Sign in with
Sign up | Sign in

Comparison Table And Test Setup

Mini-ITX: Two Cases And Four Motherboards Compared
By

Comparison Table

Manufacturer
iBase
Intel
Zotac
Zotac
Model
MI950AFDQ45EKGeForce 9300 ITX WiFiGeForce 8200 ITX WiFi
Socket
LGA 775LGA 775LGA 775Socket AM2+
allowed CPUs
up to QX9000 Series65W TDPup to QX9000 Seriesup to Phenom II X4 955
Voltage Regulators
4 Phase3 Phase4 Phase3 Phase
Chipset
Intel Q45 + ICH10DOIntel Q45 + ICH10DOGeForce 9300GeForce 8200
RAM
2 x DDR32 x DDR22 x DDR22 x DDR2
Ethernet I
Intel 82567 Gigabit LANIntel 82567LM Gigabit LANRTL8211CL Gigabit LANRTL8211CL Gigabit LAN
Ethernet II
Intel 82574L Gigabit LAN


WiFi
N/A
N/A
802.11b/g via USB
VIA VT6656
802.11b/g via USB
VIA VT6656
Panel Connectors
2 x  Ethernet
6 x USB
1 x RS232
1 x eSATA
1 x DVI-I
1 x Sub-D
1 x Ethernet
6 x USB
1 x eSATA
1 x DVI-I
1 x DVI-D
1 x Ethernet
6 x USB
1 x PS/2
1 x eSATA
1 x DVI-I
1 x Sub-D
1 x HDMI
1 x Antenna
1 x Ethernet
6 x USB
2 x PS/2
1 x DVI-I
1 x Sub-D
1 x Antenna
Expansion Slot
1 x PCI
1 x PCIe x11 x PCIe x161 x PCIe x1
Onboard Connector
4 x SATA4 x SATA2 x SATA4 x SATA
Pin-Header
4 x USB
3 x RS232
4 x USB6 x USB
1 x RS232
4 x USB
Audio
ALC888
7.1 Channel
3 x RCA Jacks
1 x Front Panel Audio
ADI AD1882
5.1 Channel
3 x RCA Jacks
1 x Front Panel Audio
ALC662
3 RCA Jacks
SPDIF Optical + Electrical
1 x Front Panel Audio
ALC662
3 x RCA Jacks
1 x SPDIF Pin-Header
1 x Front Panel Audio
Accessories
2 x SATA
1 x RS232 Bracket
2 x SATA
1 x DVD-I, 2 Sub-D
2 x SATA2 x SATA
1 x SATA Power
1 x DVI-to-HDMI


Test Setup

System hardware
Hardware
Details
Performance Benchmarks
AMD Platform I
(Socket AMD2+)
Zotac GeForce 8200 ITX WiFi (Rev. 1.0)
Chipset: Nvidia Geforce 8200
BIOS: 2K090202 (02/02/2009)
Intel Platform I
(LGA 775)
iBase MI950AF (Rev. 1.0)
Chipset: Intel Q45
BIOS: 1.42 (09/08/2009)
Intel Platform II
(LGA 775)
Intel DQ45EK (Rev. 1.0)
Chipset: Intel Q45
BIOS: 0101 (09/28/2009)
Intel Platform III
(LGA 775)
Zotac GeForce 9300 ITX WiFi (Rev. 1.0)
Chipset: Nvidia Geforce 9300
BIOS: 1.42 (09/08/2009)
CPU AMD
AMD Phenom II X2 550 (45nm, 3.1 GHz, 2 x 512KB L2 and 6MB L3 Cache, TDP 80W, Rev. C2)
CPU Intel
Intel Core 2 Duo E8600 (45nm, 3.33 GHz, 6MB L2 Cache, TDP 65W, Rev. E0)
RAM DDR2 (Dual)
2 x 2GB DDR2-1200 (Apogee AU2G732-12GH001)
RAM DDR3 (Dual)
2 x 2GB DDR3-1600 (Corsair CMD4GX3M2A1600C8)
Hard Drive
Western Digital VelociRaptor, 300GB (WD3000HLFS)
10,000 RPM, SATA/300, 16MB Cache
Blu-ray Drive
LG GGW-H20L, SATA/150
Power Supply
Enermax ERP425AWT (Pro 82+)
System Software & Drivers
Operating System
Windows Vista Enterprise Version 6.0 x64
Service Pack 2 (Build 6000)
Drivers and Settings
AMD Chipset Drivers
Radeon 9.4
Intel Chipset Drivers
Chipset Installation Utility Version 9.1.1.1020
Intel Graphics Drivers
Version 15.13.6.64.1908
Intel storage Drivers
Matrix Storage Drivers Ver. 8.8.0.1009
Nvidia 8200 Chipset Drivers
Nforce 15.49
Nvidia 9300 Chipset Drivers
Nforce 20.14
3D Games Benchmarks and Settings
Benchmarks
Details
Far Cry 2
Version: 1.0.1
Far Cry 2 Benchmark Tool
Video Mode: 1280x800
Direct3D 9
Overall Quality: Medium
Bloom activated
HDR off
Demo: Ranch Small
Grand Theft Auto IV
Version: 1.0.3
Video Mode: 1280x1024
- 1280x1024
- Aspect Ratio: Auto
- All options: Low
- View Distance: 1
- Detail Distance: 1
- Vehicle Density: 1
- Shadow Density: 0
- Definition: On
- Vsync: Off
Ingame Benchmark
Left 4 Dead
Version: 1.0.0.5
Video Mode: 1280x800
Game Settings
- Anti Aliasing none
- Filtering Trilinear
- Wait for vertical sync disabled
- Shader Detail Low
- Effect Detail Low
- Model/Texture Detail Low
Demo: THG Demo 1
Audio Benchmarks and Settings
Benchmarks
Details
iTunes
Version: 8.1.0.52
Audio CD ("Terminator II" SE), 53 min., Convert to AAC audio format
Lame MP3
Version 3.98
Audio CD "Terminator II SE", 53 min, convert wav to mp3 audio format, Command: -b 160 --nores (160 kbps)
Video Benchmarks and Settings
Benchmark
Details
TMPGEnc 4.6
Version: 4.6.3.268
Video: Terminator 2 SE DVD (720x576, 16:9) 5 Minutes
Audio: Dolby Digital, 48000 Hz, 6-Kanal, English
Advanced Acoustic Engine MP3 Encoder (160 kbps, 44.1 KHz)
DivX 6.8.5
Version: 6.8.5
== Main Menu ==
default
== Codec Menu ==
Encoding mode: Insane Quality
Enhanced multithreading
Enabled using SSE4
Quarter-pixel search
== Video Menu ==
Quantization: MPEG-2
Xvid 1.2.1
Version: 1.2.1
Other Options / Encoder Menu -
Display encoding status = off
MainConcept Reference 1.6.1
Version: 1.6.1
MPEG2 to MPEG2 (H.264)
MainConcept H.264/AVC Codec
28 sec HDTV 1920x1080 (MPEG2)
Audio:
MPEG2 (44.1 kHz, 2 Channel, 16 Bit, 224 kbps)
Codec: H.264
Mode: PAL (25 FPS)
Profile: Settings for eight threads
Adobe Premiere Pro CS4
Version: 4.0
WMV 1920x1080 (39 sec)
Export: Adobe Media Encoder
== Video ==
H.264 Blu-ray
1440x1080i 25 High Quality
Encoding Passes: one
Bitrate Mode: Vbr
Frame: 1440x1080
Frame Rate: 25
== Audio ==
PCM Audio, 48 kHz, Stereo
Encoding Passes: one
Application Benchmarks and Settings
Benchmarks
Details
Grisoft AVG Anti-Virus 8
Version: 8.5.287
Virus base: 270.12.16/2094
Benchmark
Scan: some compressed ZIP and RAR archives
Winrar 3.9
Version 3.90 x64 BETA 1
Compression = Best
Benchmark: THG-Workload
Winzip 12
Version 12.0 (8252)
WinZIP Commandline Version 3
Compression = Best
Dictionary = 4096 KB
Benchmark: THG-Workload
Autodesk 3D Studio Max 2009
Version: 9 x64
Rendering Dragon Image
Resolution: 1920 x 1280 (frame 1-5)
Adobe Photoshop CS4 (64-bit)
Version: 11
Filtering a 16MB TIF (15000x7266)
Filters:
Radial Blur (Amount: 10; Method: zoom; Quality: good)
Shape Blur (Radius: 46 px; custom shape: Trademark sysmbol)
Median (Radius: 1px)
Polar Coordinates (Rectangular to Polar)
Adobe Acrobat 9 Professional
Version: 9.0.0 (Extended)
== Printing Preferenced Menu ==
Default Settings: Standard
== Adobe PDF Security - Edit Menu ==
Encrypt all documents (128 bit RC4)
Open Password: 123
Permissions Password: 321
Microsoft Powerpoint 2007
Version: 2007 SP2
PPT to PDF
Powerpoint Document (115 Pages)
Adobe PDF-Printer
Deep Fritz 11
Version: 11
Fritz Chess Benchmark Version 4.2
Synthetic Benchmarks and Settings
Benchmark
Details
3DMark Vantage
Version: 1.02
Options: Performance
Graphics Test 1
Graphics Test 2
CPU Test 1
CPU Test 2
PCMark Vantage
Version: 1.00
PCMark Benchmark
Memories Benchmark
SiSoft Sandra 2009
Version: 2009 SP3
Processor Arithmetic, Cryptography, Memory Bandwith
Display all 38 comments.
Top Comments
  • 15 Hide
    HalfHuman , December 4, 2009 6:33 AM
    this is an article that i do not really see what is trying to achieve. you compare a intel dual core @3.3ghz with and amd x2 550. x2 550 is actually not the most efficient value cpu that amd has to offer. you can actually find a lot less power hungry dual cores and triple or quad cores from amd. it depends on the purpose of the machine. also i don't see anybody using a velociraptor in a system like these. you did not specify what you want to achieve... htpc? home server? light destop system? powerful desktop system? the purpose of this article somehow eludes my comprehension.
Other Comments
  • 5 Hide
    zsxking , December 4, 2009 5:47 AM
    For HTPC build, I wonder Zotac Gefore 9300 ITX + Intel Celeron E3200 will be a better choice in terms of performance/price and power efficiency.

    Celeron E3200 should be powerful enough to play HD video and flash even without the help of GPU acceleration.
  • 15 Hide
    HalfHuman , December 4, 2009 6:33 AM
    this is an article that i do not really see what is trying to achieve. you compare a intel dual core @3.3ghz with and amd x2 550. x2 550 is actually not the most efficient value cpu that amd has to offer. you can actually find a lot less power hungry dual cores and triple or quad cores from amd. it depends on the purpose of the machine. also i don't see anybody using a velociraptor in a system like these. you did not specify what you want to achieve... htpc? home server? light destop system? powerful desktop system? the purpose of this article somehow eludes my comprehension.
  • 1 Hide
    archange , December 4, 2009 9:19 AM
    Been keeping an eye on mITX boards for some time now, due to my interest in home servers and HTPCs. I also helped a friend of mine build a car PC recently, an idea that has been fascinating me for some time now. He ended up opting for an Atom 330 Gigabyte board, due to power and price considerations.

    My eye has been on the Zotac as well. My wife needs a new HTPC anyway :)  and an HD 5770 would fit nicely on it.
    If only they were more affordable, 'cause right now, a micro ATX solution proves more powerful while cheaper.
  • -1 Hide
    Anonymous , December 4, 2009 10:58 AM
    Antec's Dimension 96mm X 222mm X 328mm
  • -2 Hide
    Anonymous , December 4, 2009 11:23 AM
    Does anyone know for sure if the Zotac 8200 board will take the 'new' Athlon X4 605e 45w CPu, its AMDs new quad efficiency CPU. I cannot find anywhere including zotac website if their 8200 boards supports this new CPU?
  • -1 Hide
    fatkid35 , December 4, 2009 2:26 PM
    all this will mean little when dfi unleashes it's lga 1156 p55 based mini itx board in Q1 2010. that thing will friggin rock! i have the zotac 9300 board and it's awesome but the new dfi board will be even better.
  • 1 Hide
    nafhan , December 4, 2009 2:30 PM
    I don't think you'd have a problem with a 605e 45w processor on the 8200 board.

    The below processor compatibility doc from Zotac specifically states "supported processor wattage up to 65W" and it lists other Phenom II based quad cores. This includes the Phenom II X4 900e, which is a 65w part.

    http://www.zotac.com/httpdocs/brochures/cpumemorylist/ZOTAC%20GeForce%208200%20-%20ITX%20WiFi.txt
  • -4 Hide
    myriad46 , December 4, 2009 3:00 PM
    HalfHumanthis is an article that i do not really see what is trying to achieve. you compare a intel dual core @3.3ghz with and amd x2 550. x2 550 is actually not the most efficient value cpu that amd has to offer. you can actually find a lot less power hungry dual cores and triple or quad cores from amd. it depends on the purpose of the machine. also i don't see anybody using a velociraptor in a system like these. you did not specify what you want to achieve... htpc? home server? light destop system? powerful desktop system? the purpose of this article somehow eludes my comprehension.


    Then, obviously it wasn't written, specifically for you. Really...I don't really see what your post is trying to achieve...
  • 8 Hide
    pepperman , December 4, 2009 3:16 PM
    How does comparing a $140 mobo + $270 cpu (total=$410) to a
    $130 mobo + $270 cpu (total=$400) to a $100 mobo + $102 cpu (total=$202) even work?

    This review doesn't accurately show anything, except that the Core 2 Duo 8600 is indeed faster than the Phenom II 550 (this has been known for quite some time). For all we know, the better graphics may be due to the faster cpus powering them.

    This review would have worked better if cpus of the same price range were used, such as the Phenom II 550 against a Pentium Dual Core E6500 ($95) or a Core 2 Duo E7400 ($117).
  • -5 Hide
    bunz_of_steel , December 4, 2009 4:02 PM
    They all SUK! None of them have 802.11n so right away I wouldn't buy one of these yesteryear technology item
  • 5 Hide
    starralazn , December 4, 2009 4:23 PM
    true, the comparison of intel dual core processors to amd dual core processors would be an accurate comparison, as compared to a comparison of intel dual core vs amd trip or even quad core, but the price difference is to great to merit a dual core to dual core comparison.

    the intel core 2 duo is more than 2x the price of the phenom II x2 at retail pricing. so maybe a better processor choice would be more appropriate..
  • 4 Hide
    gsacks , December 4, 2009 4:52 PM
    For anyone interested in some real-world info:
    I have the Zotac 9300 board (rev 1.1), and a Pentium (core 2) 6300 65w CPU in my HTPC with an older ITX case that is similar in dimensions to the Sugo case, using a PicoPSU and external 105w power brick, I also have the largest CPU fan/heatsink I could find that would fit in my case, and it is the only fan in the case. Runs nearly silent almost all of the time, is on 24/7 and handles streaming video from Netflix(PlayOn)/Hulu/Youtube/Etc..., or off of my network server with absolutely no problem, as well as local DVD. (Running XBMC on top of Ubuntu 9.04) I can't comment on Blu-ray playback, since it isn't supported under Linux, but I expect it would work just fine in Windows. I was skeptical of the Zotac brand, but the board is built very well, and the documentation is actually pretty good. I have had this system for about 6 months.
  • 0 Hide
    mlcloud , December 4, 2009 5:03 PM
    Erm, right, go through each comment and down their ratings by one.

    I figured some troll would do that eventually, but this is just ugly.
  • 3 Hide
    shady28 , December 4, 2009 6:19 PM
    I think the author missed the point in this review. mITX is mostly for HTPC - where are the benchmarks on video playback, ability to keep up with HD content? Flash benchmarks would be good too and some kind of look at usability with Netflix and Hulu. ie, things that are important to someone building an HTPC??

    All the testing really shows is that an e8600 is faster than an amd x2 550 albeit at twice the price. But what I really want to know is what the difference is when doing HTPC functions? I don't see that here except possibly by inference, so this article becomes fairly useless.
  • 5 Hide
    smleth , December 4, 2009 8:24 PM
    I can say I am disappointed by this review. 3 Variants of Intel motherboard against 1 AMD, and none with an AMD chipset at that.

    What about J&W MINIX 780G-SP128MB (AM2+) Running an AMD Radeon™ HD 3200 or J&W A785GMT-Extreme (AM3) Running an AMD Radeon™ HD 4200.

    I sense so bias opinion here.
  • 3 Hide
    JohnnyLucky , December 4, 2009 8:30 PM
    I would have been interested in seeing video and audio playback results in this review since it was mostly about home theater pc's in a small form factor.
  • -2 Hide
    JohnnyLucky , December 4, 2009 8:31 PM
    I would have been interested in seeing video and audio playback results in this review since it was mostly about home theater pc's in a small form factor.
  • 0 Hide
    Summer Leigh Castle , December 4, 2009 8:50 PM
    I don't understand the usage of the E8600 @ 2x the price of the 550. Was this a mITX comparison or a CPU comparison?
  • -1 Hide
    chowmanga , December 4, 2009 9:19 PM
    HalfHumanthis is an article that i do not really see what is trying to achieve. you compare a intel dual core @3.3ghz with and amd x2 550. x2 550 is actually not the most efficient value cpu that amd has to offer. you can actually find a lot less power hungry dual cores and triple or quad cores from amd. it depends on the purpose of the machine. also i don't see anybody using a velociraptor in a system like these. you did not specify what you want to achieve... htpc? home server? light destop system? powerful desktop system? the purpose of this article somehow eludes my comprehension.


    I think the authors made their processor choices in order to highlight the fact that intel is the best solution if you want absolute performance and amd would be for those who might be more budget oriented. Maybe they chose dual cores from both for some sort of apples to apples comparison. This is a case and motherboard review after all.

    This article is not a buyers guide, but rather a hardware review. They chose high end components like the velociraptor you mentioned in order to see if any bottlenecks occur in the system. Its the same idea when they use an overclocked i7 to 4.1ghz in graphics card reviews.
  • 2 Hide
    didymus03 , December 4, 2009 9:36 PM
    I also don't understand using parts from such different segments in the price range. One could throw in a Phenom II 955 BE AND a Radeon HD 4670 dedicated card for the price of the E8600. 98% of the people putting together a system like this are more than somewhat interested in what they can get for the money. In general these kinds of reviews disappoint me. It's like comparing a Porsche and a generic sedan because they both have 6 cylinder engines...
Display more comments
React To This Article