Sign in with
Sign up | Sign in

GeForce GTX 670 Versus GTX 680 And Radeon HD 7970

GeForce GTX 670 2 GB Review: Is It Already Time To Forget GTX 680?
By

Given a GPU with roughly 88% of its CUDA cores enabled and slightly lower clock rates, we’d expect the GeForce GTX 670 to give up at least 12% of its performance compared to GeForce GTX 680. But then you start factoring in the complexities of GPU Boost and add on the fact that frame rates often don’t scale based on shader resources—particularly when an application isn’t bound by shader throughput.

Knowing all of that, it is still surprising to see our GeForce GTX 670 sample perform just 4.5% slower than our reference GeForce GTX 680—certainly less of a gap then we were told to expect. Knowing that overclocking on air is often enough to overcome a sub-5% spread, this almost negates any reason you might have had for buying a GeForce GTX 680, particularly if you were looking to play games at 1920x1080 with the eye candy cranked up.

We figured that upping the comparison to 2560x1600 would increase the gap between GeForce GTX 670 and 680. But the average is only 1% higher. The 670 still looks mighty juicy.

How does it compare to the Radeon HD 7970?

Based on the complete benchmark analysis, we know that Nvidia’s design does best at 1680x1050, while AMD competes most aggressively at 2560x1600. Using 1920x1080 again gives us a good gauge of playable performance at the native resolution of many popular panels.

Nvidia’s architecture establishes a distinct lead in Crysis 2, DiRT 3, and WoW. Its advantage is less pronounced in Battlefield 3 and Skyrim. AMD jumps ahead in Metro 2033.

Of course, you could add games to this list all day long, and the balance would undoubtedly shift. In our suite, though, the GTX 670 averages more than 13% faster. If you leave all of the test results alone and shift that World of Warcraft score to 2560x1600, favoring the Radeon a little more, the average drops to 11.4% faster—still a notable advantage for a card that is expected to sell for $80 less.

Ask a Category Expert

Create a new thread in the Reviews comments forum about this subject

Example: Notebook, Android, SSD hard drive

Display all 195 comments.
This thread is closed for comments
Top Comments
  • 28 Hide
    borden5 , May 10, 2012 1:23 PM
    amd price reduce 2.0 xD
  • 27 Hide
    godfather666 , May 10, 2012 1:48 PM
    The list of games is very unfair to AMD cards. Techpowerup's review, which featured a much longer list of games, had the Radeon HD 7970 faster than the GTX 670 at all resolutions 1080p and higher.

    Nvidia has had a big lead in Dirt 3 and WoW for a very long time. This skews the results.

    The GTX 670 is a fantastic card, don't get me wrong. Just pointing out that it's being slightly overrated here.
  • 27 Hide
    iceman1992 , May 10, 2012 1:42 PM
    $400 is still too high for me... Waiting for something around $225
Other Comments
  • 0 Hide
    Anonymous , May 10, 2012 1:21 PM
    Running to buy it!
  • -4 Hide
    tecmo34 , May 10, 2012 1:23 PM
    Great Review Chris!!

    Though there isn't really a performance hit but it would be great to have seen the GTX 670 running at PCIe 3.0.
  • 28 Hide
    borden5 , May 10, 2012 1:23 PM
    amd price reduce 2.0 xD
  • -6 Hide
    master9716 , May 10, 2012 1:28 PM
    OMFG no 5760x1080 benchmarks again?!! ima have to go to hardware.info or something wow!
  • 3 Hide
    TheBigTroll , May 10, 2012 1:31 PM
    YAHHHHHHH!!! time to get one
  • 27 Hide
    iceman1992 , May 10, 2012 1:42 PM
    $400 is still too high for me... Waiting for something around $225
  • 26 Hide
    sayantan , May 10, 2012 1:45 PM
    Nice move nV , forcing AMD to drop their prices for entire lineup. A 7970 at $400 would be really awesome...
  • 27 Hide
    godfather666 , May 10, 2012 1:48 PM
    The list of games is very unfair to AMD cards. Techpowerup's review, which featured a much longer list of games, had the Radeon HD 7970 faster than the GTX 670 at all resolutions 1080p and higher.

    Nvidia has had a big lead in Dirt 3 and WoW for a very long time. This skews the results.

    The GTX 670 is a fantastic card, don't get me wrong. Just pointing out that it's being slightly overrated here.
  • 6 Hide
    Pezcore27 , May 10, 2012 1:53 PM
    Excellent review. I was waiting for this card to hit. Only a 4.5% difference between a 680 for almost 100 less? Yes please!

    I am not trying to sound bad, but AMD might have a real problem on their hands with this card as it is priced very competitively for what you get. Especially since it competes with AMD's flagship that's more expensive.
  • 6 Hide
    Maziar , May 10, 2012 1:54 PM
    Awesome review like always Chris,Well done :) 
  • 3 Hide
    spookyman , May 10, 2012 1:54 PM
    The question is will it be in stock or will it be a rarity like their other Kepler cards?
  • 12 Hide
    jabliese , May 10, 2012 1:58 PM
    @godfather666 Unless you happen to play WoW or Dirt 3.

    This is the price war you were looking for.
  • 12 Hide
    Reynod , May 10, 2012 2:10 PM
    Wait ... will we see any stock this year ... or are these going to be as rare as the 680 / 690 / 6xx ??

    The 6 series NVidia cards ... the ghost cards.

    All hype ... no stock.

    Nvidia are pumping out the reviews and advertorials ... mostly the latter I see across the web.

    This rollut must be costing them a fortune.

    I hope it's getting them sales in the old stock ... thats the point ... isn't it??
  • 4 Hide
    trumpeter1994 , May 10, 2012 2:12 PM
    Wasn't this card supposed to compete with the 7870 and 7950 lol? It's ripping both of them to shreds and manaing to hold its own against the 7970 in most cases....... AMD has got a serious problem on their hands now, because this thing looks like the next 8800gt or gtx 460
  • 0 Hide
    stingstang , May 10, 2012 2:12 PM
    Anyone else hear AMD's sphincter pucker up just now?
  • 8 Hide
    qwertymac93 , May 10, 2012 2:24 PM
    Wow, never thought I'd see a "Baby Got Back" reference on a GPU review.
Display more comments