shame that the liquid cooler was both noisier and less effective at cooling.
  • 0 Hide
    sublifer , May 8, 2009 2:21 PM
    Be nice to see the results next to a nicer liquid cooling system. But was a good review. I've seen results like this many times and am always surprised by people claiming that liquid is so much greater than air cooling.
  • 1 Hide
    hardwarekid9756 , May 8, 2009 2:34 PM
    Very great article. I miss such great detail and compelling reviews!
  • 2 Hide
    chjade84 , May 8, 2009 2:36 PM
    subliferBe nice to see the results next to a nicer liquid cooling system. But was a good review. I've seen results like this many times and am always surprised by people claiming that liquid is so much greater than air cooling.


    Real, QUALITY, liquid cooling is much greater than air. The problem is this is not quality liquid cooling and neither are the cheap water-coolers on the market. Tom's did a review of 3 REAL liquid coolers and (granted it was a quad core but not an i7) full load was around 43-45c. In this test they were around 77c. i7's run hotter but you should still see around a 20c drop if you use QUALITY liquid cooling.
Display more comments