Sign in with
Sign up | Sign in

Antec Three Hundred

Part 1: Four Gaming Enclosures Under $50
By

While many of its competitors have gone with cheaper materials to address the $50 gaming case market, Antec chose instead to scale back the “bling” in its Three Hundred. Buyers get dual exhaust fans in a case that’s around 33% thicker than most competitors, but give up LED lighting and several tool-free features.

Thicker panels increase durability and simultaneous cut back on noise--two things appreciated by those who constantly use and service their own systems. Yet, good ventilation is often at odds with low noise, and today’s test includes a noise evaluation.

Some of the Three Hundred’s added ventilation comes from a three-speed 120 mm rear fan. Replaceable expansion slot covers beneath the fan are standard on quality cases, yet rare amongst Antec’s low-cost competitors.

A three-speed top fan adds even more ventilation for the CPU area. Our previous evaluations have shown this fan to be far less important than the rear fan when using cross-flow CPU coolers, and using its slowest setting reduces noise dramatically.

Front-panel ports along the top edge are easily reached for systems that sit either under or atop a desk. Though this is probably the best compromise Antec could make to capture both markets, it does cause headset cables to dangle in front of optical drives.

Ask a Category Expert

Create a new thread in the Reviews comments forum about this subject

Example: Notebook, Android, SSD hard drive

Display all 78 comments.
This thread is closed for comments
  • 0 Hide
    rzilla91 , August 23, 2010 6:21 AM
    Great article!
    I have the Antec 300 and love it - my current build is/was my first build, and the Antec case was very easy to build in.

    My only (rather silly) question is how did you get the case fans to run on low? They appear to be plugged into your PSU, which is what i did, but that forces it to run on high.
  • 6 Hide
    gkay09 , August 23, 2010 6:49 AM
    ^ Did you read the Aerocool specs properly ? Card Length - 17.7"
    AFAIK there are no graphic cards that are longer than 12.5", so it would fit HD 5970...
    But as for the 300, I doubt it wont fit the 5970, but other cards would...
    But if you will be spending ~$600 for a graphic card, then am sure you wont skimp on the case...
  • 1 Hide
    Mark Heath , August 23, 2010 7:06 AM
    Interesting to see the Antec 300 doing well even when the fan speed's put to low.
  • 1 Hide
    smithereen , August 23, 2010 7:25 AM
    No NZXT Beta?
  • 3 Hide
    radiovan , August 23, 2010 7:34 AM
    rzilla91Great article!I have the Antec 300 and love it - my current build is/was my first build, and the Antec case was very easy to build in.My only (rather silly) question is how did you get the case fans to run on low? They appear to be plugged into your PSU, which is what i did, but that forces it to run on high.

    It should be equiped with speed-adjustmentable tri-cool fans, which should have added speed selectors to go from LOW to MID or HI, and back.
  • 0 Hide
    falchard , August 23, 2010 7:36 AM
    I just reread the card length on the AeroCool.
    I would like a review on the NZXT Beta. Sub $50 market, you really aren't looking at any of those cases. You are looking at the Rosewills, NZXT, and cheap Thermaltakes.
  • 4 Hide
    Anonymous , August 23, 2010 7:47 AM
    @falchard - My Vapor-X 5850 fit perfectly in my Antec 300. I don't know what you're BSing about.
  • -2 Hide
    rajangel , August 23, 2010 8:12 AM
    I own the 300. It's a nice sturdy case, but in the end it really was a pain in the rear to put it all together. It's extremely cramped.

    @falchard-
    Also don't ever buy Rosewill. EVER. Their products are terrible. I've bought a few items they've had on clearance (from newegg) and not a single product is worth the 90% discount. One case came bent and the power supply inside was missing some of the power plugs the manual said it had. One item came shipped with a driver all in Chinese. Customer service blamed it on whoever shipped it (right because Newegg is going to switch the power supply inside a case). Newegg switched the case out and the girl on the phone said they have a lot of problem with Rosewill products. The laptop pad was missing fan blades.

  • 1 Hide
    falchard , August 23, 2010 8:24 AM
    Well thats your problem right there, you are looking at Rosewill for electronic products. You shop Rosewill for products that don't rely on electricity like a case.
  • 2 Hide
    vixiv , August 23, 2010 8:28 AM
    I was expecting some of the $40-45 Raidmax, Foxconn, NZXT, CM, etc. cases. To be fair, $49.99 is under $50 =P

    Then again, cases in that range might be included in Part 2...
  • 0 Hide
    liquidsnake718 , August 23, 2010 9:14 AM
    You should have added the gigabyte I-solo 210, its a beast of a mid-tower case and very neatly designed. It has watercooling holes so its ready for watercooling.
  • 2 Hide
    belardo , August 23, 2010 9:25 AM
    I've bought the Antec 300 case several times for $45~50 at Micro Center for friends and clients.

    I use the Antec 300 as a "normal" computer case because its priced cheap yet made well, looks good - and not so "kiddy" like. The power & USB are at a good position for FLOOR users. The fans are usually quiet... the blue lights are nice.
  • 2 Hide
    gio2vanni86 , August 23, 2010 9:47 AM
    I own the antec 1200 and its a beast of a case. When i was trying to come up with a cheap but efficient case for my friends build i couldn't deny Antec's 300 case. To this day my friend loves the case, its great at cooling, and it looks superb at doing just that =D Was as sturdy as my 1200 n only cost 1/3 the price.
  • -4 Hide
    Anonymous , August 23, 2010 9:50 AM
    I have the threehundred chassi and I think its pure garbage to be honest..top fan is very loud and seems to be "vibrating" so the noise it gives is very annoying. Had to place a weigth ontop of the chassi, to keep the chassi is made from vibrating. Also hade som clearence issues with the cpu fan...
    Maybe it is good "for the price", but I will never ever buy another of those cheap ass antec chassis again.
  • 2 Hide
    h83 , August 23, 2010 11:08 AM

    I´ve bought an Antec 300 for 60€ and i couldn´t be happier!!! The case is silent, very cool and has a very nice construction quality.

    The only downsides are the tiny reset button (almost useless) and the inside of the case, that´s a little cramped and i don´t know if it can accommodate the bigger GPUs.

    rzilla91, both 120m fans that came with the case, have a small black cable with a little "button" on the end, that can be set on 3 positions; high, medium and low. That´s how you change your fans to low noise.
  • 0 Hide
    cmartin011 , August 23, 2010 11:17 AM
    i got a antec 1200 its all a pro air cooler could dream of and a water cool wouldn't mind could use a couple more drive bays tho
  • 1 Hide
    Anonymous , August 23, 2010 11:46 AM
    zipzoomflyhigh is right the Antec 300 is always on sale somewhere. Canada Coputers currently has it for $49.99
  • 2 Hide
    jorjxmckie , August 23, 2010 12:14 PM
    I have the three hundred and it works great. Video card noise is perceptible under high loads, but its still less than many other cases with similar cooling.

    In the article the author downplays the usefulness of the top mounted fan, I have a Noctua NH-U12P with fans on either side in a push pull and rotated to blow out to the top case fan. I find this configuration better at keeping core and case interior temps low when the back of the case is pushed back against a wall. May not be the most efficient airflow if the rear of the case is unrestricted but that is not always possible.
  • 0 Hide
    nukemaster , August 23, 2010 12:45 PM
    The 300 is an unbeatable value for the price.
Display more comments