Sign in with
Sign up | Sign in

Operations Per Second

Five USB 3.0 Flash Drives For Your Pocket
By

Getting further away from the intent of portable drives, input/output operations per second are most important for servers. However, it’s still part of our benchmark set and we expect that drives designed expressly for portability will perform worse in this area.

The actual results are split between four out of five drives, with the tiny USB 3.0 Express Drive falling out of the running.

Ask a Category Expert

Create a new thread in the Reviews comments forum about this subject

Example: Notebook, Android, SSD hard drive

Display all 16 comments.
This thread is closed for comments
  • 1 Hide
    hardcore_gamer , July 29, 2010 6:53 AM
    nice review..thanks toms
  • 1 Hide
    tony singh , July 29, 2010 9:29 AM
    Another proof of ever growing nature of techonology..
  • 1 Hide
    rohitbaran , July 29, 2010 10:03 AM
    Quote:
    The heavy-duty gaming hardware used for today’s test is coincidental, as it was already set up on the bench for an upcoming graphics test. It includes Gigabyte’s high-flying X58A-UD9 motherboard.

    Which is the mystery card?
  • 0 Hide
    rohitbaran , July 29, 2010 10:06 AM
    BTW, I liked Super Talent Super crypt, despite being slower than OCZ and PQI, it is the size I would be comfortable carrying in my pocket.
  • 1 Hide
    huron , July 29, 2010 1:02 PM
    I know these technologies are more toward the "bleeding edge," but it's nice to know that manufacturers see it as enough of a market to start making products. Maybe USB 3.0 will make it mainstream relatively soon.
  • -1 Hide
    Anonymous , July 29, 2010 5:21 PM
    Would you be able to use the 128GB as a boot drive for win7 and how would they fall in price/performance between sata ssd and a VelociRaptor?
  • 0 Hide
    justsayin , July 29, 2010 6:48 PM
    Where's the hint on the upcoming graphics test?
  • -1 Hide
    liquidsnake718 , July 29, 2010 7:41 PM
    can you play a game like crysis or even warcraft 2 well straight out of this ssd with a no cd crack?
  • -1 Hide
    irh_1974 , July 30, 2010 1:16 PM
    reclusiveorcWould you be able to use the 128GB as a boot drive for win7 and how would they fall in price/performance between sata ssd and a VelociRaptor?

    I have been saying this to people for years, that one day you will have your whole PC installation on a flash drive. Just plug into a PC, boot from the flash drive and everything is there.
  • 0 Hide
    bCubed , July 31, 2010 12:07 PM
    Too bad it will still be some time before usb 3.0 will become mainstream and even longer for extremely good drives to come out
  • 0 Hide
    MoonSaghar , August 9, 2010 8:48 PM
    a cool drive
  • 0 Hide
    Anonymous , September 14, 2010 2:38 AM
    I've read that the SuperTalent Express drive runs very hot. Did you notice this, and would it be a problem?
  • 0 Hide
    Crashman , September 14, 2010 3:30 AM
    jpaul_johnsonI've read that the SuperTalent Express drive runs very hot. Did you notice this, and would it be a problem?

    The big SuperTalent drive was warm, but I don't see that as being a problem. None of the drives were uncomfortably hot.
  • 0 Hide
    willc , June 22, 2011 4:16 PM
    Great article. With flash drives becoming more popular, it's good to know which ones are the best to go with.
  • 0 Hide
    ghanz84 , October 22, 2011 4:16 PM
    Please share with us what's the file system used on the drives in this review(FAT32 or NTFS) & were they tested with the default filesystems that they were shipped with?
    The reason for asking is cos the FS will affect the performance.
  • 0 Hide
    Crashman , October 22, 2011 5:44 PM
    ghanz84Please share with us what's the file system used on the drives in this review(FAT32 or NTFS) & were they tested with the default filesystems that they were shipped with?The reason for asking is cos the FS will affect the performance.
    Yes